FanFiction Fridays – Mar 9/12

Happy Friday everyone, crazy week again, RL, beta duties, and since FanFiction.net has been a total fail lately, I now have an Updates To Review Folder for when I read updates but can’t review ’cause FF.net is down 😦 – like I needed a new FF Folder. *pfft* lol

Well, this week, I have been totally owned by this new WIP (now complete) I started on March 1st called Simply Edward by CaraNo. It is a story that shows us the true meaning of unconditional love! *Please note: I have permission from CaraNo, and subsequently her friends Penny and Damien, to discuss anything mentioned below, regarding this inspiring story.*

Summary for  Simply Edward: “There is a lot to the man who stumbles into Simply Coffee where Bella works. “I mean, I wouldn’t call you Coffee Girl if we’re in bed,” he says, and I choke on air. This stranger…Edward, he keeps talking. “That would be weird, you know?”

Twilight – Rated: M – English – Romance/Friendship – Chapters: 50 – Words: 25,499 – Reviews: 5500 – Updated: 3-8-12 – Published: 3-1-12 – Bella & Edward – Complete.”

I think I am safe to say that many of us who read Twilight FanFiction on a regular basis are familiar with the talented writing skills of CaraNo and this story is no exception. But what also really makes this story stand out, for me, is one, the topic (which you will have to discover on your own), and two that it is based on the real life friends of CaraNo’s, Penny and Damien.

In her Cara’s Drabbles Group on Facebook, she discussed this with us, and I think it’s such a lovely explanation of the story and that her friends are blessed to have her write this story about their relationship. It’s evident, through these words below, that Penny and Damien are very special people. CaraNo said…

Many have asked about the RL friends of mine that Simply Edward is based on, so here it goes… 🙂

I lived in London back in 2005.  I was 19 and working in a very small hotel in Lancaster Gate.  That’s how I met Penny. Ironically, her real name is Isobel, but everyone calls her Penny after her last name, which is Pennington.  Aaanyway, she also worked in the hotel, though she worked at the little café that belonged to the hotel.  Like Bella in the story, Penny was 21. Her grandfather didn’t own the café, but he knew/knows the owners of the hotel, so he was there often. 

Since I had hubs – well, he was only my boyfriend at the time – still back in Sweden, I often flew home to visit.  And that’s what I did that summer.  That was also when Penny met Damien. He was 24 at the time, and acted just like Edward in the story. He also had an amazing Emmett as his brother. 

When I returned to London in August, I met them together, and by then, I had already received a gazillion phone calls from Penny about Damien. She was both worried and gushing 😉 Head over heels, but clueless…again, much like Bella in the story. She went into the whole thing without knowing anything about [Damien’s condition], but she has the patience of an angel, and she’s a real sweetheart. 

If I divulge more, i’ll give away stuff from the story, and I’m soooo not gonna do that 😉  Just know that they met in 2005, so there will be plenty to learn about them.

Oh, and Penny has already read the story. Many “moments” have been pretty much copied from their RL.  And like I’ve recently told Lisa A. Hollett, I will add a little to the story, ’cause there are… no, you know what? You’ll just have to see.

I am totally in love with this adorable Edward. I debated on discussing the exact situation regarding Edward, but then felt it is such a fascinating experience to figure out the storyline and learn about him on your own though reading the story, just how special he is, that I will just let you read without me influencing that knowledge. By the time I got through chapter 9, I had a pretty good idea of what was going on with Edward regarding his unusual behaviors, and there is so much to learn about how this affects the growth and development of his and Bella’s unique and complex relationship. Simply Edward carries us through the past seven years of Edward and Bella’s relationship journey to present day. All the obstacles, touching moments and love they have shared between 2005 – 2012.

