FanFiction Fridays – Recs for Dec 9/11

It’s Friday again and this week I have three excellent WIP recs for you; I will actually provide the first two and my lovely RA counterpart, robsfuturemate, will review the third, this week’s Holiday story.

So, to begin with, I would like to say that I am very excited and honoured to rec this lovely new WIP called My Beautiful Storm by, one of my all-time favourite FanFiction authors, the creator of Friday’s at Noon, the talented author of 9 stories, Troublefollows1017.

This story began posting on December 2/11 and, as of today, we have three chapters, with a posting schedule of once a week, each Friday. The first chapter was written and generously donated to the worthy cause of The Fandom for LLS. It is so well-written you will be completely captivated.

One aspect I’m really enjoying about My Beautiful Storm is the unique format of presentation. It is written from BPOV and she is recounting her and Edward’s life journey together from memories sparked after reading Edward’s Journal, which Bella found under their bed in chapter 1, while looking for the remote so she could watch her favourite weather show, Storm Riders.

From chapter 2 on, each chapter starts out with a Journal entry and then a flashback story from Bella, relating to that entry. It is the author’s “…way of putting some EPOV in there but keeping it all in hers.” I find this to be so refreshing and creative, learning how the present-day relationship of Edward and Bella came to be through their past, growing-up life experiences together.

Teaser Excerpt from Chapter 4 to be posted December 16th:

“So, you’re coming, right?” Jessica stood beside my open locker door as I tried to get my calculus book in my backpack. 

Why was she talking to me? I looked over the rest of the books in my locker, making sure I wasn’t forgetting anything. Five AP classes were kicking my ass after only a month of school. 

“Where am I coming?” I had no guess. 

Jessica sighed in annoyance. “The dance and then the party at my house after the dance. Come on, Bella. Don’t play.”

Don’t play? Since when did Jessica care if I was coming to one of her parties?

“Hey, don’t forget this.” Long fingers pulled my copy of The Oedipus Trilogy out from under my Spanish book. “We have to be ready to discuss archetypes tomorrow.”

Edward’s smile plastered one on my face almost instantaneously. Leaning back, he set his backpack down and bent one knee, placing his foot flat against the locker next to mine. His hands sunk into his pockets, and he waited for me like he had done every day after school. I tried not to get distracted by the way his dark navy blue shirt fit a little snug across his chest or the way his sideburns made him look more like a man than a boy or the way he kept smiling at me while I zipped up my backpack.

“So, I am so glad you’re coming, Bella. You should totally bring Edward.” Jessica was a distant memory until she started speaking again. I was calling it the Edward Effect. 
Her reasons for talking to me became crystal clear. He was the reason all the girls were taking an interest in me. 

“Bring Edward to what?” Edward questioned, pushing off the lockers so he could see Jessica, who I don’t think he realized was even here until she spoke. I liked to call that the Bella Effect, but I was probably kidding myself. 

“I don’t remember saying I was coming to anything.”

Jessica completely ignored me and put on her flirt face for Edward. I almost threw up. “To the party at my house after the dance. It’s going to be epic. You have to come.”

“Epic, you say?” He quirked a brow and glanced at me as I rolled my eyes. “Well, if Bella’s going, I’m sure I’ll go.” His words made me feel ridiculously happy, and I was sure my face was going to break from smiling so damn much. I knew we were only friends, but he made me feel special. Special was so much better than weird.

Summary for My Beautiful Storm: “Weather-obsessed Bella finds Edward’s journal, leading her on a trip down memory lane. Back then, Edward had run away, hoping to find a new purpose. Bella couldn’t wait for her chance to escape, sure she knew what she wanted. Neither one expected this.

Twilight – Rated: M – English – Romance/Humor – Chapters: 2 – Words: 9,397 – Reviews: 274 – Updated: 12-3-11 – Published: 12-2-11 – Bella & Edward”

http://www.fanfiction.net/s/7601746/1/My_Beautiful_Storm 

Troublefollows1017’s Blog 

It’s heart-warming but difficult for me to find the right words to express, just how much Troublefollows1017 changed my life with the incredible Pennyward – the life-long friendships I have forged through that story/character are truly amazing –  and I just know that Stormyward will be as enchanting to us, just like all her other wonderful characters. I can guarantee My Beautiful Storm will be well worth your FF reading time!

