Riveting Reads! – 16 August 2013

Fan Fiction Fridays

Welcome to another Fan Fiction Friday!  This week, dear readers, we have a selection of stories for you to choose from – some stories that we have been reading and wanted to share with you and we also have some stories that we have reviewed earlier in the year as Works-in-Progress that are now complete, for those of you who read complete stories. So, in other words, something for everyone this week!  We would like to thank the lovely Christa Sixtfourc who joins us this week with a fabulous Guest Review.  Thanks, Christa!  ~ TheFicSix.

*~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~*

*Review by AllyVera*

Broken Arrow by TwistingTwilight *Complete*

BrokenArrow

Broken Arrow ~ Bella and Edward have always loved each other. Married and happy, nothing could destroy them. But a tragedy tore them apart, two years later at the ER, Edward gets called to treat a critical patient, and as the blankets are pulled off her body, their world’s collide again. They have never stopped loving each other, and now they’ve found each other again, can they save their love?

Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance/Hurt/Comfort – Bella & Edward – Chapters: 14 – Words: 27,322 – Reviews: 811 – Favs: 665 – Follows: 592 – Updated: 12-28-12 – Published: 11-16-12 – Status: Complete – id: 8708392

Call me a masochist, but I love a good heart-wrencher, and I certainly got that and more with Broken Arrow by the wonderful TwistingTwilight.

This story shows us that no matter how much our E x B can love each other, sometimes when tragedy strikes, even the most powerful of loves are tested and left in tatters.

Edward is an ER Doctor and one night a patient is brought in who has been in a car accident – Edward, who has been feeling off all night, soon realises it is his much-loved, but estranged wife, Bella.  As he steps aside to let other doctors save the love of his life, you feel his pain and anguish..

“But I hadn’t lost Bella, she’d just left. She’d left me.

But she was still alive. That’s what I had to tell myself over and over again to get the tears to stop back then.

But she was dying now.

Would I lose her?

I moved my body to my office chair, setting my head down on the desk as I let the heartbreak and tears overcome me.

I had nothing else to do but mourn her.

It must have been hours later, because the dark night Bella had arrived in, had now turned into a new dawn.

But with the new dawn, came no hope at all.

I didn’t have any hope for her survival, something told me she was meant to come back into my life, simply for me to say a proper goodbye.

But suddenly, I heard my office door open.

I knew it was Mary.

My head snapped up, and I didn’t care that she would see my bloodshot eyes, or my tear stained face.

Her eyes were sympathetic, and that was when I knew…”

Things seem pretty bleak at this point in time, but there are glimmers of sunshine that increase as the story goes along.  The one thing you are never in doubt of, though, is the absolute love these two share.

This story is heart-breaking and hopeful all at once, but, at the end of the day, I believe it is really a story about hope and the assurance that love will eventually conquer all.  PS:  You might need some tissues, but not for too long!! ~ AV

http://www.fanfiction.net/s/8708392/1/Broken-Arrow

*~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~*

*Guest Review by Christa Sixtfourc aka ruinedbyrob*

Set in Stone by psyche001 *complete*

SIS_Banner-1

Set in Stone – From within the night’s secret shadows,a beautiful winged creature falls for a human girl.She is forbidden fruit in his world but still,he crosses the line to save her life.What happens when their worlds collide & she discovers his horrible fate? AU/M/BXE

Rated: Fiction M – English – Hurt/Comfort/Angst – Bella & Edward – Chapters: 22 – Words: 195,648 – Reviews: 1,367 – Favs: 1,211 – Follows: 425 – Updated: 08-22-10 – Published: 12-09-09 – Status: Complete – id: 5569026

I read a lot of fanfiction.  Let me rephrase that, I read A LOT of fanfiction and there have been many times lately when I’ve started a story and thought, ‘I’ve read this plot before.’   Set in Stone by psyche001 is most definitely not one of those stories.  Sure the usual cast of characters is present and yes they have most of the same characteristics we’ve grown to love and expect.  However the author has twisted the normal and breathed new life into each character.  Plus, there are gargoyles.

Yep, you read that correctly.  Gargoyles.   I’ve never given much thought to those seemingly unnecessary and ugly creatures that lurk on the corners of old, ostentatious buildings.  But after reading this wonderfully told story, I have a new found respect for those ‘Guardians of the Night’.

