FanFiction Fridays – Happy Halloween!

RA presents Happy Halloween on FanFiction Fridays

Since it’s the last FanFiction Friday in RA’s October Horror Month, this week I will be recing 1 Horror and 1 Supernatural, and RA’s Boss, RobsFan~tasy, will rec 1 Supernatural. It’s gonna be a scary week here on FFF! *shivers*

So, let’s get started with our first rec of the week by RobsFan~tasy…..

RobsFan~tasy

This is my first official FF rec ever! It’s a little story I heard about several months ago and it stuck with me so much, kept calling my name so often that I finally had to break down and read it.  It’s called Across the Universes by FantasyMother.

This story is complete at 20 chapters, including a future-take, and it will grab your interest and attention in the first few lines.  I love unusual, paranormal type stories and this one does not disappoint.

The story begins with a human Edward and Alice shopping  in a bookstore, where they discover an old and tattered leather-bound Journal. It seems like an antique and Edward falls in love with it, yet the pages are crisp, white and pristine. Not at all what you would expect for an antique Journal. From the moment he begins to write in the Journal it begins to change and with every change in the journal there is an odd change in him as well. Then, in a parallel universe, a vampire Edward buys the same journal and discovers that each time he writes in the Journal there are new, unexplainable additions to the Journal and even stranger changes in him. When the two Edwards discover they can communicate with one another through the journal, the story grabs you and refuses to let go. Will their parallel lives collide? Will Vampire Edward abandon his human half in an Alternate Universe to suffer alone?

I love the struggle these two Edwards and Isabellas have to endure and the fact that Human and Vampire Edward both worry for their counterpart’s Bella’s. When this story ends you will discover a unique ending that leads to a myriad of possibilities; in fact, if you like where this story leaves off as much as I did, there’s a sequel that began in January, Collapse the Universes.

My only criticism of this story would be that it ended too soon! It could have carried on for ages and kept you bouncing on the edge of your seat for months instead of days. Maybe the sequel will keep us spellbound much longer. This story is like nothing I have ever read before and I hope you will give it a chance.

Summary for Across the Universes: “Not all is as it seems when Edwards from two different universes find an old journal that can bridge the gap between them. Things become even stranger when the reality of one universe starts to bleed into the other. AU, B & E Rated M for Lemons.

Twilight – Rated: M – English – Fantasy/Romance – Chapters: 20 – Words: 90,213 – Reviews: 1152 – Updated: 1-2-11 – Published: 4-21-10 – Bella & Edward – Complete”

http://www.fanfiction.net/s/5914339/1/Across_the_Universes

Ok MC, Back to you, the Master Fic Rec Queen. Thanks: RobsFan~tasy.

********************

Alright, now for my first Horror Month rec, it’s by one of my favorite FF authors; a brand new WIP called The Curse of the Swan by kitkat681.

****

The first chapter of The Curse of the Swan was just posted this past Wed. Oct. 26/11, and the intended update schedule will be once a week; every Wednesday.

The story is labeled Supernatural/Romance and in chapter 1 we learn that when Bella’s mother, Renee Swan gave birth to her on a cliff, Bella was immediately cursed, and that she “…had lived with her Aunt Esme and her daughter in Salem since she was just a baby. Her mother had died during childbirth and no one knew who her father was. She always felt that something was missing inside of her when she saw her cousin with her mother. She knew she was loved, her Aunt made sure of that, but she could feel deep in her soul that there was something more that was just out of her reach.”

While Alice and Bella are browsing in an antique store, Bella discovers “…a navy blue book that had a beautiful pentagram covering most of the front.” She learns that this special book is actually a Book of Shadows – a journal of sorts – used to keep track of spells and rituals, and also that her Mom, her Aunt Esme, Alice and herself are actually White Witches.

Do not fear, this is a Bella and Edward TwiFic, and since we haven’t met Edward yet, I interviewed the author, kitkat681, to get some additional information regarding the storyline.

I learned that Edward is NOT a Vamp in this story, but in chapter 2, that will be posted next week, so far we STILL will not know his name. Esme will explain everything to Bella, but they don’t remember Edward’s name since the original curse happened over 200 years ago. When we meet him in chapter 2, we also discover that he was a human, but that when Bella was cursed, he was also cursed – he has his curse tattooed on his ribs! Tattward! Here is a Curse Teaser from chapter 2:

Eternal night Eternal day

Until the rite has given way.

The key to all’s the graceful bird

The only one your heart has heard

She continues to fade away

And death will take her where she lays

Your life

Your truth

You’re living proof

That all is lost

When love’s exhaust.

For all that you have done to me

As is my will…so mote it be.

I am anxious to follow this new Supernatural/Romance fic. kitkat681 has presented us with an interesting and original storyline that will be full of Witches, Witchcraft and Wicca, Spells and Rituals, and I have complete faith that The Curse of the Swan will turn out to be another one of her epic tales!

