FanFiction Fridays – Recs for Jun 29/12

Happy Friday! It’s hard to believe it’s almost July, wow, I’ve been doing fic recs for RA for well over a year now, and it’s so much fun! Thanks for being here, it means the world to me and all of us here at Rob Attack! xo

Today I have a special rec for you, by one of my lovely RAoR (Random Acts of Rob – retired blog) friends, who has skillfully wielded her creative story ideas and started her own first full Twific. I am so excited for her, and as many of you know, I love to support new writers that capture my attention, so today I give you Wild Child  by FluffyLiz.

Summary for Wild ChildJust months away from inheriting a fortune and the family business, 17 year old orphan, Bella, is out of control – a wild child with a platinum card and a killer bod. Can Edward, as her legal guardian and CEO of Swan Publishing, rein her in and prevent her from ruining everything he’s worked for? AH. Rated M for a reason.

Twilight – Rated: M – English – Romance/Drama – Chapters: 1 – Words: 5,089 – Reviews: 44 – Published: 6-24-12 – Edward & Bella”

The story is told from the third person narrative point of view which provides the greatest flexibility to the author because we get to experience easily all that is going on in the plot and storyline – the character’s feelings and thoughts as well as a thorough knowledge of the time, people, places and events. I really enjoy reading a story in this narrative form, and as we see in chapter 1 of Wild Child, it works very well for this story.

Besides the fact that I was thrilled to see FluffyLiz post her first fic, what also enticed me to read Wild Child is that it’s an Olderward/CEOward story and I’m a complete h00r for this type of Edward. The story begins Thursday 24 March 2011 with 31 yr old American Edward pulling his Aston Martin DB9, into the driveway of the elite private school that Bella attends —”Roedean—arguably Britain’s most famous and finest private girls’ school…” which is located two hours from London, England. Edward has been summoned by the headmistress, Davina Banner, because, as Bella’s legal guardian and late father’s best friend and business partner, he is expected to take responsibility for her “wild child” actions of late…

Edward sat, crossing his right leg over his left and resting his hands on his right knee, one on top of the other.

“First, let me thank you for taking time out of what I know is a very busy schedule to drive down—”

“Let’s cut the bullshit, Mrs Banner,” Edward interrupted. “You and I both know you gave me little choice in the matter. So, now you’ve got me here, I am all ears. What the hell has she done now?”

Mrs Banner sighed, holding Edward’s eye for a moment before looking down at a manila file on her desk, the words “Isabella Swan” emblazoned across the top right-hand corner in bold black letters.

“Very well, Mr Cullen, I’ll spare you the bullshit, as you so eloquently put it,” she said, throwing him a rueful glance. “As you know, Isabella has previously been a model student, and I am well aware that her current behaviour is atypical—just a phase many seventeen year old girls go through. However, on this occasion, it simply isn’t possible to overlook her wilful attitude and conduct—Isabella must be shown that there are consequences to her actions.”

“What, precisely, do you mean, Mrs Banner?” She didn’t miss the rather pointed way he glanced at his watch before looking back to her, one eyebrow cocked in enquiry.

Looking down at the file, she flipped it open, appearing to peruse the contents, although Edward was pretty certain she knew exactly what was written there. A minute passed in silence, followed by Mrs Banner suddenly slapping the file closed and looking up at Edward as she lowered her forearms to the desk, knitting her fingers and leaning forward slightly.

“Right. Here it is in a nutshell. Isabella has been discovered smoking on school property more than once, she is drunk most weekends, several times failing to return to her dorm at night, and yesterday she was caught smoking cannabis in the games storage facility.”

As Edward struggles to comprehend all the mischief his ward has been involved in, he is then informed, that since there is only one month left of the semester and they can not condone Bella’s wild, inappropriate behaviour, he should remove Bella from the school and take her home to give her the guidance and home life that she so obviously requires. While he is processing all this information, and receiving guidance from Mrs. Banner, we learn about Bella’s background and life…

Edward’s “Wild Child”, Isabella Swan, is a 17 yr old British orphan, who’s parents were killed in a car crash in Italy four years ago. She has spent most of her time since she was 13 at Roedean, but now has set her sights on other aspirations besides her studies. As she sits in her room with several of her friends awaiting her fate, we learn of those interesting plans where her guardian is concerned….

