FanFiction Fridays – Recs for Feb 24/12

Another Friday is upon us and I have just been looking at my long WIP list; I have quite a few on there that haven’t updated for a while… *sigh* anyone else in that same situation? I think I am soon ready to do some WIP housecleaning! lol

Anyway, this week I have two recs for you, as I finished a complete fic I had been reading for a while, a CEOward that I really enjoyed, and also I have a link to a contest full of great Historical One Shots that I have been plugging away at.

My first rec this week is a fantastic read called This Is Who I Am by pattyrose

The story is set in New York City where we have 28 yr old CEO Edward Cullen or Hunky Millionaire Playboy Eddie C., as he’s known throughout New York’s Page Six headlines and other tabloid gossip media.  Edward is  “…one of the owners of Cullen, Cullen & Whitlock, or CCW for short, the fastest growing privately-owned ad agency on the East Coast…”  based in downtown New York City. Edward, his older brother Emmett and their best-friend and soon to be brother-in-law, Jasper Whitlock, all run CCW together, while Rosalie Hale-Cullen, Em’s wife, is in charge of the Creative Team, including new Graphic Artist, Isabella Swan.

Bella is a 26 yr old divorced mother of an adorable 4 yr old daughter named Maddie, and after leaving Washington to escape her complicated and unhappy past, she feels blessed to have procured a new job at CCW and to be able to start a new life in NYC. She plans for her life to be simple and refreshing, but a wrench gets thrown into her plan when she has to take her daughter to work one day, and they both meet her new Boss, Edward Cullen or “Edwood” as Maddie calls him, who certainly leaves a lasting impression as he is caught coming out of a conference room with one of his employees in a bit of a disheveled state. 😉

Excerpt from Chapter 2 BPOV:

Maddie and I sat on the soft, black leather sofa in the waiting area of the Human Resources Department. I watched my daughter as she spoke quietly to her little rag doll Angie, her safety doll.

“But Angie, I was only gone a little while. Besides, the nice man took good care of you. He protected you from the mean lady.”

I inclined my head and stared at her curiously. I could feel the worry lines creasing my forehead. “Sweetie, what nice man and mean lady are you talking about?”

My daughter looked up at me innocently, with those big brown eyes so much like my own, yet filled with a softness and trust that mine would never again possess. “The nice man we met downstairs mommy,” she replied matter-of-factly, and then her face scrunched up into a cute little scowl, “and that mean lady that was in the room with him.”

I bit my lip, trying to hold in the expletive that was on the tip of my tongue. I’d hoped Maddie hadn’t realized that Mr. Cullen and Lauren had been locked in the conference room together, but as usual, my daughter had been extremely observant. Of course, being only four, she had no idea what she’d witnessed, and I was definitely not going to enlighten her. She didn’t need to know the type of behavior adults with no morals engaged in. I’d shield her from that type of knowledge for the rest of my life if I could. A part of me thought of how ironic it was that it was keeping her from that type of knowledge that had us here in this city instead of home in Forks right now. Yet as I thought of that I also wondered what it was that had her calling Mr. Edward Cullen a ‘nice man’, while Lauren took the title of ‘mean lady’. I personally thought they were both disgusting pieces of shit.

Not that he wasn’t one of, if not the, most perfect looking specimen of a man I’d ever laid eyes on. Holy Hell, the pictures of him in the newspapers and magazines did him no justice! Not that I’d ever gone out of my way to buy one of those mags or read one of the articles about him. But they were pretty hard to avoid. His face showed up on either one of the gossip newspapers or magazines pretty regularly. And based on the crooked grin that almost always plastered his face, he enjoyed the attention tremendously. Cocky son-of-a-bitch.

But as I’d rounded the corner downstairs a few minutes ago, looking for my Maddie, and come face to face with the one owner of the Agency I hadn’t met yet, the initial impression I’d received from him had been completely different. He’d been holding out Angie, Maddie’s doll; his arm outstretched as he gazed down sweetly at my daughter, and my heart had stopped momentarily. Both from relief at having found Maddie, even though she’d only been out of my sight for a couple of minutes and I knew she had to be somewhere nearby, but also from the sight of this beautiful man gazing down at my daughter with a look of total innocence and bewilderment. It had momentarily stunned me that a man like this, who’d never met Maddie before in his life, could look at her with more awe and emotion than her own father ever had. I’d felt my eyes grow wide with shock. 

