FanFiction Fridays ~ Announcement ~ RA’s FicSix

Hello everyone and Happy Friday! Today’s post is going to be a bit different, as I have an IMPORTANT FANFICTION FRIDAYS ANNOUNCEMENT, will also recap the Rob Attack ~ Best Rec’d on FanFiction Fridays 2012 ~ VOTING, and I will discuss a few new fics I have been reading this week…

Announcement ~ RA’s FicSix

As some of you may already know, I, Midnight Cougar, created Rob Attack’s FanFiction Fridays in April of 2011 when RobsFan~tasy asked for help with her original Rob Attack blog ~ now closed. I honestly can’t believe I have been doing this for close to two years, but I have been writing weekly Twilight fanfiction rec posts every Friday since then, and have loved every minute of it.

Recently, my RL began demanding more of my time, but with the immense help of Cared and AllyVera I have kept FFF going. Those two wonderful ladies have been invaluable in helping me create great posts and excellent recs for you to read and enjoy, and now they are joining our Rob Attack blog as Authors. In addition, I am thrilled to announce that we are going to create a FanFiction Fridays TEAM ~ RA’s FicSix ~ Cared, AllyVera, Ilovealion, Gingerandgreen, Wiltshire Glo and myself. As the FicSix team, we will take turns sharing the pleasure of writing reviews/recs of our favourite  Twifics to continue to bring you a FanFiction Fridays post each week.

These changes ~ RA’s FicSix ~ will come into effect starting the first FanFiction Fridays post of 2013 ~ Friday, January 4th. Until then, Cared and AllyVera will continue to join me each Friday. The remaining Rob Attack FanFiction Fridays schedule for 2012 will be: December 14th and 21st Christmas posts, and then December 28th: Rob Attack ~ Best Rec’d on FanFiction Fridays 2012 winners!

In January, I am going to take a much-needed break from blogging to focus on RL, and I am actually very excited because I am going to edit an original manuscript…or try to, at least, lol. Of course, I will still be around, and continue to read, pre-read and beta fanfiction ~ it will always be a special part of my life!

I am very excited RA will have a FanFiction Fridays team, because, honestly, I had considered leaving, as I just couldn’t do it on my own anymore. So, with all that said, I feel this is WIN WIN all around, and I am, will be, eternally grateful for these amazing ladies ~ Cared and AllyVera,  Ilovealion, Gingerandgreen and Wiltshire Glo!

Thank you! ♥

~******************************~

Rob Attack ~ Best Rec’d on FanFiction Fridays 2012 ~ VOTING!

If you haven’t voted yet, please take a moment of your time to pick your favourite Complete, WIP and One Shot rec’d on FanFiction Fridays in 2012! Thank you!

Best Rec'd on FanFiction Fridays 2012

*Click banner to see the full post ~ including all nominees ~ relating to Rob Attack ~ Best Rec’d on FanFiction Fridays 2012 ~ VOTING!*

2012 Complete Recs Poll link ~ click to VOTE NOW!

2012 WIP Recs Poll link ~ click to VOTE NOW!

2012 One Shot Recs link ~ click to VOTE NOW!

~******************************~

So, this week I *cough* started some new WIPs, ’cause I didn’t have a folder full before *cue HUGE insert of sarcasm* lol But, I couldn’t help myself, there are just some authors I am unable to ignore and put on the TBR list when they post new fics. I did also start several Christmas fics, which we will featuring in the next few weeks, but this week, I am going to mention a couple of others that I’d like to recommend reading, and give a short review…

Stay by FictionFreak95

Stay by FictionFreak95

*made by FictionFreak95*

Sometimes a blast from your past is exactly what you need to ignite your future. AH, BxE.

Twilight – Rated: M – English – Romance – Chapters: 1 – Words: 6,603 – Reviews: 174 – Published: 12-5-12 – Edward & Bella

My first rec is by one of my all-time favourite FF authors, it’s called Stay by FictionFreak95.  As if I wasn’t Jo’s fic h00r before this, now she is writing a Romance CEOward…*swoon* If you’ve been reading fanfiction for a while, like me, then I’m sure many of you are familiar with FictionFreak95’s name and well-written works, and you may even have started Stay, but if not, you have no idea what you will be missing. I’ve continually found that Jo’s stories will grasp my attention and keep me vying for updates. Her characters are original, exciting to read, and always memorable. Her most recent Crime/Drama Blind Spot was all-consuming, for me, and I can’t wait to see where she takes her new and interesting CEOward.