Without giving too much away, Edward is a supernatural and he falls for human Bella.  Sounds familiar right?   Wrong.   The main story isn’t that they fall for each other; it’s the myth and history surrounding the gargoyle legion as well as Edward’s history that draws you in and keeps you up well past your bedtime turning the pages of this magical tale.

Edward’s past is sad and it tortures him throughout the story.  What happened to him is the crux of how he became one of the ‘Legion’ 200 years before meeting Bella, and how he deals with the memories is a huge part of what motivates him to go against the family he’s been a part of since he became a winged creature of the night.

Bella lived through a tragic accident and that’s what links her to Edward. I won’t spoil the story by revealing how, but know that the link is so strong that Edward breaks the rules of his order and not only puts his life on the line but those of his coven as well to protect her.

Once the two meet, it’s readily apparent that they belong together and the rules in place to keep them apart are inconsequential to the pair. Though, for Edward, ignoring those rules bring serious consequences.   Consequences that force the two to flee across the world in order to escape them.

psyce001 writes with descriptive beauty that draws you in and transports you into the story.  It’s easily forgotten that you’re reading a work from a novice and not a polished and published author.  Here’s an example:

“He was just one step away from me at that point, towering over me in what would have otherwise been a menacing gesture. But I believed him when he said he wouldn’t hurt me. He looked dangerous, tall and brooding with the most grim of expressions on his devastatingly sexy face. His features were sharp though smooth and his thick eyebrows gave him a devious look. Still he was gentle and his tone was cautious. I was drawn to him despite the red flags that blared in my head. I had known ever since the very first time our eyes met that he was someone to stay away from, and perhaps, that was the basis of my attraction. That, and the unfathomable feeling that I was supposed to know him somehow. Maybe it was because he seemed more familiar with me than I was with him. Maybe I did know him after all, but forgot. Except, as I stared at him I knew that he was not someone forgettable, not in the least.”

This story has everything.  Magic, myth, angels, angst, deep friendships, loyalty, an adorable dog named Blade and, oh, have I mentioned the lemons?  They’re tangy, sweet and so very satisfying.

Here’s a small taste:

“That’s incredible,” she gasped. “Your fingers are so….hard!”

I smiled deviously and resumed my thrusting in and out of her. The faster I went the louder she screamed and she started pushing her hips down toward my hand. I controlled my forcefulness, only giving her as much as I thought she could take because I didn’t want to stab her insides and hurt her in the process. Isabella however, had other plans for me.

“Harder Edward! Harder!” She cried out.

I sought out her tongue and pulled it into my mouth as I went fractionally harder and faster inside her cavity. Again, she found it hard to kiss in between her screaming. So I kissed the corners of her mouth and buried my face in her neck as she writhed underneath me.

“Gah! Ed…ah! Uh…yah!”

I felt the curvature of the passage at the top where it opened into her womb and I plunged in deeper toward it with fast fingers. I figured that since she wanted speed, I could give it to her and my kind of speed was unlike any other she knew. I went so fast that all groaning stopped. She clenched her teeth and squeezed her eyes shut. The only sounds that came out of her mouth were the hissing sounds of air being sucked in through her teeth. Five or six thrusts per second had her in convulsions and every time I crashed into her womb I made sure to graze against the wall on the opening.

When I felt her tighten around my fingers and her eyes flew open, I bent my fingers against the curve of her wall and pulled down on the inside. The scream that erupted from her throat made my erection budge. When she started to tremble I lowered my face to her chest with my fingers still pressing hard on her insides and took her breast in my mouth. Sucking on her nipple intensified the pleasure judging from her second scream and a few seconds later she released and fell back onto the bed.

“Edward!” She laughed. “Oh my goodness! I’ve never…ever felt anything like that before! And I’ve been fingered a lot!”

“Spare me the details please,” I crooned against her chest, still nibbling on her perky parts.

“Sweet heavens, if your fingers feel like that…..I can’t imagine what….uuhhhhh….”

I started rubbing the head of my erection against her. Her eyes rolled back into the back of her head and she pulled her bottom lip between her teeth, depriving me of the privilege. I covered her mouth with mine then and sucked her lip from under her teeth, taking it between mine instead. She sucked on my top lip and scraped her nails against my scalp while rocking her hips up and down against me.

“I have to make a wall inside of you,” I said into her mouth.

