FanFiction Fridays – Recs for Feb 10/12

Happy FanFiction Fridays to all my readers! I hope you all had a great week and are ready for some more fantastic fic recs.

First though, I would like to mention last week’s post because it was brought to my attention, by some RA subscribers, that they did not receive a WordPress notification for the post. 😦 I’m so sorry about that and offer my apologies, but unfortunately it does happen sometimes. But in case you did miss it and would still like to read it, here is the link to our Rob Attack FanFiction Fridays Best of 2011 List  post for Friday February 3/12! Please feel free to read and comment even if you are just reading the post this week. 😀

Now, onto this week… I have one incredible rec for you and also, RFM is going to join me with a few Valentine’s fics.

My first rec this week is a new WIP entitled  My Sweet Variable by LifeInTheSnow. A few weeks ago, my lovely RA counterpart Rita01tx, e-mailed me saying, “Whoa MC, have I got a rec for you!” and of course, I said, “Bring it on, Baby!”, ’cause what’s one more WIP when my Folder already holds over 100 titles now *smacks head* lol

So, I click the link and started to read My Sweet Variable and was immediately drawn into this unique story. It contains, what I perceive as, a very original plot of  two unconventional high-school teenagers, Bella and Edward, who are in reality… teenage assassins. I love that LifeInTheSnow has laid out the crux of Bella and Edward’s personas right from the beginning and basically what they do, what part they play in the story and how intense their young lives really are…

Excerpt from Chapter 1 BPOV:

“I know this about him—this New Guy.

I know practically everything about him.

I know his name is Edward. His purported and actual age is seventeen. He consumes cutting-edge comic books and run-of-the-mill sci-fi novels in equal measure. He goes for salty over sweet, but both at once trump either one alone. He’s gifted with a knack for languages, a photographic memory, and the vision of a hawk. He is not a narc. He is, however, an operative in an elite and controversial top-secret espionage unit, trained from a young age to kill with precision and stealth.

Just like me.

+x+x+x+x+x+

No one expects teenagers to have the inclination, let alone the skill, to hunt and bring down sophisticated criminal masterminds. To begin with, we are petulant and unfocused by reputation.

“Your awkwardness is a weapon,” Aro says. He’s our handler. “The selfishness, the fits of sulking. Perfect. You repel attention because you remind people of the most uncomfortable times of their lives. They are quite…compelled to disregard you.”

He doesn’t know—or care—whether it’s an act. As if we could call forth these hormones. These oil glands and sudden crying jags. He only knows that it works.

And for those of us who shed our gawky features ahead of schedule—like Edward—well, youth is still an asset. Teenagers are children, in the eyes of the world. Innocent by definition. To imagine we’ve been singled out and molded into killers by a government sworn to protect us is simply…beyond. Unethical, without a doubt. No one would think it, and no one does. It’s one of the factors contributing to our perfect strike rate.

I was ten the first time. I knew what I was doing. In a technical sense, I knew. Even a brutal organized crime boss will stop to listen to a kid in a scout uniform selling chocolate bars for juvenile diabetes research. Ironic, he’d said to me, peeling a crisp dollar bill from his wad of walking-around money. Better me than you eating this poison, eh? I always remember that. Little did he know.

There are six of us. Emily, Sam, Leah, Jacob, Edward, and me. We’re known—to only a handful of people in the world—as Operation Volturi, Sundial Unit.

We shouldn’t exist, but we do.”

The story is set in April in Seattle and, as Bella explains, Edward moves there under the pretence of “… orphans who are co-housed with career Volturi operatives for the sake of appearances…Edward’s resources, as we call them, are Carlisle and Esme. They know only what they need to know—maybe less, if I’m being honest. Sundial is a secret even within the Volturi organization. Not everyone can be expected to understand us, Aro says. The story Carlisle and Esme believe is that Edward is a witness they’re protecting. The official public story is that Edward is their foster son.”  

