FanFiction Fridays – Sept 21/12

Happy Friday! Today I have two recs for you, as the lovely AllyVera has graciously offered to review a complete fic that has owned her this week, and then I, MC, will mention a WIP by the same author that I’ve been thoroughly enjoying as well. Please enjoy…

Review by AllyVera

A Hope Renewed by Hopesparkles

A Hope RenewedA misunderstanding leads to a forced marriage between Bella who is caring for her ailing father after losing their home, and Edward who has recently inherited his uncle’s estate and has no intention of taking a wife. All Human/Regency era fic.

Twilight – Rated: M – English – Romance/Hurt/Comfort – Chapters: 39 – Words: 141,088 – Reviews: 2445 – Updated: 5-8-12 – Published: 11-26-11 – Edward & Bella – Complete.

The one thing I really love about this fandom, is finding the most precious gems of stories when it was all an accident.  I stumbled upon A Hope Renewed (AHR) written by the wonderful Hopesparkles one day while browsing FFN for another story, the summary caught me and I popped it on my never-ending “to be read” list.  Earlier this week I was in the mood for a complete period story and it just jumped out at me.  I read and read and read until I finished and “Oh My Edward” it owned me from the first chapter!

Hopesparkles has done a fabulous job of making this story feel like the era it was set in – the Regency era.  As an avid reader of period stories, I often find they can be lost a bit if the author uses modern terms and phrases – not so here – Hopesparkles has kept it very authentic.

AHR is told from both BPOV and EPOV, however we meet Bella first.  Circumstances out of her control finds Bella (once a lady of high social standing) struggling to make ends meet for herself and her father, who is suffering from what I am assuming is Alzheimer’s Disease. (Hopesparkles doesn’t say that’s what it is, but back then, of course, they would not have known what caused Charles’ loss of who he was).  Life is very difficult for Bella, but she endures.  In chapter one, we find Bella in a rare weak moment where she reveals what she misses most of all from her previous life:

Excerpt from Chapter 1

“It was in these moments alone before bed that I missed my old life. I missed the parties, the rides in carriages, the beautiful dresses, hats and ribbons, the possibility of a future with a husband and household of my own. Now, with none of these things and certainly no dowry, there was no hope for that future. It was that hope that I missed most of all.”

We meet Edward in the first chapter as well, and we learn he is the new master of Collingsworth, which incidentally is Bella’s old family estate they lost. He has inherited it from his uncle and he has high hopes for his future.  As the reader, we can tell that Edward has all the qualities we have come to love in our Edwards, a bottomless love for his family, intelligent, protective, successful and just a tiny bit possessive when it comes to Bella.

Bella’s first sight of Edward has to be shared – I often judge a story on how the author sees Edward for the first time (yes, I can be “Edwardcentric” at times… LOL)

Excerpt from Chapter Two

“I took a deep breath to clear my head and looked up to cross the street. However, the breath left my body in a rush as I looked up and saw a gentleman exit his carriage in front of me. He was the most handsome man I had ever seen. Stunning green eyes scanned the street in front of him and as he looked my way, I turned my head slightly to watch him in the window. He had a strong jaw and the most beautiful bronze colored hair that was in a windblown disarray. He was tall and had broad shoulders.

I was immediately embarrassed and I am certain I flushed bright red. I had the irrational fear that he would somehow learn my thoughts and know of my attraction to him. It was then that a profound sadness washed over me. He was completely unattainable to me, socially. It would not have been so only a few short years ago, but now, there was no hope that I would ever have a husband, or that it would be someone like this beautiful stranger.”

I will unequivocally say, I love this Bella – she is everything Bella should be, loyal, caring, selfless, strong, brave and she loves Edward with the fire of 1000 suns.  She has her moments of self-doubt and she doesn’t feel worthy of him, but that endears me to her even more.

I won’t reveal how these two end up married, but needless to say it is a misunderstanding of epic proportions. Once they are married though, you need to strap in for the exciting ride, as so much happens in the story after this – honestly there is never a dull moment.  Hopesparkles has created a story with beautiful characters, excellent plot and wonderful writing. If you like period stories – you are sure to love this one! – AllyVera 

******************************************

Review by MC

I have to tell you that I smiled when AllyVera sent me her above rec because I had been planning to rec the same author’s WIP at some point in the near future, and Ally had no idea; we were definitely on the same wavelength! lol  Thus, I decided to quickly mention From This Day Forward by Hopesparkles today as well, because I have been avidly following this lovely story since close to when it first started posting.

*made by Ysar*

From This Day ForwardBetrayed just days before her wedding, Bella’s personal and professional life hang in the balance. When one of her closest friends offers to be the stand-in groom, Bella will find that sometimes the best things in life really aren’t what you planned.