******************** 

My second rec for this week, I just had to include before I go away because it is an excellent WIP Drabble by the incredible Born Onhalloween called Lather, Rinse, Repeat . It’s very humourous and so well-written. No one does hair like BOH! 😉

These 100 word Drabble chapters are packed full of some of the most delicious descriptions you will ever read. Born Onhalloween writes the most sensual descriptions of a hair-experience I’ve ever had or read! 😉 I Love it! In her A/N she says, “Hope you enjoy this light romp! This is what happens when the kink factory (moi) goes to the beauty salon.” LOL

Poor Edward comes into the Beauty Salon named Mystique for a simple haircut, but discovers a whole new level of hair-aesthetics service from the newly Graduated from Cosmetology School, Bella. In each chapter she describes, in detail, just what she is offering him in her form of the highest quality Beauty Salon hair service…

Chapter 13  (’cause this chapter totally rocks in hair-cleansing sensuality!)

Sides, top, and front sufficiently cleansed, it’s time for the all-important nape. Cradling his neck, I lift gingerly from the U-shaped opening, drawing his face toward me. I fervently hope the cleavageful of Vera Wang Lovestruck he’s getting will work its magic on his olfactory nerves while my fingers scratch at the back of his head.

We all pretend it’s about cleansing, but peel away the pretense and it all comes down to the touching.

I hate having to redeposit his neck back into the harsh slot of the sink, but that’s how this dance is choreographed.

Lather. Rinse. Repeat.

Summary for  Lather, Rinse, Repeat “Freshly graduated from Cosmetology School, Bella takes a job in a health club beauty salon called Mystique. First days on the job can be so boring…until that perfect head of hair walks in! All drabble, All human, All BPOV

Twilight – Rated: M – English – Romance – Chapters: 14 – Words: 2,064 – Reviews: 655 – Updated: 12-8-11 – Published: 11-26-11 – Bella & Edward”

http://www.fanfiction.net/s/7584064/1/Lather_Rinse_Repeat 

So far we have 15 chapters, and an update schedule of one chapter per day. The story will be complete at 41 chapters and BOH will start doubling up posting between Xmas and New Year, so that it finishes on New Year’s Day. So, if you are looking for an amusing, romantic and well-written Bella & Edward Drabble fic, give this a read, I know for certain you will not be disappointed!

********************

Yes, you heard it right. I’m back with another rec! So I guess I passed the RA FanFiction Fridays test last time 😉 And this time I have the pleasure of  introducing you to a brand new Holiday fic by the lovely Cara-no entitled I Remember December. One of the things that drew me to this story is that there is a new chapter every day in December until Christmas. And we are only nine days in so there’s plenty of time to get caught up! It’s a great way to count down until Christmas!!

Take a walk with Edward down memory lane in each of these short but well-written chapters. They might not be the happiest memories, but they are THEIR memories. Edward starts his reminiscing at age 8, the day he first met Bella. And at the end of each chapter, Edward writes to present day Bella. But don’t worry, as always, Cara-no promises a HEA, even when he says how much he misses her!

Excerpt from Chapter 4:

The streets of Chicago are full of people, either hurrying to get home after work or out buying Christmas-related shit.

This is it.

I reach the guy.

“Excuse me,” I say, walking up next to him. He looks at me, and I see nothing but disdain. Well, fuck you. “Do you know what time it is?”

In my periphery, I see Bella passing the guy.

Did she… did she bail?

She didn’t even pause!

“Five o’clock,” Suit replies gruffly then speeds up, most likely to get away from me. “Taxi!” he shouts, flagging a car down.

I slow down, keeping my eyes on Bella’s back as she continues straight forward.

When she turns, I follow.

Soon, she turns again, and we end up in a narrow alley.

“What the hell happened?” I ask when I reach her. She spins around to face me, and that’s when I see the massive grin on her face. Fuck, she’s so pretty. “Did you…?”

I swear, she fucking squeals.

Also, she throws herself at me, and I’m fucking stunned.

Yeah, I tip over. That tiny chick is evidently a strong little shit.

“Oomph,” I utter when I hit the snowy ground.

“I’m so sorry!” she gasps, but before she can get off me, I wrap my arms around her waist. “Did I hurt you?”

I shake my head, looking up at her pretty face. Her hair falls around us creating a dark curtain… Fuck, how I want to kiss her.

Imagine my surprise when she kisses me.

Right then, right there, she kisses me.

Summary for I Remember December: “Growing up is never easy. For some, it’s even harder. But if you have that special someone, the bad fades away. Edward remembers… and this is his story. Short chapters, updated daily. All EPOV. Rated M for the usual.