Edward is stunned and mortified, at the same time, at his own behavior and it all comes crashing down on him that day, just what the ramifications could be in relation to how he has been living his life.  He becomes completely entranced by both brown-haired beauties and realizes there may be more to life than booze, partying and random women. As the story progresses, man-whore Edward works hard to edit his life and at gaining Bella’s respect and trust, while doting on sweet little Maddie, his “Princess”. It’s not always easy though, as there are numerous difficult obstacles for him to overcome.

This story is labeled Romance/Drama and as we see in the  36 chapters of this story (and 3 Epilogues), there are multiple dramatic storylines to follow throughout the plot – from Edward’s Playboy past, on-and-off-again girlfriend, Tanya, to his business obligations and complicated family relationships. Bella has her own storylines, some involving Edward and her trust issues, but there is also her past with her ex-husband, his disregard for their daughter, and the gossip she left behind from living in a small town.

This Is Who I Am is told from both POVs, really adding to the understanding of what each character has been and is dealing with in their lives. I really liked the slow but naturally progressing character development of both Edward and Bella in this story; they both change and mature substantially by the end of story. The author said she was striving for a realistic element in her characters, and I feel she met that goal, as they both have a past they are not proud of, they both have demons they have to deal with, but they both find a strength and power in themselves and in each other, which helps them to strive for a better life individually and together. All of this makes for a lovely romantic read; I didn’t want to put it down! Enjoy!

Summary for This Is Who I Am:  “Edward Cullen, successful business exec/playboy/all around bad boy. Bella Swan, divorced mom/graphic artist/unwilling to trust her heart to the likes of someone like Edward again. Will she give him a chance? Does he even deserve one? AH, AU ExB

Twilight – Rated: M – English – Romance/Drama – Chapters: 39 – Words: 376,495 – Reviews: 4579 – Updated: 6-29-11 – Published: 5-18-10 – Edward & Bella – Complete”

http://www.fanfiction.net/s/5980177/1/This_Is_Who_I_Am

******************** 

My second recommendation this week is a Compilation of 42 One Shots from The Age of Edward 2012 Contest Entries

*Link to The Age of Edward Blog*

The Age of Edward 2012 Contest is now closed, but RA readers, there are some great Historical One Shots here for you to read.

*Link to Age of Edward 2012 on FF.net*

“WELCOME TO THE AGE OF EDWARD CONTEST

 The Age of Edward Contest will feature quality stories throughout various historical eras, ranging from ancient times up until the modern era.

The contest will begin January 2, 2012.

The contest will close February 15, 2012.

Public voting will begin on February 16, 2012.

Public voting will close on February 22, 2012.

Winners will be announced March 1, 2012.

Each round winners will be chosen based on votes by readers. Winners will each receive a prize for 1st, 2nd, and 3rd place.”

*Age of Edward 2012 Community containing all 42 One Shots*

“The One Shots can take place in any historical era from Pre-history to the 1980’s, so long as the story is historically accurate. The Age of Edward Contest features quality stories throughout various historical eras, ranging from ancient times up until the modern era.”

I have read some of the stories and they were all well-written and a pleasure to read, and if you like Historical fics then I’m sure you will find something you will enjoy from the wide variety of stories offered here, such as Cowboyward/Ranchward (CaraNo) Scottish Highland Edward (bellasunderstudy1)12th Century Scottish folklore Edward (Welcome2MyWorldxoxo)Edwardian/Titanicward (Cullen312), Discoward (MandyLeigh87), Old West Edward (ericastwilight) Gladiator Edward (Sheviking),  Elizabethanward/Shakespearean Actor (Javamomma0921) and even a Bootlegward (amandac3), plus many more, and I believe some may be continued once the contest is over – I know CaraNo’s Nebraska Hideout will be extended with a few outtakes and an epilogue. Enjoy!

http://www.fanfiction.net/community/Age_Of_Edward_2012/95685/99/0/1/

********************

Happy FanFiction Fridays my friends, and please share what’s been owning you in the FanFiction world this week.

MC

42 Comments

Filed under Edward A M Cullen, Fan Fiction Friday, Fan Fiction Recs, FFF Library, Twilight, Writing

42 responses to “FanFiction Fridays – Recs for Feb 24/12

  1. lovinrob1

    Oh man… My girl wrote Bootlegward (The Broadway Mob) for the Age of Edward Contest… great fic everyone. Go check out the entries and more importantly go vote!

  2. Hi *wave*,
    my first comment here 🙂
    I’m at the of The Senator’s Son – http://www.fanfiction.net/s/6137805/1/The_Senators_Son.
    Next on my reading list – Firefly in Summer

  3. Hi Ladies

    Hope this week was a great one for you all!!