Summary for The Curse of the Swan: “Bella Swan lives her life completely unaware that her time on this Earth is slowly counting down. A chance discovery opens her eyes to a history she never knew about. Will she be able to break the spell that has cursed her family for centuries?

Twilight – Rated: M – English – Supernatural/Romance – Chapters: 1 – Words: 1,236 – Reviews: 45 – Published: 10-26-11 – Bella & Edward”

http://www.fanfiction.net/s/7496107/1/The_Curse_of_the_Swan

********************

My last Halloween rec is a true Horror fic called I’m a Doctor by the talented author,  texasbella. This story is written in Drabble format, and at 53 chapters and an Epilogue, it is complete, well-written and VERY CREEPY!!

I read this story as a WIP and let me tell you it is one of the best Horror fics I have ever read! I was so creeped out, I literally *shivered* when reading it; it is definitely the perfect FanFiction rec to end RA’s Horror Month. 

I’m a Doctor is labeled as a Horror Edward fic, and even though we do get BPOV from chapter 37 and beyond, the story really is centered around Edward’s manic activities, his bizarre mannerisms and absurd grip on reality. This Horror fic is not for the faint at heart, it deals with “Crackedward”, who also got dubbed, by many of us readers as the story progressed, as “Pyschoward, Freakshoward, Dr. Dark and scarWard, Seedward, Expelward, Shaveward, Reepward, Creepward, Dr. EVILward, Twisted Darkward…it all boils down to the boy is CRACKED! “

Edward is obviously a Doctor, but in the loosest sense of the word. After a devastating loss, he loses all grip on reality and goes to disturbingly extreme measures to right his discombobulated life. There are no words to explain his manic thought processes, but I can guarantee you will be freaked-out as you try to wrap your head around his incredible mind and his horrific activities. I have never read such a unique and creepy Edward! He is truly captivating! If you want to read a true Halloween Horror fic then please give I’m a Doctor a chance, you will not be disappointed!

Chapter 3:

I was a doctor.

I should have been able to save them.

I couldn’t.

My sweet daughter dead on arrival.

My beautiful Bella lost to a madness from which she couldn’t escape.

I will make it right.

I will bring us peace.

Somehow.

I have a plan.

Summary for I’m a Doctor:  “DRABBLE How does a man cope when his world crumbles around him and he thinks he’s lost everything? What lengths will he go to in order to find happiness? Dark, disturbing, not for the feint of heart. M for lang/lemons.

Twilight – Rated: M – English – Horror – Chapters: 54 – Words: 9,972 – Reviews: 1258 – Updated: 10-22-11 – Published: 10-21-11 – Edward – Complete”

http://www.fanfiction.net/s/7482030/1/Im_a_Doctor

********************

Well, there you have it, the last of RA’s Horror Month recs. I want to say thank you to RobsFan~tasy for joining me this week and giving us an excellent Supernatural rec. I hope you enjoy these special Horror/Supernatural recs and please share what is owning you in the FanFiction world this week! Happy FFF my friends! 😀

Happy Halloween! MC


31 Comments

Filed under Edward A M Cullen, Fan Fiction Friday, Fan Fiction Recs, FFF Library, Happy Halloween, Twilight, Writing

31 responses to “FanFiction Fridays – Happy Halloween!

  1. rita01tx

    Wow! Great recs all! I have read Across the Universe and the sequel and second RobsFan-tasy’s notion…this is a GREAT read! I’m so glad you chose Curse of the Swan, as well…Kitkat681 is one hell of a writer and this one grabbed me right off. I’m a Doctor? Gonna start that one immediately…sound right up my twisted little alley! LOL!

  2. Hello MC and all!

    I loved Across the Universes – great story – great rec Rob’sFan-Tasy!!

    The other two stories I have not read, but I always have room for more on my list.

    This week I have been trying to knock over some of the Actorward stories so Cared and I can pop them on the list, but a couple I have had to abandon due to “snoredom”. However, I am reading one at the moment that is shaping up nicely *phew*.

    When I was jaded earlier in the week with my snore-fest stories, I read The Demons in my Dreams by littlecat358. I had been meaning to read this story for ages, as I just loved Unplanned Perfection, LC’s other story. TDiMD is a WIP, but LC updates regularly.. So far I am loving this story, there is enough action, UST, drama and mystery to keep a girl on the edge of her seat. I can’t wait for the next chapter!! http://www.fanfiction.net/s/6942309/1/The_Demons_in_My_Dreams
    27 y.o. social worker Bella Swan has seen her fair share of troubled souls, but nothing like Edward Cullen, part owner & manager of The Cullen House Group Home. Will he allow her into his life? And can she survive the demons that haunt him? OOC, Lemons .