The story is set in Seattle and begins with a 21 yr old Bella who works in her grandfather’s coffee shop Simply Coffee and this is where she meets 24 yr old Edward, who works part-time at the local Aquarium. They meet when he finally comes into the coffee shop to introduce himself. He is so cute, the way he hesitantly approaches her, he will melt your heart with how much he adores his Coffee Girl; and Bella is a strong character, full of love and acceptance for all of Edward’s original personality traits.

Another excellent character in this story is Edward’s older brother Emmett. He has been Edward’s primary family member and “good support system” in his life since Edward turned 18 and he and Emmett left their home in Chicago. Bella says, “The bond between the two brothers is so strong, and I’m filled with gratitude. Emmett’s love for his little brother has probably saved Edward.” (chapter 14) These three characters interact so intensely and they discuss such serious topics that it brought tears to my eyes in more than one chapter. Edward does have other family members – his sister Alice and his parents, Esme and Carlisle – but he is estranged from them for a variety of reasons, and those are explained in detail throughout the story.

It’s very neat also how the story is told in BPOV, but at the beginning of each chapter we get a snippet of EPOV, what exactly is going through his brilliant mind at that moment. And, these little Edward notes really add to and enhance the chapter’s meaning. Here’s the chapter that accompanies the story summary. Edward’s lack of verbal filter and straightforwardness are so endearing; this will make you smile and laugh…so sweet…

4.

~I can’t wait to tell Emmett that I finally talked to you~

“Bella Swan,” he whispers to himself as he looks down. “Bella, Bella Swan.”

My eyebrows rise slowly.

When he meets my gaze again, he’s still smiling. “You’ll probably still be Coffee Girl in my head.” He taps his temple, and when his smile widens, the corners of his eyes crinkle. “Your name is very pretty, but I’ve gotten so used to calling you Coffee Girl in my head, so…” He trails off, nodding slowly and, unless the world is rocking instead of spinning, I’m pretty sure he’s, well, rocking back and forth on his feet. “I mean, I wouldn’t call you Coffee Girl if we’re in bed.” My eyes bug out. I even choke on air. And this stranger…Edward, he keeps talking. “That would be weird, you know?” he chuckles. “No, you’ll definitely be Bella if we make love, I promise.” He finishes with a firm nod.

I’m completely frozen in place. Jaw dropped, eyes wide as saucers.

I don’t even think I’m breathing.

“Uh, I will be back t-tomorrow, ok-kay?” he stammers, tilting his head a little. “I’m meeting my brother soon.”

Um… “Okay,” I manage to squeak.

It feels like my cheeks are on fire.

I’m just…dumbstruck.

And he literally runs out.

One reader dubbed him Damienward 🙂 as the story is based on him, and I call him Specialward because he is truly a special guy. This story really touched my heart as I’ve had personal experience working with special people like this Edward. I also love how accepting and respectful of his differences Bella is; that she recognizes he is special and worthy of unconditional love.

Also, for those who are interested, here is Cara’s Playlist, respectfully, for Simply Edward. I am posting her list, she has given me permission to post anything she’s posted in Group, and I think you will really enjoy this music as you read the story, I know I have loved it all!

Fields of Gold by Flavius
Vanilla Twilight by Owl City
Looking After You by The Fray
Running Back To You by Matt Wertz
You’re Beautiful (clean version) by Chester See
Safe by Britt Nicole
One And Only by Adele
Sooner Or Later by Mat Kearney
On Your Own by Green River Ordinance
Kiss Me Slowly by Parachute
Forever And Always by Parachute
Cannonball by Damien Rice
Replay (acoustic cover) by Tyler Ward ft. Julia Sheer
Stay by You Me At Six
Unwell by Matchbox Twenty

I told  CaraNo that I truly think she is wonderful to be able to portray this story so well; gently depicting Edward in such a realistic and lovely light, and that her friends must be honoured and proud that she has educated so many people through her gift of writing. Cara told me she loves the saying: “People with [Edward’s condition] are like snowflakes – each and every one is different.” ♥