Twilight – Rated: M – English – Romance – Chapters: 8 – Words: 10,173 – Reviews: 1223 – Updated: 12-7-11 – Published: 12-1-11 – Edward & Bella”

http://www.fanfiction.net/s/7599978/1/I_Remember_December

CaraNo’s Blog

And don’t forget, it’s only one short captivating chapter a day! Perfect to read whenever you have a spare moment during this busy Holiday season! Cheers 🙂

******************** 

I would like to thank RFM for her wonderful rec and hope that you will all enjoy these three fic’s as much as we do! Please share with us what has been owning you in the FanFiction world this week!

I would also like to take this opportunity to thank all you amazing ladies who came forward to offer to write FanFiction Fridays Guest Reviews while I am away on leave starting Monday. I am overwhelmed and deeply humbled by all the love and support I have received over the past week. Truly, thank you all from the bottom of my heart! *hugs*

So, that being said, starting next week and for at least several weeks after, we will still be having RA’s FanFiction Fridays, but all the recs in my posts will be by Guest Reviewers, and I believe I have enough stockpiled that I should be able to give you at least two recs per week. 😀  Please continue to visit FFF because there are some excellent Guest Review-recs coming your way this month!

I will be back soon…. ’cause as you’ll know NOTHIN’ can keep this h00r away from Rob and FanFiction! MUAH!!

MC

48 Comments

Filed under Edward A M Cullen, Fan Fiction Friday, Fan Fiction Recs, FFF Library, Twilight, Writing

48 responses to “FanFiction Fridays – Recs for Dec 9/11

  1. jolori54

    okay don’t get mad at me buuuut I haven’t looked over the recs yet since they are WIP and I don’t do those and I sorta haven’t read an E/B fic in well over a month!!!! *gasps* yeah that’s right I’m soooooooo on the slash kick still and am really really enjoying it so I will rec some that I have read

    all these stories(yes I said all even though a couple are not E/J-which is my preference and one vamp-which I don’t do often) I read today and really enjoyed them so if you’re a SLASH h00r like me you might wanna check em out and they are all one shots(except one that I didn’t read cause it’s oh hiatus)
    http://www.fanfiction.net/u/1946489/Beautiful_Figment
    and there is a Christmas one in there too!

    • rita01tx

      Sista! I’ll get back to YOU later…we gotta talk great slash stories!

      • jolori54

        you’re on girl, show me yours and I’ll show you mine 😉 I’ve read my fare share and am not stopping anytime soon!

        • rita01tx

          Alrighty, then! These are the ones I have read, or am currently following, in alphabetical order by author. Let me know the ones you want links for:
          Conversed (hers are my top favorites!)
          – Twinned (complete)
          – Seventeen Men (complete) (sequel to Twinned)
          – White Lines (WIP) EPOV for above stories
          Drizl
          – Boys! Boys! Boys! (one shot)
          Lyricalkris
          -Comfortable (WIP)
          Meikela
          – Southern Charm (complete) (great read)
          Robshandmonkey
          – Cry Me a River (2 chapters complete)
          Strae
          – What Matters (WIP) (Edward doesn’t know he’s talking to a dude online!)
          Theladyingrey42
          – Roll of the Dice (complete)
          Tuesdaymidnight
          – Raw & Rosy (complete) Biel’s vid turned me on to this one!

          Your turn!

          • jolori54

            damn okay second time I’m typing this……
            you got a great list goin on here I have a few on my TBR list but I don’t have the WIPs, Comfortable, Southern Charm, Roll of the Dice you could either drop me a link or I can look em up doesn’t matter!

            And well I would show you mine but it would probably take up this whole page haha as I have read well over 65 stories!! so it might be easier to just give you my ff profile http://www.fanfiction.net/u/2178962/Jolori but then you have to go through all the stories to find them so I have actually made a list of all the Slash ones I have read if you want I could email it to you!
            R&R was my first slash and will always be a fave of mine for sure(gah that vid was HOT!!!) but I have found a few that captivated me just as much or probably a bit more as well!!

    • You know you could write a Slash Rec for a FFF Jolori! 😀 I am open to all genres as we all have different preferences. xoxo Thanks for stopping by!

      • jolori54

        I am so not good with words though I wouldn’t know what to say or where to start!!! I’ll think about it though thanks hun

  2. kalaekalae

    So good, thank you MC

  3. Thanks MC and RFM, I’ve bookmarked “I remember December” and “My beautiful storm”. I’m already reading “Lather, rinse, repeat” and loving it. So much actually that I couldn’t help thinking about it yesterday at the hairdresser’s ;)!
    Hope you’re back soon MC, xoxo Steph.

  4. Thanks so much for the recs, ladies, I am not reading any of these ones yet, but I already have Cara’s and Troublefollow’s stories on my TBR, but BOH’s story is new to me, so thanks!

    Over the last couple of weeks I should have been reading more Actorwards, but I have been slack, Cared will be getting the whip out on me soon.. LOL However I have read some great stories lately..

