FanFiction Fridays – Recs for Jun 22/12

*Oh Edward! Breaking Dawn 2*

Hello everyone, TGIF and time for a few new recs! This week I am going to feature a new fanfiction author I recently discovered; she is actually the daughter of a FF friend of mine. I love when I find new authors that I enjoy reading right away, who entice me with their lovely writing,  and so I really like to encourage and support them when what I’ve read, IMHO, is great. So please enjoy….

I recently started reading a new WIP, it’s actually a re-post that got pulled in the fanfiction.net ‘housekeeping’ sweep due to one inappropriate word in the summary, but it’s new to me. It’s an interesting High School fic entitled Wicked Little Girls by JadoreJAC.

*banner made by Evilnat*

Summary for Wicked Little Girls: “She was the type of girl rockstars sang about. She was sweet, sexy, with a devil’s body and wicked intelligence. Impossible to ignore, the girl next door…literally. I was so screwed.

Twilight – Rated: M – English – Romance/Drama – Chapters: 11 – Words: 19,536 – Reviews: 488 – Updated: 6-19-12 – Published: 6-1-12 – Edward & Bella”

It’s been a while since I’ve read a really good High School fic that has kept my attention and had me waiting anxiously for updates, but that is the case with Wicked Little Girls. The story is interesting because we’re not dealing with just regular HS kids, these students are privileged, coming from rich and powerful parents, such as Bella and Emmett’s father, Charlie Swan, who is the Senator of Washington. They attend Ivy Ridge Prep school and “… lived in an upper-class neighborhood in Rolling Hills, Washington that housed mansions and was two hours driving distance from…” Forks.

The story begins in chapter 1 with EPOV where he explains that he just moved from Forks at the beginning of the school year with his mother, Esme, and father, Carlisle, who has taken a prestigious medical position as  Chief of Medicine at the nearby hospital in Rolling Hills. We see him attend a neighborhood party where he meets his new neighbors 16 soon to be 17 yr old Bella, her twin brother Emmett, and their gang, Rose, Alice and Jasper. They come together and embrace Edward as a friend and he becomes the new HS Quarterback, and it’s fun times, including unfortunately some HS realism involving drinking, a little drugs and some partying! The chemistry between Edward and Bella is immediate as they flirt and carry-on while studying and socializing, but then also we learn about and are introduced to, in chapters 2 and 3, that Edward has a little baggage back home in Forks, in the way of a jealous girlfriend by the name of Lauren. This just makes the story more complicated and dramatic, but so great to read!

The story is told from both EPOV and BPOV and we switch to BPOV in chapter 3 where we begin to learn about her life and that, even though her and Emmett’s lives are privileged financially and socially, being rich and popular, it’s not so wonderful parentally with their dad travelling so much and their mom with him. So they spend a lot of time alone, getting a little rebellious and having fun with their friends. It’s during one of their social escapades where we meet Lauren as well as Edward’s best-friend, Jake, and see them all off to a rock concert, all fun and games, or is it?…

We headed out the door, stopping to retrieve Lauren and Jacob’s things from her shitty white Honda, before continuing to walk down Edward’s driveway.

“Wait, we aren’t driving to your house?” Lauren asked in a huff, shooing away the fly that pestered her too-blonde mop of hair.

“Nah, I live right there,” I pointed to my house.

“Holy shit, that’s where you live? What the fuck do your parents do?” Jacob exclaimed in an obnoxious voice.

“So you live across the street?” Lauren stated the question in a quiet, accusing voice.

“Yeah, my mom’s a freelance alcoholic and my dad is the senator.”

Jacob ignored the joke. “Hold up, your dad is the fucking senator of Washington?”

I nodded, already frustrated with his buffoon ways. Jacob slapped Edward on the back, saying, “Well, Ed, looks like you’ve got some kickass new friends.”

As we stepped up onto my porch, the front door swung open and I was quickly grabbed and thrown over Emmett’s shoulder in a huff. Most of the breath knocked out of me so I couldn’t even cuss him out as he introduced himself to Jacob and Lauren.

“Follow me, the festivities are in here,” Emmett rumbled, keeping me firmly on his shoulder as he climbed the stairs to the second floor parlor. Jasper sat alone while Tupac rang out clearly from the iHome set up on the bar. He was quickly introduced and I was set down on my feet.

“Where are Rose and Alice?”

“In your closet.”

I turned and jogged up to the third floor as fast as I could. Girlfriend was starting to piss me off with her staring problem. I needed a good hit from a joint and some trash talking with my best friends.

And disappoint they didn’t.

“Bleach blonde? Fucking faker,” Rose sneered while trailing her red fingertips through her natural light curls.