But, there’s more… Edward (a.k.a. Big Bird) must become Bella’s (a.k.a. Phoenix) boyfriend, as a cover for the amount of time he will have to spend with her as they carry out their operative missions. Bella says, “I’ll have an answer for people who want to know where I spend all my time. New Guy. The hard part will be pretending he hasn’t already been my best friend for six years.” So much secrecy from everyone except each other. These two kids are literally living double-lives. INTENSE! And, after reading chapter 3, I also really felt Edward and Bella’s complicated connection to each other, where I sense  more than just a complex working relationship. They seem to be struggling a bit to find a comfortable ground between work and real life as school-aged teenagers, and I believe Edward has real feelings for Bella, but that maybe, she is too blind to realize it or too scared to admit it, even though she may just reciprocate those feelings. I’m sure there will be a pivotal point in the story, where this will all come together.

My Sweet Variable started posting on Feb-04-12 and so far, we are at 3 well-written chapters. The story is labelled Angst/Romance and is already exciting and full of drama, and as LifeInTheSnow says, “This is going to be a fairly angsty story with elements of romance, drama, adventure, and a dash of sci-fi. ” I can handle “fairly angsty” and am looking forward to following these two teenage assassins on their adventures! xo MC

Summary for My Sweet Variable: “He white-knuckles his pen, dragging a line of ink across the page. I can guess which passage he’s marking: “All things truly wicked start from an innocence.” Hemingway wouldn’t have known about us. No one does. Teenage E/B, AH, quasi-dystopian.

Twilight – Rated: M – English – Angst/Romance – Chapters: 3 – Words: 12,218 – Reviews: 362 – Updated: 2-4-12 – Published: 1-21-12 – Bella & Edward”

http://www.fanfiction.net/s/7762489/1/My_Sweet_Variable

********************

Hey all! Hope you’re not sick of me this week, but you know what they say…third times a charm! And as you know by now, I love holidays and reading holiday inspired fanfic helps me get into the spirit. So here are two Valentine fics that you are sure to enjoy.

The first one is titled Candy Hearts and Red Roses by Aylah50. It was originally a one-shot that was expanded for a full complete story.

Isabella Swan is the Editor’s Assistant of The Guard, a prestigious magazine, but who’s job mainly consists of copying, getting coffee and recently, picking up Rosalie Hale’s Valentine bouquets. It’s nearing the big day and Bella has her eyes on the one man she can’t have, the Editor in Chief, Edward Cullen.  On Valentine’s Day the staff is invited to celebrate the opening of a new club and Bella and her friends are getting all dolled up to attend.  Of course, in typical Bella style she makes a fool of herself. But what happens when she opens her front door to see Edward Cullen with flowers? How will the two of them keep this secret from all their friends, co-workers and CEO of the Guard and Edward’s father, Carlisle Cullen?

“Why didn’t you say anything until now?”

“I’m your boss, Bella. I didn’t think I should risk your career or reputation and make a move.” He let out a deep sigh. “I’m still not sure I should.”

Frantic that we’d gotten this far, just to have him leave, I shifted on the couch, closing the distance between us. He looked so uncertain, and at that moment, I would have risked anything, my career included, for him to stay.

“What changed?” I asked shyly.

“Seeing you smile, to start.” Edward’s eyes trained on my lips, which involuntarily curled into a grin. “Once you did, I became addicted to seeing it, like it became a drug or something. And then, I saw the way you were dressed tonight…”

He trailed off, a fierce hunger in his eyes, making me tremble and gasp softly with the intensity of it. I nervously bit down on my lip as my breathing began to pick up.

“You have no idea how much I wanted you tonight, Bella. I didn’t want to let you out of my sight.”

Edward laced the fingers of our joined hands together, tracing circles against my palm with his thumb. “It was driving me crazy, watching you blush and smile in that outfit.”

“Really?” I asked, the word coming out as a hushed giggle.

This time, it was his turn to blush. “I don’t know if you noticed, Bella, but I wasn’t able to…uh…stand up much during the night.”

