FanFiction Fridays – Recs for Feb 17/12

Happy FanFiction Fridays everyone, hope you all had a great week of fic reading. I, of course, started some more WIPs (I’m totally out-of-control, I swear! lol), so my WIP Folder is now hovering somewhere in the 100 range. *le sigh* But, that’s okay because I love to read and now, for today, I have three more great recs for your reading pleasure, from me, a WIP and a link to a Compilation of One Shots I’ve been reading all week, and then a Guest Review Rec from our lovely Cared.

My first rec is an ex-Mobward WIP called Don’t Go Gently Into the Night by my sweet friend JA Mash, whom I also Beta for.

Right from the start I was completely drawn in to this story as we meet Bella, now living in Forks, who is struggling with the break-up from her one true love, Edward, six years prior and the 10th anniversary of her baby girl’s birth and death. My heart ached for Bella in this first chapter, but I also learned very quickly that this is a strong, independent Bella, who can certainly take care of herself, both personally and professionally, and is very career driven and successful in her profession as a Private Investigator. We also meet Edward’s nephew Brandon, the 18 yr old son of Mobster Jasper Whitlock and Alice, who has run away from his home in Seattle , after waking up from a 7 yr coma caused by a bullet that was meant for his father. Bella stumbles upon this child from her past, while getting a coffee on her way to work. This turn of events reconnects her with a past she has been trying to forget and move on from, but she can’t turn her back on Brandon, whom she always loved, and she takes him into her home, as she is one of the few people he still trusts.  But, now Bella must now figure out how best to protect and help Brandon from his Mobster roots and she realizes there is only one person that can truly help her do that… any guesses who that is? :D

As the story progresses, we switch to EPOV in chapter 2 and we meet Edward “the enforcer” Masen, who is ex-Mob, having worked for, and at one point was the head of, The Whitlock Mob, run by true Mobster, Jasper Whitlock, but because of some intricate circumstances (I don’t want to give away all the juicy details), Edward left the Mob and now runs a business of his own; a coffee business, which was originally just a business front for The Whitlock Mob organization. Edward is also still struggling with his past activities in the Mob, the birth/death of his daughter and break-up with her mother, Bella, so many years ago, and as he talks to his sister Alice, he tries to explain what happened and he remembers all the pain…

Excerpt from chapter 2 EPOV:

The small woman’s eyes filled with indignation, “So, she basically ran away? Edward, don’t tell me you’ve been pining for a woman that threw away her chance to be with you.”

He looked at her sharply, “It’s a little more complicated than that, Alice.” She raised her eyebrows disbelievingly, but he continued. “She wasn’t scared of me or of me leaving or pushing her away again. She was afraid of what she’d turned into, and that she’d go back to the way she was the last time we were together. She said she could already feel herself reverting to her old ways and she was working so hard…” he took a breath. “I understood. I still do. When Bella and I broke up, it killed me… killed both of us… but she… she felt like her whole life was destroyed.” Alice nodded. “I guess she didn’t feel strong enough to avoid becoming dependent again.”

“Are you still in love with her? Even after she’s been gone six years?” she asked carefully. He nodded, leaning back into the chair. “My God, Edward,” she breathed as she shook her head, at a loss for words.

“Alice, I just want to be alone today. Please. I’ve got Emmett looking for Brandon and I’m doing everything I can… I just… I need some time to myself,” he pleaded sorrowfully.

She nodded, sympathy flooding her face. “You call me if you need anything,” she said softly. He nodded, forcing a smile.

“Shouldn’t I be saying that to you? It’s your son that is missing,” he shot back.

She shook her head as she replied quietly, “He’s your nephew too. And right now you’re dealing with your own issues on top of mine. Let me be your shoulder for once.”

He shut his eyes, trying to reign in the emotions that were threatening to overwhelm him. “Thank you,” he breathed. She nodded and leaned over the desk, patting his hand gently.

“I love you. Okay? You take care of yourself,” she said firmly.

He nodded and watched as she walked out. He leaned back further into the chair, memories flooding him.

I love you,” he said simply, his voice breaking with emotion. She nodded, tears filling her eyes once again and she raised a hand to stroke his cheek.

I know. And I love you too, Edward. I will love you for the rest of my life. But I can’t lose myself in you again. Look what happened the last time I did that and I haven’t recovered from it. I don’t think my heart could take it again.” She closed her eyes tightly, trying to hold back the tears. “I have to leave Seattle before this becomes too hard and too painful for both of us. You will always be in my heart. Always.”

