FanFiction Fridays – Aug 24/12

TGIFF! I’d like to start today by reiterating my sincere THANKS and appreciation to Cared and AllyVera, who were invaluable in the creation of the last two incredible FFF posts: FanFiction Fridays – Oldies BUT Goldies – Part 1  and  FanFiction Fridays – Oldies BUT Goldies – Part 2, where we, Cared, AllyVera, and I, MC, presented you with several detailed lists of our Oldies BUT Goldies complete fics. Thank you as well to all the RA readers for their participation, comments, and for sharing their firsts, we had a wonderful time, and now we all have countless hours of complete fics to read! *damn RL* lol Also, I have updated both the FFF Library and FFF Posts pages so you will be able to access the links to the two fics reviewed and all fics listed in both posts, at your leisure and with ease. 🙂

So, now on to FanFiction Fridays, and our regular scheduled programming…

Today I have a beautifully written Docward/Daddyward WIP for you, that will pull at your heart stings, but I know you will enjoy reading. It’s called Out of the Mouths of Babes by Edward’s Eternal, one of the most special women I have met in this fascinating fandom. Not only is she a very dear friend to me, but I also have the honour of being her beta.

*banner made by JA Mash*

Summary for Out of the Mouths of Babes: “Dr. Edward Cullen loves his job, but lives for his daughter. When her little world explodes he will do anything to piece it back together. But could the solution also bring him the happiness he didn’t realize he was missing?

Twilight – Rated: M – English – Hurt/Comfort/Romance – Chapters: 16 – Words: 29,384 – Reviews: 2549 – Updated: 8-19-12 – Published: 7-5-12 – Edward & Bella”

All of Edward’s Eternal’s fics are well-written and a pleasure to read. She is creative and versatile in her story plots, and Out of the Mouths of Babes is no exception. It’s an endearing story told in EPOV of Dr. Edward Cullen, who thought he had a good life, with a solid medical career, devoted wife, Tanya, and beautiful four year old daughter, Emma. But that was until he came home from work one night…

I walked in the door of our house, exhausted after a double shift at the hospital and found suitcases by the door. Tanya was sitting on the couch waiting for me. I felt my stomach clench as I looked between the suitcases and her.

“Going somewhere?” I asked as calmly as I could.

“I’m leaving you, Edward. I’m done.” Her voice was cold and angry and her eyes were devoid of any emotion.

“Done?” I asked confused.

She stood up. “Yes,” she snapped. “Done with this farce of a marriage. Done pretending to be a happy little family. What a fucking joke.”

I was shocked at the venom in her voice. “You’re not happy Tan?”

“Don’t fucking call me that! You know I hate nicknames. No, I’m not happy, Edward. Can you honestly say you are?”

I stopped short at her words.

Was I happy?

I thought I was.

As Edward contemplates the reality of this shocking and life-altering situation, he realizes that his life was not at all what he thought it was…and neither was his wife.  And unfortunately, to make things worse, he loses much more than his marriage the night Tanya leaves…

“I never wanted a child, Edward and I don’t want to be a mother anymore! I’m tired of all of it, the daycare and the giggles and the messiness and the questions…all of it.”

I stared at her in shock.

“You don’t mean that.”

“I do. All she does is talk. And giggle. And play. And want things. Hugs, snuggles, snacks , it’s always something. It’s constant. There’s never any peace. I want quiet. I want adult things. No more Dora. No more Sesame Street. I’m tired of listening to baby talk all the fucking time!” Tanya’s voice had risen with each sentence and now she was yelling in my face.

I grabbed her arms and shook her. “Keep your voice down! You are going to wake her up!”

She shook off my arms. “I. Don’t. Care.”

“I’m leaving Edward. Now. For good. I’m going somewhere with no children. No giggles. No talk talk talk. Especially from her.”

She bent over and grabbed her suitcases. “I’ll get the rest of my things later.”

“Tanya, stop. You can’t do this.”

“I can and I am Edward. I don’t love you. I don’t love Emma.”

A strange noise caught my ear and I turned around. Standing on the steps, clutching her floppy bunny, tears running down her face, was Emma.

Oh God. How much had she heard? I looked over at Tanya and saw no reaction on her face. She didn’t care; she simply continued getting ready to walk away.

I crossed the room quickly and swung Emma up in my arms, holding her closely, trying to soothe her tears. I turned around to beg Tanya to reconsider, but she was already walking towards the door.