Bella had known Edward half her life, and she had had a massive crush on him for just as long. As her grief subsided, she began to fantasise about how Edward would grow to love her, not just as his ward but as something much, much more. But as the time passed, she realised that in order to fall in love with her he would actually have to spend more than five minutes in her company once in a blue moon. Even when they did, on those rare occasions, occupy the same space, of late Edward was seldom more than politely solicitous, barely seeming to notice that the skinny, awkward girl he used to have so much time for was turning into a curvaceous and beautiful young woman. Nothing she did ever seemed to even capture his attention anymore, let alone stir his emotions.

Well, he was paying attention now—oh yes, now that she was finally starting to break out and have some fun—here he was, talking to Banjax in her office, as the two of them undoubtedly plotted to ruin her life. She knew he had arrived, because her friend Lauren had texted her with the news.

In the latter part chapter 1 we learn about Edward’s background, and how he came to be the CEO of Swan Publishing –  originally owned and operated by the late “self-made English millionaire businessman” Charlie Swan, but I’ll let you read the rest for yourselves. It’s a pleasure to read, very well-written with lovely description for you to enjoy. I can’t wait to read more and to watch the progression of the relationship between Edward and his “Wild Child”, Bella, and since the story is almost completely written, I have been assured it will update ever Sunday, faithfully, until completion! Please enjoy!

In addition to my thoughts above, I asked mauigirl60, a.k.a. Bernadette, FluffyLiz‘s wonderful beta, if she would like to share her thoughts regarding this intriguing story, and this is what she had to say:

I was very surprised when FluffyLiz asked me to take a look at a “little” story she was kicking around.  She had emailed me the first chapter several months ago just to see what I thought of the plot, not to necessarily beta for her.   So over the weekend, she asked if I would be interested in being her beta and I have to say I was truly honored that she felt I could even do her story justice.

First off, the genre she’s writing is my very favorite of all the Edward and Bella stories; an older Edward and high school Bella, where the age gap is 15-20 years.  In my opinion, that  makes the story all the more exciting, because of the taboo element involved, which she capitalizes on right from the get-go.   What man isn’t interested in the sexy schoolgirl scenario?  Edward is no different.  He goes from treating her as a child to not being able to hide the monster in his pants several chapters in.

Bella’s always loved and idolized Edward from a child and she is acting out to get his attention because she feels ignored.  There is some drama, a bit of angst, and all carried out with humor interlaced with British wit.  Edward is an American working in London and nobody writes London like somebody who lives there.

I am proud and pleased to be part of Liz’s endeavor and I know once you embark on reading the first chapter, you will also.

As well, I spoke to FluffyLiz and asked if she would kindly share with us a little more insight into the story and give us a small teaser for chapter 2…

This is a story about love and the sometimes desperate things people do to find it. Edward is closed off, on the surface cold and unfeeling, but underneath he’s a man of deep and profound emotions. Bella has loved him as a child, and is ready to fall in love with him as a young woman, but his emotional neglect forces her to make stupid, irrational decisions to gain his attention, with surprising and dramatic consequences.

Teaser from Chapter. 2:

Edward was confused and a little angry at himself, because his inability to sleep seemed to be as a direct result of his mind continually dwelling on the shock he had experienced that afternoon at how much Bella had changed over the last year—and it was not just the matter of her attitude which so beleaguered him. No matter how hard he tried—making himself think of the gap-toothed, gangly child—his traitorous mind conjured up the image of Bella stretching in his car, making him remember how his eyes travelled up her body, from that peek at her smooth, flat stomach, up to the ample swell of her breasts, accentuated by the criminal tightness of her t shirt, travelling on up the long, slender column of her neck, to the curve of her jaw, the defined perfection of her cheekbone and finally resting on her closed eyes, the long lashes fanning out over her soft, smooth, alabaster skin. This recollection inevitably led on to the conversation which followed about her piercing and the possibility that she had a tattoo—and then he was utterly incapable of forcing his mind away from what and where it might be, each thought more depraved than the last.