He winked at me and when I realized what he was implying, my entire body flushed with heat. Wetness pooled between my thighs and I shifted on the couch next to him. Tucking my legs under my body, I sat up on my knees, squeezing them together in an attempt to subdue the overwhelming ache.

“I know I shouldn’t be here,” he murmured as we inched closer to one another, his sweet, warm breath washing over my face as it came out in pants.

Lifting his head up, he reached for me with his free hand, cupping my face and running his thumb across my cheek. My body was shaking from just that one gentle touch. “But I can’t stop myself. I don’t want to.”

“Then don’t,” I whispered. My eyes closed for a moment, shivering from the dual sensations of one of his thumbs dancing across my face and the other stroking insistently along my palm. When I opened them once again, his expression was so needy, it was almost pained.

My mind was reeling from all the information I’d just been given, my post-indulgent headache a thing of the past. All I could feel was Edward, so close to me, wanting me just as I’d always wanted him. He continued to caress my skin, and his entire body was rigid with tension, as if it took an extreme amount of effort to hold himself back.

I didn’t care what it meant for my reputation at work, or my career. This could very well have been my one chance with Edward Cullen, and I was taking it.

In one quick movement, I closed the distance between us, leaning forward and kissing him. I heard him breathe in sharply, and his thumb paused mid-stroke across my cheek. He opened his mouth slowly, his lower lip brushing softly against my own, and I trembled against him, unable to hold back the shudders that tumbled out of my mouth.

Summary for Candy Hearts and Red Roses: “Editorial Assistant Bella Swan has been pining after her boss, Edward Cullen, for years. Will she have a chance with destiny on Valentine’s Day? Or will her hopes all come crashing down?

Twilight – Fiction Rated: M – English – Romance/Angst – Chapters: 11 – Words: 102,478 – Reviews: 745 – Updated: 9-2-11 – Published: 2-14-11 – – Bella/Edward – Complete”

http://www.fanfiction.net/s/6743846/1/Candy_Hearts_and_Red_Roses

**********

My second rec this week is a brand new WIP that will be finished on Valentine’s Day titled The Night Before Valentine’s Day by sheviking.

This  cute little High School fic was first started in the Halloween one-shot, Come As You Aren’t. You don’t need to read the prequel to read this one, but I highly recommend you do. It will just make more sense that way! And it’s really good as well 😉

Valentine’s Day is tomorrow and Edward and Bella have been dating for a whole four months. Edward wants to make sure this day is extra special for Bella and thinks this might be a good time to go all the way with her. I love that this story has both of these teenage POV’s. Bella’s a little insecure and innocent. And Edward’s a typical horny eighteen year old with a little more experience and popularity. How will these two wade the waters of a relationship? And will they really “do it” on Valentine’s day and how will Bella react?

Bella POV

“Am I too heavy?” I ask and lift my head to look at him to find his cheeks looking a little flushed.

“Eh, no,” he says and lets out a nervous laugh. “Um, but maybe we should get up.”

His eyes dart down to where I’m almost sitting on him and that’s when I realize that a part of Edward is already up.

Oh, my…

My whole face turns crimson and it’s impossible to hide the fact that I now know that Edward is…hard. Very hard, by the looks of it. I feel like I should be embarrassed by this discovery but in actuality I like it a lot. Edward is turned on and I haven’t even touched him. I can see how it strains against the buttons on his fly and I wonder what it would feel like if I run my hand over the fabric of his jeans.

Stop staring at it, you pervert!

I try to look away but I just can’t. It’s not like anyone can blame me for being curious. I mean, I’ve only ever touched it once and I could barely see it in the dark room at Edward’s party. It’s really no wonder I’m so nervous about all this sex stuff considering how inexperienced I am. One drunken hand job does not an expert make. Or something like that.

“Can I see it?”

Oh, God! I didn’t just ask him that!

“What?” Edward sputters.

“Nothing,” I squeak and look down to hide my embarrassment. “Never mind.”

Hehe! Come join us for a few more days of this wonderful ride. It’s short chapters will make it easy for you to catch up. Or you can read it all at once on Valentine’s Day!