Emma reached out her tiny hand towards Tanya imploringly. “M..M..M..Mommy?” she whispered brokenly.

Tanya didn’t stop or turn around. She walked out and closed the door firmly behind her. Emma buried her face into my neck and sobbed silently, her little body shaking with grief. I ran my hand over her back repeatedly, telling her I loved her, over and over , trying to soothe her, but I couldn’t. The damage had been done.

Mommy.

That was the last word I heard Emma utter, and that was two months ago.

😦 I know…heartbreaking, poor little Emma, how could someone be so heartless to their own daughter! But Daddyward decides to take control of this terrible situation and make a change, for the better he hopes. He moves his withdrawn and devastated daughter to his hometown, hoping for a new beginning, by having his loving family around to help…and hopefully heal…

I had really hoped a fresh start would help; maybe ease the pain of the memories we were both living with. At this point I was willing to try anything, do anything….

It was a bungalow on a nice street with a fenced in back yard, other children in the neighbourhood and not too far away, yet not too close to my parents. It had been recently upgraded and the three bedrooms were a good size. The master had its own bathroom, with the other two rooms sharing the second one. Smaller than the house I had shared with Tanya, it felt more like a family home than a showpiece which is how I always felt in the other house. I stood in the kitchen looking through the patio doors to the yard.

“Maybe we could get a swing set for Emma,” I mused. Tanya had refused to have any sort of play things in the yard for Emma. She hated the clutter and had informed me more than once, that was what parks were for.

Behind me Dad chuckled. “Already done. And a sand box. And unless I’m mistaken, your mom ordered you a patio set and a barbeque as a housewarming gift.”

I laughed. “That’s quite the house warming gift.”

He clapped his hand on my shoulder. “It’s also a ‘I’m so glad you are home and brought my granddaughter close to me’ gift as well I think, Edward. Your mom is thrilled to have you both close again.”

I nodded silently.

“Whatever we can do, Edward. We know how hard this has been for you.”

Edward is a lucky man to have such wonderful, caring parents. He takes a new and promising job at the local hospital, and puts his sweet Emma in the daycare close by…and this is where his whole life may change!

Bella leaned forward, picked up a cookie and offered it to me, silently. Grinning, I took it from her hand. Our hands brushed lightly, and I smiled as I felt the warmth and softness of her skin. Her gaze was so kind as she looked at me and I felt myself relax; no wonder the children were so happy here, Bella had a special way about her.

She sat back returning my grin. “Now, tell me about Emma.”

*sigh* Wonderful reading, isn’t it? Now, you will just have to read the rest to find out exactly where the lovely Miss Bella Swan will fit into Dr. Cullen’s complicated situation. What kind of special healing powers may she possess…for both Daddy and daughter? And you may even learn that beautiful Bella has some issues to resolve of her own… Please enjoy!

So far we have 17 chapters of this Hurt/Comfort/Romance story, and Edward’s Eternal updates at least twice a week, and I know for certain, because I’ve read the whole story, that it is completely written and you will not be disappointed if you choose to read this enticing tale. xo

http://www.fanfiction.net/s/8289446/1/Out_of_the_Mouths_of_Babes

****************************************

Now, I am going to add a little humour to your reading as well…with this hilarious One Shot I read this week. It’s called  The Purple Banana Hammock by  TheFicChick. It’s actually enjoyable to read, well-written with some sweet Edward and Bella romance thrown into the very amusing storyline. And as Nicffwhisperer from The Lemonade Stand said, “It has intelligent witty banter and some awesome UST and then fireworks!”

“Like most women, I always found Speedos to be equal parts hilarious and horrifying. That all changed the day I saw Edward Cullen wearing one.

Twilight – Rated: M – English – Romance/Humor – Chapters: 1 – Words: 19,051 – Reviews: 140 – Published: 8-17-12 – Bella & Edward – Complete”

“We fall into amiable silence as a few more members of the team begin shedding their warm-up suits like snakeskin and stretching, bodies taut and muscled, shoulders flexing and backs arching. And, of course, royal purple Speedos gleaming under the buzzing fluorescents.” – excerpt from ‘The Purple Banana Hammock’

“Speedo padding on the swim team?” I muse, scanning the last few lines of the document open on my screen for typos.

“Actually, that’s a good one,” Angela muses from behind an enormous iMac….