    First being Hard Hats and High Heels by twinerdforlife
    http://www.fanfiction.net/s/7416808/1/bHard_b_bHats_b_and_bHigh_b_bHeels_b *complete* I really enjoyed this story – I have read quite a few angsty stories lately, so this one was a breath of fresh air for me. Fluffy, funny smutty fun. Drabble fic. The names that Edward gives Bella are hilarious. This story is unbetaed, and the author states this from the beginning, but considering this, there aren’t many mistakes – great fun!

    I also read Confidential by wandb *complete* This was a really great read, well written with a dash of mystery that keeps you reading. And this Edward is a bit of an ass at the beginning and you know that is my weakness! http://www.fanfiction.net/s/6854722/1/

    Looking forward to seeing what is owning everyone this week! *hugs* Ally

    • Thanks Ally: I started Hard Hats… but somehow lost my way, so decided to go back to it once it was finished. Thanks for the reminder. xo

    • newyorkkisses

      These both sound great, Ally. Going on the list, thank you! Just saw your reply to my post on TwiFicReviews, sorry I’ve had very little time to check blogs this week. Knowing you loved UC, I’ll go ahead and read it then. I can take angst very well, but I got a feeling (from the comments I’ve read on what goes on in UC) that I’ll enjoy this one more, if I’m not kept hanging between chapters (and resolutions to things going on) too much. That’s the same reason I haven’t jumped on the wagon for “The Slowest Burn” yet. I know it must be amazing from what I’ve heard and sounds 300% up my alley, but I’ll try and wait for it to complete. 😉
      Hope you’re well, too, bb!

      • haystackhair

        hey nyk, I had to take a break and wait for UC to finish before going back. It hurt my heart too much. It was worth the wait! Like a dope I went against my rule of not starting any more WIPs, and now it hasn’t updated in months. UGH!!! I’m waiting for sooo many updates. I’ll read some of the completed stories rec’d. I’m never steered wrong following the ladies here.

        • haystackhair

          GAH, how unclear was that? meant to say I started the Slowest Burn against my rules.

        • newyorkkisses

          Hey haystackhair, good to see you around!
          Yeah, that kind of heartache was the main reason that I held off reading UC, even though I was itching to read it as everyone was talking about it. If I can read a fic until the end without having to wait for updates I can usually take the tough parts.
          And The Slowest Burn? Again, can’t wait to start it, but from what I’ve read in comments, this is one I’d better wait out, too. 😉
          The only WIPs I’m reading at the moment are Edroar the Angry Lion, which is one of the best fics I’ve read in a while, but which is veeery slow with updates (the last one was two months ago) and Savage’s Transcendence, I squee every time I see an update.

    • Don’t worry Ally the whip is locked up the in the Red Room LOL.

      Thanks MC and RFM My Beautiful Storm and I Remember December are both at the top of my To Start Next List. Yes, I have more than one fanfic list, if only the rest of my life was as organised. Lather, Rinse, Repeat look like fun so I’ll add that to.

  5. The fic owning me this week is “Set fire to the rain”, really good, touching with a pinch of UST that keeps you on your toes.
    http://www.fanfiction.net/s/7056954/1/Set_Fire_to_the_Rain
    I also wanted to tell you ladies that a new idea for a story has been pestering me for a few days :). It will start after “Last interview…” is complete, which should be in about 3 weeks, maybe less. The title will probably be “Bitter llittle girl” and…I won’t say anything more . For now.
    Have a lovely Friday!

  6. smittenkitten

    Good morning everybody!
    Missed seeing ya’ll the last few day, just wanted to stop by & say “hi”! I’ll come back later for the recs…looking forward to reading what the RA gang is up too. 😉

    Happy Friday!
    xo~
    smitten

  7. MC-You are the queen of recs and a lovely supportive friend. What more could a girl hope for than to be sandwiched between TroublefollowsEdward and CaraNo, I ask you?? I am loving life!

