Summer Loving

SAILINGWTFS

Summer Loving

Hi! Gingerandgreen here, continuing our Sailing Through The Summer cruise this Fanfic Friday, with some Summer Loving reviews to turn up the heat.

I was twelve years old when the movie Grease came out, and I must have watched that movie fifteen times. That was way before the internet, DVDs or even video, Spring Chickens, so that took dedication. To this day, when I think of hot summer nights, this is the soundtrack that springs to mind:

It’s that mixture of sexy-sweet I wanted to bring to you all today, and I hope this little selection does the trick.

~——————–~

*Reviews by Gingerandgreen*

Venice Beach Stories by Chicklette

VENICE BEACH

*Made by Cared*

A collection of o/s taking place in and around Venice Beach, CA. Various POVs voices. Canon couples, AH. M for sex, drugs.

I know there are many fabulous Twific authors I haven’t come across yet, but I’m amazed that I’ve only just discovered Chicklette. Let me just say from the outset, this woman can write! Her words flow around your consciousness as gently and warmly as the sea surrounding Isle Esme.

Venice Beach is far away from the honeymoon idyll, and for those of you who’ve never been there, it’s not an easy place to describe. Chicklette’s short stories give you a wonderful insight into a different kind of young adult from the ficnorm. Most of the gang are there – Edward, Bella, Rose, Emmett, Jasper, Rachel, Paul… but the pairings show more of a realistic cross-section of society than Stephenie Meyer did. Each story is told as though those characters are the only important people in the world, just exactly like young lovers are wont to feel. Every chapter draws you tenderly into a point of view you never want to leave:

The first time I see him it’s late in May. It’s gray and gloomy at one in the afternoon, and the monochrome skies remind me of home. I pull the sleeves of my hoodie down around my fingers and watch the boys play in the skate park while I force myself to read Wharton. The breeze shoots gusts of salty air at me, and the sun finally peeks out of the clouds.

I can’t pretend I’m interested in the book anymore, so I close it and tilt my face to the sky. Gulls cry and people are laughing, shouting. The ever-present hum of wheels on concrete, plus the relentless beat of the ocean create a symphony that soothes me. Venice Beach is always alive, thriving with yuppie scum and punk rock kids, barrio boys and girls who look like super models, sunning themselves on roller blades.

I sit up and watch a group of guys skating. There’s a new crew that I don’t think I’ve ever seen bunderefore: A big guy who looks like he should be on the weights and not floating two inches above ground on a board, a blond, rangy guy working a 70’s stoner look that almost hides how gorgeous he is, and a tall, blonde girl who probably breaks hearts with every smile. She’s lanky like the guy and I wonder if they’re dating or siblings and when I lean closer to watch them, I see their eyes are cut from the same slice of blue sky. The girl’s wearing short shorts and knee socks, and if she wasn’t so good on her board, I’d call her a poser.

The three of them are making easy loops in one of the bowls when I hear a whoop and watch as a boy, tall, appears from around the curve and drops into their bowl. He skates past the big guy and there’s high-fives between them. He’s wearing a pork pie hat and a Zero shirt, and when his face tilts in my direction I’m stunned. He’s beautiful. He’s pretty and gorgeous, and cute, too, rocking a few days’ stubble across his jaw and big scab on his left knee. The four of them roll to the bottom of the bowl, then split off, each performing for the others.

Venice Beach stories are about sex, in the same way that Babette’s Feast is about food. Chicklette tells the stories of all the characters through their physical connections with each other. It’s not meant to be titillating (or tit-elating, as one of my crazy friends says) so much as illuminating. The way we love tells a lot about our characters, and these stories are like finely drawn erotic portraits in a cool and ‘with it’ art gallery:

Edward leans down over me, and then he’s pushing into me. I want him to just do it, just slam inside of me and start fucking because god, I’m so ready, but he doesn’t; he’s slow and he keeps his eyes on mine until my heart pounds. He’s breathing hard through his mouth and just filling me up until I’m pinned by him, his eyes and his body, like he’s taken me over, subsumed me.

