FanFiction Fridays – Aug 31/12

*Please remember that most fan fiction rec’d on Rob Attack is labeled M for Mature 18+ Adult Content.*

Well, another TGIFF is upon us and today I’m going to go where I don’t think I’ve ever gone before in fic recs…

*made by Cared*

Oh Hell yes we are! I was trying to remember, when I was writing this post yesterday, if I’ve ever read a WIP before that was just labeled Angst, where I had no guarantee of the outcome, and after some deep thought… I’m still not sure about this… lol But, regardless, I have read some great fics where I was anxiously awaiting the next update, even though I knew there was some more serious angst to come… Like my WIP rec today entitled Glass House by  Livie79, the author of Practice to Deceive – rec’d by AllyVera on FanFiction Fridays – July 20/12.

*banner made by Shahula Fics*

Glass House: “Edward and Bella had it all, but one night changed everything. How will they survive when it all comes crashing down? Love, lies, loss…life. This is that story.

Twilight – Rated: M – English – Angst – Chapters: 8 – Words: 15,650 – Reviews: 1206 – Updated: 8-28-12 – Published: 8-9-12 – Bella & Edward”

I started reading Glass House on August 18th, and I was so entranced that I read all five chapters that were posted at the time, twice! Seriously, I did… I read them so quickly because I needed to know what was happening right away; it was like a compulsion to take in all of the destruction and aftermath in the story as quickly as possible, and then I went back and read them again and really absorbed what was going on, as I reviewed. This is one of the most intense stories I ever remember reading as a WIP; my heart pounds and my emotions are so strong, they churn with the pain and anguish being experienced by both Bella and Edward. As I said, it’s labeled only Angst, and is totally living up to that label, IMHO. But, for me, that is part of the thrill of reading it. Liv updates every Monday and Friday – give or take a day – and I drop everything to read the update.

I chatted with Livie79 (Livie Liv) on Wednesday, because I wanted to know where the plot came from. What might have motivated her to write a story like this… It is very well-written and such a heartbreaking romantic tragedy, and I wanted to know if there was something in particular that sparked her creative juices, and this is what she had to say…

Glass House actually started from an idea I had for a one shot. I’d been thinking about entering an anon contest the beginning of this year, saw this pic prompt and was like ‘ohhhh, I have an idea for this!’ But when I started writing, I realized there was WAY more of this story to tell, and I felt like I was cheating the characters. So I set it aside and went back to writing Practice to Deceive. Whenever I went back to it though, I found myself stuck because I was locked into the idea that it had to end just like the one shot. Finally I said fuck it, flounced the one shot ending and voilà the dam broke. The story literally started writing itself. At one point I wrote 4 chapters in 3 days. I couldn’t turn my brain off, it wouldn’t let me sleep; it hounded me relentlessly and caused lots of wine consumption. But when I was done, well, it ended just how it should have. – Livie79

The story begins with some hot, sexy, and passionate loving in chapter 1, but then gives us some ominous foreshadowing….

Excerpt from Chapter One

EPOV

I sunk into her, my tongue swept across the top of her breast―her skin wet, salty, and slick with sweat. Smoothing my hand down her side I pulled her knee higher, tilting her hips up and pushing into her harder, rougher, and so fucking deep.

“Lift your other leg,” I coaxed between pants. “Yeah, like that; just like that.” I raised my upper body slightly, bringing up my other hand so both were wrapped behind her knees.

“Edward.” She gripped the slats on the headboard, her knuckles white from the strain.

“Lock your ankles around me, baby.” I slammed into her, her back sliding up the bed from the force of my thrust. I fell forward, moving with her, her legs a vice around my waist. I raised my arm and wrapped my fingers around the top of the headboard, my other hand moving to her clit.

“Touch yourself, Bella. C’mon baby.” I rolled her hips higher, burying myself so deep, the head of my dick met resistance.

“Fuck.” She cupped her breast, sliding her fingers around her hardened nipple and pinching. My thumb pressed against her clit, my jaw tight as I fought the swelling of my dick, the tightening of my balls, the knots in my stomach.

“Are you close?” I gritted out, never slowing my pace.

“So close, so close… oh, God… so close.” Her eyes fluttered open and locked with mine. She was so fucking beautiful, everything about her: her body, mind, heart; and she’d given them all to me….

I collapsed on top of her, her legs falling open and limply to my sides―our harsh breaths the only sound breaking the silence.

