FanFiction Fridays – Recs for Jun 15/12

*Twilight-saga-movie-banner-origin-unknown*

Happy Friday everyone! I thought I’d share this banner I saw on Facebook, I’m so excited for Breaking Dawn II! It’s so cool to see all the posters side-by-side like this and note the progression and growth of the Saga and characters!

Today our lovely world traveler Cared is reviewing a fairly new WIP that I am reading and loving as well, and I will recap a previous rec that is now complete. Please enjoy…

INDECENT PROPOSAL by PATTYROSE 

*made by Cared*

Summary for Indecent Proposal: “Edward’s heart was broken by the girl he’s loved for almost a decade. Drifter Bella wanders into Forks aimlessly one hot summer day. When their paths cross, he proposes a scheme to get them both their deepest desires. But things aren’t always as they seem & Fate can have other plans. Rated M.

Twilight – Rated: M – English – Romance/Drama – Chapters: 5 – Words: 18,593 – Reviews: 431 – Updated: 6-11-12 – Published: 5-30-12 – Edward & Bella”

I could keep this review short by saying just one word.  That word would be pattyrose , and I know the hordes of If We Ever Meet Again, Thief of Hearts, This Is Who I Am fans and more, would come rushing out to read Indecent Proposal.  But, much to my long-suffering DH’s chagrin, saying one word when I can say one hundred, is not my style.

The story starts off quite unusually with us meeting Bella in the truck of a logging cab.  I knew within a minute that I was going to like this fun and entertaining Bella.  I laughed out loud when she silently cursed the white-bearded logger that had picked her up; her verbal cursing was even funnier.  Maybe I should have felt sorry for the driver, but you will see why I didn’t LOL.

“Sooo, pretty lady,” freaky-logger-man said, mistaking my breasts for my eyes when he smiled a freaky toothless smile my way. “Where exactly ya headed?”

“Don’t really know.” I shrugged and turned to stare out my window at the thick, tall trees that encroached on us, creating a canopy high above that kept the strangely warm Washington sun at bay. “Anywhere and no where really,” I mused.

“How comes a pretty little lady like you don’t have a fixed destination? Don’t you have anywhere specific you wanna go? Someplace to stay?”

I smiled to myself, keeping my eyes on the blurring trees, and blurted my thoughts – another thing I usually tended to. “Oh I’ve got tons of places to go. I just won’t be staying at any of them. Why should I? There’s too much to see and do to waste time in just one-“

And then I felt it. A warm, clammy hand suddenly rested on my thigh, right at the juncture where my shorts ended and my bare skin began.

Oh no the rat-faced-bastard-of-a-hairy-balled-pirate didn’t.

Next time we see Bella, she is in Forks ER waiting on medical attention for a bleeding cut on her arm.  Note here, I did not say calmly waiting.  Bella has some – to put it kindly – unconventional coping mechanisms.

So, let’s move onto Edward, he is a doctor in Forks General Hospital, experiencing his first day as a resident.  Can you see where this is going?  Maybe you are thinking, handsome young doctor and beautiful young grateful patient fall in love at very first sight.  If so, you are wrong and you’ve been watching too much Grey’s Anatomy.  Okay, so sparks do fly when they touch and Bella does think that Edward makes Michelangelo’s David look like a cheap imitation.  Edward on the other hand, is nearly considering calling someone from the Psyche Department to assess his Crazy Patient and protocol flies out the window.

The patient was moaning – pretty loudly, I might say – when I walked into the room. She laid spread eagle over the exam table; her arm covered her face while her long hair cascaded all over the place, splayed like dark wildfire across her shoulders. Her other hand tightly covered an area on her arm. I frowned and took a quick look back at my chart. According to this, she had a small laceration that might require stitches. From the look and sound of her though, I’d thought she needed life-saving surgery.