The first chapter was posted Wednesday of this week, and I was so excited to see that FictionFreak95 was writing a new story. I read the chapter straight away, and I smiled, laughed, and fanned myself…it was one hell of a way to start a new story! The story begins in EPOV where we quickly learn that Edward is a workaholic, he even admits that he is “…a tad obsessive compulsive about [his] job.” Even at a family wedding he is incessantly thinking about work and texting his assistant, but his brother, Emmett, finally reins that in, and the boys enjoy some fun drinking time to celebrate. But it’s when Edward hears a certain voice, that we get the sense his world is not going to ever be, or stay, the same…

“Something to eat with that alcohol, guys?” a woman suggests and I’m jolted out of the fit of laughter between Emmett and I like an emergency brake has been pulled.

Before I can let my mind adjust and react to seeing the unexpected wedding attendee standing next to us, her smile disarms me, just like it always did.

The first thoughts that burst through me include the fact that it amazes me I could recognize the sound of her voice even after all these years … what in the hell is she doing serving hors d’oeuvres at my brother’s wedding and lastly, how is it I’d nearly forgotten about her?

I’m immediately taken back to the day we met as kids and how the first thing I noticed about her even then was that smile … and those freckles.

She was my first experience with having a girl as a friend that wasn’t my girlfriend and ironically, was also the root cause of my very first inappropriate thoughts about girls.

She was my tree climbing buddy … and my first kiss.

We were so close back then but her parents left one summer and I never saw her again. We tried to keep in touch for a while, but you know … life.

“BellaBee?”

She blushes a little, but not to the point where she comes off embarrassed as she adjusts the tray she’s holding. “No one’s called me that since you, Edward.”

I try to laugh but it comes off as more of a snort.

“What are you doing here?”

Bella eyes Emmett. “Well, I…”

“Dude,” he slides over to stand next to her, glassy eyes fixated on me. “I totally forgot to tell you…” His hooks around her shoulders. I can’t help but watch his hand squeeze a little. “Bells here did all the catering for us.” He pulls her into him. “Total last minute too. Sasha bailed on Rosey last week because of … um … well, you know … and then we just happen to run into Bella downtown at a bar one night … she said she was back in town … then we found out she was in the business …she really did us a solid.”

I don’t realize I’m scowling at the way Emmett’s touching her until Bella tilts her head at me with curiosity in her eyes. Then she looks up and smiles at my brother just like she used to when we’d all be standing around at the ice cream truck making big plans for hide and go seek once it got dark out.

“It was you who did me a favor, Emmett. Really, with all the free publicity I’m getting today, I don’t think I’ll have a problem getting traffic.”

He grabs one of the shrimp rolls off of her tray and stuffs it into his mouth. “Itffs your culinary skillfs that are gonna get you the bivv, Bella, I’ve got nuffn’ to do wiff it.”

She cooks. I remember that. She always liked cooking. But it’s not her skills in the kitchen I’m thinking about. It’s her lips. And how perfectly they move when she speaks. I can only vaguely recall feeling them against mine when we were both hitting puberty and I get this underlying urge to get that back somehow.

An awkward moment of silence as the two of them notice the way I’m gawking at Bella’s mouth and I blink myself back into the moment.

“You moved back? Permanently?” I ask her and she nods but is distracted.

“Long story. Oh…” she notices something going on behind me, “I think it’s time to refresh the fruit bar.”

I’m entranced. I literally cannot take my eyes off of her. “It’s … really good to do you.”

Her eyes widen a little and Emmett lets out the loudest guffaw mankind has ever heard.

“Shit.” I laugh too. “I mean see you … of course. How would I know anything about doing you?”

Bella’s eyebrow raises into what I almost think is a challenge and then she pushes some hair behind her ear and excuses herself.

We can already see that special Edward and Bella connection we love so much, and it just gets better – and tastier *hmm I love lemons* – as the chapter progresses! I spoke with Jo and she doesn’t have a definite update schedule, but like usual, she is planning for once a week, give or take, and probably Wednesdays. I am already enjoying this new FictionFreak95 journey and know, if you decide to join me, you will too!

http://www.fanfiction.net/s/8767352/1/Stay

FictionFreaks95’s blog for teasers and pics!

~***********************************~

Mate of Honor by MagTwi78

*made by MagTwi78*

*made by MagTwi78*

As many of you know, I love to discover new authors to read, ones whose stories seem interesting, well-written, and grab my attention right away, and this week that was another CEOward, a story called Mate of Honor by MagTwi78, who also writes another Romance/Humor, Yosemite Decimal.

Best friends Bella and Edward have a deal—if they’re not married by the time they’re 30, they’ll marry each other. While she’s been searching for Mr. Right, he’s been busy with Miss. Right Now. Would you be happy seeing your long-time love say ‘I do’ to someone else? B & E, M

Twilight – Rated: M – English – Romance/Humor – Chapters: 2 – Words: 3,621 – Reviews: 63 – Updated: 12-5-12 – Published: 11-29-12 – Edward & Bella

Yes, intriguing summary, right? The storyline resembles the plot from the movie Made of Honor ~ a 2008 movie where a “guy in love with an engaged woman tries to win her over after she asks him to be her maid of honor.”