“Tell me this won’t change. Tell me you’ll always love me like this.” Her eyes were wide, pleading as they darted over my face, searching for reassurance.

“Things won’t change.” I promised, my voice strong, clear.

She was so worried about the future, about the recording deal I’d just signed, and the separation when I’d be on tour. But she was my everything. I did it all for her, for us.

I pressed my forehead against hers, our eyes locked, our hearts pounding against one another’s chests. “I’ll love you forever,” I vowed, lowering my lips to hers.

It was the truest and most devastating thing I’d ever said.

Yes, it was, and so was that “things won’t change” – both were certainly the most devastating things that Edward could say to foreshadow his and Bella future… And that is why, at the end of this chapter and before we start reading chapter 2, we get an Author’s Note that everyone should read before starting to read this story…

A/N

Well hello there lovelies! So this will be the mother of all author notes, I am BEGGING you guys to read it. It’s not bullshit, I swear, you need to read it.

This story will be turpentine for a lot of people. It deals with a lot of hard limits. I am telling the faint at heart, click the close button now, this story is not for you. I love the shit out of you guys, and I would NEVER blindside you…this is your warning. If you cant handle angst, and straight up heartfail, don’t read this. And for god’s sake don’t flame me, I’m fragile. And I warned you.

For those of you who want your heart ripped out, welcome. I say this… I PROMISE NOTHING. Did you hear that? NOTHING. Wanna flounce me? I love you anyway. And I’ll be writing a cute romance/ humor love fluff fic after this, catch me on that one. This one…is not that fic. Did I mention I promise nothing? I will also tell you nothing. I love you guys, but I have worked my ass off on this fic, and I love it.

Did I mention it’s complete? Yeah, it is….

So, now that you’ve read Livie79’s warning – I PROMISE NOTHING – I am going to proceed with my the rest of my review… Edward and Bella were high school sweethearts, they’d shared all their firsts together since they were sixteen, eight years ago. But now, four years after chapter 1, after they’ve spent years building a life together, bought a house, planned their future, things change…and not for the better…

Excerpts from Chapter Two

EPOV

Four years later…

“Edward. Edward, get the fuck up, man,” Emmett whispered harshly, yanking roughly on my arm.

“Stop,” I groaned, my head pounding. Why was I so fucking hot? Why couldn’t I move?

“What the fuck were you thinking? This is bad; this is so fucking bad,” he said in a rush, his voice shaky.

What had him so fucking worked up this morning?

I tugged on my arm that was trapped under something, pins and needles shooting up my forearm as blood began to flow to my fingers again. I cracked my eyes open, trying to get my bearings―some sense of what was happening.

I looked at Emmett, his face bright red as he continued pulling on me, his eyes wide as they darted to the door every couple of seconds.

Why the fuck was he in my room?

I lifted my other arm, catching Bella’s hair in my elbow. I looked down, ready to pull myself free―but when I looked over, the hair caught in my arm was blond, not brown.

“The fuck?” I lifted up and looking at the person beside me― the person who was not Bella―the person who was in bed with me…naked….

I know, I wanted to kick Edward’s ass too, but I also wanted to know… What the hell drove him to do that after being so happy in an eight year relationship? How did this all come about? What could he have done, or what could have happened to him, that made him so disoriented about those life-altering events of that night? I wanted answers and we get some in later chapters. But, first, it’s when I read the rest of this chapter, and when Bella realizes what had transpired, that my chest literally ached…

“Edward?”

Bella’s voice was no more than a whisper, breaking as my name fell from her lips, heavy with confusion.

“Edward, no.”

My head snapped in her direction as everything folded in around us until time stood still. There was no girl in my bed. Emmett wasn’t scrambling around the room, arms full of scattered clothing.

It was just us.

She was in the doorway, both hands covering her mouth, tears streaming down her cheeks.

“Bella…”

“I never thought you would do it. Oh my God, Edward, how could you?” she screamed.

I flung the sheets back, needing to be closer to her, realizing too late I was still naked. She made a strangled sound in the back of her throat; it was like no sound she’d ever made― and it ripped my fucking heart out to know I was the cause of it.

I grabbed my jeans and wrestled them on, watching as she stood frozen, staring at me; her only movement the heaving of her chest. I stepped toward her the same time the girl in my bed started to stir.

“Edward?” she croaked, sitting up, the sheet falling around her waist.

“Goddamn it,” Emmett hissed, staring daggers at me.

I flicked my gaze to her briefly before looking away―she wasn’t important. I focused on Bella…who wasn’t even looking at me. She was staring intently at the girl in my bed―and she was fucking devastated.