    MC – wonderful recs as always!! I have not read This is Who I am yet, but I plan to soon, pattyrose’s other story, If We Ever Meet Again was one of my absolute faves of 2011.

    I agree too, about the Age of Edward Contest – I have read some really wonderful stories from this contest. I am working on finishing them this weekend!

    Okay – the story that owned me this week is Nineteen Canvasses by Cars1 http://www.fanfiction.net/s/5777942/1/Nineteen_Canvasses *Complete* Summary: Bella thinks she finally has it all together after a life altering accident, but when she meets Edward, a once successful artist who has lost his inspiration, everything she thought she knew changes. All Human. Rated M for a very good reason.

    I found this story via The Lemonade Stand and I have to say, I am really surprised that this story has less than 600 reviews .. it is a wonderful story, a very unique Bella and a very intense tortured artist Edward. I will say there are a few typos here and there, but nothing bad – I can always overlook a few typos for a great story. I still can’t believe I have not discovered this story before now, it has been complete since 2010.

    Looking forward to hearing what everyone else is reading!!

    Ally xo

    • Hey Ally, I haven’t heard of Nineteen Canvasses. I have liked any Artistwards that I’ve previously read. I wonder is it because there is always something very passionate about them? LOL Thanks.

      • Hello my lovely Cared!

        I think you will like Nineteen Canvasses, the passion is certainly there for this BxE. It takes B a while to let him in though, but there is a good reason for that (you find out in chap 2). I just had to tell you today I started and I just finished reading all available chapters of Unrequited http://www.fanfiction.net/s/7446868/1/Unrequited Oh Cared, you did not steer me wrong with this one – so beautiful, now I am chomping for an update! AV xo

  4. eewee333

    I read This is who I Am a while back. Great story. I’m such a sucker for CEOward, particularly when he’s a bit of a bad boy. I’m always looking for good fics to read. People Like Us by justginger is really great (and now complete). Diamond in the Rough is another good one, a WIP, but she updates regularly. I’m anxiously awaiting Pound of Flesh update..*sigh* it’s been forever seems like.

  5. ladyquinzy

    “This Is Who I Am” is a very nice story! I’ve read it last year & I read it again (4x ). It’s one of my fave fanfic stories. It got me so emotional nearing the end. The transition of Edward’s life caused by a little girl was just great. This is really worth reading!

  6. Oh MC, what a gem you picked with This Is Who I Am, thanks. Every word of that story was enjoyable. The relationship between Maddie and her Edwood was just so sweet; it was a pleasure to read. I love how pattyrose writes; her characters are not just black and white. She draws numerous shades of grey, and I’m not talking about Fifty here at all.

    I found pattyrose when I read If We Ever Meet Again, one of my all time favourites fics. I can never resist a Geekward, although this Edward outwardly appears to have left his inner Geekward, complete with secret high-school love, behind him. Bella is a struggling artist who has never forgotten her hidden high-school crush; her paintings are haunted by an unusual shade of green. Can you see where this is going?

    http://www.fanfiction.net/s/6922461/1/If_We_Ever_Meet_Again
    High School for geeky Edward was a nightmare of mistakes, missed opportunities & insecurity issues. Six years later when fate hands him a second chance, will he know how to take it? Or will the insecure boy inside rear his head again?

    Thief of Hearts also by pattyrose, is one of my favourite WIP at the moment. A doctor, who keeps dodgy company, meets a jewel thief rifling through a hotel room. That may not sound good, but take a closer look, you soon find that all is not as it seems. This fic has something that AllyVera and I both love – that instant connection between Edward and Bella.

    http://www.fanfiction.net/s/7415720/28/
    FBI Agent Edward Cullen knows the assignment: Go undercover & infiltrate the ring. Bring them down. He doesn’t bargain on the mysterious thief who turns the case upside down, or on the mortal danger protecting her will put them both in.

    I too have been enjoying The Age of Edward submissions. A great feature of TAoE is the wide range of stories, just think of an interesting era/country and you will find a story set in it. More than that, some have made me laugh, some sigh and one actually made my cry. As you say MC, there is everything from Egyptologistward in 1910 to a Scottish Minstrelward in 1740. As an added bonus, I have found a couple of authors whose other work I now plan to read.