I’ve only given you a taste of Edward and Bella’s story, and I’m a real traditionalist when it comes to fic – I want to read about E&B forever. But I can’t honestly choose whose story I like best – my favourite pair; Paul and Rachel’s slow discovery; or Jasper’s agonising and ultimately sexy coming out. All I can say is, if you don’t read any of them, you are missing something wonderful.

http://www.fanfiction.net/s/5916143/1/Venice-Beach-Stories

~———-~

The Longest Summer by lexiecullen17

*Banner by CassieWH*

The Longest Summer ~ Bella wants Edward…the only problem is, he’s a counselor at her summer camp. And although Bella has always been one of Edward’s favorite campers, that’s all she’ll ever be to him…right? When Bella returns as a counselor, can she change his mind? AH.

Now this story is just plain fun. I never got to do the summer camp thing, and I always feel as though I missed out on something great. Lexiecullen’sThe Longest Summer both proves me right and makes up for what I missed by bringing the summer camp experience to life.

Luckily for Perve-hoOrs, this is a camp counsellor story, and all the main characters are all grown up enough to feel comfortable living vicariously through them:

I took a small step back away from the bar and saw a flash of bronze in my peripheral vision. And then I panicked.

“Alice—I need you to get me a vodka lemonade,” I shouted over the loud music. She didn’t respond, only followed my gaze before heading back to the bar. I’d pay her back tomorrow. Right now, I needed a bit of liquid encouragement. The sweet liquid felt good in my stomach as I sucked up sip after sip through the long, pink straw.

“That better not be what I think it is,” a soft velvet voice warned in my ear. I spun around quickly, only to be met with the gorgeous green eyes that had invaded my dreams for the past five years. He looked even better than I remembered, all artistic and brooding with his intense emerald eyes and disheveled bronze hair.

“Lemonade?” I smiled cheekily, glad that I already had a shot and a half a drink under my belt before his arrival. He rolled his eyes, making a disapproving cluck with his tongue before grabbing the drink out of my hand. I stood there, mesmerized, as I watched his lips latch onto the straw and take a long pull of the drink before handing it back to me.

“I know we haven’t spoken in a few years, but I know you’re not old enough to be drinking that.”

“And I know we haven’t spoken in a few years, but I know you’re not old enough to be acting like my father, Edward.” His name rolled off my tongue easily, surprising us both. Feeling brazen and confident, I ran my hand along his shoulder as I walked away from him.

Suddenly, I felt a pull on my wrist, slowing me down. “Where are you going?” His eyes were laughing.

“To get another drink. Some geezer just stole half of mine.” His lips curled into a half smile as he shrugged and released my wrist. I walked back towards the bar feeling on top of the world. I had no idea who this girl was, but I think I liked her.

At the bar, Emmett passed me another drink, smiling widely. I looked around, but Rosalie was nowhere to be seen…and Alice was chatting rather animatedly with a tall, blonde guy I’d never seen before.

The rest of the night became a blur as Emmett and I decided to go shot for shot. Definitely a poor choice on my part.

The next thing I knew, my head was throbbing, and I was begging for death. My mouth felt like sandpaper, and the ground swayed below my horizontal body. I opened my eyes cautiously, having no idea where I was or how I got home. All I knew was that the air around me smelled delicious.

“LB,” I heard the velvet voice calling me, coaxing me from my slumber. “LB, wake up…” A tingling path ran from my shoulder, down my arm. I tensed, the pieces of the evening clicking into place.

“Edward?”

The great thing about this story is it doesn’t end with a sickly sweet and rather unrealistic HEA at the end of the summer. Don’t get me wrong, HEA comes, but the characters have to work for it. Along the way, they get up to enough mischief to warrant a management intervention, but nothing gets in the way of true love – eventually! The heat, the descriptions, the story and the UST add together to make this an entertaining and summer-filled read. If you’re looking for fun and just enough drama to keep you involved, you can’t go wrong with Lexiecillen 17.

http://www.fanfiction.net/s/5445804/1/The-Longest-Summer

~———-~

Between the Bars by theladyingrey42 

*Made by RoseArcadia*

Between the Bars ~ She dances from my arms into his, never knowing the damage she inflicts, nor the risk she runs as she tests my control. I want to be everything to her, but I can no more change my past than I can bring myself to let her go. Summer Lovin’ Contest Winner

Between The Bars is a summer one-shot with something for everyone. Published in 2010, this story won multiple prizes in the Summer Lovin’ contest, and it is most certainly deserving of those. Theladyingrey writes beautifully and meaningfully. I felt hot, in more than one way, reading this story. The heat of summer crackles through her words, and the heat of the pull between Edward and Bella had me wiping my brow:

She arrives on the first warm wind of summer. It blows through her hair, warm chestnut lengths matching eyes full of distance and discernment, and standing in stark contrast to skin that is pale and rose.