    Also, I know I have rec’ed this before, and so have others, but I have to mention it again.. this is my current “squeal and drop everything to read” fic – Fan Fiction, Sex Gods and Single Girls by the fabulous bannerday http://www.fanfiction.net/s/7103047/1/Fan_Fiction_Sex_Gods_and_Single_Girls Honestly, this story has me tied up in knots to see what happens next, I LOVE it! And it is honestly one of the best written fics I have ever read. Not to mention, I know this seems silly, but bannerday always replies to your reviews and this is so nice of her.

    Can’t wait to see what everyone is reading this week! AV oxo

  3. Yes, all good recs, thanks MC and RF! I’m also intrigued by “Fanfiction, sex gods and single girls”.
    The fic owning me this week is “Arms” by Virginia May.
    After witnessing the brutal murder of her parents, sharpshooter & former Olympian Bella Swan is forced to live under a new identity as a high school student in tiny Forks, WA. Will unexpected feelings for the wrong man be her undoing or her salvation? AH
    http://www.fanfiction.net/s/7155134/1/Arms
    Happy Friday ;)!

  4. Good morning all!, Mc, as promised I have subed to and reviewed the curse of the swan! Very intriguing. I also invited her to stop by and say hello. i guess the only way I’ll ever get to read any fics to completion is to sub to a bunch of them and read the updates as they come in, is that the best way to do it girls? especially when you are short on time? I have so many fics I want to finish but i always get side tracked. It’s all Robs Fault! if he wasn’t so damn sexy and demanding of all my time! LOL I love supenatural occult fics so if you all know of any stories like that, I’m all ears today, preferrably witch, ghost, Fae type stories. I’ve heard there are many like this out there.
    I was reading Sex Gods and Single girlsd too and thought it was a great read, RL just got in my way and i need to get back to it as well as Pure revelations by I love a lion. Both were great stories and only my RL and Rob schedules pulled me away from them. Maybe I can TRY (stress the word TRY) to pull a marathon reading session this weekend and catch up a little. Keep you fingers crossed for me Cared! LOL I will try!!! I owe you a Big E-mail GF I know! I’ll get on that too!

    • ilovealion

      Hi, sweets.

      I’d love for you to get back on the Pure Revelations bandwagon. I’m working on chapter 57 right now. I’m not sure where you left off, but it’s about to get a little angsty (and scary for our characters). Yep, there’s a lunatic in LaVerrot. lol

      I’m like you… I don’t have time to read like I want to. I write in every spare moment (which isn’t as often as I’d like with work and 4 kids to contend with).

      Anyway, I’d be glad to see you back in our reviews (when you can find the time)

      Oh, just as a reminder, PR is a collab and the author name is georgialion (georgiaedwardlover + ilovealion).

      Have a great rest of the weekend.

  5. Crap! forgot to hit the Notify me button!! LOL you’d think i’d learn that by now wouldn’t ya?

    Thanks for inviting me to share you’re post and do my first FF Rec Ever MC! It was fun!! Oh and while I am here I wanted to ask all the ladies who come here every friday for recs one question, Would you be interested in having an Author interview once a week? In ADDITION to MC’s FFFridays?
    Just leave a comment and let me know if ou would or drop me a line!! kaythnxbye!

    • newyorkkisses

      Congratulations on your first FF rec, RF! Loved your choice. 🙂
      Author interviews sound great, I always enjoy reading them. Not sure, whether that many authors would be available to interview on a regular basis, so that you could have one a week (sounds a bit stressful), but I’d love to read them however often you could do/post one. 🙂

  6. Yes, I have to go back to “Pure revelations” as well. It was very good from what I can remember. Interviewing an author would be a good idea as well.

    • ilovealion

      Hi friend. If you choose to get back in the Pure Revelations game, now is a good time. The secrets are about to unravel in haste.

      Thanks for your support and kind comments.

  7. haystackhair

    ohhh more good recs while waiting for fics to update! Whoever rec’d The Slow Burn was dead on, it’s f*ckhawt and I can’t wait for the next chappie. RL has been kicking my add lately, but trying to stay in touch. I’m still trying to recover from the Details outtakes, holy motha those were panty melting!!! Happy Friday ladies!

  8. That last rec. totally intrigued me. I just downloaded it to my iPad for future reading. 🙂

    There are a couple of stories that I would rec. for this week’s theme of scary dark Halloween type stories.

    The Elusive Mr. Cullen by dariachenowith completely blew me away. This story did NOT go as I expected to, and towards the end, I had to stop by the RAoR FB page for explanations and reassurances. If you want a story that has great lemons and an awesome plot twist, than this is for you. I loved it.

    http://www.fanfiction.net/s/6972004/1/The_bElusive_b_bMr_b_bCullen_b

    Another WIP that I started this week is Lovegame by money beet. It’s a AU story with a really dark Edward, that likes to torture poor Bella, because he truly believes that he owns her, and can do what ever he wants. Definitely violent and dark.

    http://www.fanfiction.net/s/5376520/1/

    I read a really great witch story awhile back that I can’t remember at this moment, but if I can find it I will come back to post the link.