“And blue eyeshadow…wake up, this isn’t 1984,” Alice contributed in a high voice.

I giggled, taking the joint that was passed my way, careful not to drop any ash on my bedspread. We sat in a triangle of sorts with crossed legs. We were matching in three pairs of jeans shorts and baggy concert tees.

“And seriously, I don’t think the chick has ever heard of braces,” I said smugly, the jealousy seeping out of me as I shit-talked.

“I wanna see her! Let’s go downstairs,” Alice whined.

“Alright, alright, one more circle-around.”

When we got back to the parlor, Alice skipped over to Jasper and he narrowed his eyes. “You guys smoked without us?”

I sighed and took the second joint out of my shorts pocked. “I have another. Toke up, buddy.” Everyone took a hit, save for the girls and Jacob. Lauren looked completely terrified of the stuff and Jacob flat-out refused; I suppose fun was banned in Forks. When it got to Edward, he looked to Lauren for a quick second, silently wondering if she’d make a scene. She made a face but otherwise didn’t comment.

“Did you call Felix yet?” I asked Emmett once the joint was but a bud.

“Yeah, he’ll be here in fifteen. Go get some shoes on.”

The car ride to the festival was short but eventful. I chose to sit in the passenger seat next to Felix while everyone else dispersed in the backseat. I didn’t mind having to sit up front, because honestly, fucking with Felix was my forte.

“Have you ever frenched a dude?” I asked. Emmett chortled from behind me; he and I took turns at this game often. The game: make Felix as uncomfortable as possible.

Felix turned red in the face and muttered, “No, Bella.”

“Would you consider it?” I prompted.

“No, Bella.”

“Are you circumcised?”

“God, Bella!”

I touched his arm and put on a mockingly gentle voice. “It’s okay if you aren’t. This is a safe zone, we’re all friends here.”

“Inappropriate, Bella.”

“Are you going to tell my dad?” I asked bluntly.

“No,” Felix admitted quickly.

I shrugged. “My questions aren’t too inappropriate then.”

And this went on for fifteen minutes before he gratefully dropped us off and promised to be back at midnight. Speed Street was crowded with people, jammed ass to front in every space available, with huge stages and food and beer vendors at every corner. Alice immediately grabbed my and Rose’s hands, pulling us in the direction of the rock stage. The rest of the group followed behind.

We bumped into a few kids from school on the way and they latched onto our group. The crowd for the rock stage was huge, overflowing into the side streets, even though the show didn’t start for 20 more minutes. We pushed and shoved and shouted our way through and got in a pretty good spot to stand. Jessica, one of the assholes I went to school with, had made a good friend in Lauren while we waited. They happily chatted each other up without a care in the world; they would bond.

Suddenly a large hand touched my back. “Thanks for being cool with them coming,” Edward whispered near my ear. I didn’t need clarification to know he was speaking of Dumb and Dumber. Truthfully, Edward seemed sort of embarrassed by their presences.

“No problem. Hey, do you wanna get a funnel cake before the band starts?” My munchies were starting to kick in full-gear and by the hungry look in Edward’s eyes, I could tell his was as well.

Without telling anyone where we were going, we weaved ourselves out of the crowd and bought one funnel cake to share. It was completely messy and we kept spilling sugar everywhere, but we managed to eat the entire thing in under five minutes. As I threw the paper plate away, I looked down at my fingers with a frown.

“What’s wrong?” Edward asked and stopped walking.

“My fingers are all sugary and there aren’t any napkins left,” I pouted.

He shrugged. “Lick ’em.”

“Ew, no!” I giggled.

He shrugged again. “Fine, I will.” And suddenly, his warm mouth and full lips were on my fingers, his tongue swirling around my skin. He pulled off with a pop and grinned. Something behind me caught his attention and he stepped back. I turned and saw Lauren and Jessica coming toward us, Jessica looking obliviously happy and Lauren with a clenched smile.

“Hey, babe,” she purred, placing a kiss on his neck. My skin prickled and I wanted to deck the bitch. “What are you guys doing over here?”

“Funnel cake,” Edward explained.

“Ooh, I love funnel cakes, but I can’t eat them because they make my ass huge,” Jessica whined, pointing to her ass for emphasis.

I rolled my eyes. “Jessica, your ass is huge because of all the jizz you swallow. Don’t blame the funnel cakes.” I barely heard the twin gasps from the Bobbsey Bitches as I walked back into the sea of people.