He looked away, closing his eyes to hide the pain. He knew she needed this. That it was what was best for her. She needed to get away and be on her own, and he wouldn’t do anything to jeopardize that even if it broke his heart. The disappointment was etched clearly on his face as he looked back at her, reaching out to pull her close one last time.

I told you it was your decision and that I would respect it,” he said sadly. He could feel the wetness of her tears seeping through his t-shirt and it only ate at him further. “Just don’t forget I love you. I love you more than I’ve ever loved anyone and I’ll never stop… I will always love you, Bella.” She sniffled and he tightened his hold on her. “I know you, Bella. You’re beautiful, you’re smart and you’re capable. You can do anything you want to. If you’re ever feeling discouraged or losing faith in yourself, I want you to remember how much I love you and how much I believe in you.”

She nodded, pulling away slightly to look up at him, her eyes seemed to be memorizing his face. Slowly, she stood on her toes, drawing his mouth down to hers in a kiss. Their tears mingled as their mouths moved, gently caressing each other. This was not a kiss to lead them further. Hands explored faces, memorizing the planes and angles there. Fingers threaded through hair in reverence, not in passion.

It was a good-bye kiss.

She pulled away, the sweetness of it burning on her lips. He could tell when she felt her resolve start to break, because she backed up, reaching for the door handle.

Goodbye, Edward,” she whispered before she disappeared out the door.

The sharp trill of the telephone intruded his thoughts, jarring him back to the present. Irritated and in pain, he flipped open the phone, not bothering to look at the caller ID.

“Masen,” he barked out and his heart nearly stopped when he heard the answering voice.

“Edward?” Bella’s soft voice echoed in his ears and his heart constricted painfully._____________

We are at 7 chapters so far, and as the story is all pre-written, we will now have updates twice per week – every Sunday and Wednesday. There is  so much I could say about this well-written story because I have read more than what has been posted, but I don’t want to go into too much detail because part of this story’s intrigue, for me anyways, is NOT knowing what is going to happen next in the storyline and learning all the intricacies of Edward and Bella’s pasts. I can tell you though that there are multiple complex storylines to follow here; from Bella and Edward’s past complicated romantic relationship and the heart-ache they both deal with every day at the loss of their daughter and each other, to Edward’s past involvement with the Whitlock Mob and that organizational set up as a whole – it’s all quite engrossing! Happy ex-Mobward reading!

Summary for Don’t Go Gently Into the Night: “Bella Swan left Seattle six years ago. When someone from her past shows up unexpectedly, she’s forced to deal with the people and the memories she left behind. What happens when the life she tried so hard to escape collides with the new life she built?

Twilight – Rated: M – English – Drama/Romance – Chapters: 7 – Words: 20,850 – Reviews: 423 – Updated: 2-15-12 – Published: 1-4-12 – Edward & Bella”

http://www.fanfiction.net/s/7709354/1/Dont_Go_Gently_Into_the_Night

********************

Now, I have been reading this and if you are looking for some great One Shots to read, you can go here to the Countdown to Valentine’s Day 2012 Risqué VDay! - Compilation of O/S – “Valentine’s Day is a day to share with that special guy or gal in one’s life, to shower them with affection and show them just how much you adore them…scratch…Hell, who do I think I am kidding? That may be the case in the real world…maybe, but here in fic land-especially twi-related fic- Valentine’s Day is about getting your freak on, and maybe a bit of the mushy stuff, too. This year, we have an amazing line-up of ladies who want to share their inner sex-goddess with you.”

There are O/Ss by a wide variety of FanFiction authors with many different pairings. There is a little bit of everything here from Slash – Edward/Jasper, Canon – Edward/Bella, Emmett/Rose or Alice & Jasper, non-canon Esme/Seth, to a FemSlash Esme/Bella called Stay by TexasBella, which I Beta’d and enjoyed. Right now there are 21 stories with at least one more to come in the form of a collaboration at the end, written by all of the O/S authors. I’m sure you’ll find something of interest here, they are all well-written and fun to read! Enjoy!

Summary for Countdown to Valentine’s Day 2012 Risqué VDay! 

“The 7th countdown promises to be a memorable one, with cupid waving around guns, vodka-induced sexual experimentation, and an older gal taking a moment, or more, to teach a young lad the ropes in the bdrm, or on the frontyard…well, you get the picture.

Twilight – Rated: M – English – Romance/Humor – Chapters: 23 – Words: 122,368 – Reviews: 325 – Updated: 2-16-12 – Published: 1-10-12″

********************

Cared

I can’t wait to tell you about The Keepsake by windchymes, the author of the AU beauties of The Decision, Distractions and Blood Lines.