So much for resolving his dilemma!

http://www.fanfiction.net/s/8251315/1/Wild_Child

If you are so inclined to join, FluffyLiz now has a Facebook group for her fanfiction called Fiction & Fluffery!

************************************************************************

NOW COMPLETE – 2 stories I rec’d on FanFiction Fridays – Recs for Jan 6/12. The first being the excellent romance/drama adventure of Blind Spot by FictionFreak95. This story owned my ass every Tuesday from when it started posting until it finished, great read!

Summary for Blind SpotIn the small town of Madisonville, LA, Bella Swan has spent her entire life seeing things before they happen. Until Him. How do you stay out of someone’s life when it keeps flashing before your eyes on a daily basis? AH,BxE, slightly supernatural.

Twilight – Rated: M – English – Romance/Drama – Chapters: 26 – Words: 180,491 – Reviews: 4132 – Updated: 6-15-12 – Published: 1-3-12 – Bella & Edward – Complete.”

***************

And, Penal Code by FictionFreak95 and BellaFlan! If you want a humourous/romantic fic to read and enjoy, you should read this story! It is one of the funniest fics I have ever read, so creative, and I can guarantee you will laugh your ass off and never look at pudding cups the same way again! 😉

Summary for  Penal Code: “Undercover Cop Edward Cullen wants some excitement on his beat. Bella, whom he mistakenly thinks is a hooker, desperately needs to snap out of her funk. How deep is Edward willing to go undercover to get the girl? COLLAB with BELLAFLAN! AH/Comedy

Twilight – Rated: M – English – Humor/Romance – Chapters: 10 – Words: 40,067 – Reviews: 1142 – Updated: 6-26-12 – Published: 1-3-12 – Bella & Edward – Complete.”

******************************

I’d like to thank Cared for pre-reading/editing my review rec for FluffyLiz, Cared is amazing! Thank you my friend for everything you do for me! xo

Have a wonderful week and please share what’s been owning you in the Fanfiction world!

Midnight Cougar

16 Comments

Filed under Edward A M Cullen, Fan Fiction Friday, Fan Fiction Recs, FFF Library, FFF Posts, Twilight, Writing

16 responses to “FanFiction Fridays – Recs for Jun 29/12

  1. I am indebted to Midnight Cougar for posting this wonderful review of my story, and for all the help and support she has provided in setting up my Facebook page, Fiction & Fluffery.

    I would also like to take the opportunity to thank Cared for arranging a posting on Fictionators’ Teaser Monday, from which Wild Child garnered a lot of attention, and for pimping it mercilessly amongst her friends.

    And last, but not least, thanks to MauiGirl60 for the huge amount of work she’s put into fine-tuning my work, and for her endless enthusiasm and support.

    I’m flabbergasted by the reaction to this story, and am hugely grateful for all the support and encouragement I’ve received.

  2. Thanks so much MC for highlighting FluffyLiz’s story, it is wonderful to see one of our RAoR girls writing a story – so I will be certainly checking that out! FluffyLiz recommended some of my favourite stories to me, so I owe her!!

    This week I have read two stories that have been recommended here a lot – Shamrocks and Shenanigans and also pattyrose’s Indecent Proposal. I have enjoyed both stories immensely.

    The other story I read in the last week is the *complete* Soft Place to Land
    by btwnthestacks. Summary: Single father Edward Cullen and his daughter are looking for a soft place to land. In an attempt to help her, he turns to a program at the local library. While two furry friends help his child find her confidence, their owner will mend his broken heart. http://www.fanfiction.net/s/7775714/1/A_Soft_Place_to_Land

    This story recently completed and I read it pretty much in one sitting, it is not overly long, but it is a great easy read and I really enjoyed it.