“Crowley: not padding. Newton: definitely padding. Or should be, if he isn’t. I can offer no further details on any of the rest of them,” she [Jessica] spits.

Angela’s head appears around the side of her screen once again, both eyebrows arched this time. “What about Edward Cullen?”

Jessica flushes slightly. “I have no first-hand knowledge.” Her face is bathed in a soft bluish glow as she returns her focus to the screen before her. “Not for a lack of trying on my part,” she adds in a mutter, and Angela snorts while I giggle. “I think he might be gay,” she continues, heaving a tragic sigh.

“I have it on very good authority that he’s not,” Angela argues, leaning back in her chair and stretching her arms over her head; the crack of her spine is audible in the large space that constitutes the newsroom of the Northwestern University student paper.

Jessica glares at her and pops her gum. “Lauren’s a liar,” she says after a moment. “She never slept with him, unless you count crashing on his bed with him after he’d already passed out drunk.”

My head is following the conversation with the dedicated back-and-forth of a Wimbledon spectator and comes to rest on Angela, who rises from her chair and disappears into the small office reserved for the editor-in-chief, which she uses more for storage purposes than actual work; she says that she prefers to be among the “worker bees,” and she’s not even half-kidding. She grabs a camera from atop the filing cabinet behind her desk, packs it into its padded carry case and winds the strap around her shoulder, flicking the light switch to throw her small office into darkness. “Sounds like this should definitely be a collaborative effort,” she muses. “Girls, it’s all yours.”

“Wait a second,” I say, at the same moment Jessica interjects with, “No freaking way.”

“Problem?” Angela pauses on the far side of the long conference table that occupies the middle of our newsroom and is usually peppered with empty boxes from Dunkin Donuts and a smorgasbord of the various other junk food offerings that fuel the deadline-driven.

“You can’t seriously be entertaining the idea of running a story on,” here, Jessica’s normally borderline-shrill voice drops to a near-whisper, “penises.”

Oh hell yes she does! And, I can guarantee you will smile, laugh, and giggle right along with Jess and Bella as they embark on this rather *cough* sizable assignment… And, maybe Bella will get more than she bargained for from her research of sweetheart swimmer, Edward Cullen. Enjoy ladies, ’cause I’m also hoping that TheFicChick may EXTEND this story! 😉

http://www.fanfiction.net/s/8438979/1/The_Purple_Banana_Hammock

****************************************

Thanks for joining me this week, I hope you will enjoy reading my recs as much as I did, and please feel free to share what’s owning you lately in the FF world.

And, if you have a great Docward/Daddyward fic that you’ve read and liked, please share that as well because I have found a deep love of these fics lately since I’ve been betaing Out of the Mouth of Babes

Have a lovely week, Midnight Cougar

30 Comments

Filed under Edward A M Cullen, Fan Fiction Friday, Fan Fiction Recs, FFF Library, FFF Posts, Twilight, Writing

30 responses to “FanFiction Fridays – Aug 24/12

  1. out of the mouths of babes is a really sweet story. i’ve got purple banana hammock on TBR list. i’m into a sportward mood at the moment.

    let’s get physical by lalina. i just finished it and thought it was lovely.
    http://www.fanfiction.net/s/6063965/1/Lets_Get_Physical
    The Goal: Lose 70lbs. The Prize: One steamy night with her personal trainer. When overweight Bella is left by her husband, she is determined to lose weight with the help of Edward Masen. What starts off as payback ends up as so much more.
    Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance/Drama – Bella & Edward – Chapters: 37 – Words: 211,683 – Reviews: 20,524 – Favs: 7,525 – Follows: 5,013 – Updated: 03-18-11 – Published: 06-18-10 – Status: Complete

  2. eewee333

    Hi MC. Thanks for another wonderful post. Since you have promised that “Out of the Mouth of Babes” is complete, I’ll start reading that this weekend. I love Edward’s Eternal stories. She is a wonderful writer and you really feel what her characters are going through. I’ve been kind of “off my read” this week between work and RL. I’ve been reading “That Girl” a New Moon AU fic by u2shay http://www.fanfiction.net/s/5359602/16/That_Girl
    It’s good, I’m just reading it slowly.

    I’m sure Ally and Cared are going to say something to you about this, but I don’t think they were “detrimental” to last weeks post. I think they were awesome with their help and suggestions. In the words of our beloved Edward (aka Rob) maybe you can “google it”. JS!