Simply Edward is now complete, as of yesterday, at 50 drabble-type chapters. It’s an incredible story. I’d just like to reiterate why I did not directly name Edward’s condition here in my rec, but, as I told Cara, I feel that part of the enchanting experience of reading this story is not knowing, until later, what exactly is going on with Edward and I don’t want to ruin the full impact of reading this captivating story for you. Please Enjoy! *puts a hand over my heart* Thank you to CaraNo, Penny & Damien for sharing this life journey with us. I was truly moved by this story, it is Simply amazing! ♥

http://www.fanfiction.net/s/7886553/1/Simply_Edward 

******************

Now, for my RA readers who only read Complete fics, I would like to mention a few of the WIPs I had rec’d in the past that are NOW COMPLETE! 😀

Awaken by Edward’s Eternal – “A brilliant aloof composer, hiding from the world. An unexpected meeting. How will he react ? Can she help him change his vision on life ?

Twilight – Rated: M – English – Romance/Hurt/Comfort – Chapters: 49 – Words: 158,099 – Reviews: 3340 – Updated: 2-17-12 – Published: 10-25-11 – Edward & Bella – Complete.”

******

Breach by Catastrophia – “Weber & Weber has a strict non fraternization policy and what they don’t know won’t hurt them. But what happens when two broken people can’t deny the pull? Will it heal them, or be their destruction? Rated M for some hard Lemons and language. AU/A

Twilight – Rated: M – English – Romance/Angst – Chapters: 28 – Words: 163,043 – Reviews: 2570 – Updated: 3-3-12 – Published: 2-23-11 – Bella & Edward – Complete.”

******

Last interview in Paris by hisdenofsin – “Edward is a young megastar actor. Hurt and betrayed, he lives only for his job. Can Bella make him change his mind? Does she want to? Drabbles!

Twilight – Rated: M – English – Romance – Chapters: 80 – Words: 16,115 – Reviews: 502 – Updated: 12-30-11 – Published: 10-16-11 – Edward & Bella – Complete.”

******

Perfectly Imperfect by lindsay520 – “Bella is a socially awkward loner. Edward is lost in a meaningless marriage. Co-workers of a moving company, several long road-trips and lonely motel nights alone start a bond between them that may be stronger than either of them had ever expected. AH

Twilight – Rated: M – English – Romance/Hurt/Comfort – Chapters: 27 – Words: 65,540 – Reviews: 1838 – Updated: 12-16-11 – Published: 9-9-11 – Edward & Bella – Complete.”

*******************

Next week, we will have a special Irishward Guest Review Week post by our lovely Cared!

Thanks for joining us this week, please feel free to share what’s been owning you in the FanFiction world this week.  Have a great week my RA friends. ♥

MC

44 Comments

Filed under Edward A M Cullen, Fan Fiction Friday, Fan Fiction Recs, FFF Library, Twilight, Writing

44 responses to “FanFiction Fridays – Mar 9/12

  1. Sus

    “Simply Edward” totally touched my heart. I, too, have a friend whose adult son has Asbergers (sp.), and she enjoyed reading this story. What a wonderful tribute to Damien and Penny….loved it!!!

    xoxoSus

  2. Yes, MC, “Simply Edward” was great, it moved me very much. Thanks for mentioning “Last interview in Paris” too, I’m touched :).

  3. Thanks to MC now I know what I’m going to read next – Simply Edward, thanks.
    I really like high school ff, so can someone rec me some complete stories?

  4. Simply Edward was simply amazing. It’s been awhile since a story has touched me as much as this one has. Whether its just CaraNo and her incredible ability to tell a story or the fact that it’s based of real life events, I’m not sure, probably both. I loved the little tidbits at the beginning of each chapter. Even though it was only one sentence it gave soooo much insight into Edwards thoughts and feelings. Thanks for sharing your thoughts and opinions on it.

  5. Hi Ladies!!

    MC, I love the sound of SImply Edward, I am normally right on top of CaraNo’s stories, but I have fallen off the bandwagon lately. I have not read one of her stories that I have not liked, so I am sure to love this one – thank you for spotlighting it for us!