Hehehe, you’ll have to read the story to understand exactly what that means.

Do yourself a favor and read Set in Stone.  And make sure you have plenty of time to read the original and the sequel, In Darkness and Light.  Because once you start, you won’t be able to walk away.

 http://www.fanfiction.net/s/5569026/1/Set-in-Stone

*~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~*

*Review by Cared*

Tatted Hips and Wicked Lips by Hoodfabulous

*Made by Evilnat*

*Made by Evilnat*

Tatted Hips and Wicked Lips – Bella Swan can’t stand Edward Cullen. She hates his tattoos, his piercings, and his stupid band. But mostly she hates how badly she wants him. He hates her too…or so she thinks. Will one iPhone fail change everything? 

Rated: Fiction M – English – Humor/Drama – Bella & Edward – Words: 7,630 – Reviews: 153 – Favs: 364 – Follows: 639 – Published: 05-22-13 – id: 9316776

Come closer while I tell you about this little gem of a story from the amazingly talented Hoodfabulous. It was written as an entry for the Twi-Fic Text Message LOL Contest, and believe me, laugh out loud is exactly what this fic made me do.

Tatted Hips and Wicked Lips won five awards including Public Vote 1st Place (I can see why), Best Edward (that works for me), and Hottest Text Fail (hell yeah). IMHO, this fic deserves a Best Original Character award for the very entertaining Cooch. Mostly for her single-minded determination, and her amusing outlook on life, but also for her perfect taste in men. By men, I mean one man in particular…the hot, cocky, tatted and pierced Mr. Edward Cullen. She is putty in his hands…err…totally under his thumb (she wishes)…err…I mean completely under his spell, and who can blame her? Actually, Bella can…

The garage door makes a popping sound as it slowly rolls up. I’m silently cursing Cooch, who’s already throbbing in my panties at the sight of Edward’s ratty old chucks. The next thing to come into view are his tight black pants, emphasizing the strain of his hard muscles against the soft, worn fabric. I can see the contours of his impressive cock right through those jeans, and holy crap, he’s not wearing a shirt. The deep V of his abdomen is next to appear as the door lifts.

There’s a thin line of bronze-colored hair trailing from his navel down to the Holy Land. A tattoo of a microphone peeks out from his waistband, near his groin, creeping up to the edge of his left hip. A tattoo of a gun peeks out from the other side, crawling over his right one.

The pecs on his cut chest are sweaty from dancing and thrusting his guitar in the air. I know this because I secretly watch him from time to time through the window in the kitchen door that leads to the garage.

Colorful tattoos of lyrics and quotes dance along his arms. The door is completely lifted, and all thoughts of cursing him for playing too loud flee cowardly from my mind as I stare at the metal in his face.

Mother freaking viper bites. 

“Traitor,” I whisper, glancing down at the seam of my jean shorts where Cooch hangs her metaphorical head in shame. 

See what I mean?

I’m not ashamed to admit that I did a little happy dance upon reaching the end of the one-shot and seeing this unexpected author’s note:

“I decided while writing this contest entry to expand it into a full-length fic. Bella, Edward, and Cooch have been waking me up from sleep on a semi-routine basis lately, pounding on my brain to let them out! I’m not sure of the genre yet, but let’s just say it’s humor/drama/romance. Edward is one brooding mo-fo, and I plan on throwing in his POV from time to time.”

So ladies, allow this chapter to tease and tempt you – just like Edward teases Cooch – and  then be sure to put this fabulous story on alert.

*Skips away to switch off the auto-correct feature on my iPhone before I make an embarrassing faux pas.  On second thoughts,  maybe some day it might lead to me having my…blushes*

http://www.fanfiction.net/s/9316776/1/Tatted-Hips-and-Wicked-Lips

*~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~*

*Review by WiltshireGlo*

Reality and Other Inconveniences by OhMyWord

*Made by ysar*

*Made by ysar*

Reality and Other Inconveniences – Edward’s body was close, too close for sensible thought on my part. He watched me like he was waiting for an opening, my own personal loosening of morals.

Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance/Friendship – Bella & Edward – Chapters: 31 – Words: 74,251 – Reviews: 924 – Favs: 917 – Follows: 440 – Updated: 03-10-10 – Published: 08-06-09 – Status: Complete – id: 5281521

I don’t understand how I haven’t read this before because OhMyWord completed Reality and Other Inconveniences in 2010! I can’t believe I nearly missed out on this gem. It is beautifully written with such wit and the lightest touch, dealing with difficult circumstances and the humourous side of life with equal aplomb.