From over the white picket fence around my mother’s house, I see her unloading two weathered suitcases. There is sweat on her brow and a look of tension on her face as her father insists on taking one, her pale and slender arms folding over a chest that is ripe and full.

To the boy who races out of the house next door to hers, she is clearly a familiar face, his russet arms wrapping around her as he lifts her into the air and earns a smile that looks like sunlight and the sweetness of reunion.

To me, still new to the dark green heart of this sleepy town, she is a spark amidst so much damp and mouldering earth. She is vitality and lush curves to my senses and eyes, and soft skin and warmth to empty hands that have gone a long and lonely year without the pleasure of human touch.

I turn away from the open window and from the lingering embrace of their bodies and of their laughter. I don’t watch as he grabs her hand and tugs at her, stumbling up her stairs and through her door. I don’t hear it banging shut or watch as their glowing faces appear in a picture window, like a one-way mirror into a world that is not mine.

And never will be.

“And never will be.” – come on, Edward, this is Bella we’re talking about – there is no problem in the world you cannot overcome. Admittedly, the problem Edward has in this story is pretty serious, and if you suspect you know what it is, your heart bleeds for the boy. So cleverly canon, though devastatingly human, this short story will pull at your heartstrings and make the ache worthwhile.

http://www.fanfiction.net/s/6197993/1/Between-the-Bars

~———-~

Fandom Causes

While you have some time off this summer, or during longer winter evenings for the Southies, perhaps you would consider giving something back to the world in response to all the wonder that Twific has brought to you?

Here is a collection of links to some of the Twifandom causes dear to our hearts. You could write for them, pimp them out, make banners or just donate to receive a collection of magic.

If you know of a fandom cause not listed here, will you please share it with us?

http://animals.fandomcause.info/ – By creating a compilation, this new fundraiser aims to raise money for the RSPCA (Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals) and the ASPCA (American Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals).

http://fandoms4autism.blogspot.co.uk/– This year we will be raising money directly to Jon & Kim’s Autism Aware UK so they can continue to provide support for people and families affected by autism, but to do this we need your help.

http://ffafundraisers2013compilation.blogspot.co.uk/ – We have decided to focus our attention on just one charity: Futures Without Violence. Futures Without Violence is an non-profit organization that works to end domestic and other types of abuse through awareness, advocacy, and support on a global scale. Please join us in helping this wonderful charity reach its goals of offering aid to those in need.

http://oklahoma.fandomcause.info/ – On May 20, 2013, the Oklahoma City suburb of Moore was struck by a devastating tornado, leveling a school filled with children, demolishing the only local hospital, and flattening neighborhoods. Our donations can supply immediate needs like food, shelter, clothing, and medication, as well as the longer term needs of families who are starting over from scratch and just need a hand.

  ~———-~

Summer loving had me a blast

Summer loving happened so fast

I met a girl crazy for me

Met a boy cute as can be

Summer days drifting away

To, oh, oh the summer nights

Okay – your turn. Tell me about your summer loving fic fantasies, and have a great week! ~ G&G

The FicSix

16 Comments

Filed under Bella Swan/Cullen, Edward A M Cullen, Fan Fiction Friday, FFF Library, FFF Posts, Rob Pattinson, Summer!, Twilight, Writing

16 responses to “Summer Loving

  1. Yeah for Summer Loving!
    Thanks for the reviews Gingerandgreen – I’ve a couple more fics to relax with.

    The fandom cause I’d like to mention is the Fandom for Leukaemia & Lymphoma Society (Fandom4LLS). You can find them here: http://fandom4lls.blogspot.ie/?zx=ab2770a99cdc916a

    Happy FanFiction Friday!

  2. Happy Friday everyone, and huge thanks to Cared Cullen and Mid Night-Cougar for helping me get my post on here and looking good 🙂 I’m Excited to hear about new recs and causes (not sure how I left Fandom4LLS out, Cared!) from our readers.

    It’s been another hectic, non-reading week for me, but a chapter of this WiP came in last night, good enough to have made my week: http://www.fanfiction.net/s/7920089/17/ Before The Dawn by BookwormBaby2580 – is the best vamp fic I’ve read in forever, even though some of it can be pretty hard to take. I really, really recommend it!

  3. Happy Friday Ladies!

    Wonderful post GingerandGreen! I am happy to say I haven’t read any of these – so on the TBR list they go!!