    I read a cute little story this week called Love’s Little Book by LittleStar300 http://www.fanfiction.net/s/6344201/1/Loves_Little_Book *Complete* Summary: Bella’s looking for a fresh start and one day it comes to her in the form of a flyer about the Boston Book Exchange. Can she help the reclusive owner Edward Cullen into the land of the living, and can he help her make the changes she needs in her life.

    This Edward is just adorable, he is very very shy and sweet – very different to the Asswards I normally read! LOL

    I hope everyone is having a great week ! AV xo

    • Thanks MC, I’d been waiting for Simply Edward to complete and now I’ll enjoy it all the more after reading the background to it.

      Don’t know how much reading I’ll be doing this weekend though as Bel Ami is out in the cinema here today and BD1 is out on DVD today too.

      Loves Little Book sounds lovely Ally. Shy and sweet is my kind of Edward, thanks.

      Happy Friday to all.

    • rita01tx

      God, Ally darlin’! Thanks for the rec…I need some sweetness right now, as I just finished reading Feisty Y. Beden’s Sleepers Awake. Now I love a magical mystery tour as much as the next person, but I was sobbing my eyes out all the way through, including the outtakes, which are NOT to be missed!
      If you need a good cry but don’t know why, this read is very cathardic!
      http://www.fanfiction.net/s/5118949/1/Sleepers_Awake_Wachet_auf_ruft_uns_die_Stimme
      Bella, compulsive sketcher of wolves, has not dreamed in years. Unexpectedly, she begins to dream again the night tragedy takes away her first and greatest love. ExB, sort of.
      Twilight – Fiction Rated: M – English – Angst/General – Chapters: 28 – Words: 133,998 – Reviews: 2018 – Updated: 10-12-09 – Published: 6-7-09 – – Bella/Edward – Complete

  6. I have one of CaraNo’s stories already on my reading list, Our Yellow House, that I still need to get to, but I am def. going to add this one. This story sounds amazing!! 🙂

    I also have quite a few of the stories that you’ve listed, on my TBR list. I try to stay on top of the WIPs I have saved, so that when they are complete, I can download them right away. It’s quite the balancing act, but it keeps them from falling through the cracks.

    I finally read Through the Oak Door by struckatthesky this week. This story was so not what I thought it was going to be, in a good way. I highly recommend it. So, so good.

    http://www.fanfiction.net/s/6530453/1/Through_the_Oak_Door

  7. haystackhair

    Oh man, I need to win the lottery so I can not work and just read all day. This story sounds amazing, and that it is complete is all kinds of WIN! All the recs sounds great, and several I have not read, so thanks! I’ve started last weeks recs as well. I had to go back to B&E after finishing The Hunger Games books. I was so bummed out for the whole weekend last week. I hated how it ended, and hated who she ended up with. I need some B&E love to get my mind off it. LOL. I know, I should lighten up when I read. LOL

    • Winning the lottery and reading all day sounds like a plan – I’m in.

      • rita01tx

        Either that, or reach retirement age. Us baby boomers are lucky h00rs! I’ll be FREEEEE by the end of the year and then I can read to my hearts content…and write…with RF and on my own!

  8. ShazzaG

    Hi everyone – thanks for the recs MC – I was waiting for Simply Edward to finish – it sounds really good. It’s premise sounds a little like a story that has just re-started called Little Green and Easy Bella http://www.fanfiction.net/s/6412470/1/ that I read last year or so and has a really, really sweet Edward – sigh…. The author’s description: “She only remembers a silent kid, he doesn’t remember her at all. When they meet again, they feel a connection that isn’t of this world . There is an age gap in this story – if anyone does not like this. It is really lovely though and this time it’s Bella who is a little older.