    Something that’s been on my mind…help me if you can…anyone…does anybody have a working link to the twilight fanfic database on googledocs? My old link keeps popping up with server error. Many thanks.

    Happy Friday bb’s!! 🙂

    • Thank you ee, I’m not sure how I used that word, I meant “invaluable”, it was just a midnight editing error on my part. I apologize for the error, I have changed it; not sure how I ended up with that word when I started out with invaluable. To you as well Cared & AllyVera. It was an honest mistake.

  3. Ok it’s official! i officially hate my bestie and FF editor Rita now!! You know what she went and did? i talked to her one night about a fic i had wanted to write for years before i became Robsessed and she told me there was a fic out there similar to what i had in mind. Well that fic completed and she went and PDF’d it and sent it to me. She Knows, KNOWS i’m the curious type and that i wouldn’t be able to NOT look at it. She knew that that first page would capture my attention and HOLD IT! *damn her* now, when i should have been writing all day {since i took the day off} what have i done? I’ve been glued to that damn FF all f*cking day! haven’t written hardly a word before the curiosity got to me. Now i’m on chapter 34 and there’s only 174 Chapters to the damn thing! I guess I’m not sleeping again tonight! Somebody please tell me how to close the damn thing and finish my own damn chapter PLEASE??? because I CAN’T DO IT!!!
    The story?
    Coming Home by Sarge’s Girls
    ok, i’m going back in!!! someone save me please

  4. Good Morning All. Thanks MC, we did have fun with the Oldies. I can’t tell you how much I am enjoying Out Of The Mouth Of Babes. It’s just as you say ‘wonderful reading’. A Doctorward/Daddyward fic is a win win for me.

    I can never resist a good one shot so I plan to enjoy The Purple Banana Hammock with my mid-morning cup of coffee. Thanks for that. Thanks for the visual too, it’s helping to remove those Olympic swimmer pictures from my mind’s eye LOL.

    There are so many great Doctorwards to choose from….hhhmm

    The Path We Choose by Les16 is also a Doctorward/Daddyward fic, it’s really lovely and it’s complete.
    Edward is a 32 single father of 7 year old twins Maddie and Masen. After literally crashing into Bella in Central Park, he realizes everything he has been missing in his life. Is Bella really what he has been looking for or is she hiding who she truly is
    Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance/Drama – Bella & Edwardhttp://www.fanfiction.net/s/5877848/1/The_Path_We_Choose

    For an absolutely hilarious Doctorward, Love In My Box by cosmoandmarvar. What an author combination! Also complete.
    Bella’s an intellectual free spirit and Edward is a reserved, slightly geeky med student. They have a brief, but intense encounter on Sp Brk in Miami. Can they find true love through emails? There will be lemons and laughs. Look who’s writing this!
    Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance/Humor – Edward & Bella http://www.fanfiction.net/s/5782455/1/Love_in_My_Box

    Lust On A Deathbed by dyedinwool, is very different to either of the above. Don’t be put off by the summary, it provides drama/romance as stated and it’s well worth the read.
    Bella Swan is committed to an institution after a failed suicide attempt. A resident doctor is quietly assisting the suicidal population find their end. With her disturbing past and a doomed future, will Edward extend the favor once more? AU, COMPLETE
    Rated: Fiction M – English – Drama/Romance – Edward & Bella

    You know me, I just have to recommend a Doctorward/Actorward fic.
    The Port Angeles Players by WriteOnTime, this is another of my early fics and I still love it. It’s complete too.
    New in the town of Forks and eager to please her boss at the university, Bella auditions for a local production of Shakespeare’s “Much Ado About Nothing”. Her co-star is a handsome but confusing local doctor. Curtains-up on love. AU/AH canon pairings.
    Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance/Humor – Bella & Edwardhttp://www.fanfiction.net/s/4917570/1/The_Port_Angeles_Players

    Happy FanFiction Friday!

  5. Thanks MidNight for your lovely comments, your beautiful recommendation and mostly… and certainly the most important item… your friendship. Writing would not be the same without you on my team and your imput is priceless, as are you…

  6. Hi MC and ladies!

    I love the sound of “Out of the Mouths of Babes”.. I am ashamed to admit, I have not as yet read any of Edwards Eternal’s work, but I have heard wonderful things! The one shot looks great too…

    Speaking of one shots, I have had a fabulous time this week reading the Taste of the Forbidden Contest entries. Girls, there are some fabulous stories here – check them out!! http://www.fanfiction.net/u/4076435/ Contest closes on 31 Aug and voting starts on 2 Sept. I have some clear faves at the moment and I look forward to seeing if any new stories top them.