Confirming that it was indeed, just a laceration, I took a step towards her and then stopped when her moans turned into humming – seriously out-of-tune by the way – before morphing back to moaning and then to tuneless humming again.

“Um, excuse me,” I said.

She quickly removed her arm from her face and lifted her head and looked at me through the deepest, darkest eyes I’d ever seen in my life.

“Doctor, thank God,” she breathed, eyes growing wide. “Are you here to sew me up?”

I blinked – twice. Something about her eyes had left me feeling…disconcerted.

“My name is Doctor Cullen. I’m a resident here and-“

She sucked her teeth; her Bambi eyes impatient. “Can we do the intros later? You need to sew me up stat!” She stuck her covered arm out in my direction and then slowly, lifted her hand, revealing a cut that seemed about two, two and a half inches in length.

But it might as well have been the end of the world, because she took one look at it and started dry heaving over the table.

What. The hell?

“Do you need a bucket?” I asked urgently.

“NO!” she yelled, heaving again. “No bucket! Just sew me up!”

I pursed my lips. “I’m sorry miss, but there is a clearly defined order in which we do things here. First we need to go over your personal history and then take a look at your-“

“Cullen, was it, doctor?” she asked, looking up at me through dark eyes. I nodded. “Well then Doctor Cullen,” she moaned, closing her eyes tightly, “if you don’t sew me up right now I’m going to barf all over this pretty little examining room of yours and then pass out and then your clearly defined order will be covered in a mess of clearly defined vomit!”

Of course, there is a simple explanation for Bella’s unorthodox behaviour, she can’t stand the sight of blood, and definitely not her own.  Between the moaning, the humming, the singing and the heaving, his boner giving first ever patient, makes quite the impression on this rather straight laced and currently heart-broken Edward.

She smelled like lavender and honey and flowers and something I couldn’t even put a name to. Her body felt warm and soft. I mean, I’d had other women in my arms before. Jessica had been soft and slightly plump at the time, so many years ago. Gianna, just a week ago, had been tall and slender and toned. And Bree…well, Bree had always been so thin and fragile – delicate.

But Isabella…Isabella felt so…different. I didn’t dare move my hands but Jesus the effort to keep them still was staggering, because I could feel her curves under my arms, how small her waist was, yet how round and voluptuous her ass was. As her chest rose and fell so close to me, I could see out of my periphery how full and ample her breasts were under that tiny tank top. Shit, she was Jessica Rabbit personified. God help me because they’d never taught us in med school what the M.O. was if a patient constantly gave you an erection.

She grinned. “Oops.”

‘Oops’ was a goddamned understatement.

Slowly, I angled her down so that she could place her feet on the floor and when she did, I moved both my arms to her tiny waist to steady her. She kept her arms around my neck, her big brown eyes locked on mine.

“You have really pretty eyes,” she blurted.

I couldn’t help grinning, because I’d just been thinking the same thing about her eyes – and her ass and tits as well.

Mmmm, it appears the good Dr. Cullen has the perceived Crazy Patient situation under control at this stage.  The nursing staff however, completely unaware of Bella’s phobia, and indeed Edward’s dazzling bedside manner, send for the cavalry.  One absolutely hilarious conversation later in arrives Bree, Edward’s ex-girlfriend, in her capacity as the Psyche Resident, and the situation becomes even more bizarre.  I may or may not have had a little accident while reading this scene.  Sorry if that’s TMI.  To sum it up – Bella has an oops moment, Edward plays the hero, the scenario is open to misinterpretation and both Edward and Bella make up a tale that even SM would be proud of.  There is even a “slow motion lip-lock that lasted and lasted”.  By the time Bella leaves the treatment room she is calling Edward honey pop, he calls her darling, but it’s not what you think.

Now, if you are confused and intrigued by that, good, I want you to be.  Press the link straight to Indecent Proposal; the fun is in reading this entertaining story for yourself.  I have shared with you just a glimpse of their first memorable meeting.  Let me assure you, there is much more to discover both with and about this unique pair, aka Quirkella and Uptightward, the upcoming indecent proposal and the ensuing consequences.