Bella inherits a creaky Old Victorian – which includes a possible ghost, maybe some mice, but definitely a tenant! Their initial meeting wasn’t ideal and her friends decide to help her out.

He was crass and rude and…and -,”

“Good looking?” Rose asked.

“That man is going to be absolutely unbearable.”

“Has anyone ever told you, you sound a little like Jane Austen when you’re mad?” She leaned back in her chair, her mother on one side, Alice on the other. We were on the back porch after another much too early walk-through of the house; renovations were beginning and I was doubly irritated. For the next two weeks I would be without a shower, two weeks being a rough estimate though Esme assured me it was unlikely to go over.

“I think you should give him a chance, if for nothing else than the desire for a civil landlord/tenant relationship,” Esme put both hands around her coffee mug.

“You didn’t see the way he looked at me…can’t I just evict him or something?” I thought back to the night before. I wondered if Edward automatically hated everyone on sight like that. 

“I’m afraid not,” Esme answered.

“You should just go over there and talk to him,” that was Alice’s solution to everything and for her, had a staggering success rate. “He was probably just embarrassed, he can’t still be mad.” 

“I wouldn’t doubt it.”

She grabbed my untouched cup of coffee and stood up, “we’ll come with you.” 

That sounded worse than going alone. “No, it’s early…,”I was already standing up. I couldn’t articulate what the sway was that Alice held over people, but regardless, something like that should have been bottled and sold to the masses.

“So we’ll give him coffee, like a peace offering.” She tugged on my sleeve and motioned for Rose, who huffed lightly, but stood as well. 

…………. 

“Uh…,” Rose nudged me into coherency, “we brought you coffee.”

Alice handed it to him brightly, that same mischievous grin on her face as she eyed him with frank appreciation. “Hi, I’m Ali-,”

“Thanks,” he said before promptly shutting the door in our faces.

I gestured toward the door angrily. “See what I mean?”

Alice looked at the empty hand that had been holding the mug.

I turned away with Rose and walked down the porch steps. “I bet we could get him to move out,” she suggested.

“What did you have in mind?” I was all for it. 

I heard Alice behind me, still on the porch. “Well, I just won’t stand for that.” She knocked five times in rapid fire succession. 

I stage whispered, “Alice!” Like that was going to do any good. I rubbed a hand over my face; this was much too much for eight o’clock in the morning. Rose and I stayed in our semi hiding place at the foot of the stairs to listen because, despite the hour, this had the potential to be very interesting. 

The door opened and I heard Edward mumbling something to do with working and then, though we couldn’t see to be sure, Alice waltzed right into his house. Rose looked at me and I looked at her and then we crept back up the stairs, dimwitted secret agent style. “I don’t hear yelling,” she commented.

We both jumped when the door swung open a moment later. “Well same to you!” She strode down the stairs in a huff and we obediently followed.

I heard Edward from the doorway, “that doesn’t even make sense!” 

Alice’s cheeks were flushed in a way that only happened when she was angry; she was holding my partially emptied cup of coffee; she flicked her wrist and dumped it in the lawn.

“What the hell?” Rose broke the ice a moment later. 

“I do not like that man. And yes, Bella, you can use my shower while they’re working on yours.”

OhMyWord cleverly builds the story through Bella’s experiences, with brief paragraphs recollecting her childhood, her mother, her friends. But, interestingly the occasional short chapter gives the reader glimpses of her mother’s gentle and encouraging friendship with her tenant, Edward. I can honestly say she’s one of my favourite Renees.

Overall, Reality and Other Inconveniences is a light story, dealing with life, death, love and friendship, but there are some delightfully poignant moments that had me sobbing out loud. It really was an unexpected treat and it’s already on my re-read list…and I’m about to hit up the rest of OhMyWord’s back catalogue!

http://www.fanfiction.net/s/5281521/1/Reality-and-Other-Inconveniences

*~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~*

Completed

For our readers who only read completed fics, here is a cache of stories that have been reviewed as Works-In-Progress here at FFF earlier this year, but now are complete!  Go forth and read!