    Anyhoo – Simply Edward will be the next story I read once I have finished Savage’s Transcendence http://www.fanfiction.net/s/7570951/1/Transcendence . ” Ehd doesn’t know how the woman ended up in his pit trap, he just knows he wants to protect her and provide for her in any way he can. She sure does make a lot of noises with her mouth, though. Caveward is born!. ”

    I am half way through this and absolutely loving it. Savage’s little comments at the end of each chapter absolutely crack me up. She is hilarious. And so is the story so far. It’s really different. Also, Savage’s story Hide & Drink was one of the first ffics I cut my teeth on and got hooked on ff. Her writing is fantastic.

    I must rec http://www.fanfiction.net/s/5980177/1/ This is Who I am. What a great story with Edward interacting with an absolutely adorable 4 year old and, of course, her beautiful mother!. This was a story recently recommended on RA – so thank you MC and the gang. You have great taste!. I shall be looking at all the other fics you have mentioned. I do prefer completed stories so that I can transfer them to my Kindle and read them in peace.

    Not to make anyone jealous (sorry) but just got back from seeing Bel Ami (I live in the UK) and I love a period drama and what better than to have our favourite person in the lead role. He does not disappoint and he looks absolutely right (and gorgeous) in the role. He more than holds his own. The plot is a little slow I must say but then again it is a drama, but Rob was totally believable as an immoral seducer out to climb the social ladder xxxx
    swoon –
    Sorry for going on as usual.

    • Just mentioning Bel Ami gets me jealous these days, but that’s okay. lol. So glad to hear that you enjoyed it, Shazza! And it’s great to hear more positives about Rob in this role. Thanks for sharing!

    • I’m so glad you liked This is Who I Am! I was so consumed by it, it really is a great read. xx

      And, I am totally jealous! We still have no release date here in Canada; tentative is now Sept for shits sake! But, I am positive I am gonna see Rob’s naked ass at some point in my life! 😉 LOL

  9. kalaekalae

    Hi ladies… another great post…
    well, this week I´ve been reading
    Hope Springs by justginger
    http://www.fanfiction.net/s/7643750/1/Hope_Springs
    “Bella Swan has been alone for most of her life, she is young and she is scared, but now she has another life to protect. She is heading for a new country – a new life and then she ends up in HOPE SPRINGS. Will she run, or will she allow the people in
    Twilight – Rated: M – English – Drama/Family – Chapters: 15 – Words: 154,060 – Reviews: 856 – Updated: 3-8-12 – Published: 12-17-11 – Bella & Edward”
    … and…
    A Change in Direction by Jayeliwood
    http://www.fanfiction.net/s/7631766/1/A_Change_in_Direction
    “I had been out of work for so long and I had no idea what I was going to do next. Things aren’t going the way I thought they would when I finished college. Sometimes you just have to go in the direction life takes you, and pray for the best…
    Twilight – Rated: M – English – Romance/Drama – Chapters: 21 – Words: 110,080 – Reviews: 2285 – Updated: 3-8-12 – Published: 12-12-11 – Bella & Edward”
    … and this weekend 😉 I’ll read CaraNo story…
    … Thank you all for your recs…

  10. Thank you so much MC for telling us about Simply Coffee, I downloaded it to my Kindle and am anxiously looking forward to reading what sounds like a beautiful and wonderful story…. I appreciate you so much for your work and dedication to Rob Attack — sorry I don’t mention that more often. xoxo from Melbie

  11. I just started Simply Edward two days ago when Cara mentioned it was nearing completion. I couldn’t put it down and finished it today!! Such a sweet story. And how great for Penny and Damien to have it written in story form for them! MC, thanks for the little backstory. I hadn’t read that before!

    This week I also read a few quick reads.
    The Best I Ever Had http://www.fanfiction.net/s/6752826/1/The_Best_I_Ever_Had Sex between friends complicates everything. Bella knows this. But she has no idea how much more Edward is going to complicate things. LOVED THIS!!!