In The Keepsake, windchymes brings us yet another wonderful vampire Edward, human Bella tale, told from both POV. IMHO this must be the hardest genre to write well, as what author can come close to producing a VampFic that can hold a candle to our beloved original? windchymes can.

So little is given away in the official summary of ‘Some things you never forget, they just hurt too much to remember’, yet at the same time it says it all.  I had to laugh at something windchymes said in her first author’s note ’The premise is probably a bit odd, you might need to suspend belief a bit.’ Yeah we can do that no problem, after all, we believe in vampires that sparkle in sunlight.

Two years after Edward left Bella or as Bella says “two years ago next Tuesday to be exact, but I’m not counting”, she decides that sunny Florida somehow doesn’t feel right to her and so transfers to Portland State University with its grey skies and drizzle.  Although Bella has eventually stopped looking for Edward everywhere she goes, she knows she will never forget him.   She at last acknowledges that there is light at the end of the tunnel; she can survive without him.  Soon after this epiphany she leaves the library late one evening, her long lost bookmark that she mysteriously found on the library floor clutched in her hand.  For some unknown reason Bella’s body morphs instantly to high alert, then moments later, she recognises the silhouette of the person approaching her…

It’s Edward Cullen.

And I feel like I’ve gone into free fall. The world slips away and I’m left alone, floundering, helpless. There’s no air in my lungs, my heart can’t decide whether to stop beating or pound at triple pace – it decides to take turns with each as he comes closer.

I wonder if this is real. If he is real. Or is it just my mind playing cruel tricks. Memories I’d pushed away, good and bad, come roaring back; I’m impaled on some and embraced by others. Coming all at once, in shocking chaos and confusion, they crash over me in waves of hurt and happiness that defy description.

Somehow I remain still and upright.

Dusk is his backdrop. He’s more beautiful than I remembered, and in the early evening light the shadows catch the planes of his face, the angle of his cheekbones, and I’m struck dumb. I can see his eyes now. They’re amber, rich and deep and I can’t think of how many times I’ve drowned in those eyes.

He sees me but his expression is still and easy, and I’m struck that there is no surprise or recognition. Then I wonder if he’s planned this, if Alice has seen me in her visions and he’s come back to me. I’m shaking now, and though I’m frozen to the spot my body is aflame. I try to say his name but the words won’t come. He moves closer, and for a surreal second I think he’s going to walk right past me, into the library, but he stops. His head turns in that way that I know so well and his eyes fall on my hand that holds the bookmark. Now he smiles and lifts his eyes to mine. I gasp, the sound tumbles over my lips as they tremble. We stare at each other for just the most fleeting fraction of a second and I expect to see something there…but I don’t. There’s nothing.

“There it is,” his voice is as it always was – smooth, velvet. His eyes flicker down to my hand and back again to my face. “I think you’ve found my bookmark. I was hoping I’d left it here.”

A very shocked Bella at first worries that her hallucinations have returned, only to learn that the actual reality of the situation is that Edward has no recollection of ever having known Bella.  Luckily for Bella, she is no longer the naïve girl she once was.  She now has some life experience and knows that if she does develop a relationship with Edward, this time things would have to be different.  I like this sensible Bella.  Even though her first instinct was to rush to Edward and reveal their shared past, she takes advice from Carlisle and allows a friendship to develop slowly and naturally.

Edward struggles to understand his fascination with this human girl, his inert instinct to protect her, his admiration for both her mind and the depth he finds in her eyes.  As Edward gets to know more about her he tries to reconcile Bella’s inner strength and resilience with her outward fragile appearance.  As hard as it is for him, he eventually accepts that he has become more than curious; he is now interested in her and so feels vulnerable and confused, but also a strange sense of rightness.  Bella is not the only one to have matured; Edward is a changed man, pardon the vampire pun.  Something inside him tells him not to make Bella’s decisions for her, I can hear the cheers for that, and for the first time in his existence he tells Knock, Knock jokes.

The progression of their relationship is a pure pleasure to read, it’s like their first time again only with a twist; now Bella is the one with the knowledge, it’s so familiar yet so intriguingly different.  At this stage it is nine chapters in, Edward has unleashed his 1918 charm and Bella is allowing herself to hope for their future.  I have my fingers crossed that Edward is going to fall in love with her all over again and I plan to stick around to witness their romance unfold.

 Summary for The Keepsake: “Some things you never forget, they just hurt too much to remember.

