FanFiction Fridays – Recs for July 6/12

Hello everyone, and welcome to FanFiction Fridays. Today Cared has written a review for you; a rec for a lovely, historical fic, and I will re-cap a previous rec that is now complete, and actually has a sequel that just began posting. Cared’s rec…

WRAP YOU IN MY ARMS by Emmamama88 

Summary for Wrap You In My Arms: “Edward Cullen, former Confederate soldier, begins a journey from his home in Tennessee, to that of his only living relative in Texas. Along the way, he meets a girl. He’s running from the past. She’s running from a future she doesn’t want. drabble-ish

Twilight – Rated: M – English – Adventure/Romance – Chapters: 75 – Words: 73,361 – Reviews: 1577 – Updated: 7-4-12 – Published: 4-21-12 – Edward & Bella.”

http://www.fanfiction.net/s/8045590/1/Wrap_You_In_My_Arms

Wrap You In My Arms opens on a bleak April day in 1867, when we meet Ed, a true Tennessee boy, born and bred just north of Nashville. After tragedy befalls him, he sells his family’s farm and packs all his goods and chattels into his wagon. He’s fixin’ to move to Texas, hoping for a brighter future there. His brother Emmett and sister-in-law Rosa are settled near Fort Concho. This endearing story may start out on a sad note but circumstances soon start to improve for Wagonward, making sharing his journey very entertaining indeed.

The wind still had the bite a winter in it, even though March was over and done, and we was now fixin’ to enter the second week of April.

I stood by my parents’ grave, hat in hand, lettin’ the words flow that I’d been holdin’ in my heart.

Once I left outta here, I knew there’d be no comin’ back to this place, not durin’ my lifetime anyways. 

“Pa, I’m sad to the core ya ain’t comin’ with me like we planned. I never knowed what a selfish man I truly was ’til now, ’cause I’m missin’ ya somethin’ fierce.” I lifted my arm and wiped at the tears with the sleeve of my jacket. “I know for certain and for sure that you’re happy ’cause you’re in heaven with Ma, but I ain’t askin’ your forgiveness for sheddin’ tears like a newborn, ’cause it ain’t every day that a man is forced to say goodbye to his Pa.”

I touched the stone marker on my parents’ grave as I thought back to the last time I seened my Pa alive and drew in a deep breath, the cold mornin’ air makin’ me cough a little.

Once I’d stood there longer than a workin’ man had a right to, I put my hat back on my head.

“I reckon I’ll be on my way now. Take care a each other ’til I see ya again.”

I looked at the freshly turned earth coverin’ my Pa’s grave afore glancin’ one last time at the grave beside his that hadn’t been disturbed in over ten years. For the second time in my life, I said a silent goodbye to my Ma and my baby sister, who left this world without ever takin’ a breath, and I walked away.

Ed may only be 20 but he has endured a great deal in those years. He joined the army at 17, and fought during the last two years of the war. Now, the only tie he has left to his hometown is his true friend Jake. Saying goodbye to Jake is Ed’s final stop before leaving town for the last time. Poor Ed – Jake is not the only one who wants to share some final moments with him. Miss Sally, a lady that works in the saloon, is hoping for a little something, or not so little something, to remember him by.

When my mind conjured up the images of what she was suggestin’, I had to swallow back the beer that was threatenin’ to make a second appearance.

There was no way in hell that I could tell Miss Sally the truth. I was for sure and for certain gonna get gouged if’n I was to say that there warn’t enough alcohol in the whole wide world could make me drunk enough to enjoy a ‘go’ with her in her boudoir.

Besides, there was still a chance that someday I might meet a girl I’d like enough to marry, and if Miss Sally, bein’ the large and enthusiastic woman she was, broke my dick, there’d be no chance of any young’uns in my future.

I’d never heared tell of a broken dick caused from fornicatin’ with a large woman, but there was a first time for everythin’, and I warn’t one for temptin’ fate.