Oh yes, some UST, jealousy and a nice Bella! 😉 lol Actually, I adore Bella in this story, she is confident and sassy but sensitive, albeit a bit snobbish, but a real exciting and amusing character to read. The story is labelled Romance/Drama and so far with just 11 chapters we’ve seen both those elements. Also, what’s unique to this author is that she rewards her reviewers with alternate POVs from the other characters in the corresponding chapter – so far I’ve read, besides extra EPOV and BPOV,  Lauren’s POV numerous times, Esme’s and Tanya’s (Bella and Em’s cousin), and I am loving this bonus! It really supplements the story and characters well, and gives the reader refreshing and different perspectives on the actions of the other characters, as well as how the scenes or events were perceived.

The setting of the story is really interesting and unique as well with the characters living quite complex and detailed lives. While we have various forms of canon characteristics in this Twific, JadoreJAC has taken the characters and expanded them beyond anything I’ve ever read in a HS fic, to a new and exciting realm of High School life and drama. While these kids live privileged lives, it’s not all sunshine and roses, and I think this reflects in their actions, and I like this because, to me, it’s realism in teenagers, they are missing the guidance they need, and I find it refreshing to read. I have a feeling we have much to learn about these High School Junior’s lives and I really look forward to continuing to follow this well-written fic which updates regularly, please enjoy!

I also asked my lovely friend, Mary Kitty Masen for her opinion on Wicked Little Girls because she is as addicted to the story as I am, and this is what she had to say:

It’s a refreshing twist on our favorite Twilight characters….while the canon features are there, to see them in a different element is refreshing and unique…..I love this story so much and I cannot wait to continue reading it! It’s just so great to see things like Bella being the more popular girl than Lauren and Lauren being jealous of her. Also, it’s so well-written and the energy behind the characters is just great! JadoreJAC does so well writing them…I can’t get enough!

******************

Also,  Mary and I are wanting more of JadoreJAC‘s brand new story, Wild Hearts Can’t Be Brokenshe just started posting on 06-17-12 – a Rockerward/Guitarward – Edward will be the singer in band The Immortals… and it’s only 2 chapters for far, but we are definitely intrigued to read more of this adventure!

Summary: “My entire life I’d been caged, forced to please everyone but myself. It wasn’t until that summer, under the spell of the California blue and his guitar, that I finally escaped. Sometimes, the only way to stay sane is to go a little crazy.

Twilight – Rated: M – English – Romance/Adventure – Chapters: 2 – Words: 4,678 – Reviews: 26 – Updated: 6-21-12 – Published: 6-17-12 – Edward & Bella”

*********************************************

NOW COMPLETE!  What Fills The Eye Fills the Heart by  TwoTwiMoms rec’d by Cared on her FanFiction Fridays – Irishward post.

Summary for  What Fills The Eye Fills the Heart: Bella is an erotic romance novelist who finds herself in a pub to escape her roommate’s animalistic “romps”. While at the pub, she meets sexy, Irish Edward. On St. Patrick’s Day she gets a romp of her own but can she make the romance last longer?

Twilight – Rated: M – English – Romance/Humor – Chapters: 17 – Words: 96,923 – Reviews: 666 – Updated: 5-25-12 – Published: 5-1-11 – Bella & Edward – Complete”

********************************

Have a wonderful weekend, and please share what’s been owning you in the fanfiction world this week.

Midnight Cougar

14 Comments

Filed under Edward A M Cullen, Fan Fiction Friday, Fan Fiction Recs, FFF Library, FFF Posts, Twilight, Writing

14 responses to “FanFiction Fridays – Recs for Jun 22/12

  1. i think these have been mentioned before but i am completely owned by these two stories. one is a mobward the other a ceoward/olderward.

    shamrocks and shenanigans by mathisson
    Bella is working for a catering and event planning company. She has just about pulled off the reception of the year when she’s introduced to Edward Cullen, mafia boss. Can he show her that even bad guys can be good.
    http://www.fanfiction.net/s/7965930/1/Shamrocks_and_Shenanigans

    also no ordinary proposal by twilover76
    Bella wants to escape her small-town life and live her dreams in New York. What happens when a man almost twice her age makes her an offer she can’t refuse?
    http://www.fanfiction.net/s/8092082/1/No_Ordinary_Proposal

  2. naughtyhisbella

    MC! I can’t wait to check these out! Lately, I’ve been reading “Coming Home” by SargesGirls (JenRar & Drotuno) – Edward is a soldier in Afganistan. Bella writes to him. That’s all I’m saying! I read off Drotuno’s blog (Pics!!!) but here’s the FF link: http://www.fanfiction.net/s/8182137/1/Coming_Home
    The second one is Rm w/a Vu. by AngelGoddess1981 Bella is a college student in need of a place to live after her dorm mate betrays her. She finds an ad in the classifieds to rent a Rm w/a Vu. The rest you’ll just have to read!!! I’m reading it on Twilighted. The FF link:
    http://www.fanfiction.net/s/7829435/1/bRm_b_bw_b_ba_b_bVu_b
    I love the Friday recs and am quickly filling my little notebook with stories to be read! Thanks to the gals of RobAttack!!!!

