Random Rita ~ Friday Feature Fics!

Wet Rob Avi

Good mornin’, ladies!

Today’s feature fics are guaranteed to give you lots of warm and fuzzies attributable to the cuteness factor inherent in fics that include awesome animals as well as precious little angels LOL!

And, since I never can get enough Daddyward, you’re gettin’ one complete and one WIP to devour at your leisure!

A Soft Place to Land by btwnthestacks (complete at 16 chapters)!

Rob Attack

{banner by: Forthelongestday}

https://www.fanfiction.net/s/7775714/1/A-Soft-Place-to-Land

Single father Edward Cullen and his daughter are looking for a soft place to land. In an attempt to help her, he turns to a program at the local library. While two furry friends help his child find her confidence, their owner will mend his broken heart.

Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance/Hurt/Comfort – Edward, Bella – Chapters: 16 – Words: 42,828 – Reviews: 1,779 – Favs: 1,891 – Follows: 1,712 – Updated: Jun 21, 2012 – Published: Jan 26, 2012 – Status: Complete – id: 7775714

Along with William Wallace and Gandalf the Grey, two Scottish Deerhounds she rescued and trained as therapy dogs, Dr. Bella Swan takes over a veterinary practice in her home town of  Forks !

Two months after unpacking my belongings into the small cottage I rented on the outskirts of town, I approached the chief of staff at the local hospital to inquire about volunteer opportunities for my therapy dogs.

Unfortunately, he informed me that the hospital had recently instituted a ‘no animals’ policy due to allergies and other reasons.

Dr. Cullen pulled his prescription pad and wrote down the phone number for his daughter Alice. I knew Alice. She was a senior at Forks High when I was a freshman.

Apparently she had recently taken over as director of the local library and was working on programming for the upcoming year.

I contacted Alice that afternoon and she excitedly agreed to meet me for coffee the following day. Over steaming cups of the local brew, she filled me in on her plan to start the ‘Read to a Dog’ program, wherein children would read aloud to licensed therapy dogs for one or two hours a week.

“You see,” Alice began, “dogs won’t laugh at you if you make a mistake and they won’t interrupt you to pick on you when you miss a word. The program has been wildly successful at larger libraries. The board agreed to the idea, but as you can imagine, I haven’t been able to find any licensed therapy dogs. I just about flipped my chair over when you called!”

Gandalf and Wallace loved children. And I loved the possibility of volunteering with them again. Without hesitation, I said yes, and Alice followed me to my place to meet the boys. Within minutes of being in their company, we were hired.

{I was pleased to learn “Read to a Dog” is a REAL program!}

As fate would have it, Edward’s daughter has a readin’ problem and Bella’s dogs {and Bella herself, of course} prove to be a Godsend!

I FLUVED this fic! What drama we encounter is quickly resolved so there’s not a lot of draggin’ things out for the sake of makin’ it a longer fic LOL!  In the end, Edward’s problem with his ex is taken care of in a hugely satisfyin’ but totally unexpected manner and that’s all I’m sayin’ about that *gigglesnort!*

You will love A Soft Place to Land as much as I did, of that I have no doubt!

Rob Attack

~oOo~

Birthday Wishes by Edward’s Eternal {WIP 7 chapters in}

Rob Attack

{Banner by: Beffers87}

https://www.fanfiction.net/s/10586787/1/Birthday-Wishes

Birthdays are special—especially when you’re five. What special wishes does Teddy Cullen hope come true this year? And why do his wishes involve a certain dark-haired lady from the park?

Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance – Bella, Edward – Chapters: 7 – Words: 20,946 – Reviews: 1,654 – Favs: 1,061 – Follows: 1,595 – Updated: 9h ago – Published: Aug 2 – id: 10586787

It was the little boy in the banner that caught my attention for this wonderful WIP!

Rob Attack

Seriously, I have no idea whose kid this is in RL but he’s such a little cutie *squeeze!*

Bella’s not on such solid footin’ in this fic but a little boy’s birthday wish changes everything…for the better!

“Teddy, don’t bother the nice lady too much. Here’s your cone.”

We both looked up at Teddy’s father, standing there and holding out the double scoop cone to Teddy who took it with a grin. Then he reached for the vanilla one his dad was holding in his other hand and turned to me, thrusting it forward.

“This is for you.”

I frowned and looked at his father, who shrugged and smiled. “It’s his birthday. One of his wishes was to buy the reading lady a cone.” His voice was serious. “I can’t say no to a birthday wish.”

There’s an instant attraction between them, which Edward wastes no time in exploitin’…

“Um, you have a little…”

“What?”

“Ice cream. On your face.” I pointed to his cheek.

Without thinking, I lifted my hand. He leaned in toward me, and I gently wiped the ice cream away, holding out my finger to show him. “Got it.”
His hand covered mine, and before I could react, his lips opened and he pulled my finger into his mouth, the tongue swirling on my skin, gathering up the sweet, melted goo. His eyes remained locked on mine as he pulled back.

“Thanks,” he said with a smile, his voice slightly husky. “Too good to waste.”

My entire body was humming, wanting to be closer. The desire to feel those soft lips and tongue on other parts of my body was intense.

Now, if only she can swallow her pride and accept what Edward and his son have to offer!

Put this one on alert if you’re not ready to follow it as a WIP! It will be well worth the wait!

Happy Friday, y’all!

Rita

Night Raider

29 Comments

Filed under Fan Fiction Recs, Rita01tx

29 responses to “Random Rita ~ Friday Feature Fics!