Twilight – Rated: M – English – Romance/Hurt/Comfort – Chapters: 18 – Words: 63,937 – Reviews: 1628 – Updated: 9-19-12 – Published: 6-25-12 – Edward & Bella.

The is a modern day story that begins with Bella anxiously trying to prepare for, and finalize all the details of, her wedding…but not to Edward…to Jake. 😉 But during the flurry of excitement, something dramatic happens, and all Bella has known as a romantic relationship for years is shattered with one phone conversation with her fiance…

Excerpt from chapter 1

Once she was out of the tub, she called Jacob one last time and when she didn’t reach him, she left another message and crawled into bed.

Some time later, Bella awoke to a buzzing sound. Turning over and lifting her head, she noted the time – 2:17 a.m. Picking up her phone and accepting the call, she cleared her throat to answer.

“Hello?”

“Bella?”

Breathing a sigh of relief, Bella sat up as she felt her shoulders tense with the anger and frustration she knew was coming. She worked hard to keep it from her voice as she spoke.

“Jake, why on earth are you calling in the middle of the night? I called you all day and you never answered and I’ve been worried and nervous.” The line was silent. “Jake, are you there?”

There was silence on the line for a long time. Bella knew he was there because she could hear him breathing.

“Jake? You’re scaring me. Are you alright?”

Finally, she heard him take a deep breath. “Yes, I’m okay. Bella, I…” His words trailed off and Bella waited, knowing something was wrong. She didn’t have to wait long.

“Bella, I’m so sorry. I don’t know how to make this right.”

“What is it? Jake, please, tell me what’s wrong.” She could feel the panic rising and stood from the bed as she turned on the bedside lamp.

“Are you alone?” Alone? What did it matter?

“Yes, now please tell me what is going on.”

“Do you remember Leah Clearwater?”

“Yes.”

“Bella, I – I don’t know how to do this.”

Feeling the fear and panic in his voice, Bella began to shake. Whatever it was he was trying to say, it was going to be bad.

“Just say it, Jake. You can tell me anything. Just, please, you’re really scaring me.”

In the minutes that followed, Bella would wish she had not begged him to speak.

“Leah and I have known each other for a long time, Bella. We’ve been close since we were kids. I love her. I think I have always loved her. We tried to fight it, but it was just too much. I can’t marry you, Bella. I’m so sorry.”

The words began to tumble from Bella’s lips before she could stop them.

“You’re just scared, Jake. We can figure this out. The wedding is in two days and everything is ready. You won’t have to worry about anything and we can figure all this out – “

“Bella! I love her. We’re – Bella, she’s pregnant. We flew to Vegas last night and got married.”

Bella felt like someone had sucker punched her. 

But all is not lost because her life-long best-friend, Edward, comes to her rescue, and the wedding goes on as planned…only with a change of groom. Edward marries Bella to save her career as a well-known published author, among other romantic reasons which you will learn about when you read all 18 chapters. From This Day Forward is a Romance/Hurt/Comfort story centered around the adventurous, unplanned journey taken by Edward and Bella Cullen, as husband and wife.

I can honestly say I was captivated right from the first chapter of this story, and anxiously await updates, which come regularly. It’s so romantic, starts out with a unique dramatic scenario, and again, Edward is such a sweetie. *swoon* He really is truly devoted to Bella and making her life the best it can be within his power. *sigh* I know you will enjoy reading as Edward and Bella strive to find their HEA from their wedding day forward. – Midnight Cougar

********************************

Thank you to AllyVera for her wonderful review, I haven’t read this story and I love period fics, so I am excited to start this.  Now, please share what’s been owning you in the fanfiction world, we’d love to hear from you.

Have a lovely week, Midnight Cougar

 

28 Comments

Filed under Edward A M Cullen, Fan Fiction Friday, Fan Fiction Friday Guest Review, Fan Fiction Recs, FFF Library, FFF Posts, Twilight, Writing

28 responses to “FanFiction Fridays – Sept 21/12

  1. clairebamboozle

    Thank you MC for two more great reviews.
    So many fabulous stories, so little time to read them in.

  2. Hi MC and all!!

    I am still giggling about MC and my ESP moment we had yesterday! I can’t wait to start From This Day Forward – I am sure I will love it!

    I was so pleased to be able to review A Hope Renewed, it truly is a wonderful story and Hopesparkles is a fantastic author, not to mention she is a sweetie! I hope you all love it as much as I did.

    Between AHR, and the updates for Wild Child and Glass House (that Livie is going to kill me), my week was kept very busy, fic wise 🙂 I look forward to seeing what is owning you all this week.