    • rita01tx

      I’ve got so many WIP’s going on I’m trying to wait for Coming Home to complete before I read it {I adore both these authors}!
      Rm w/a Vu sounds like a good read, so it goes on my Neverending TBR!
      BTW, your little notebook ain’t gonna be enough in the end, darlin’! My TBR is already 110 pages and still growing – size A4 landscape Word table LMAO!!! I don’t delete the ones I’ve already read.

    • Thanks, I’m glad you love it! Feel free to write a guest rec sometime for us sometime! 😀 Coming Home I hear is great, thanks! xx

  3. Hi MC and girls!

    Thank you as always MC, for the great recs – I actually saw Wicked Little Girls on FF.net this week and was intrigued by the summary and popped it on my TBR list.. so I am pleased as to see you review it this week.

    This week has been a bit of a fail for me with reading – but I have knocked over a few stories on the Driven to Desire Challenge that is being run at the moment. Voting opened a couple of days ago, but if one shots are your thing and you like UST – go and read some of these entries!

    http://www.fanfiction.net/u/3896678/

    I just saw the trailer for BD2.. oh.my.lord. I am looking forward to seeing more Edward on the screen!

    Have a great weekend ladies! AV xo

    • newyorkkisses

      Hi Ally!
      Sometimes I love to read a good OS. They’re great when you don’t have time to get invested in a long fic and I always find it amazing how authors manage to fit a whole story into one “chapter”. Thanks for the link, I’ll go check it out. 🙂 XO

  4. Happy Friday MC and Ladies. Thanks for the interesting rec MC. Like Ally this week I have been reading the Driven To Desire entries, I’ll tell you my favourite after the voting is closed but there is something for everyone’s taste.

    I also enjoyed a lovely sweet one shot my katmon, Bunches of Honeysuckle.

    A pregnant woman, her besotted husband and the scent of honeysuckle. AH for the dirtycheekymonkeys Squeeze My Lemon Post.
    http://www.fanfiction.net/s/8236984/1/Bunches_of_Honeysuckle

    The truly wonderful Hydraulic Level 5 by Gondolier is now complete. I decided to read the story from the beginning again and I can’t tell you how much I’m enjoying it and living every moment along with the characters.

    Critics hailed Edward Cullen’s novels as “masterful” and “brimstone beauty”-a genius of his generation. To Bella Swan, he was simply the complex man who broke her heart for his career in New York. How does one forget her first love and the new woman on his arm? With whitewater rafting. Skydiving. Surfing. A bit of mischief and sweet, sweet revenge.
    http://www.fanfiction.net/s/4931075/1/Hydraulic_Level_5

    Have a great weekend.

    • rita01tx

      Blew through Hydraulic Level 5 this week…just finished yesterday. Man, what a ride! Maybe not the hottest lemons in the fandom, but certainly one of the best written stories I can remember reading! Cared, darlin’! She rec’d a story that sounded almighty familiar to me but I didn’t have it on my TBR: Where the Sidewalk Ends by BronzehairedGirl620. BHG has closed her FF account and, after frantically searching, I found it on Twilighted…the fic site I hate most cause I can’t fuckin’ log onto it for love nor money no matter how many times I reset my password! *grumblegrowl!*

  5. newyorkkisses

    Hi ladies!
    Thanks for these great recs, MC! “Wicked Little Girls” is new to me and I love a well written HS fic. “Wild hearts can’t be broken” and “What fills the eye …” are new ones, too , and they’re both going on the TBR-list. 🙂

    This week I unfortunately had to flounce a fic and was very happy that the one I read next totally made up for it: “A Tale” by Totteacher.
    Summary:
    Isabella Swan had grown up surrounded by cruel Lords who use woman for their own amusement. How will the young woman be able to protect herself? Can she escape the same fate as her mother?
    Twilight – Rated: M – English – Hurt/Comfort/Romance – Chapters: 30 – Words: 66,127 – Reviews: 1502 – Updated: 4-15-11 – Published: 1-25-11 – Bella & Edward – Complete
    http://www.fanfiction.net/s/6686669/1/A_Tale

    It’s such a sweet story and this Lordward is so hot and protective *swoon*. 😉

    Other than reading this fic I have of course been squeeing at the new BD2 trailer. How amazing does Edward look in this one? Can’t wait for November…

    Have a great weekend, ladies!
    XO
    NYK

Leave Us Some Love & Tell us what You Think, Comment.