God, I fucked up, but I could fix this. This was me and Bella, we were each others forever. She had to forgive me.

“Look at me, Bella,” I insisted.

I needed her to focus her attention on me, not whoever the fuck the girl was in my bed. She slowly shifted her gaze to me, and I felt the tightness in my chest ease. I just needed her to look at me, focus on me.

But her eyes didn’t stay, instead they slowly drifted over the room. I knew what she was seeing: the discarded clothes, the liquor, the drugs, the girl.

This was so fucking bad.

“No, Bella,” I demanded softly, “me, just look at me.” I moved closer. I could see the dark circles painted under her eyes, the paleness of her skin blotched with bright red spots.

She was still the most beautiful fucking thing I’d ever seen.

“I can’t,” she whispered hoarsely, her eyes dead, flat.

“You can,” I argued, “I fucked up. God, baby, I fucked up so bad, but this isn’t me. You know this isn’t me.” I reached out and grabbed her hand, it was clammy and shaky and everything in the fucking world to me.

“You’ve broken my heart.” She snatched her hand away, her voice trembling and hoarse. “Oh my God, Edward, do you have any idea what you’ve done?” She brought both hands to her chest and fisted the fabric over her heart.

“I can’t breathe, I can’t…fuck―” She doubled over, her breathing loud and labored, I knew if she didn’t calm down she’d pass out.

I crouched down in front of her, bringing both my of hands to her shoulders to steady her.

“Don’t touch me,” she screeched, reeling away from me. “How dare you fucking touch me when you still have her all over you?” Her arm shot out and pointed to the girl who sat in my bed, wide-eyed.

At least she had pulled on a fucking shirt at some point.

“Baby-“

“I hope it was worth it.” She wiped her hand under her eyes, her face suddenly blank….

“I’m sorry.”

… And she was gone.

Bella.

Bella, Bella, Bella.

What had I done?

*gasps* Intense, right? Because, really what the hell has he done?! In one night…he threw away an eight year relationship for drunk, drugged-up sex with a stranger. 😦 Well, as you continue to read the next 6 chapters, you will learn this is not an easy ride for either of them, and that there might be some underlying issues that act as enablers and drive Edward to continue on this path of destruction. Yes, it is all angst & no guarantees….but, to be honest, I am enjoying the rush of that and it is so well-written, I am totally addicted, although I want to shake the shit out of Edward right now and knock some sense in to him!

It’s just so emotional, Bella’s suffering breaks my heart, how will she survive this…will she? And I want to know more about Edward’s struggles; how he has gotten involved in some of the things he is doing…and where will it end for him? All of this is making for a hell of a read for me, it’s quite a rush because I have no idea where it’s going or how it will end, for either Edward or Bella, but I’m going to continue following this enthralling story, hoping and praying for a HEA, but not holding my breath for it either! *pulls on my BIG GIRL PANTIES for today’s update*

http://www.fanfiction.net/s/8412484/1/Glass-House

So, there you have it… Who’s with me? If you are, please let me know, and tell me what you think, and then you might need this…

Glass House Support Group on Facebook –  I belong! 😉

Livie79’s Blog – for teasers and more!

****************************************

Also this week, I wanted to mention an exciting contest that is going on, it’s called Taste of the Forbidden Contest. I am an emergency beta for this contest, and I have read many of the entries, and I have to say, they are excellent! Lots of Edward and Bella forbidden fruit to quench your Twific naughty palate!

Taste of the Forbidden Anonymous Contest

29 stories for Twilight (so far)

The fruit that’s forbidden contains the sweetest juice.

Give us the unusual, the taboo – elicit affairs between teacher and student, step-siblings or even Daddy’s little princess seducing her Daddy’s best friend.

We want the drama, the adultery, the lust. We want hot sin and sex, and heat and all-consuming desire. Give us a taste of the forbidden…

Entries will be accepted July 1st 2012- August 31 2012

Public voting will begin September 2 2012 – September 7 2012

Winners Announced September 8 2012

To read all the great entries – Taste of the Forbidden on FF.net

Taste of the Forbidden Blog

Please check it out! I know you will find something forbidden you’ll love!

****************************************

Thanks for joining me today, hope you enjoy my recs, and please share what’s been owning you in the fanfic world!