I cleared my throat and tried to give Miss Sally my most apologetic smile. “Ma’am, I appreciate your kind offer, but I’m fearful late gettin’ on the road as it is. My brother’s expectin’ me to wire him from Nashville sometime tomorrow, and if’n I don’t get a move on I ain’t gonna make it in time.”

Oh my, now don’t you agree that our Ed is a gentleman? What other vitally important things should I tell you about Ed? He wears long johns in winter and goes commando in summer. No seriously, he is just a pet; it’s pert near impossible not to love him. He is sweet, loyal, honest and loving. So, Ed sets off on his journey, feeling lonely and alone, unaware of the fact he has a stowaway hiding in his wagon. No prizes for guessing the identity of Ed’s covert companion – Izzy.

Our Izzy is a spitfire yet truly a captivating and amiable young girl.  Not only is she pretty…just ’bout the handsomest gal I’d ever seenedshe is mature for her tender years, making her just perfect for Ed. Unfortunately, their initial meeting is not so perfect. When he makes camp for the night further along the trail, Ed gets a mighty fright upon discovering a stranger. He doesn’t take too kindly to the notion that she has been watching him, while he remained blissfully unaware. His reaction is harsh at first but he soon softens when he hears her sorry tale.

And while ya was at it did ya get a good look at my pecker when I stopped to take a piss?”

Izzy coughed, no doubt to clear her throat. “I had to run away. Soon as I turned sixteen, Uncle Luke decided it was time for me to marry. He telled me that Lila, the woman who was gonna be his wife, didn’t want no other women in the house, so’s I had to go.”

I frowned. “When did ya turn sixteen Izzy?”

“‘Bout a month ago.” She answered in a quiet voice. “Directly after that, he bringed one of his card playin’ friends around to meet me. Soon as that feller left, my Uncle telled me that his friend had a wish to marry me. It didn’t matter what I wanted…”She started in to snifflin’ again then. “I s’pose I’m just like any other girl, wantin’ a husband and family of my own, but I don’t want nothin’ to do with that feller, James.”She placed her little hand on my arm as she spoke. “He’s hard-hearted and ugly, inside and out.  Not to mention old. He must be at least thirty or so.” She was lookin’ scared again, and I was glad it warn’t because of me this time.”I seened James kick his own dog, and he warn’t much better to his horse.” She took a shudderin’ breath, “My Mam always telled me that ya could know a person’s quality by the way they treated critters. If my Mam was right, then this feller is the worst of the worst.”

“The night afore we was supposed to get hitched, I runned away. My brothers lied to my Uncle and telled him I’d gone to bed with a headache in the hopes that he wouldn’t come alookin’ ’til mornin’.”

“So ya think they’re lookin’ for ya now?”

She nodded, her big brown eyes starin’ up at me, makin’ me feel the need to protect her somehow.

“I’m sorrier than you’ll ever know for the way I hollered Izzy. I didn’t know ya was Charlie Swan’s daughter. Can ya forgive me?”

“There’s nothin’ to forgive. I understand why ya got angry, and I don’t blame ya for nothin’ ya said. All I’m askin’, and I ain’t too proud to beg ya neither, is that ya don’t make me go back.” Her voice was barely a whisper.

I couldn’t stop myself from wrappin’ my arms around her then. “I ain’t takin’ ya back Izzy, and if they find ya, I won’t let them take ya back neither. I’ll keep ya safe. That’s a promise.”

We still had a couple of hours ’til daylight, so I coaxed Izzy into lyin’ down by the fire and sleepin’ for a spell afore we had to get up.

Knowin’ that sleep wouldn’t find me no more that night, I fixed another pot of coffee and pondered everythin’ I’d learned.

As I sat there, the sound of Izzy’s voice made me jump a little, ’cause I was fair certain that she’d fallen asleep.

“Ed?”

“Yeah?”

“Just so’s ya know. I promise I ain’t seened your pecker.”

I tried coverin’ my laugh with a cough, but Izzy’s answerin’ giggle made it clear that she knowed the difference.