As the story is only five chapters in, I asked the author how she sees it playing out.

“I guess as far as direction, all I can say right now is that the story will start light-hearted and funny, but will eventually contain some angst. I think it’s obvious someone will fall in love first, and that will cause heartache. But things are nothing like they seem in this story, and there will be big surprises and revelations, because I always like surprising my readers. But as I’ve said before, I’m a firm believer in happy endings.”

Each chapter is preceded by an interesting snippet from a letter, there is both a BPOV and EPOV in every chapter and pattyrose updates twice a week.

http://www.fanfiction.net/s/8164847/1/Indecent_Proposal

Cared

 ****************************

NOW COMPLETE! 

Dear Maggie by Jenny0719 rec’d by Rita01tx on FanFiction Fridays Mar23/12 is now complete with the perfect Epilogue just posting June 12th. It’s well-written with lovely character development; it’s an excellent fic, albeit it was a nerve-wracking storyline to read as a WIP, but so great and definitely worth reading now as a complete story!

Summary for Dear MaggieA heart leads Bella back home to Forks… and to the brother of the woman who donated it.

Twilight – Rated: M – English – Romance/Angst – Chapters: 39 – Words: 235,186 – Reviews: 4496 – Updated: 6-12-12 – Published: 7-14-11 – Bella & Edward – Complete.”

******************** 

Have a great week and please share what’s been owning you in the fanfiction world this week!

Midnight Cougar

21 Comments

Filed under Edward A M Cullen, Fan Fiction Friday, Fan Fiction Friday Guest Review, Fan Fiction Recs, FFF Library, FFF Posts, Twilight, Writing

21 responses to “FanFiction Fridays – Recs for Jun 15/12

  1. I’m reading really good short story – When Will I Know by deb24601 http://www.fanfiction.net/s/7841318/1/When_Will_I_Know. I started to read this because of the prety banner, I have something for good story banners and Remember Me Rob. http://i636.photobucket.com/albums/uu87/deb24601/When%20Will%20I%20Know%20fic%20images/whenwilliknowbannermarina.png – see this? PRETTY.

    • Thanks E. I’ve read and enjoyed other stories by deb24601 but When Will I Know is new to me. I like the banner too. Remember Me Rob is very PRETTY – no arguments from me on that.

  2. Hi Ladies

    MC and Cared, as always great recs. Both of these stories are ones I planned on starting very soon. I have loved all of pattyrose’s stories and I have heard nothing but the highest praise about Dear Maggie. I will start both of them very soon.

    I have not really read much new stuff lately, just catching up on all my chapters that I was behind on after reading Words with Friends and Words with Strangers. I am still behind in reading, which is scary!

    I did read the last posted chapters for Hydraulic Level 5 http://www.fanfiction.net/s/4931075/1/ It was so nice to see this story finally completed. And on a similar note did you all see that Hide in Plain Sight by Limona updated today? That fic has not updated in over two years! It was one of the first stories I read, back when I didn’t know to check whether something was being updated regularly or not!! I was so frustrated when I worked out it wasn’t updated anymore!!

    I hope everyone has had a great week, I can’t wait to see Cared check in – hopefully she is over the jet lag!

    AV xox

    • “She’s alive” LOL I think I’ve created a new world record of the number of hours a human can sleep Ally. The TwiFic Meet Up was fantastic, it was great to be in the presence of so many other fanfic addicts. I met the author of Dear Maggie Jenny0719, she was lovely and it is a great story. I have to admit to fangirling over AbstractWay, she was very interesting and really sweet. She has a new story starting tomorrow so watch out for that.

      I saw that Hydraulic Level 5 updated but I think I’ll need to start it again from the beginning as I have forgotten most of it. The update of Hide in Plain Sight gives me hope that some of my other fics will eventually update.