Summary for The Night Before Valentine’s Day: “Valentine’s Day countdown drabble-ish story and continuation of “Come as you aren’t”. Let’s see what happens when those two crazy kids decide to go “all the way”. EPOV/BPOV. Rated M for the usual stuff.

Twilight – Rated: M – English – Romance – Chapters: 8 – Words: 7,149 – Reviews: 562 – Updated: 2-9-12 – Published: 2-1-12 – Bella & Edward”

http://www.fanfiction.net/s/7795835/6/The_night_before_Valentines_Day

Happy Valentine Reading! robsfuturemate

******************** 

Well, there you have this week’s recs, some variety there for you too choose from, and hopefully something you will enjoy. I would like to thank RFM for joining me this week, and thanks to all of you for reading and please share what’s been owning you in the FanFiction world this week. xx MC

*via Glitter-Graphics.com*

27 Comments

Filed under Edward A M Cullen, Fan Fiction Friday, Fan Fiction Friday Best of 2011 List, Fan Fiction Recs, FFF Library, Happy Valentine's Day, Twilight, Writing

27 responses to “FanFiction Fridays – Recs for Feb 10/12

  1. Hi All!

    Ladies – great recs…. I can fully recommend Candy Hearts and Red Roses too, I do believe I rec’d it here just after Christmas.. great story!! I am looking forward to starting the others, sheviking is one of my favourite authors.

    This week what has owned me is: The Blackened Flame by Catastrophia. http://www.fanfiction.net/s/7759481/1/The_Blackened_Flame *complete* Summary: Six years ago he tore her apart, broke her. Bella’s a new, take charge woman now. What will happen when Edward walks into her conference room, and back into her life, as her new client? Rated M for language and future lemons. Drabble fic.

    I guess MC you know very well how great this story is!! This story really tugged at my heartstrings badly, and there were a few tears (well, a lot) I am not ashamed to admit. I was constantly amazed by how Catastophia could convey such intense emotions in such tiny chapters. If you have not read this one, seriously, do yourself a favour…

    I must have been in a Drabble mood, as the other I loved this week was Once Upon a Desire by bornonhalloween http://www.fanfiction.net/s/6814757/1/Once_Upon_A_Desire Summary: Edward’s discovery of Bella’s hidden cravings changes everything. Will she give up what seems to be the right choice and give in to her heart’s true desire? A modern day, twisted D/S Cinderella story told in alternating BPOV and EPOV drabbles.

    I actually got this rec from last week’s Best of 2011 list – so thanks Girls! I loved this one so much – I can’t believe I did not know about it!! I now have the sequel ready to start 🙂

    Hope everyone is going well!! AV oxo

    • Yes, Ally, it was an emotional Beta job for me for sure; not only did I edit, but we also discussed the story a lot; the direction of the storyline, the finer details, etc. and I was so pleased & honoured that she asked me to help her; she is very creative & an exceptional writer. Thanks, I’ll let her know how much you enjoyed it! MUAH!

      p.s. Ally, I have Breach to pre-read today!

  2. I loved The Blackened Flame, too! Very sad and angsty….but all’s well that ends well!

  3. kalaekalae

    Good morning ladies… a beautiful day and a great post… 🙂
    thank you

  4. ShazzaG

    Hi everyone – I would like to highly recommend a Carlisle ffic which takes you from his human days through to his change, twilight, new moon and Eclipse and afterwards where he meets the Volturi, the extended vampire family and of course when he changes Edward and Esme to present day but I must warn you there is a little angst towards the end which (unless you have the coldest heart) will make you cry! It is one of the most interesting ffics I have read that fills in some of the gaps from a different perspective. It is canon but there are some extras that certainly make you think a little deeper. I am not sure why this fic has only a few reviews?? It is a long read yes, but so great you will not want to put it down. Here’s the link http://www.fanfiction.net/s/5691399/1/Waning_Moon_Carlisles_Story by YborJen who has promised a new story some time soon and I cannot wait.