    This week has been a bit of a bust for me, reading wise, and I have tended to fall back on my much loved favourites for a comfort read – this week it has been Help Wanted by jaxon22 http://www.fanfiction.net/s/4966784/1/Help-Wanted I honestly had forgotten just how HOT this story really is! *phew*

    Have a great weekend everyone! AV xox

  4. jazzgirl317

    Haven’t had the chance to even look deeper into the reccs today. But, I wanted to hop in and say a heartfelt thank you for mentioning the compilation benefiting Futures Without Violence. My real life work is working with survivors of intimate partner violence and their families and bringing awareness to and supporting one of our leading resource organizations is fabulous. So, yeah, thanks. 🙂 *runs off to dive into the reccs*

  5. Beautiful post, Gingerandgreen! Loved the Grease video! *sigh, those were the days* As for the recs, I’ve read Venice Beach and absolutely loved it, too! But I haven’t read the other two, so *saving* 🙂

    Thank you for mentioning the Fandom causes; I love supporting them, and I’ve beta’d for few of those lately.

    Have a wonderful weekend! xox

  6. ilovealion

    Good afternoon to all.
    Thanks for the wonderful post, G and G. Like you, I was a HUGE fan of Grease. To this day, I can sing every single song on the Soundtrack by heart. I even bought a Movie in pictures book of Grease so that I could relive the story long after we left the theater. Yes, I grew up in the days before VHS and videos.

    Thanks for the great recs and for reminding me of my Grease roots. lol

    I could talk further about greasy roots, but that’s for another discussion.

  7. Hello ladies! Happy Friday 🙂

    I just finished The Longest Summer last week and loved every minute of it! It was a perfect summer read. Next on my list is another Lexi’s fic. This time it’s the hilarious SexiLexiCullen’s fic Higher. And just the summary alone makes me excited for this one.

    Summer of 1994: Dial-up internet. Pagers. Walkmans. AOL chat rooms. O.J in a white Bronco. And blazingly hot weather in Brooklyn where eighteen-year-old Bella Swan is filling her days making ice cream sundaes before she starts college. But one long night – full of Ecstasy, subway rides, dark dance clubs, and a boy she doesn’t want to stay away from – may change everything.
    http://www.fanfiction.net/s/9254112/1/Higher

  8. And I forgot the most important thing! There is one more fandom cause to help out with. This one is for the Fandom of Leukemia and Lymphoma. I will be donating the final segment of Tis The Season and A Crazy Little Thing Called Love. Here’s the link to donate:
    http://fandom4lls.blogspot.com/

  9. ClaireBamboozle

    Hi Gingerandgreen, thanks for the post, yet more fics to be added to my TBR list. (which is growing longer every week)
    Hope everyone has a great weekend.

  10. Hi everyone, thanks for your lovely comments, sorry I haven’t been able to respond. Good to know I’m not alone with my love for Grease 😉 Jazzgirl317, you’re a woman after my own heart. Thanks for the recs Ally and Robsfuturemate! Have a wonderful weekend too, ClaireBamboozle and eveyone, mwah!

  11. Thanks so much for the recs, G&G. Just read Between the Bars and absolutely LOVED it! How did I miss this one by one of my favourite authors?

    I’ve got nothing particularly summery to rec, although The Boy at Table Seven by LyricalKris is kind of set in the summer. Such a sweet, slightly angsty story of single parents trying to deal with joint custody of a beloved child. The last chapter recently posted, with just an epi to come.
    http://www.fanfiction.net/s/9169277/1/The-Boy-At-Table-Seven

  12. hey girls glad to see you all here. without divulging any unwanted info I would like to ask anyone who sees this to please say a prayer for Rita or at least send positive thoughts Rita’s way. She sure could use it right now.

    I am so glad to see so many causes mentioned here!!! Maybe we could make a tab/page at the top for them or perhaps add links to their sites on the side bar so that our readers will always have access to them?

  13. Thanks so much for the rec. I echo the rec for Venice Beach Stories — definitely a winner.

  14. Sending good thoughts to Rita. Hugs and hearts sweet lady.

    • rita01tx

      Thanks, Deb darlin’! I had surgery on Friday and DH couldn’t explain to RF exactly why they kept me overnight {he wasn’t sure either} so she got really worried about me. I understand ’cause surgery at any age is risky business and over 60, even moreso!

Leave Us Some Love & Tell us what You Think, Comment.