Yep, Ed has met his match in Izzy. Wrap You In My Arms is the charming story of Ed and Izzy’s hazardous journey from Tennessee to Texas, and their rich experiences along the way. Boy, do they have adventures filled with both drama and fun! Of course, although they tangle with some loathsome creatures, no good low life vermin, their greatest adventure is in growing sweet on each other, courtin’ and getting married – make that gettin’ hitched.

There is one more individual who is integral to the story and that is Jack. Now I’m fairly certain that I’m smitten with Jack. He’s a stray mutt that Izzy took a shying to, and that’s how Ed found out that he could refuse her nothin’. Jack is such a character in his own right, loyal and brave like his master and quite the little scene-stealer. He is deserving of the title man’s best friend, or in this case woman’s best friend. He is not only a valuable sidekick; he plays the hero himself and saves the day more than once. The final epilogue is actually told in Jack’s POV, showing just how special this canine companion is.

You will love how this story is brought to us. It’s told in EPOV and believe me, Ed is a mighty fine storyteller. It’s almost like sitting beside a campfire, snuggled in one of his mama’s blankets, drinking a mug of strong coffee, listening to him tell his captivating tale. Wrap You In My Arms is really different. Ask yourself this, in how many other fics would you read lines like these below? The second one is from the wedding night! Fabulous aren’t they?

I waked the next mornin’ havin’ to piss so bad my back teeth was near swimmin’.

“Izzy, I need to join with ya now, if that’s agreeable.”

Emmamama88, author of many great stories such as the awesome Actorward fic,  Virgins & Villains, has produced yet another fic to add to my favourites.

I asked her to share what inspired this story. She explained that she has always been interested in genealogy and has traced her and her husband’s ‘roots’; he has family in Tennessee going back generations. She herself discovered one ancestor in America at the time the story is set. Peter McHugh arrived over from Ireland and was immediately drafted into the Union Cavalry. Eventually he was stationed at Fort Concho, beside where Ed and Izzy settle. Emmamama88 says, “the geographic locations were my inspiration…but the story itself was purely my imagination running amok, as usual”.

Y’all feel free to hitch your wagon to Ed’s and stop by and say howdy.

Link to Emmamama’s Stories on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/#!/groups/237962632928637/

Over at The Writer’s Coffe Shop, Emmamama186: http://www.thewriterscoffeeshop.com/library/viewuser.php?uid=33558

Emmamama’s Stories on Blogspot: http://emmamamas-stories.blogspot.com/

Cared

*******************************************************************

Now Complete! The well-written, exciting Mafiaward Shamrocks and Shenanigans by mathisson rec’d on  FanFiction Fridays – Recs for Apr 6/12You will not be disappointed if you like this type of Edward, it was an enthralling crime and romance fic to read, and Bella was a strong, lovely character in this story.

Bella is working for a catering and event planning company. She has just about pulled off the reception of the year when she’s introduced to Edward Cullen, mafia boss. Can he show her that even bad guys can be good. AH/CC

Twilight – Rated: M – English – Crime/Romance – Chapters: 30 – Words: 103,845 – Reviews: 5047 – Updated: 6-30-12 – Published: 3-28-12 – Bella & Edward – Complete”

**********

And, there is now a Sequel entitled  Claddagh and Chaos by mathisson. Only 1 chapter posted so far, but I have faith it will be as wonderful as the story that preceded it.

Sequel to Shamrocks and Shenanigans. “The Shamrock was a promise, the Claddagh holds so much more.” Will Bella and Edward have their Happy ever after or does love come with a shelf life?

Twilight – Rated: M – English – Romance/Suspense – Chapters: 1 – Words: 1,916 – Reviews: 216 – Published: 6-30-12 – Edward & Bella”

********************************************

Thank you to the lovely Cared for her wonderful rec today, have a lovely week, enjoy the summer and please share what you’ve been reading in the fanfiction world. 🙂 Happy Friday!