  5. Thanks for the recs MC and RFM. I’m in the mood for romance this week as my countdown to Bel Ami next weekend has begun. I’ve started The Night Before Valentine’s Day already Candy Heart and Red Roses sounds perfect.

    I’ve just finished reading I Thought I Loved You Then by kyla 713. It completed this morning and it’s a short read at 6 chapters and an epilogue. It’s a lovely, sweet, romantic story told in EPOV. Edward has plans to go to Harvard to study law; he doesn’t intend to let anything distract him. He meets Bella at a bonfire on the beach and his intentions go up in smoke.

    http://www.fanfiction.net/s/7813152/1/I_Thought_I_Loved_You_Then
    Law student Edward Cullen’s only dream was to get into Harvard with the best of the best. But dreams change, or do they simply just grow with time. Inspired by the song “Then” by Brad Paisley.

    I also had the pleasure of reading the completed Beautiful Savage by readingmama. It’s simply a pure love story and nothing like I have ever read before. Edward and Bella both make sacrifices to be together as from their first very unusal meeting it’s just something they have to do; they cannot be apart. Edward is innocent, sweet and loving and Bella is all that but also strong and focussed on what is best for Edward. It’s a change to see Bella play role of protector. The story also features Emmett and Rosalie as an elderly couple that are just a joy to read about.

    http://www.fanfiction.net/s/6867084/1/Beautiful_Savage
    After getting lost in the woods on a camping trip, Bella finds a man who is living a different life. Can two such different worlds mesh when communication is nearly impossible?

    Have a great weekend.

    • Cared, I thought I Loved You Then sounds great for this week! And yes, love is a great theme to gear you up for Bel Ami! Even though DuRob’s “love” is not so simple. So excited for you!

    • newyorkkisses

      I absolutely LOVED Beautiful Savage, Cared. Your description of it as being a “pure love story” is spot-on and it made me cry sad as well as happy tears throughout. It’s a must-read.

  6. ShazzaG

    Thank you MC – I know this was not exactly a E & Bella story but they do surface at the right times. I have also just finished a time travel E&B fic called Clockwork by Derdrui http://www.fanfiction.net/s/5996248/1/Clockwork. Excellent, although you have to reach deep into the brain cells as it is really intricate! I know she is well know for Withering the Ferns so this will be the next fic I read. I love a writer that is both intelligent and writes like a professional author. Aren’t the ladies who write ffic just brilliant! Thank you for letting me join in. Love all the recommendations – will try to come up with something a little more in tune with your FFic friday recs and not go off course too much.

  7. ShazzaG

    Dumb – not withering the ferns but With Thee Fade Away, sorry Derdiu! Withering is another fic I need to read. This posting comments is really tricky. Will try not to upset anyone hopefully but forgive me if I get a little mixed up as there are so many stories I need to read and I am getting anxious that there is not enough time in one’s life to fit them all in – ha ha.xx

    • LOL no worries luv, we are laid back & chill here! And, I appreciate you bringing different fics to rec, I’ll read just about anything. I Beta & read Slash, Fem/Slash, AU, AH, etc…. I do have my preferences for AH & Actorward & Ceoward own my ass, but yeah, whatever comes my way I read… Thanks again & please know you are welcome to comment anytime. xx

  8. I wish I was reading more romantic stories this past week, so I could contribute to the theme. Alas, lately I’ve been reading darker more angsty stories.

    I too just finished reading Once Upon A Desire, and enjoyed it very much. What is holding my attention though, is Lust on a Deathbed by dyedinwool. It’s a completed AU story.

    Edward is a doctor at a psych hospital outside of Seattle, where he has separated himself from the Cullens, because he has decided to go back to hunting bad people, and relieving the mentally ill from their pain. Bella is admitted by her father, because of her attempt at suicide. This story is fairly angsty because of why Bella is there in first place, and it has a fairly gruesome transformation. I just really enjoyed the different storyline.

    http://www.fanfiction.net/s/6878752/1/Lust_On_A_Deathbed

  9. newyorkkisses

    Hi ladies!
    Thank you for these recs, MC and RFM. They both sound great and are bookmarked now.