  7. kalaekalae

    Thank you MC… 😉
    This week I’ve been reading a WIP, “Torn” by Dooba… it’s really nice…
    http://www.fanfiction.net/s/6356034/1/Torn
    “Bella Swan has survived a living hell, twice. She no longer speaks. Nobody ever listened. The Cullen family take her into their care. Bella fights to leave her past behind, but will she be able to let love in? AU/AH M-rated for violence, content, language”
    Twilight – Rated: M – English – Hurt/Comfort – Chapters: 50 – Words: 410,880 – Reviews: 5224 – Updated: 2-15-12 – Published: 9-27-10 – Bella & Edward

    • Hello sweet Kalae, thanks for the rec, I’ve never heard of it, sounds great *click & save* Maybe you wanna write a Guest Review Rec for it sometime 😀 I would love to have you, no pressure just a thought! xo

    • rita01tx

      God love duck! Torn totally owns my add!!!! The author is Dutch, but her English is very good…what few error you might stumble across do not detract in any way from this awesome story. Bouncing on my chair waiting for the next update!

  8. luvtwilight72

    Thanks for the rec, I am always looking for new stories to read:)

  9. I love stories where Edward is smitten by a “younger” woman. I remember swooning when Edward spoke French to Carrington in The Office, oh so long ago. *happy sigh*

    I’m reading another great WIP this week from solostintwilight, called The Biology Project. Edward had a fairly traumatic sexual experience before arriving in Forks with his parents, and seeks therapy to control his urges, because of pressure from his parents. Bella is looking to lose her virginity, so when she and Edward are forced to be partners in Biology class, the UST is quite intense for both. There is more to the story than just their attraction. I love Steph’s character development. This is meant to be a Drabble, but some chapters are longer than 100 words.

    http://www.fanfiction.net/s/7693130/1/

  10. haystackhair

    OHHH, thanks MC! You gave me a complete story so I don’t continue to violate my “no more WIPs” vow. Of course, I already gobbled up all the WIP recs from last week, and now am impatiently awaiting updates! LOL!!! There are some great recs this week, off to gobble them up too!

  11. miniaturemom12

    Apparently WP only keeps me logged in for FF Fridays…
    Anyway, thanks for the recs!
    This is Who I Am sounds great. Already downloaded it, thanks!
    I’ve gotten some great recs from a few of the FB groups, over the week and was really happy with The Girl by Dolly3078

    The Girl »
    In a world where vampires rule and humans are kept as slaves, Bella is gifted to Edward Cullen when he saves her master, Aro. Problem? Edward hates humans and promises to be a cruel master.
    Twilight – Rated: M – English – Romance/Hurt/Comfort – Chapters: 47 – Words: 104,614 – Reviews: 1743 – Updated: 1-8-12 – Published: 10-16-11 – Bella & Edward – Complete

    I’m working on the sequel now and it is intense:
    The Vampire »
    Sequel to The Girl. The gates of Hell have opened. Edward’s darkest fantasies play in his head as he is put to test. Will he prove worthy of his destiny?
    Twilight – Rated: M – English – Romance/Supernatural – Chapters: 28 – Words: 63,369 – Reviews: 338 – Updated: 2-7-12 – Published: 12-24-11 – Edward & Bella – Complete

    Keep the recs coming!

  12. ShazzaG

    Hi everyone – a quick hello. Thank you for all the new recs – This is who I am sounds just up my street. I have just read Masen Days – it was really touching and sweet. The best line “”I just . . . I never get what I want.” was soo sad.
    http://www.fanfiction.net/s/7295348/1/Masen_Days

    Summary: Bella meets Masen at the local skate park. He’s a quiet, mysterious loner. She wants to help him, love him even. Will he let her? Or will he skate away like he always does?
    Give it a try.

    xxxx

  13. ShazzaG

    Sorry for the rush – just off to the Pub. A little late coming back from work so could not spend as much time as I usually like looking over all your lovely recommendations. Hope some of you ladies are still here tomorrow. I might have some more recs and chat longer. Meant to say thanks MC for your recommendations this great FFic Friday. xx

    • rita01tx

      Well, since there’s no post scheduled for Saturday, we will definitely be here BB! I have a few to gather and report on my own self LOL!

    • Sus

      @ShazzaG….do you live in London?