Midnight Cougar

24 Comments

Filed under Edward A M Cullen, Fan Fiction Friday, Fan Fiction Friday Guest Review, Fan Fiction Recs, FFF Library, FFF Posts, Twilight, Writing

24 responses to “FanFiction Fridays – Recs for July 6/12

  1. Hi ladies,
    this week I’m reading Family of Perfection by DazzlinSparkle05 http://www.fanfiction.net/s/5628740/1/Family_of_Perfection
    In ninth grade I developed a crush on him. At sixteen he kissed me. Freshman year of college I fell in love with him. On my twenty first birthday we got drunk and I lost my virginity to him. Nine months later Mackenzie Carlie Cullen joined us.” A/H, AU

    I’m looking for somePhotograpaward stories. Can you help 🙂 I’ve read TBaTC. Thanks

    • Thanks for the rec E. I haven’t heard of that one before.

      Photographerward is unusual but I’m sure I’ve read some – I’ll try to remember for you.

      • rita01tx

        I was gonna link you up to 107yearoldvirgin’s fic: “Heat of a Blue Flame” ~ Edward is a mysterious and reclusive photographer. Bella becomes the subject he’s always dreamed of finding…someone to show him how to “feel” again.
        BUT, she’s gone…AGAIN…from FanFiction!!!
        {I have the pdf if you want it}
        Recently, I read “Behind the Images” by ACullenWannabe ~ After Bella Swan’s best friend releases a portrait of her it is purchased an an auction by Edward Masen, one of society’s elite photographers, who seems to have an irresistible draw to Bella. Can Bella accept Edward’s attention?
        http://www.fanfiction.net/s/5354195/1/Behind_The_Images

  2. i’ve read both those stories. they are brilliant. wrap you in my arms is just plain adorable. if you want a sweet period fic. this is what you want.

    another good period piece is nightingale by lady gwynedd. it was marked complete but now she is adding more to the story.
    http://www.fanfiction.net/s/7061593/1/bNightingale_b

  3. haystackhair

    Hi ladies! Thanks for the recs. I’ll add to the list. Hey, did anyone see that HL5 finished? ater all this time? Also update on E&OMP recently. I’m starting some oldies but goodies that I have had on my list that are finally complete, but not lots of time to read. Happy Friday ladies!

  4. rita01tx

    This week, I am completely enthralled by “Where the Sidewalk Ends” by BronzehairedGirl620. Unfortunately, it’s only available on pdf.
    A string of unsolved murders brings a new police chief to Forks. Through letters, a clandestine relationship forms between his daughter and Edward Masen, wrongly convicted of the crimes, as she struggles to prove the innocence of the man she loves.

  5. ilovealion

    As always, Cared, you have made this story sound irresistible. I love the dialect the author uses.

    Can’t wait to read it.

    Thanks for the fix, sweets. Hearts to you.

  6. Oh my I am late this week – damn visitors keeping me away from my world of FF!

    Cared, as always, fabulous review! I have had Wrap You In My Arms on my TBR list for a while now and I look forward to reading it immensely. I love period piece FF’s.

    This week I had to get my butt into gear and read pattyrose’s Thief of Hearts – which is being removed from FF on Monday 9 July. http://www.fanfiction.net/s/7415720/1/Thief_of_Hearts
    As much as I wish I had read this story earlier, I can’t say I am sorry I missed it as a WIP, as it would have KILLED me as a WIP. It was everything you want a story to be, mysterious, original plot, gorgeous Edward, brave beautiful Bella and of course, the connection between ExB in this one is very strong. Pattyrose is one amazing author!

    I have so many stories lined up – I honestly don’t know what to start next! I will have fun deciding though 🙂 Have a beautiful week ladies! AV x

    • rita01tx

      At least she warned us Ally darlin’! PDF’s that sucker toot sweet LOL!
      Speaking of another author who’s done a bunk, Ikss has pulled The Cocky & The Cougar before I could pdf it. Do you have it???

      • eewee333

        Hi rita. I have TC&TC with outtakes in Word format, but I can pdf it and send it to you. I have been downloading and copying and pdf=ing stories like crazy. I’m amassing quite a library. The recs this week look good. I’ve already added them to my TBR list. I wish all you wonderful ladies a safe and blessed week.

  7. Pingback: The Essence of Edward… | Rob Attack

Leave Us Some Love & Tell us what You Think, Comment.