In chapter 1 of Mate of Honor, we have 29-year-old Edward coming home from work, late one Friday evening. He is thinking about his life, where it is, where it’s going, and what he wants to achieve personally. He has it all planned out, he says, “I just need to wait ten more months. In ten more months, I’ll be on a plane to Nevada, where promises made in the desert mean the end to cold lonely nights forever. It’s an extension of a promise made beneath the trees long ago.” After getting home and settled for the night, those promises and plans go to hell in a hand, with one short phone call…

My phone rings, buzzing about in its place on the glass molded coffee table. I reach for it, smiling as the familiar song rings throughout the room. My best friend, and fifteen-year-ago promise, programmed it into my phone on our last vacation together.

“Hey, you.”

“Hey, whore. What are you up to?”

I snicker at my best friend’s nickname for me. It’s not unjustified, however. “Just at home.”

“On a Friday night? God, what’s happened to you? Getting old?”

I snicker. “Twenty-nine is not old. And it’s only three months older than you anyway.”

“Which means you’re always going to be three months older than me.”…

“Pfft.” The universal sound of disagreement hisses through the phone.

I stretch my legs further, pointing and flexing my toes. “So why are you calling? Nobody else to torment?”

“What? Can’t I call my best friend?”

“Of course you can.” I can hear my own voice softening. “I just don’t think you called to tell me you were eating lunch.”

Again, that laugh—I’ll never get sick of the sound. “Okay, I’ll cut to the chase.” A gulp, that sounds more like drinking than eating. “I’m letting you off the hook.”

“Which one?”

“The one that ties you to me forever.”

My heart falters. “What do you mean?”

“I’m doing it! I’m really doing it!”

“Doing what?”

“Edward, I’m getting married!” Bella laughs again, that husky chuckle that I’ve loved all my life, and the world falls away from my feet. “And I want you to be my mate of honor!”

Uh oh…poor Edward… Bella, who is in Australia working, now has an Aussie fiance; this does kind of put a kink into Edward’s plan! His comments about Aussie stereotypes and her fiance in general are quite amusing, considering his shocked and jealous state, and really show us just what he thinks about this situation, “I hate the guy already. And what the fuck kind of name is “Benno,” anyway?!” lol Hmm…I do wonder, though, if Bella is really that oblivious to Edward’s feelings? Well, I guess we will have to continue to follow the story to find out. It’s only 2 chapters in, but I definitely think it has a lot of promise to be a sweet and entertaining Romance/Humor to enjoy. The second chapter is fun to read, I felt bad for Edward, but as he tells his buddies his plight and they…um…support him?…it is hilarious ~ the comic relief was perfect! I am really looking forward to more, can’t wait to see how Edward gets her back. Happy reading!

http://www.fanfiction.net/s/8750134/1/Mate-of-Honor

Teasers, images, and other general stuff can be found on MagTwi78‘s blog!

~**********************************************~

Thank you for joining me today, I would love to hear your thoughts on anything in the post, and also please feel free to share what’s been owning you in the fanfiction world this week!

Have a lovely week,

Midnight Cougar

Something Warm and Cozy and Romantic for Christmas! Oh If Only...

Something Warm and Cozy and Romantic for Christmas! Oh, If only…

26 Comments

Filed under Fan Fiction Friday, Fan Fiction Friday Best Rec'd of 2012 Winners!, Fan Fiction Recs, FFF Posts, Twilight, Writing

26 responses to “FanFiction Fridays ~ Announcement ~ RA’s FicSix

  1. Thanks MC, it’s exciting times!

    It’s great to read the first chapter of a fic and know straight away that you are going to love it. Stay by FictionFreak95 is one of those fics and I can’t wait more. Thanks for the rec of Mate of Honor, it sounds like fun.

    Happy Friday All!

  2. edwardsvamptramp69

    I’m so happy you’re going to continue the reccs and that you’ve called in reinforcements. I can’t tell you how many hours of enjoyment I’ve gotten from your FF suggestions. And now I’ve got two new ones! SSQQQQUUUEEEE!!!!!!!

    Thank you, MC!