Do you have any high Angst fics that were memorable? I know it can be ambiguous, what we all consider angst, but here’s one I can honestly say I’m pretty sure I’ll remember for a long time because it was a very intense and emotional ending for me to read – Here, In My Room by nightcaller – rated Romance/Angst – TOTALLY not the ending I was expecting, definitely earned its Angst rating! *phew* So good!

Have a wonderful week, and happy reading! Midnight Cougar

22 Comments

Filed under Edward A M Cullen, Fan Fiction Friday, Fan Fiction Recs, FFF Library, FFF Posts, Twilight, Writing

22 responses to “FanFiction Fridays – Aug 31/12

  1. Oh MC, this weeks post could not be more perfect if you tried! I was actually going to ask about spotlighting Glass House when I got back from being away!! I have been reading it from day one, as I have a lady crush on our Livie 🙂 I am not afraid to say I have shed a tear or two already. I did tell Livie that if this had been someone else’s story I probably would not have started it, but I love Livie’s writing so much I am on board for the ride!

    As for the Taste of the Forbidden Contest, I have been reading these voraciously, and my personal favourite so far is “My Best Friends Wife” but I also loved “Need” but honestly, I have enjoyed nearly all of these stories.

    As for my favourite Angst stories (angst is one of my fav genres), I think the winner there for me would be Hit by Destiny by ocdmess. But I also would say It Isn’t Over Yet by reyes139, The Blackened Flame by Catastrophia, Once Upon a Letter by CynicalDreamer and I know there are more, but I am typing this on my phone and I can’t check! Also sorry for lack of links for some reason I can’t post the suckers in!! Thanks again MC for another wonderful FFF! AV xox

  2. Thanks MC. Despite being a fan of Livie79’s writing, I had planned to wait until Glass House was complete. Now though, your recommendation is so genuine and compelling, I’m going to dive in. Will you hold my hand?

    I have Here, In My Room on my looooong TBR list so I’ll push it up, thanks. As for the Taste of Forbidden Contest – I have been indulging myself. I can never resist the temptation of a Priestward hehe!

    Some of my favourite Angst fics, such as Catching Spiders by Lambcullen, are no longer available unfortunately. Love Amongst the Ruins by theladyingrey42 is a great Romance/Angst read. http://www.fanfiction.net/s/5219763/1/Love_Amongst_the_Ruins
    Bella begins a new job at a university library, only to be haunted by dreams of earthquakes and the presence of a mysterious and tortured Edward. Can they rescue each other from their pasts, and maybe find love in the process? AU/AH, BxE.

    Refunded, Darling is also a Angst/Romance fic. I started and devoured it last night as I took a liking to Bella and felt her pain straight away.
    http://www.fanfiction.net/s/6431092/1/Refunded-Darling
    One girl’s selfless deed to be a surrogate is voided by tragedy, and unfortunately, there are no refunds on this kind of thing. Now, eternally bound to a stranger in a ‘divine act of God’, ethics be damned… AH.

  3. You guys are so freaking good to me and I love all of you. Midnight, your review was wonderful, thank you so, so much!!!! I’ll post chapter nine as soon as I get the rest of my review replies wrapped up this morning!! Again, thank you, thank you, thank you!!!! ❤

  4. newyorkkisses

    Hi ladies!
    Love love love this week’s topic, MC! You know I’m a total angst-hoor! 😉 I haven’t heard of “Glass House” yet, though I have recently read and loved “Practice to deceive”, also by Livie79.
    Dare I, the person who hasn’t started a WIP in ages because I can’t take the wait between updates, dive into this WIP head first?….ooooh I know I’m going to want to smack myself for this later ;), but ok I’m in.

    Maybe it’s the fic that I’m currently reading that’s giving me the balls to do this, it’s an emotionally heavy fic. Bella has experienced abuse in her childhood and youth and the fic starts off with her at rock-bottom emotionally and mentally, breaking away from her hometown and not really knowing what to do with her life. This fic is brilliantly written, you feel everything Bella feels and this Edward has me completely intrigued, too. There’s something in his past that we haven’t found out about yet, but I can’t wait to read more of it (I’m currently at 40%).
    This is not a feel-good fic, so be warned, but I haven’t been this captivated by a fic in a long time.
    Summary:
    When nobody saved you from a traumatic childhood, when things changed simply because you grew up, how do you face adulthood unprepared and slightly bent?
    Twilight – Rated: M – English – Angst/Hurt/Comfort – Chapters: 22 – Words: 108,485 – Reviews: 881 – Updated: 8-10-11 – Published: 3-9-11 – Bella & Edward – Complete
    http://www.fanfiction.net/s/6809617/1/In-The-Mirror

    As for a high-angst fic I’ve read in the past? Well the obvious one that killed me would be “High Anxiety” (http://www.fanfiction.net/s/5222490/1/High-Anxiety), “Catching Spiders” (as rec’d by Cared above), “Wide Awake” of course, “This is not my life” by IsaKassees and “The Blessing &The Curse”.