    I hope everyone is having a great week – AV xox

    • Thanks Ally, I know you will enjoy Wild Child, & thanks for the Daddyward rec, sounds great, gonna get it right now! xo

    • Hi Ally,

      A Soft Place to Land is on my TBR list, since you like it so much I’ll have to move it to the top. Thanks for that. I’m glad you are enjoying Indecent Proposal, it’s one of those that has me diving on the updates. You are right about fics recommended by FluffyLiz, she is like MC in that she knows how to pick them.

  3. Hey MC, I love what you had to say about Wild Child. I was completely taken in by the first chapter, the plot seems really interesting, and the first taste of Edward and Bella is enticing to say the least. It’s an added bonus for me that the fic is set on my side of the world.

    Congratulations to you FluffyLiz on your first full-length fic, the first of many I hope. You are very welcome and you know that I’m along for the ride.

    BTW Wild Child is up for voting for Pwn Of The Week on The Fictionators – http://www.fictionators.com/pwn-of-the-week/whats-pwning-you-june-2012/

    I know that many of you are pattyrose fans like myself. She posted an A/N to say she will be taking down Thief of Hearts on Monday 9th July, so if you were planning of reading, now is your chance.
    http://www.fanfiction.net/s/7415720/1/Thief_of_Hearts
    Summary: FBI Agent Edward Cullen knows the assignment: Go undercover & infiltrate the ring. Bring them down. He doesn’t bargain on the mysterious thief who turns the case upside down, or on the mortal danger protecting her will put them both in. E&B OOC

    Last Friday I mentioned that I’d spent the week reading the Driven to Desire Contest entries. I didn’t want to name my favourite as voting was still open at that stage. I was delighted to discover that not only had Do Not Cross won third place, in both the Judge’s vote and the public vote, and that it’s written by AngleGoddess1981 author of Rm w a Vu; the icing on the cake is that this fabulous one shot is being continued.
    http://www.fanfiction.net/s/8248674/1/Do_Not_Cross
    Detective Bella Swan has been asked to be a liaison on a cold case she headed with her ex-partner, Edward Cullen, two years ago. Can she put aside her unresolved feelings for him in order to solve the case that cost her everything so many years ago?

    Happy Friday All.

    • Thank you Cared, it’s not always easy to write a rec on 1 chapter, thanks for your help! DtD Contest entries were great, & yeah Angels was awesome, I agree. Have a great weekend! xx

  4. Not sure if it’s been mentioned here or not yet, but I finished Stolen Secrets and Shattered Dreams this week and absolutely loved it! http://www.fanfiction.net/s/7385951/1/Stolen_Secrets_and_Shattered_Dreams

    I also read My Beautiful Storm and loved that as well! http://www.fanfiction.net/s/7601746/1/My_Beautiful_Storm

    • rita01tx

      Nanarelle darlin’! My Beautiful Storm is one of my favorite stories ever! It’s sweet and sexy and oh so funny. Chapter 8 made me fall off my chair laughing!!
      Stolen Secrets and Shattered Dreams sounds like a good read, too! Adding it to my ever expanding TBR LOL!

  5. miniaturemom12

    HI!!! Love the recs, as usual. I’m reading Wild Child live (yay Fluffy!), but have to wait until I get home to vote for it. My work computer says its ‘p0rn’ and won’t let me access the site.
    Favorited the other wips and downloaded the completeds to the kindlebaby. Currently reading an oldy but goody (and completely new to me)- Bonne Foi! It’s sooooo goooood!

    http://www.fanfiction.net/s/4639011/1/bBonne_b_bFoi_b

    Enjoy ladies! WP insists on logging me out everyday, but I’m still around.

    • rita01tx

      Amethyst Jackson is a great writer! Be sure and read The Learning Curve, too! I think I liked it better than Bonne Foi, but not by much LOL!

  6. newyorkkisses

    Hi ladies!
    Great post, MC, thank you for the recs!