    This week I finished reading “Under the Apple Tree” and I’m still not completely clear on my final opinion of it. 😉 I loved the writing and the character development as well as the unique plot line. I guess it was just that I didn’t find this fic’s Bella very likeable when it comes to her motivations, decisions and the way she treated Edward in the second half of the fic. Still, I am glad I finished it.

    Last night I started reading “Blood & Glory” by drotuno, which has been sitting on my Kindle for a long time. So far, my add is pwned. 😉 The whole setup is very different from the usual fics and it looks like there will be loads of action. And the sweetest thing is that Edward, a hot mercenary with his own case of PTSD, gets the most adorable stutter when he’s around Bella. I’m only 12% in so far and can’t wait to get back to it tonight.
    Summary:
    The definition of a mercenary is a soldier for hire. His crew are trained fighting machines. Hers are smart PIs. What happens when they need each other to survive? Canon couples. AH/AU/ Rated M for lots of reasons, including violence and lemons
    Twilight – Rated: M – English – Hurt/Comfort/Romance – Chapters: 33 – Words: 326,970 – Reviews: 2968 – Updated: 6-25-11 – Published: 2-18-11 – Edward & Bella – Complete
    http://www.fanfiction.net/s/6755101/1/Blood_Glory

    Have a great weekend, ladies!
    XO
    NYK

    • Blood and Glory sounds interesting NYK, I’ll have to give that a look.

    • Hey NYK!

      Oh Thank God – it is great to hear someone else say that about the Bella in UtAT! It is a great story in the sense of the writing etc, but I truly found her.. unpleasant to say the least.

      Blood Glory sounds fab – will have to check it out! AV ox

  10. ilovealion

    I really really really wanna read every single rec… pressing the complete button on PR can’t come fast enough (hehehe… I could make a really gutterly comment, but I will abstain).

    You guys, I’m sooo glad that we still have so many authors out there that love Edward and Bella et al as much as we do. I’m really thankful for each and every author that gives me the Twilight fix I need. AND- I’m thankful for all my fellow fic-h00rs that make recommendations.
    Thanks MC, RFM, Cared, AllyVera, ShazzaG, Katiebirdie, and newyorkkisses!!

    (I’m in a thankful mood, I guess lol)

    Cared… If i was independently wealthy, I’d be hopping a plane across the pond so i could see Rob’s glorious arse on the big screen with you.

    Have a great weekend, guys…

    • ShazzaG

      you are welcome,ilovealion. (what a lovely name!). I will keep popping back – I have hundreds of fics I can recommend, so If I do not outstay my welcome – you will keep hearing from me. Nice to join you all. –
      On a slightly different note are you talking about Bel Ami – cannot wait for this in March (it will be showing at my local cinema in the Midlands, UK and I will be dragging anyone and everyone I know to see it! It happens to be showing on my birthday so perfect treat for me. Love me some period drama and some DuRob
      Hope you all have a great weekend. xxx

      • There is no such thing as too many fanfic recs. Around here our TBR lists are longer than HHP! Yes it is Bel Ami that we were talking about, I’m lucky enough to be seeing it next weekend at a film festival.

      • Hi Shazza! Yes, we’ve been talking about Bel Ami!! Can’t wait to finally see naked Rob arse, I mean he’s fabulous acting skills 🙂 If you enter it into the search at the bottom all of our old BA posts should come up!

        I’m a little bitter that the US release is still not set. But so excited for you all overseas to get to experience it!! Let us know what you think when you do.
        (And yes, we’ll still talk more about BA and those new clips too! yum)

    • Try explaining that to your DH LOL.

  11. Hello ladies! I just found out that our very own blog boss is up for some awards!! Along with so many other talented authors. So go vote!
    Waiting in the Twilight by DeltaDawn’s Dreams
    http://www.thehiddenstarawards.blogspot.com/p/voting.html

Leave Us Some Love & Tell us what You Think, Comment.