A Doves’s Cry by karenec

dove2_harley_plain

A Doves’s Cry  ~ Bella’s innocence was taken from her at a young age; the secret has dominated her life ever since. When she meets a reluctant vampire, Bella decides to ask his help in seeking revenge. Warning: This story contains sensitive and graphic material. BxE, AU Vampfic

Rated: Fiction M – English – Hurt/Comfort/Suspense – Bella & Edward – Chapters: 36 – Words: 181,538 – Reviews: 1,026 – Favs: 483 – Follows: 612 – Updated: 05-27-13 – Published: 12-13-11 – Status: Complete – id: 7633333

Link to previous review:  https://robattack.wordpress.com/2013/05/17/mays-menage-a-fics/

*~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~*

Show me Something More by Discordia81

*Made by RoseArcadia*
*Made by RoseArcadia*

Show me Something More ~ For ten years, Edward Cullen has had a secret desire. Isabella Swan is in the business of making fantasies come true. Together, they’ll discover more than they ever expected. 1st place winner for Public Vote and Judge’s Choice in the LDA anonymous contest. Collab with karenec

Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance/Drama – Bella & Edward – Chapters: 5 – Words: 26,960 – Reviews: 421 – Favs: 464 – Follows: 519 – Updated: 06-26-13 – Published: 05-08-13 – Status: Complete – id: 9276046

Link to previous review: https://robattack.wordpress.com/2013/05/17/mays-menage-a-fics/

*~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~*

Break in the Clouds by AnotherPen

break-in-the-clouds-banner

Break in the Clouds ~ Bella’s husband’s office might as well be labeled “home” on his cell phone. Edward’s wife has magical headaches that appear nightly.

Rated: Fiction M – English – Hurt/Comfort/Drama – Bella & Edward – Chapters: 32 – Words: 37,805 – Reviews: 2,087 – Favs: 761 – Follows: 872 – Updated: 06-01-13 – Published: 05-08-13 – Status: Complete – id: 9275867

Link to previous review: https://robattack.wordpress.com/2013/05/17/mays-menage-a-fics/

*~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~*

Something True by BelieveitorNot

SomethingTrue

Something True  ~ With too many secrets and a haunting past she’d love to forget, at seventeen, Bella is sure love doesn’t exist. College dropout Edward Cullen can’t seem to keep hold of love, or his music. A cottage, a lake, a tree, a muse, wrong choices, and heartache. How will these two cope with life and keep afloat? A daily word-prompt WitFit. Alternates between past and present. AH E/B

Rated: Fiction M – English – Angst/Romance – Bella & Edward – Chapters: 48 – Words: 94,467 – Reviews: 3,879 – Favs: 1,004 – Follows: 1,165 – Updated: 05-31-13 – Published: 03-15-13 – Status: Complete – id: 9103200

Link to previous review: https://robattack.wordpress.com/2013/04/12/guest-author-review-week/

*~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~*

The Cullen Legacy by pattyrose

Made by Cared

*Made by Cared*

The Cullen Legacy  ~ Legacy – A gift; sometimes unknowingly bestowed. Bella met Edward in a London pub, never imagining where each would be 7 years later: he a Congressman fueled by ever-growing political ambition, she the woman with an explosive secret that can end all his dreams. But Bella might soon find that revenge isn’t all it’s cracked up to be, and that Edward may harbor his own dark secrets.

Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance/Hurt/Comfort – Bella & Edward – Chapters: 43 – Words: 226,219 – Reviews: 13,933 – Favs: 3,449 – Follows: 4,348 – Updated: 08-09-13 – Published: 03-04-13 – Status: Complete – id: 9069478

Link to previous review: https://robattack.wordpress.com/2013/04/05/ballsy-bella/

*~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~*

Where the Roads Converge by FluffyLiz

Made by Cared

*Made by Cared*

Where the Roads Converge  ~ A homeless boy, hitch-hiking in the snow, a woman on her own, running from an abusive relationship. Is she crazy to stop, or are their paths destined to cross? Can this mismatched pair find succour and salvation together, or will their pasts intrude and drive them apart? AH, rated M

Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance/Hurt/Comfort – Bella & Edward – Chapters: 25 – Words: 125,188 – Reviews: 2,616 – Favs: 1,098 – Follows: 1,558 – Updated: 08-03-13 – Published: 03-02-13 – Status: Complete – id: 9061275

Link to previous review: https://robattack.wordpress.com/2013/04/05/ballsy-bella/

*~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~*

The Silver Lining by kimpy

silver-lining-banner

The Silver Lining ~ Divorced Bella meets widowed Edward one afternoon in a Laundromat, and an instant attraction results. When you meet your soulmate after your spouse dies, do you allow yourself fall in love again? Written for Litljazzbird.

Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance/Friendship – Bella & Edward – Chapters: 17 – Words: 99,503 – Reviews: 1,150 – Favs: 622 – Follows: 762 – Updated: 08-02-13 – Published: 08-07-10 – Status: Complete – id: 6215810

Link to previous review: https://robattack.wordpress.com/2013/03/22/something-old-something-new-something-borrowed-something-blue/

*~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~*

Terroir by Thimbles

Terroir banner

Terroir ~ Isabella Swan uproots her life on a whim, moving halfway around the world in search of something more. Perhaps she will find what she’s looking for in the neatly laid rows of Cullen Family Wines’ Hunter Valley vineyard. Sometimes, it is the grafted vine that produces the more vigorous growth.

Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance/Drama – Bella & Edward – Chapters: 16 – Words: 70,413 – Reviews: 1,548 – Favs: 1,016 – Follows: 1,204 – Updated: 06-11-13 – Published: 03-04-13 – Status: Complete – id: 9068422

Link to previous review: https://robattack.wordpress.com/2013/03/22/something-old-something-new-something-borrowed-something-blue/

*~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~*

One Summer Night by  karenec

*Made by Falling Stars*

*Made by Falling Stars*

One Summer Night ~ When Edward Masen gets stood up at his sister’s wedding, a surprising confession from his friend Emmett might just turn the whole night around. Edward/Emmett, AH. Slashy drabbles.

Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance/Friendship – Edward & Emmett – Chapters: 23 – Words: 9,293 – Reviews: 709 – Favs: 103 – Follows: 146 – Updated: 07-26-13 – Published: 06-10-13 – Status: Complete – id: 9376336

Link to previous review: https://robattack.wordpress.com/2013/06/14/variety-is-the-spice-of-life/

*~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~*

The Age of Edward Anonymous Contest

AGE OF EDWARD CONTEST

We are already excited by the thoughts of the fabulous fics that will be submitted this year. Don’t forget – this year’s contest is anonymous. Full details can be found here.

*~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~*

We hope you have enjoyed our selection this week, and as always, we would love to hear what you have been reading this week!  Please share your thoughts in the comments below… Have a great Fan Fiction Friday!

~ TheFicSix

36 Comments

Filed under Edward A M Cullen, Fan Fiction Friday, Fan Fiction Recs, FFF Library, FFF Posts, Rob Pattinson, Twilight, Writing

36 responses to “Riveting Reads! – 16 August 2013

  1. Thanks so much to Christa Sixtfourc for joining us today with her lovely review of Set in Stone. It’s been quite a while since I read it but I remember it well – it is that good!

    I read (with my big girl knickers on) and was captivated by Broken Arrow – another great read.

    Reality and other Inconveniences is new to me and it sounds like the kind of fic I need right now, so thanks for that Wiltshire Glo.

    Happy FanFiction Friday!

    • Hey Cared – I can’t wait to start on Tatted Hips and Wicked Lips – you know I love Hood’s stuff – and this one sounds like a gem! Also, I second your thanks to Christa for guest reviewing this week – she is an angel! A x

  2. What a luscious post, ladies! I don’t know how I’ll ever work again, with so much tempting reading.

    While away on holiday I read the gloriously nostalgic WiP One Day by RueforRegret: http://www.fanfiction.net/s/9147787/1/One-Day – I’ll tell you all about it soon. LOVE it.

    Isn’t it incredible that as the drama surrounding the Twilight movies fades away, Twifanfiction continues from strength to strength? We are truly blessed in this fandom, and this post proves it! 🙂

  3. Hi ladies,

    Thank you, as ever, for your support. It’s greatly appreciated.

    Shell x

    P.S. Here’s my hot tip. I’m so excited about this one.

    Two of the most talented writers in the fandom writing together … BelieveItOrNot (Something True, In the Debris, The Other Side of Me) and IReen H. (High Fidelity) are writing as BelieveItOrIreen, and this story is going to be amazing.