    *squeee* Liz! I can’t wait to read your fic and have been excited about reading it since you mentioned it on FB a while ago. 🙂 The plot sounds so intriguing, very hot.
    Thank you also to Bernadette for sharing her thoughts on “Wild Child”.

    “Blind Spot” sounds right up my alley, too. And “Penal Code” sounds hilarious. I always love a funny fic.
    So much to add to my TBR-list again. 🙂

    This week I was completely pwned by an amazing fic that is very different plot wise from the usual fics. It’s a longer fic and I was kept on my toes the whole time. It’s impressive how the author manages to not once make you feel like it’s too long or moving to slow, I was glued to it for days on end. The fic is called “The Better Angels of our Nature” by Lissa Bryan, the author of “Written in the Stars” and “The Selkie Wife”, among others.
    This fic has a hot guardian angel Edward, UST, amazing lemons, humor, and an adorable puppy named “Dave” in it. And some of the best side characters I have read in a long time.
    Summary:
    Bella is a powerful telekinetic, escaped from a government research facility. With her is Edward, her guardian angel, sent to earth to protect her. Can they find safety? Can Bella love this extraordinary creature? OOC/AU, Rated M.
    Twilight – Rated: M – English – Romance/Supernatural – Chapters: 42 – Words: 192,441 – Reviews: 2726 – Updated: 2-11-12 – Published: 12-1-11 – Bella & Edward – Complete
    http://www.fanfiction.net/s/7601038/1/The_Better_Angels_of_Our_Nature

    Have a great weekend, ladies!
    XO
    NYK

  7. rita01tx

    Oooh! Just read the first chapter of Wild Child! Ready for MORE! Blind Spot was a great read and I can’t wait to tackle Penal Code, now that it’s complete.
    I can’t remember what story I was looking for, but in my wanderings, I stumbled across an author I hadn’t read before! I read this short story first, to get a feel for her writing:
    Midnight Carnival by Cris
    http://www.fanfiction.net/s/6831249/1/Midnight_Carnival
    AU vampire twoshot. Edward finds himself trapped, caged like an animal by the proprietors of the Midnight Carnival. They’re starving him and he needs to find a way out. A mysterious, quiet girl, also kept captive, may just hold the key to his salvation.
    Twilight – Rated: M – English – Hurt/Comfort/Romance – Chapters: 3 – Words: 41,851 – Reviews: 98 – Updated: 4-6-11 – Published: 3-17-11 – Bella & Edward – Complete
    Love me some good Vampward and this did not disappoint! Now, I’m reading her current WIP
    Wisp by Cris
    http://www.fanfiction.net/s/8051177/1/Wisp
    Edward wins more than he bargained for at what was supposed to be a friendly poker game. AH. Twilight – Rated: M – English – Hurt/Comfort/Drama – Chapters: 12 – Words: 67,363 – Reviews: 691 – Updated: 6-28-12 – Published: 4-22-12 – Bella & Edward
    I just love find new authors!

  8. eewee333

    Hello to my favorite bloggers! I finally got a chance to catch-up on my emails and what a pleasant surprise! Thanks for all the completed fic recs this week. After reading your review of Wild Child, I may even succumb to reading a WIP. (We’ll see) Please to be noting that A Pound of Flesh updated this week!
    I have one fic rec this week, which I just finished reading, Learning to Love Again by opal aline. It’s a quick read, it’s complete and it has an HEA. It doesn’t have many reviews, so leave her some love. I also read ASPTL this past week and it was very sweet. Well, it’s hot as Hades here in Charleston this weekend, even my doggie doesn’t want to go outside. Stay cool ladies. 🙂
    http://www.fanfiction.net/s/5700758/1/Learning_to_Love_Again

  9. Pingback: FanFiction Fridays – Cache of Completes | Rob Attack

  10. Pingback: All Hail Our Chief…Executive Officer! | Rob Attack

Leave Us Some Love & Tell us what You Think, Comment.