    Thanks for the amazing post!!!

  9. Nice to see you on FanFic Friday RFT. I’ve read Across The Universes, a great Halloween pic. I haven’t read the other two MC but it might be next Halloween before I do as I’m still knee deep in ActorwardsY. LOL

    You have to get back to Pure Revelations and FanFiction, Sex Gods and Single Girls RFT, both great stories that have plot lines heating up at the moment.

    I

    • ilovealion

      Thanks so much Cared. We truly appreciate your support of Pure Revelations. You’ve been a constant since the beginning… and we heart you hard.

      I’m up to my ears in writing at the moment… but I’ll send off an email when i send the final product to CA.

      ❤ (for reals)

  10. miniaturemom12

    Hmm. No horror recs, but am LOVING Unloved Unwanted by content1. It’s very well written and engaging! Abandoned by Edward and Jake, Bella runs away, right into the arms of danger and the Volturi. Can her new family help her heal? When the Cullens come back for her, which side will she choose, and who will win her heart in the end?
    http://www.fanfiction.net/s/6009387/1/bUnloved_b_bUnwanted_b

    Adding and downloading. Thank you very much!

  11. newyorkkisses

    Hi ladies!
    Thank you for these recs, RF and MC. I have heard of Across the Universe, but wasn’t sure whether to read it. I will do that now, thanks to your description of it. The other two are new to me and sound very intriguing, going on the list.
    I’ve started a fic this week, which I’m still undecided about, regarding whether it’s rec-worthy or not. So, in keeping with the horror theme, I’ll rec a one-shot that I read a few weeks ago, “Purple” by Lovelybrutal.
    Summary:
    A birthday gift for yellowglue. Edward is an artist with a dark streak. Jacob is about to find out how dark it really is. AH, rated M for lemons and graphic violence. Not fluffy.
    Twilight – Rated: M – English – Drama/Romance – Chapters: 1 – Words: 8,863 – Reviews: 33 – Published: 7-14-11 – Edward & Bella
    http://www.fanfiction.net/s/7179053/1/purple

    Wishing all of you a great Halloween weekend!
    XO
    NYK

  12. roxiesmom2009

    Hey ladies! Thanks for the recs today Robsfantasy! I have Across the Univereses on the neverending list already. Maybe ill try that on my trip across the pond next weekend. I have a great rec for horror week. Has anyone read
    http://www.fanfiction.net/s/5753638/1/Lions_Eat_Lambs
    By Ragdoll of Twilight?

    2. Lions Eat Lambs » reviews
    A camping expedition goes awry when Bella’s friends disappear. While searching for them, she stumbles upon the manor of Edward Cullen, unaware that she is about to become a pawn in his dangerous game – a game she can’t afford to lose. AU/OOC/V&H
    Twilight – Rated: M – English – Suspense/Horror – Chapters: 8 – Words: 43,188 – Reviews: 530 – Updated: 7-25-10 – Published: 2-16-10 – Edward & Bella – Complete

    This story is short, 10 chapters and Very Creepy! I loved it! You kinda want more at the end… Not your typical story AT ALL! Enjoy!

    Another story I wanna rec that’s a WIP, is How to Paint a House. Omg. I FLUV this story. Bella is 15 going on 16 and Edward is 17 going on 18. He’s new in town and has been hired to paint Bella and Charlie’s house after Charlie breaks his leg. Bella is young, naive and wants her first kiss soooo bad. And of course she falls for Edward. But can he see her like that?
    http://www.fanfiction.net/s/7107558/1/How_to_Paint_a_House

    1. How to Paint a House » reviews
    Bella Swan is a naive fifteen year old, set to spend another kiss-less summer alone. Edward is new to town, and doesn’t know a soul. Watch an unlikely friendship blossom over the simple task of painting a house. But for these two, nothing is simple.
    Twilight – Rated: M – English – Romance/Angst – Chapters: 14 – Words: 81,587 – Reviews: 1817 – Updated: 10-22-11 – Published: 6-22-11 – Bella & Edward

    Happy Halloween hoors!

  13. roxiesmom2009

    I forgot to say, Curse of the Swan and I’m a Doctor sound really good too! Added to the list!

  14. kalaekalae

    Another great post… thank you

  15. OMG!

    *blushes furiously*
    Thank you thank you!

  16. Pingback: FanFiction Fridays – Halloween Horror Part 1! | Rob Attack

  17. Pingback: FanFiction Fridays – Halloween Horror Part 2! | Rob Attack

Leave Us Some Love & Tell us what You Think, Comment.