    Mwah~
    ~Paula

  3. You do know how much I value your recommendations MC and I am glad the girls are joining you. I am beyond happy that you are going to have your 1st manuscript and use your amazing talent! Please keep us update *hugs*

  4. clairebamboozle

    Hi MC, so glad you aren’t leaving us, the Friday fic reviews are always a highlight of the week. (Even if I don’t post a comment, I am a stealthy lurking fic Ninja.)
    The new team sounds exciting. Can’t wait to read the recs.
    Good luck with the maunuscript.
    Take care,
    xx

  5. nancym5621

    HI MC, I always look forward to Friday, thanks to your wonderful fic recs. I’ve spent many days and nights reading and loving your recs. I’m happy that you are not closing down the site and instead getting reinforcements so that we can still count on good solid recs. Good luck with your project and keep us informed of your progress. Hugs,
    Nancy (thunnababy)

  6. MC I smile so big when I read what you have to say about my words. THANK YOU SO much for this – it has completely made my week. Excellent review of MagTwi’s story too, looking forward to checking it out and CONGRATS on working that manuscript woman! GOOD LUCK and so glad to see you’ve got things covered with all the lovely talented ladies that will be helping you out on the blog. Much love to you guys, happy weekend to everyone. XOXOXOXOXO

  7. eewee333

    Hi MC. So glad you’re not giving up FFF’s. I don’t know what I’d do without you guys. 🙂 I love both of the recs this week (FicFreak is one of my favorite authors of all time) and her new story looks like lots of fun. I’m so glad to be back to reading again since RL has finally calmed down. So many good ones on my fic list I almost didn’t know where to start but I’m reading The Breakers by les16 right now and am thoroughly enjoying it.

    I wish you the best of luck with your new endeavor. It’s always great when you love what you’re doing! God bless. E;)

    P.S. Did you have a chance to convert that mobi file to pdf for me? (Belladonna by Canditwi) Thanks.

  8. So happy you are staying with us MC, and very excited to be part of such a lovely team, doing good stuff. I love the democratic, inclusive feeling that RA has in spades – it really marks this site out as something special in an already amazing space on the internet. Everyone gets a chance to join in. You will all keep joining in, won’t you? 🙂

    • Thank You G&G for such a lovely compliment about RA!! So glad to have such Talented ladies, such as yourself, Joining us to make next year Bigger Better Brighter and Tons of fun!!

  9. I am so happy you are continuing and with such a great team helping you! Your recommendations are fantastic! Good luck on your project and if you need help with anything, please let me know. :0)

    Stacey

  10. Hi MC and All!

    We are so excited to be helping you out and thank you so much for the lovely words 🙂 I think we are going to have some fun in the weeks coming up!

    I didn’t know Jo had a new story! Wonderful, that goes to the top of the TBR.

    I would love to have a rec for you all this week, but the only thing I have read are Christmas stories and I will tell you about those next week! lol

    Have a wonderful weekend everyone! AV xox

  11. somanywards

    Thank you ladies for all that you do xoxoxoxo
    FF is a major part of life as we know it* Love you all!!!

  12. I must be the luckiest Rob blogger on earth to have such wonderful people like Cared, AllyVera, Ilovealion, Gingerandgreen, Wiltshire Glo Joining the RA Team. WELCOME HOME ONE AND ALL!!! Huge HUGS and many many thanks to you all. I’m always around if you need help!!

    So glad you have decided to stay with us MC! wouldn’t be the same otherwise. Do you know how to add all the ladies as Admins? if not send me their addresses so i can send them the invites. Also we need to add their Avi’s to the site and add them all in as authors.

    So looking forward to the fic six team! what a great idea!!!

    Also if any of you fic six team have any regular post recommendations i am ALL EARS!! That goes for all the great RA Readers as well! We are open for guest posts {Regular ones} or suggestions for what you would like to see!! you can email us your suggestions, art work, manips, banners, wallpaper, vids or even just ideas at Robattack1@hotmail.com or E mail me directly at kimmeydarlin@gmail.com Or even if you have a unique idea and want to post a weekly blog, we would love to have you join the RA Team!

    Looking forward to a great and wonderful New Year with an even bigger and better team full of Robgoodness!

    Much Love to you all!!
    RobsFan~tasy

  13. ilovealion

    I’m a day late to the game, as usual, but I had to pop over and say thanks to MC for the wonderful story recs. I’m itching to start Stay and Mate of Honor.

    I’m humbled to be a part of such a wonderful group of readers and writers for FFF. I’m very excited to get started. I’m so glad you’re staying on board!!! We’re gonna have a lot of fun-I’m sure.

    Until next time… xoxo

  14. rita01tx

    I couldn’t be more pleased at the formation of RA’s FicSix! More “sisters” to perv with LOL!!!

  15. Pingback: Rob Attack ~ Best Rec’d on FanFiction Fridays 2012 ~ WINNERS! | Rob Attack

  16. Pingback: Something Old, Something New, Something Borrowed, Something Blue…. | Rob Attack

Leave Us Some Love & Tell us what You Think, Comment.