      Have a great reading weekend ladies.

      • Cared! So happy to see you back 🙂 I am glad you had a great time, and yes, I would have fangirled over AbstractWay too!

        Yes, the updating of these two stories certainly gives us hope for some of our faves that have been abandoned!! xo AV

  3. Still love the review, Cared. IP Bella is already one of my favourites of all time. Looking forward to reading Dear Maggie now that it’s complete.

    While we were in Vegas, I managed to start and finish Here in My Room http://www.fanfiction.net/s/7647998/1/Here_In_My_Room by nightcaller http://www.fanfiction.net/u/3308106/nightcaller . It wasn’t a good story to be reading while away from MM – and I’ll say no more about that; but it was moving and skilfully written, with an unconventional version of an HEA.

    Also, I hope it’s okay to say this here, but I wanted to let Plight Thee readers know that Vegas turned both Cared and I into Darth Vader clones, and if I were to write Lordward in this condition, you would be reading a very miserable chapter indeed. I’m giving myself and my pre-reader a week’s sick leave. Normal service will be resumed next Sunday. Sorry about that.

  4. rita01tx

    I sure hope someone pdf’d “Clockwork,” because Derdriu O’ Faolain has pulled all her stories from FF.net!

  5. newyorkkisses

    Hi ladies!
    Thanks for these great recs, Cared and MC! “Indecent Proposal” sounds amazing, I’m completely intrigued. And I’ve just recently downloaded “Dear Maggie”. 🙂

    This week I finished re-reading “Hit by Destiny” (http://www.fanfiction.net/s/5463682/1/Hit_By_Destiny ), love this fic so much, time and time again. 😉

    Since I was really busy this week I only managed to squeeze in an amazing one-shot after HbD. It’s called “In Braille” by Alby Mangroves and this Edward and his dog are so sweet!
    Summary:
    1st Place Winner of the Beautiful Edward Challenge. A young woman, scarred inside and out. A guilty man looking for forgiveness. Will they recognize their redemption in each other? Beauty is not just skin-deep. AH, Bella and Edward, Romance
    Twilight – Rated: M – English – Romance – Chapters: 1 – Words: 5,211 – Reviews: 219 – Published: 10-25-10 – Bella & Edward – Complete
    http://www.fanfiction.net/s/6426309/1/In_Braille

    So that’s it from me this week, have a lovely weekend, ladies!
    XO
    NYK

    • Hi NYK!! HbD is definitely a great read if you can handle the angst – I certainly know of some who have had to bail on the story as it was too much. But I loved it – there is something about an Edward who is that much of an asshole that you have to see his redemption!! Not to mention, I do think the plot is one of the most original I have ever read.

      Thanks for the rec – on the list it goes. Have a great weekend – AV x

    • Hi nyk, I loved Hit By Destiny. It can be tough going for a while but it’s definitely worth the read and that is being said by a wuss.

      Thanks for the one-shot rec, you know I love those.

      • rita01tx

        Oh, I do hope Alby continues with Braille! That was too good not to!!

        • newyorkkisses

          I would loooove to see “In Braille” continued too, Rita! Such a sweet OS and it would really lend itself to making a multiple-chapter fic out of it.

  6. ilovealion

    As always, your recs are wonderful. I loved having IP read to us by the lovely G&G. Lol. I have this story bookmarked, but I’ll prob let it get a few more chapters in before I read more. Plus, with only 6or 7 more chapters of Pure Revelations- I’ll have PLENTY of time to read! Yay.

    Heart you, sweets.

  7. Pingback: FanFiction Fridays – Recs for July 13/12 | Rob Attack

  8. Pingback: FanFiction Fridays – Cache of Completes | Rob Attack

  9. Pingback: Paging Doctor Edward Cullen… | Rob Attack

Leave Us Some Love & Tell us what You Think, Comment.