    Number One Zero.
    Divided and reunited. Add time. Subtract color. Carry the remainder, carry a torch. Factors, figures… Edward loves equations, Bella loves expression. They think they know themselves; they think they know each other. But there is always more to learn. “We are what we imagine ourselves to be. ”

    http://www.fanfiction.net/s/9580035/1/Number-One-Zero

    • Thanks so much for dropping by Shelli, and thanks for the hot tip – the story sounds absolutely fabulous 🙂

      I hope we can steer some complete story loving fic readers your way!! A x

  4. Riveting Reads, indeed, ladies! Lovely reviews, and now I have more to read….in all my free time! lol But this week I’ve just been trying to catch up on updates, as my Updates to Read Folder seems to be overflowing, lol *Need to take that oath again: No More WiPs!* 😉

    A story I do love, a sweet romance/family Hockeyward *swoon* story, is Edward’sEternal’s Penalty Shot, and it’s almost complete; just 3 chapters and an Epi left, which are all written. 🙂
    Summary: Recently divorced, Bella struggles to find a new life for her and her son Jake. Enter Edward and his son, Emmett. Used to being alone, finding Bella is an unexpected surprise for Edward. Blending their lives together sometimes requires an extra shot on goal to even things up. A simple, heartwarming story of two single parents finding love again, healing and building a new family. http://www.fanfiction.net/s/9203413/1/Penalty-Shot

    Have a wonderful weekend! xoxo

  5. Good morning, Ladies! I’m giddy with excitement over the lovely review of ‘Tatted Hips’! Thank you, Cared, for your kind words! Cooch sends hugs and kisses as well! *snort*

    I’ve written a few chapters of ‘Tatted Hips’ and can’t wait to post them (as soon as my beast, DSDW, is complete). I hope y’all continue to enjoy Cooch’s antics!

    There’s some great looking recs on here and I can’t wait to check them out. Thank you all for what you do on this blog, and for being some of the kindest, sweetest people in the fandom who do an amazing job at what we all love best: finding and rec’ing wonderful fics.

    I heart you all.

    Hoodie (Hoodfabulous)

    • Hi Hoodfabulous!

      I don’t mean to sound ungrateful, Cooch is a lovely…err girl, but could you send Edward with the hugs and kisses instead? I’d be forever grateful. LOL

      Thanks for your sweet words about FFF. MWAH!

      Cared x

  6. Hello everyone, I have more on my TBR list now, and I love that!!

    This week I have had a lovely time reading the last entries to the Dirty Talkin’ Edward Contest – and I know I have said this before – but I have been simply gobsmacked with the quality of the entries to this contest – picking my favourite is going to take some thought and a “pros and cons” list, I think! LOL That being said, I do have 5 or 6 definite favourites… hmm, I might have to re-read to check.. *winks*

    http://www.fanfiction.net/u/4742504/Dirty-Talkin-Edward-contest

    I can’t wait to start reading the Age of Edward entries now!

    Have a wonderful weekend, may your reading not get interrupted like mine does! hehe AV xox

  7. Another great post! Thanks for always coming through with great rec’s!

  8. Thanks so much for including me. Love ya. ❤

  9. eewee333

    Hi Ladies. Another Fabulous post. And all the completed fic recs! Be still my heart. 🙂 RL has been very busy recently so I haven’t had too much time to read. I did just slog through Black Silk Tie, and have hit a few one-shots here and there, but now I’m looking for something to really dig into and viola, you give me my wish. And I just want to say that I agree that even though the Twilight Saga is over, hopefully our beloved Edward (and Bella) will live forever in fanficdom. And thank you to all the wonderful authors in this ficdom who share their hearts and minds and talent with us…love you all. 🙂

    • Well said eewee333! Here is another little something I’m sure you will like. It’s an amazing one-shot – with a little bit of everything – posted today by Hoodfabulous.

      The Dirty Thirty
      I travel the Dirty Thirty alone, searching for something … searching for myself. What I don’t expect to find … is him. A birthday one-shot written for and dedicated to Jonesn. Lemons/Language
      Follow/FavoriteRated: Fiction M – English – Hurt/Comfort/Romance – Bella & Edward
      http://www.fanfiction.net/s/9600341/1/

  10. Soooo many of our favourite WiPs completed! Yay! Honestly, I’ve loved them all. But being a WiPhoor means that I haven’t read Christa or Ally’s recs Set in Stone or Broken Arrow – I’m going for it at the weekend! Also can’t wait to sart Hoody’s new one..love her stuff!