    Have a great weekend all! A xo

    • Thanks Ally, for the wonderful review, I am going to start it tonight, have it all ready! MUAH! Oh Liz & Liv are both owning me too!

      • rita01tx

        I love it when you guys find new authors for us to play with LOL! Adding both stories to my poor ol’ TBR!

        Wild Child and Glass House are 2 of the best stories going right now…FLUV them both hard!

        Now, since I don’t log into FanFiction.net when I’m at work, I use my spare time there to dive into my pdf stash. This week, I read:

        Evading Edward by Vampireshavelaws
        http://www.fanfiction.net/s/5399084/1/Evading-Edward
        Bella’s first encounter with Edward instantly leads to a mutual dislike. She is the new girl in town that has attracted more than one admirer and he’s the boy who usually gets what he wants. So how will one evade when the other is set to conquer? AH.
        Twilight – Rated: M – English – Angst/Romance – Chapters: 41 – Words: 370,016 – Reviews: 7291 – Updated: 2-19-12 – Published: 9-24-09 – Bella & Edward – Complete

        Every now and then, I get nostalgic for High School E&B and this did not disappoint!

        • Oh Rita – I read Evading Edward as a WIP and boy it was a hard one to read that way.. but I so enjoyed it. I have a weakness for High School fics for some reason 🙂 I am working up the courage to read her other story Cracks in the Pavement… A x

      • MC, you will have to let me know what you think!!

  3. Good Morning Ladies. Two wonderful recommendations today AllyVera and MC, thanks. When AllyVera told me about A Hope Renewed, I was excited to start it as I love a good period fic. Now about half way through I absolutely love it and agree whole-heartedly with AllyVera’s lovely review. MC, I thought From This Day Forward looked interesting and had it on my TBR list to read upon completion. Now after reading your thoughts on it, I just have to read it this weekend. My children don’t need their clothes to be washed and ironed – right?

    Is anyone else reading Letters to Corporal Masen by sololostintwilight? I know there are some other good fics with a similar letter-writing premise, but this one is quite unique and very lovely.
    Writing to offer a bit of home to a soldier overseas, she discovers words can bind a friendship. Lonely in war torn Europe, he finds hope in letters from a stranger. What happens when the war is over?
    http://www.fanfiction.net/s/8467119/1/Letters-to-Corporal-Masen

    Another fic that has me intrigued at the moment is True Nature by m7707, author of Major Misconduct and many others. I’m not going to say anymore about it except this, as soon as I think I have a handle on the characters and plot, there is an unexpected twist.
    An expert in vampire psychology, Dr. Bella Swan is assigned to the Institute’s most intriguing captive to date: Edward Cullen. But who is studying whom? AU
    Rated: Fiction M – English – Suspense
    http://www.fanfiction.net/s/8349484/1/True-Nature

    Starshine by lizzlillyrose completed this week. I admit to missing it on Tuesday as a update had greeted me every morning of the previous 209 days. It’s a sweet and romantic Actorward story – how could I not love it? LOL
    Bella has work experience on the most eagerly anticipated film of the year. It features her favourite actor Edward Cullen. But is the real Edward anything like the man she thinks he is? Short ‘daily’ updates. Edward and Bella in nearly every chapter. Rated M
    Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance
    http://www.fanfiction.net/s/7879421/1/Starshine

    Happy FanFiction Friday

    • Hey Cared! I am so glad you are enjoying AHR – I always have a little “phew” moment when you agree with me 🙂 I look forward to starting True Nature and Letters to Corporal Masen 🙂 And of course I will have to read Starshine *yum* Actorward. A x

    • Thanks Cared for the recs! Let me know what you think of FTDF…’cause, yeah, the kids can wear dirty clothes, LOL xx

    • rita01tx

      Hi Cared darlin’! I’m definitely following Letters to Corporal Masen! I’ll read anything that woman rights…she’s awesome!
      True Nature sounds like it will satisfy my desire for a little Vampward and Starshine’s Actorward is calling my name, too LOL!
      Thanks for the recs! MWAH!!

  4. Awww I have to go and read this now! Hi guys! I miss the hell out of you!!! I saw your post on facebook ally and had to check it out!

  5. I already started From This Day Forward, and am enjoying it very much. I’ll definitely have to investigate the other story – just say good Regency fic, and I’m there!

    So I’ve saved up a lot of reading and have a few recs for you.