      • ShazzaG

        Sorry Sus – pub was calling. Back now on a bright sunny Saturday morning here in The Midlands in England. Not London, sorry. I am smack bang in the middle of the country – better to get everywhere – lol. xx

  14. MC I meant to say to you earlier I am glad that I am not the only proud owner of a WIP list that is so long, it needs tidying up from time to time. Would RobsFan-tasy say we have OWIPD? Work than one out! LOL

  15. Sus

    OMG! Is anyone reading “The Quiet One” by Rob’s hand monkey? She completed it today, and there are two endings. The non-HEA, which had my bawling my friggin’ eyes out, and then she put up a HEA for everyone that flamed her, or are wussies! She said the NON-HEA is the one she originally wrote for the story. This is another Tattward. Edward owns a tattoo parlor, and Bella comes to visit. This Tattward isn’t all messed up….he’s wonderful! It’s a tough, tough ending…..not for the faint-hearted!

    xoxoSus

  16. You guys are killing me here with all these recs…there’s just not enough time in the day. Just finished reading a few completed ones, still reading some WIPs, & now have to add all these delicious stories to my TO READ list. The poor books sitting on my nightstand don’t stand a chance!

  17. What’s owning me this week is a published book, I know, I know but it’s Sempre and I never read Emancipation Proclamation. I’m so loving this story and can’t stop reading to see how it ends! Bad news, I just heard that there’s a sequel! So I might have to finish it up with EP, lol.

  18. ShazzaG

    I love the fact that a story has 2 endings. I hate enjoying a story and then the ending is ….?what, what did they do that for. So I appreciate an author giving us scaredy cat ladies a choice – . Will try out the Quiet One. I try to only read completed fics as the WIPs kill me to keep up with.

  19. ShazzaG

    I don’;t think I have read a better story than emancipation proclamation. It keeps you on the edge throughout the whole damn thing. And oh my god it is fantastic. I have it on my Kindle and when I plan going on holiday I will be having an EPfest – no-one better interrupt me then – ha ha. When I started reading it I kept putting it down and not picking up for a few weeks as I didnt think it was a story I should be reading (the theme with slavery) was a little touchy and in modern times a little out there (you would think) but oh dear you just have to stick with it for the ride. Absolutely great. (on a par but complete different story to Fifty Shades – Master of the Universe) – another epic I guard closely to my heart xxxx

    • rita01tx

      EP was angsty as shit, wasn’t it? Only thing I didn’t like was that, once Edward got into “the world,” he seemed to fuck up constantly! I wanted a totally bad ass Edward and that didn’t happen.
      Now, our beloved Fifty Shades was a bad ass the whole way through, even after he discovered love. Didn’t change his basic “badness” i.e., complete HAWTNESS!!!

      • ShazzaG

        EP was angsty and I don’t generally do angsty but this story was so compelling. I loved Edward in this – he protected what was his and that was where he was a badass. Fifty – oh my god I cannot get enough of Edward in this – my hubby (unbeknown to him, he he, got a bit more than he bargained for when I was reading this). My goodness is he one sexy beast – (Fifty, not my hubby, although my hubs is sexy in his own way!). Sex on legs, he is sweltering heat, whisky on the rocks, and a firework display all rolled into one – completely dynamic. And then he is so sweet and loving and vulnerable and I cried when the chapters moved to his point of view. Fantastic read, fantastic take on the character – absolutely fantastic writing. I don’t think we will have the like of these 2 epics any time soon. We can but hope and carry on in this superb fanfic-land. xx

  20. ShazzaG

    Sorry you ladies – just noticed I am commenting and it’s your night-time. Hope you all have sweet dreams xx

  21. ShazzaG

    I was going to rec something else which I think I will have another look at. I read this more than a year ago and I just found it again http://www.fanfiction.net/s/5081258/1/The_Screamers
    – Street kid. Rockstar. Worlds apart and yet so similar. Sometimes fate throws people together for a reason, and sometimes two people that rub each other the wrong way make the best sparks. Cursing/Dark themes/hilarity/sex.
    it has a rockstar Edward and (Rob gets in on a few chapters which is hilarious). A bit rude and swears a bit but well worth it. I think it warns you about the sex and swearing – well it is rock and roll!

    • rita01tx

      Oh, Shazza darlin’! You’ve (re)discovered Kiyaraven! Screamers was the first fic of hers that I read…loved the Rob cameo appearances in it. Do yourself a favor and read the outtake(s)! I’m currently following her WIP, The Diva Diaries. Damn, that woman writes fabulous fics!

  22. eewee333

    I was reading your comments on EP and MOTU. I have EP, but haven’t read it yet; I have read MOTU 1 and 2 several times. I have a complete copy of MOTU 2, but an incomplete copy of MOTU 1. Does anyone have a complete copy (and maybe the outtakes) that they would share with me? My email is firstsoprano333@hotmail.com. Many, many thanks.

  23. Pingback: All Hail Our Chief…Executive Officer! | Rob Attack

Leave Us Some Love & Tell us what You Think, Comment.