    Have a great weekend, ladies!
    XO
    NYK

    • Hey NYK, yeah girl, GH is right up your alley! & yes its a WIP but it’s all written so we know the updates will continue to come! Cared is in as well… she is all caught up! We can all rock in the corner together now, & drink gin! LOL Thanks for the recs… oh yeah, HA is a good one! *nods head* And In the Mirror sounds great as well… adding. Thanks! xo

    • I’d love to hear how you get on with In The Mirror newyorkkisses, as I like LyricalKris but I haven’t read that one.

      • newyorkkisses

        Hi Cared,
        Sorry that this reply is so late. As I described in my post from today I unfortunately haven’t been able to make it here for the past few weeks.
        In the Mirror is a fic I would highly recommend. I loved it right to the end and it remained a unique fic that was beautifully written and gripped me emotionally right from the start. A definite keeper. 🙂

  5. haystackhair

    Ohhh, I’m scared. It sounds soooo good, but I really need a HEA. Will you guys hold my hand too if I jump in?? This week I went to read Out of the Mouths of Babes, and realized Edwardseternal also wrote Awaken, which I had started and it fell off my radar, so I read that this week. Sooo good. Now on to the other one. LOL. For angsty fics I’ve read many of the ones mentioned. Others I would mention (not sure if they are still available-but I have them) are Under the Apple Tree, Just Wait (Stutterward rocks my world), and the Loner. Soooo good!
    Happy Friday ladies! And MC, thanks for the recs and the great review. I’m going to put my big girl pants on and give it a go! Hold me ladies! GAH!

    • There are no guarantees Haystack… but we will definitely hold you if you wanna take the plunge; it’s a great read, but very heartbreaking. *HUGS YOU TIGHT* lol xx

      • haystackhair

        Ohhhh!!! I did it and I need a huge group hug!! SOB!!!!!!! I LOVE this kind of story, but really want a HEA. I’ll keep my big girl pants on, but it won’t stop me from hoping. I hate to see one bad bad, drunken drug induced …mistake sounds too mild…. ruin such a strong love. That said, cheating was always my one unforgivable sin in the past. LOL. How can you give up years for a 5 minute fuck- even worse he barely remembers it. LOL. I’m hooked, so come what may, I’m in for the long haul. I just may be a needy h00r until it’s done, and maybe even more so then depending. I’ll be needing hourly hugs.

  6. ilovealion

    Thanks for the wonderful review! I am reading Glass House with one hand over my face as I peak through my fingers. I have also tried to prepare for the WORST possible ending so that anything that is even remotely happy will be okay. Lol Yeah, Livie’s A/N scared the bejebus out of me and I STILL chose to Endure the heartache. Glutton for punishment I guess. I’m glad to know that we can all hold hands together as we cry. Oh, and go to her FB page, Glass House Support Group. I just joined today.

    Hope you all have a great weekend. xoxo

  7. eewee333

    TGIF Ladies. Thank you for all the recs, I don’t have any of them on my TBR list! I’m not usually one to get into WIP’s (as you well know from my past comments), but I’ll dive in with you guys if you hold my hand as well. I don’t mind angst or heartfail at all as long as there is a HEA. I’ll never forget the first story I read with tons of angst that did NOT have an HEA and I’m still waiting for the author to finish the sequel to hopefully assuage my broken heart….http://www.fanfiction.net/s/5007065/1/Bad-Habit-Book-One by AmeryMarie. I think I cried through the whole damn story.

    You all have a lovely weekend. I’m looking forward to my 3 days off (Monday is a holiday) so I hope to get some good reading in this weekend. 🙂

  8. wonderful review! this story is owning me too….. so freaking bad. I wanted to wait until it was complete but there was just no way….. i was hooked from the day she posted the first chapter. i, like you, are hoping beyond hope for a HEA. they have such a strong love for each other …. it will be a long road and things seems so impossible right now but i do think it’s possible. fingers and toes crossed!

  9. Pingback: FanFiction Fridays – Cache of Completes | Rob Attack

Leave Us Some Love & Tell us what You Think, Comment.