Twilight – Rated: M – English – Romance/Hurt/Comfort – Chapters: 9 – Words: 55,596 – Reviews: 1897 – Updated: 2-14-12 – Published: 11-18-11 – Bella & Edward”

http://www.fanfiction.net/s/7562914/1/The_Keepsake

********************

I would like to thank Cared for joining me this week, her rec sounds amazing, and I agree windchymes‘ AU fics are excellent – my lovely Edward’sEternal, whom I Beta for, is actually windchymes’ Beta. And, if you like Mobward I’m certain you’ll enjoy JA Mash‘s Don’t Go Gently Into the Night or if you want to just read some O/S check out Countdown to Valentine’s Day 2012 Risqué VDay! Now, it’s your turn to share what’s been owning you in the FanFiction world this week. Happy Friday my friends! xx MC

NOTE: FFF Library is now all up to date again, including the link to our RA Best of 2011 List.

34 Comments

Filed under Edward A M Cullen, Fan Fiction Friday, Fan Fiction Friday Guest Review, Fan Fiction Recs, FFF Library, Twilight, Writing

34 responses to “FanFiction Fridays – Recs for Feb 17/12

  1. Sus

    I haven’t read the first two stories, but “The Keepsake” has truly touched my little heart. It is a WIP, but for some reason, I don’t see it being real long, unless she’s gonna add a twist or something to it. This last chapter was very pivotal to the story. READ THIS!!

  2. ladyquinzy

    Thank you! These stories are really worth readiing! I started putting them on my story alerts & faves.

  3. Hi Ladies

    Thanks for the recs – I have not read any of these so I have more for my list, yay!

    This week I have been reading Meet the Masens by FictionFreak95, and I am about 5 chapters from the end, I am loving it!

    Also, ever since Cared put me onto the Age of Edward 2012 contest, I have been reading some of these little treats. I absolutely loved these two:

    A Love Not Meant for this World by sheviking http://www.fanfiction.net/s/7819524/1/A_Love_not_meant_for_this_World
    Summary: In the midst of disaster can Bellona, a Roman noblewoman, save her gladiator? Or will the two lovers be forced to spend eternity apart?

    An Honourable Intention by luckyirishtart http://www.fanfiction.net/s/7800399/1/An_Honorable_Intention Summary: A letter. An honorable intention. Bella has made it on her own through the Civil War, but will a letter from her dead husband interfere with her happiness in the future?

    I am having the best time reading through these Age of Edward entries.. great fun!

    Can’t wait to see what is owning you all this week! AV xo

    • I loved Meet the Masens!! And there was a new future take last week for those of you have already finished the story. Gotta love the Masens at a BBQ!

    • rita01tx

      Great rec on sheviking’s A Love Not Meant For This World, Ally! It had me sobbing my eyes out at the end…I loved it!
      Period stories always grab my attention, so I will read An Honorable Intention asap!
      LyricalKris has a great Civil War story going, called
      Tomorrow is Another Day
      http://www.fanfiction.net/s/7600802/1/Tomorrow_Is_Another_Day
      In the post Civil War South, there are consequences for a Northern man who falls for a Southern Belle. A story of a friendship ripped apart by war, and rebuilding your life after near total devastation.
      Twilight – Rated: M – English – Drama/Romance – Chapters: 11 – Words: 44,380 – Reviews: 579 – Updated: 2-17-12 – Published: 12-1-11 – Edward & Bella
      I highly recommend this one!!

  4. THANKS again MC… I’m so glad you love Don’t Go Gently as much as I do…. and the review is just fantastic!! xo Jess

  5. I am a huge fan of windchymes’ work! Her story sounds amazing, so definitely adding it to my never-ending list. :)

    You would think that I would be reading more romantic stories this week, but not so much. I did start a WIP though, which is unusual for me. I was in the mood for a darker AU story, and this totally fit the bill.

    Taken by tinkrbe1l3 is a great vamp story!! Edward happens upon Bella driving on a back road to Forks in violent rain storm. When he causes her car to crash, he doesn’t hold back his bloodlust in anyway. This of course leads to serious consequences for both him and Bella. I am totally in love with this story right now. *fanning self*

    http://www.fanfiction.net/s/7575335/1/

    I also read a great completed story, that is a collaboration with whatsmynomdeplume and Derdriu oFaolain called A Matter of Life and Death. Edward is Death personified, and Bella is a scientist trying to make an elixir for eternal life. This doesn’t sit well with him, so he pays her a visit to convince her to stop. This story is not dark as it sounds, because well, the authors are both amazing at placing humor in all of the right places. :)