    I have had one of my “not much sleeping” weeks and this week I have read “Vines” by FictionFreak95 (cause Cared told me too, and as always she never steers me wrong!) http://www.fanfiction.net/s/6346090/1/Vines

    I actually hadn’t read Silver Strand Nights by JenGreen03 which was one of our oldies and goldies *hangs my head in shame* I really enjoyed it!!

    Can’t wait to hear what has been owning everyone else this week! AV xox

  7. MC you are the best on recommending fics! “Out of the mouths baby” is already one of my favorites and EE is a wonderful writer that is always so devoted to us. We were just talking about you and EE yesterday on our Fic Brazilian group! Our comment was that MC is wonderful and your recommendations are the BEST! Happy friday and thanks a lot! *hugs*

  8. haystackhair

    Ohhh, both these stories sound great! I will read Out of the Mouths of Babes since you said it is complete! This week I read another oldie but goodie, With Teeth by TalulaBlue. Le sigh. I flove that story hard. One of my favorite Bella’s for sure. I also have added the ones from the last few weeks that I hadn’t read. I was surprised to find there were so many! Happy Friday ladies! Also, I want to thank Prince Harry for those nekkid pics. At least we get to see one HHH in the buff! LOL

    • Hi Haystack: Out of… is completely written, I know b/c I’ve read it all, lol, but still posting as a WIP. And, I know you will enjoy it! Oh yes With Teeth is great, I loved Bella too! Thanks for coming by this week! Oh yes, Harry… *giggles* so cute, I might have looked at a few of his pics too! 😉 LOL

  9. Hi all, I have been giving some thought to my favourite Doctorward fics – there are so many fics where Edward is a doctor, it is picking the best from a great bunch that is hard!

    One of my absolute faves is Carano’s What’s Up Doc? It is funny and sweet. It is no longer on FFN, but you can download from Cara’s blog here: http://caranofiction.files.wordpress.com/2012/06/wud.pdf

    Another one is The Wedding Party by Spanglemaker9 http://www.fanfiction.net/s/5861484/1/ This story is so well rounded – it a bit of everything – even though I read it such a long time ago, it still remains one of my top fics.

    I also LOVE – Unplanned Perfection by littlecat358, Sins of My Past by content1, My Mistakes Were Made for You by Miss Baby, He’s the One by CullensTwiMistress… I know there are more, but these are the ones that popped into my head first 🙂

  10. haystackhair

    ok the Purple Banana Hammock seriously has to be a full story. This Edward is completely swoon worthy, and not just because of what he’s packing in his banana hammock! LOL!! MORE MORE!!!

    • rita01tx

      IKR? That was one hot little one shot! Definitely needs expanding LOL!

      • rita01tx

        Aw, hell! It’s midnight and I need to go to bed…gotta work in the monring, but I just finished chapter 20 {half way through} of The Color of Loneliness by Exquisite Edward! Damn, this is a great read…just sayin’!!!!
        http://www.fanfiction.net/s/6633773/1/Color_of_Loneliness
        Bella loses her last living relative and falls into a deep depression. She also has an ex-boyfriend whom she can’t get away from. Can a gruff contractor named Edward bring her out of the darkness? Rated M for lemons and language. OC.

        Rated: Fiction M – English – Drama/Humor – Edward & Bella – Chapters: 41 – Words: 337,623 – Reviews: 4,969 – Favs: 2,058 – Follows: 2,137 – Updated: 08-25-12 – Published: 01-07-11 – Status: Complete – id: 6633773

        BTW, she’s pullin’ it for publishing on September 1st, so go pdf it QUICK!!!

  11. Pingback: FanFiction Fridays – “A Whole in One” | Rob Attack

  12. Pingback: FanFiction Fridays – Cache of Completes 2 | Rob Attack

  13. Pingback: Let’s Play With Sportsward! | Rob Attack

  14. Pingback: Paging Doctor Edward Cullen… | Rob Attack

Leave Us Some Love & Tell us what You Think, Comment.