    Happy reading everyone ~xo

    • Oh…and I’ve got to mention a couple of fics by GeekChic12 I’m really enjoying. The first is a cute HS fic, Headbands and Hero-Worship, the epi posts over the weekend.

      Headbands and Hero-Worship – Two rivals. One election. Who will come out on top? A mini-fic written for Dreamweaver94’s birthday. AH, High School, ExB
      Twilight, M, English, Romance, chapters: 11, words: 8k+, favs: 101, follows: 185, updated: 8/16/13 published: 8/11/13, Bella Edward

      http://m.fanfiction.net/s/9584813/1/

      The second by GeekChic12 – Rescission, 4 chapters in – and I’m loving it.

      Rescission- We met. We got off. We went home. We weren’t lovers. We weren’t even friends. We were f- buddies. It worked… Until it didn’t. AH, ExB. Rated M for a reason.
      Twilight, M, English, Romance & Drama, chapters: 4, words: 6k+, favs: 336, follows: 642, updated: 8/14/13 published: 7/26/13, Bella Edward

      http://m.fanfiction.net/s/9533161/1/Rescission

  11. As usual you ladies have come through with some terrific sounding recommendations and some stories that I already know and love. So very glad I found your site and really enjoyed playing catch-up after my trip a couple weeks ago. It was like Christmas! 🙂
    By the by, your reviews are just crucial in my opinion. You have given me a reason to change my mind about two stories I can think of offhand – I would have skipped them, otherwise. That means the world to me and I thank you. (That little link at the bottom to the past reviews was worth its’ weight in gold.)
    Keep up the good work,
    Ginger

    • HI Ginger! Thanks so much for dropping in for a chat! We are so glad that we can help you out. We can’t wait to hear what you think of the stories and by all means, please let us know what you have read and loved – we are all “fic-sisters” here! *hugs* AV x

  12. Thank you, thank you for all the recs! My list is getting longer and longer! I appreciate your reviews, especially for completed fics.

    I have to say that “The Cullen Legacy” owned my add for so long! This story just really got to me! I love anything with British characters! Saying that, FluffyLiz’s “Where Roads Converge” is fantastic, too! Liz really outdid herself on this one! And I can’t wait for her next story! She has promised another one in the next few months!
    I also adored “The Silver Lining” by Kimpy. As an older Twi/FF fan, it touched me to read about an older Edward and Bella, finding love and fun in their “twilight years.”

    Love you gals!
    xoSus

    • Hi Sus

      Thanks so much for popping in this week and sharing your thoughts with us! I agree, The Cullen Legacy owned me too. I just love pattyrose’s stuff. I haven’t started WRC yet – but I know I will just love it. Liz is a wonderful and talented writer.

      *hugs* AV x

  13. Fantastic post ladie! As always. Thank you for always bringing the fun. : )

  14. xpreadmywings

    WOW just WOW Set in Stone is my fic to go! And its sequel In Darkness or Light and the treequel just in the making…

    Broken Arrow? THUD and that says a lot, coming fr a wimp h00r like me!
    A Dove’s Cry, Break in the Clouds, The Cullen Legacy, The Silver Lining *so apropos for my old cat self* and Terroir *shakes head* I read them all!
    Now…may I? I’m NOT a WiP reader *yeah, I know, I’ve no will*…

    http://www.fanfiction.net/s/9071635/1/Just-Right-For-Me by archy12 *lovely, adorkable no-filter Edward*
    http://www.fanfiction.net/s/8677928/1/Tip-of-the-Spear by Robsmyyummy Cabanaboy *Militaryward RME*
    http://www.fanfiction.net/s/8454547/1/The-Living-Will by 2carm2carm2 *widowward and deceased wife’s best frienderella*
    http://www.fanfiction.net/s/8961944/1/Marley-s-Mother by Pandora’s Box Is Heavy *Daddyward, swoons*
    http://www.fanfiction.net/s/8602497/1/Compass by SparklingWand *Pilotward yummy*
    oh well…can you believe it? LOL
    You beauties have outdone yourselves with this post, thank you for the wonderful work! ❤

  15. Pingback: Paging Doctor Edward Cullen… | Rob Attack

Leave Us Some Love & Tell us what You Think, Comment.