    Thank you for your sweet words and for taking the time to squeeze in my little hair fantasy this morning, and mostly for being in my inbox so frequently! Wishing you a speedy and smooth recovery and return to your fullest health. ♥ ~BOH

  8. rita01tx

    Great rec’s MC and RFM! I was already reading My Beautiful Storm and I Remember September. Lather, Rinse, Repeat is going straight to the top of my TBR!
    Most recent complete story to blow me away was Lissa Bryan’s “Written in the Stars!” Hell’n I has just finished when Shay Savage rec’d it on her blog…what a coinkidink!
    http://www.fanfiction.net/s/7502401/1/Written_in_the_Stars
    Edward is king of a dying race, his planet torn by civil war. Bella is abducted to become his bride. From college student to Queen… Can she learn to love this strange man and help save his people? AU/OOC. Rated M for lemons, violence and mature themes.
    Twilight – Rated: M – English – Romance/Sci-Fi – Chapters: 31 – Words: 148,156 – Reviews: 4857 – Updated: 11-28-11 – Published: 10-28-11 – Edward & Bella – Complete
    I’ll be back with more later cause I read a shitton of FF while I was on vacation (thank God for my sister’s iPad)! Now if I had only written down what all I had read…

    • newyorkkisses

      Good to know that you read and enjoyed it, rita. I downloaded it to my Kindle a few days ago after going back and forth over whether it would be a good read or not, but know that I know you loved it, I can go straight ahead. So thank you for that. 🙂 And gosh, I wish I had some vacation time coming up to read loads of fic uninterrupted, sounds heavenly. But I’ll unfortunately have to wait a few months until that is going to happen.

      • rita01tx

        Hey, NYK darlin’! Just wait until you get a load of Edward! Freaky hawt!
        I do love the science fiction / fantasy genre and this one tops the bill!
        Come back and let me know what you thought of it!

        Yeah, waiting for vacation time sucks. Next November for me again *sigh*

  9. rita01tx

    Crap…jizzytyping…I Remember DECember *face palm*

  10. Fantastic recs woman!! And super doubly excited to get an extra teaser for STORMY!!! THanks for that ladies!!!

    xoxoxoxoxo

  11. newyorkkisses

    Hi ladies!
    Thanks for these recs, MC and Mate. I haven’t bookmarked either of them, but they’re going on the list now to read as soon as they’re complete.
    This week, after finishing CW&IA, I’ve been reading “The Vampire in the Basement”, which you probably all know has completed recently. I’m currently about 65% through and can’t wait to see where it is going and whether Edward will get better, poor bb.
    Summary (for those, who don’t know about it yet):
    While hunting one afternoon, the boys stumble upon what appears to be a corpse. When they learn it’s a severely broken vampire, they take him home to do what they can to help. But of course, fate has plans for this man. Canon Couples. AU.
    Twilight – Rated: M – English – Hurt/Comfort/Romance – Chapters: 32 – Words: 173,497 – Reviews: 10637 – Updated: 10-30-11 – Published: 2-26-09 – Bella & Edward – Complete
    http://www.fanfiction.net/s/4887478/1/The_Vampire_in_the_Basement

    Looking forward to reading what our guest reviewers are going to write about during the next weeks (sorry that I haven’t offered to write one, MC; as Jolori said, I, too, am not good with writing reviews other than the short comments I have regarding my weekly fic-rec and wouldn’t know where to start. Guess reading loads doesn’t automatically make everyone a good writer, too. 😉 )

    Wishing you a speedy recovery, MC, get some good rest and we’ll be here missing you and waiting for you to come back.

    Have a great weekend, ladies!

    XO
    NYK

    • rita01tx

      Holy hell! I was so pleased when the author started writing again after a very long hiatus. It’s one of my favorite stories and is now complete. Great read!!

    • NYK, you don’t have to wait til I remember December is complete…it’s a quick read every day!! But if you do want to wait, it will be complete on Christmas!

      • newyorkkisses

        Oh you’re right, Mate, I wasn’t thinking. I’m so used to bookmarking everything that’s rec’d that I hardly have any WIPs. But since this will be complete by Christmas, I’ll try to catch up now. 😉

  12. miniaturemom12

    Thank you, MC! Thank you ladies. Adding and downloading, as usual.
    Nothing new to add! Papers and Finals distracting me from my beloved ffic!
    Though as soon as I’m done (12/19/11) Written in the stars and Vampire in the basement are next in line.
    Enjoy your weekend!

    • Best of luck on all your papers and finals!! Fanfic will be a nice treat for you when you are done!!

    • newyorkkisses

      I know exactly how you’re feeling, miniaturemom. I’m on the home stretch with university, too. I have one exam left at the beginning of February and then I’ll have my degree. Between working a job and then studying for the exam, I’ve fallen asleep on my Kindle while reading fic too many times to count. 😉 But it’s a great motivation to know that once you’re done, you’ll have more time to read fic again. Wishing you lots of luck with your papers and finals, bb!

  13. MC, you are so very welcome and thanks for letting me share the fanfic love!!

  14. Squeals….I can’t wait to read this!….

  15. Pingback: FanFiction Fridays – Recs for May 11/12 | Rob Attack

Leave Us Some Love & Tell us what You Think, Comment.