    http://www.fanfiction.net/s/7084805/1/A_Matter_of_Life_and_Death

  6. ShazzaG

    Hi Everyone – I like the sound the The Keepsake – so have added it to my favourites. I have recently read Written in the Stars which i am sure has been recommended here before but who can resist, a cuddling, protective, alien Edward who purrs!!…. and has a tail!!! Loved it. Really interesting story – give it a go .. He-s king of a dying planet and human Bella is captured to become his queen —http://www.fanfiction.net/s/7502401/1/Written_in_the_Stars. Also (again I am sure this is preaching to the masses but oh my goodness I loved and adored but at the same time I was unsure whether to carry on reading THE VAMPIRE IN THE BASEMENT. So glad I got through all the angst and worry – it is a very moving piece of work – http://www.fanfiction.net/s/4887478/1/The_Vampire_in_the_Basement. I understand the author took a long time finishing this but I am sure it was worth the wait for those who started it from the beginning. Thank you for letting me join in again. And thank you for the recs above MC and Cared and for the recs to come this Fantastic FFic Friday. xxx

    • rita01tx

      Lordy, girl! Those have to be two of my very favorite stories!
      Written in the Stars was fuckin’ awesome…I love science fiction type stories!
      And, hell yeah, The Vampire in the Basemen was well worth the wait.
      It’s one of the reasons I’m loathe to delete anyone from my TBR, simply because they haven’t updated in a long time. There’s always hope, right?

  7. ShazzaG

    Oh and by the way – did you all see Rob live at the Berlin press conference – he looks divine. Love his hair, love him and love that he keeps us all here still. I wouldnt have started reading ffic if not for his portrayal of Edward – so thanks Rob xxxxxx

  8. kalaekalae

    :-D
    Thank you… <3

  9. Thanks to you MC for giving me the opportunity to talk about The Keepsake. I had heard of Don’t Go Gently Into The Night but was trying to resist starting another WIP. Looks like you talked me into starting just one more, like the little fic addict that I am.

  10. rita01tx

    This week, I’ve been vamping it up this week with:

    Hear No Evil by BlueSea14
    http://www.fanfiction.net/s/3595610/1/Hear_No_Evil
    After over a hundred years alone, a deaf vampire Bella finds the Cullen family. With no memory of her human past, and no way to communicate with the world, how can they help her? Canon.
    Twilight – Rated: T – English – Romance/Adventure – Chapters: 25 – Words: 98,819 – Reviews: 1479 – Updated: 4-9-10 – Published: 6-15-07 – Bella & Edward – Complete

    and

    Ithaca is Gorges by Gisell-lx
    http://www.fanfiction.net/s/4988866/1/Ithaca_is_Gorges
    New Moon from Carlisle’s and Edward’s POV: After the Cullens leave Bella and move to Ithaca, NY, Carlisle fights to keep his family together as Edward’s pain threatens to tear them apart. Canon.
    Twilight – Rated: T – English – Drama – Chapters: 19 – Words: 126,550 – Reviews: 2160 – Updated: 12-7-09 – Published: 4-12-09 – Carlisle – Complete
    (Can’t believe I’m only reading this NOW…just got to the part where Edward goes suicidal!)

  11. This week I went Amish with Holdme Ransom’s In Your World. They have tender yet steamy moments out in those corn fields! And with Bella running from an abusive relationship with Jake there is some angst and drama as well.
    http://www.fanfiction.net/s/6811278/1/In_Your_World

    • rita01tx

      Don’t you mean solostintwilight’s In Your World? Her Amishward has got to be one of my very favorite Edwards!! Please don’t miss reading her new story, The Biology Project, when you finish IYW!
      http://www.fanfiction.net/s/7693130/1/The_Biology_Project
      Edward’s a sex addict resisting treatment, Bella’s a girl who just wants to get laid already. What happens when they get paired up for a Biology Project? Bio Lab could get interesting…
      Twilight – Rated: M – English – Romance/Hurt/Comfort – Chapters: 46 – Words: 124,816 – Reviews: 7351 – Updated: 2-17-12 – Published: 12-30-11 – Edward & Bella

  12. ilovealion

    Thank you Cared and MC. Both of these WIPs sound awesome. When I’m in the mood for some canon Edward, it sounds like the Keepsake will the bill. They are both bookmarked ;)

    • ilovealion

      um… my comment above should have read “will fit the bill.” lol Don’t you love seeing a typo the SECOND you hit “post comment.”

  13. haystackhair

    Damn you guys and your fantastic reviews, and damn my weak fic h00r resistance!!!! I keep saying no more WIPs and I keep starting them anyway! Gobbled up The Keepsake. I’m in love with Edward Cullen all over again. Le sigh. I’m going to read her complete stories too. Then off to read all the other recs, then try to be patient about waiting for updates.

  14. Pingback: FanFiction Fridays – Recs for Mar 2/12 | Rob Attack

Leave Us Some Love & Tell us what You Think, Comment.