    First of all there’s She’s Moody by Jackqueenking, which I’m sure I picked up on this very site. It’s very, very subtly funny, and highly under-reviewed. I decided to rec it to a friend on Twitter, and am so glad I did, because everyone is talking about it now! http://www.fanfiction.net/s/8161865/1/Shes-Moody

    Then there’s been Nobody’s Little Girl, by HelloElla, another wip, but this time it’s angsty and dramatic: A billionaire couple searches for their long lost daughter. A lonely, troubled young man finds and gives refuge to a homeless girl with no name. Paths are crossed and hearts are given, but you can’t keep what was never yours. – a very different Bella, be warned, I can imagine some people finding her too naive and childlike, but it’s an intriguing story. http://www.fanfiction.net/s/8022179/1/Nobodys-Little-Girl

    And I read Coldplaywhore’s Dancing on my own, http://www.fanfiction.net/s/8121812/1/Dancing-On-My-Own She’s displaced, uncertain and loathes living with her mother. Bella is surrounded on all sides by what she could become, but she just wants someone to tell her who she is. Rated M for the usual. – there are a bunch of characters in this beautifully written tale that I really, really like. Also wip.

    And finally (see, this is how much space finishing my own story has left in my head) a complete: http://www.fanfiction.net/s/7977210/1/The-Loving-Kind by Thimbles. This would have been too angsty for me as a wip – I’m a wimp that way – so I’m glad I discovered it complete. It’s pretty. I think you would be very happy if you read it.

    Have a lovely weekend, and please think and talk about peace in your communities and families on this Peace Day.

    • rita01tx

      Hey GG! I’m reading Dancing on My Own, too! Being as I’m an angst h00r, I’ll be checking out the other stories you mentioned. Speaking of angst, LyricalKris has a really good one called…

      Lost Half
      http://www.fanfiction.net/s/8390065/1/Lost-Half
      Even though she kept her feet on the ground, Bella always wanted to believe in the magic of true love. Edward could have taught her that kind of love existed. Too bad he showed up too late. Can you still find your soul mate when your soul has been completely shattered?
      Twilight – Rated: M – English – Angst/Hurt/Comfort – Chapters: 15 – Words: 47,974 – Reviews: 1970 – Updated: 9-20-12 – Published: 8-3-12 – Bella & Edward

      Just as a hint, Edward runs a dating website and the guy Bella hooks up with…well, let’s just say it was the date from HELL!

    • Hi G&G! I am so pleased you mentioned Nobody’s Little Girl. I have had that on my alert list for a long time now. I will have to move it up the list – and I have been watching The Loving Kind too. I love a bit of angst, but like you, I do prefer to read them complete – says the woman who is reading Glass House as a WIP. I will say it again, only because I love Livie.. LOL

    • G&G Cared is still trying to get me to read PLMT and i Promise you both i will! Just have to get all my ducks in a row so to speak! I hear wonderful things about it and I’m glad you Come here to share your fav reads! Thanks so much!!

  6. ilovealion

    Good afternoon (or good evening) ladies.

    First of all, thanks MC and Ally for bringing these stories to our attention. I may have to give into A Hope Renewed tonight. Dead bird has come to visit and I plan on staying in my bed to do nothing for the rest of the day.

    Second– Ginger and green, I am soooo jealous of you!! I can’t wait to be in your position… Having pressed that big “complete” button on your story. While I truly miss your words and characters, I am happy that you have finished that commitment.

    Finally- happy weekend to you all. One day very soon I hope to give you guys some Recs on the stories I’m reading. For now, I’ll just be a taker and write all yours down for the (near) future.

    Xoxo

  7. I have put both stories in my “To Read” list. They both sound so good. I just wanted to take a moment and tell you how much I have enjoyed this site. I have read so many of your recommendations.
    Anyway, have a great day! 🙂

  8. Last week I mentioned that I was enjoying A Good Liar by Raum. I just wanted to let you know it’s now complete.
    “The first time the Grim Reaper visited Edward, it was in the form of the Spanish influenza. The second time, Death had the lovely face of Bella Swan.” The Canon Tour – New Moon round’s 3rd overall placement!
    Rated: Fiction M – English – Hurt/Comfort/Romance – Bella & Edward
    http://www.fanfiction.net/s/7817651/1/A-Good-Liar

    Thanks for all the extra recs ladies.

  9. BRENDA BOTELER

    Do you still do the updates during the week?  I only receive the Friday fan fics which I love but I do miss the other updates!   Brenda

    ________________________________

    • Hello Brenda! We do post during the week but it is sporadic since we lost 2 of our bloggers.Sometimes RL just gets in the way ya know bb? We try not to be like everyone else and post unusual Rob related things LOL

      I posted 4 days in a row, Sept ninth through the 12 th did you get those? Rita usually post every Sunday but she was unable to post last week. i know she has some good stuff planned for tomorrow though.

      If you know of anyone who would like to guest post we’d be happy to hear from them! Thanks for coming by and for asking. We may not post as often as we did but we are totally Robsessed an that ain’t never gonna change!

Leave Us Some Love & Tell us what You Think, Comment.