    From My Window (super hot) http://www.fanfiction.net/s/7350614/1/ Every morning he watches her run past his house. He wants her. She has no idea.

    And a sweet Britward with The Exchange Student http://www.fanfiction.net/s/5784845/1/The_Exchange_Student He’s simply an exchange student looking for a decent cup of tea and Bella provides it. She thinks he’s completely perfect. When he finds himself in a jam, she offers to help him out; however, they are both soon way over their heads.Will true love prevail?

    See? Working part time DOES have it’s advantages!!! Too bad about the pay, lol.

  12. So I started Simply Edward and I just couldn’t stop reading. I’m tired, but still smiling hours after the last chapter. This is one of the sweetest and cutest stories I’ve read.

  13. dee602

    I think I’ve been reading FF for too long lol I’ve read all of these req’s. I just wanted to leave this in case anyone missed our EL James and MOTU on the Today Show. Interesting dialog at the end. I was screamimg at these people. LOL Dr Drew and The Today chic just don’t get it. I am holding on to my original MOTU like it’s gold!!!! SO proud!!!!
    ;http://today.msnbc.msn.com/id/46590258/ns/today-books/t/triple-x-trilogy-novels-has-women-

    • There is new article in NYT http://www.nytimes.com/2012/03/10/business/media/an-erotic-novel-50-shades-of-grey-goes-viral-with-women.html?_r=2

      “Ms. James’s agent, Valerie Hoskins of London, is fielding offers from Hollywood producers for the film rights and from foreign publishers for the rights to the book in other languages.”

      Wow, this is BIG.

    • haystackhair

      I’ve read MOTU and MOTU2 so many times it is redic. Why don’t these people see that it is the lifechanging effect these two have on each other that is the true story? Yes, the sexy times are part of the draw, but it is how he changes who he is to have “more” and she helps him see that he is worthy of more than the types of relationships he has had, and he can actually have “more”. And she is no doormat. She tells him from the start she wants more, and he doesn’t do anything to her she does’t agree to. Dopes. Dear God, could you imagine if they made this movie and Rob stars? Their will be dead h00rs everywhere! LOL

      • HSH, that’s exactly what I’ve been telling people!!! The evolution of their relationship and of themselves is what truly makes this story great. Not gonna lie, the sexytimes are great too. But it’s so much more! And these two are so good for each other, learning new things for one another but not taking all the crap without putting up some fight. But you’re not going to see any of that if you don’t READ IT!!! That’s what annoys me about the comments, they didn’t read the novel.

        And Rob starring in this movie? YES please!!! But it probably won’t ever be available in the US just like BA. I really do need to move to the UK now! Who would have thought it would be so I can go to the cinema, lol.

      • dee602

        It’s just to much to even think about. We all have our favorite wallpaper or vision in our minds eye of which version of Rob we see as Fifty. I can’t even think about what it would do to all of us to have it there on the big screen in front of us.
        If it were to ever be made into a movie and he didn’t do it I don’t think I could see anyone else in the roll. He’s just way too embedded in my brain as Edward/Christian for me. That’s all I see.

        Just think girls we “HAD” him when

  14. haystackhair

    Well I still haven’t won the lottery, but I feel like I did after finishing Simply Edward. What a sweet, wonderful story! Thanks for the rec MC!! Now off to clean my house so I can read FF for the rest of the weekend!!! LOL

    • I know great story, eh? So happy you enjoyed it. Happy reading this weekend. xx

    • eewee333

      Hi HSH. Would you or dee602 be willing to share a copy of MOTU? I’m kinda new to this commenting and replying stuff, but I have been a FF fan for over a year. So I’m slow, but I’m learning. Enjoying all the recs. I just finished carano’s “bloody kisses”. WOW. If you like a really wicked E and B then this is for you. I totally enjoyed it. They were both so OOC.
      Anyway, thanks to all. I’m really enjoying all of this.

Leave Us Some Love & Tell us what You Think, Comment.