  1. Hi Rita,

    I put the Soft place to Land on my TBR list 🙂
    Birthday Wishes is beautiful, very sweet Edward and Teddy wanting to take care of Bella 🙂

    To stay with Daddyward I have one story for you

    http://caranofiction.files.wordpress.com/2012/06/its-a-sign.pdf

    Edward is the single father to an amazing little girl with a hearing disability. His first encounter with Bella leaves him aching for more. “Imagine my surprise when she crouched down to Emma’s level and began singing with her” EPOV

    and her story What’s Up Doc? it’s one of the funniest stories I ever read

    http://caranofiction.files.wordpress.com/2012/06/wud.pdf

    Free spirited, always happy, and sorta putty mouthed Bella arrives in Forktown. She’s the new receptionist at Cullen Whitlock Pediatric Care. She really wants Dr. Cullen. Oh, he wants her, too. But first, let’s get rid of Jane. No angst

    🙂 Zveka

    • rita01tx

      Yay! A double dose of CaraNo fics! Thanks for the links to her blog, Zveka darlin’! It’s always nice to know where to go for the stories pulled from FFN. This author couldn’t write a bad fic if she tried LOL! Wait…how have I missed readin’ What’s Up Doc? Gonna have to remedy that asap!

  2. edwardsvamptramp69

    Two new stories added to my TBR list! Thanks, Babe! I always love stories with animals……………….very near and dear to my heart. My friends at work call me the “animal whisperer”. I can get any animal to trust me; well ALMOST any animal. I have several fox squirrels and a raccoon at work that visit me at my office and like to be hand fed. I even call them and they’ll come running:)

    One of my all time favorite animals in the fandom was Clive from “Edward Wallbanger”. Having two cats myself, I was always doubled over in laughter whenever she would update. Totally relatable!

    Happy Friiday, Rita!

    Paula

    • rita01tx

      Paula darlin’, IMHO, Edward Wallbanger woulda lost a lot of its charm if it hadn’t been for Clive! What a character LMAO!
      The only other animal character to compare would be Cletus the cat from Southern Charm by Meikela
      https://www.fanfiction.net/s/5632191/1/Southern-Charm
      CPD Officer Jasper Whitlock is searching for Mr. Forever, not Mr. Right Now. ER doctor Edward Cullen is just looking to find himself. What happens when their fates cross? AU/AH
      Rated: Fiction M – English – Drama/Romance – Jasper, Edward – Chapters: 34 – Words: 169,463 – Reviews: 2,828 – Favs: 1,083 – Follows: 608 – Updated: Aug 30, 2010 – Published: Jan 2, 2010 – Status: Complete – id: 5632191
      In fact, Cletus even rated his very own fic!
      https://www.fanfiction.net/s/5974163/1/The-Cletus-Chronicles
      A series of Cletus POV outtakes from my story, Southern Charm. Yes – Cletus is a cat. : Rated M because apparently Cletus has some language issues.
      Rated: Fiction M – English – Humor – Edward – Chapters: 11 – Words: 17,008 – Reviews: 373 – Favs: 115 – Follows: 107 – Updated: Dec 24, 2013 – Published: May 16, 2010 – id: 5974163

      Are these urbanized critters visitin’ you at your work, Paula darlin’?

      • edwardsvamptramp69

        Great! Now I’ve got MORE on my TBR list! Keep sending them my way, Rita!

        Yes, these “urbanized critters” are wild, but the’ve become like my second set of kids, only at work. Trouble, Sparky, and Loki are male fox squirrels that I’ve been hand feeding for two years. They know their names and will come if I call them. They even peer into my office window to see if I’m in there or they’ll even come inside my office and have a snack with me. My staff have grown to love them. And then there is Rocky, my female raccoon who is also wild. But she, too, has been coming around for two years and has even brought her babies by to say hello and grab a snack. They are too cute! They come running up to me and jump on my feet so excited. Rocky also will come in the office and eat with me and comes when I call. She’s so intelligent; everyone is amazed by her. They make work more enjoyable:)

        • rita01tx

          This wouldn’t all be takin’ place in Austin, Texas, would it? ‘Cause I keep picturin’ all the oak trees and creeks runnin’ through that city and the office buildin’s built right in amongst ’em LOL! Those are the kinds of critters would hang out around my sister’s buildin’, back in her workin’ days!

          • edwardsvamptramp69

            No, never been to Texas before other than the airport for a flight connection.:( My little cuties and I reside in another tourist destination; good ole Myrtle Beach, South Carolina.:)

            • rita01tx

              OK, just googled Myrtle Beach…now I need to put it on my bucket list LOL! Lucky you to live and work in such a cool place!

              • edwardsvamptramp69

                Yes, it has its advantages and disadvantages like any other city. Being a misplaced New Yorker, I’ve been down here 10 years and I’m still adjusting!:) My friends want to know when I’m going to lose my New York accent and gain the Southern twang:)

                But yes, it is a fun place to visit. Lots of “touristy” things to do. FYI…………they call it the “Redneck Riviera”:)

                • rita01tx

                  LOL! You’re new friends are gonna wait a looong time for you to lose your New York accent! The ones we grow up with don’t disappear…ever! {I speak Dutch with Texas accent LMAO!}
                  How many hurricanes have you lived through?

                  • edwardsvamptramp69

                    It must be so cool living in the Netherlands! I only got to see the airport on my way to Bucharest! LOL:)

                    To be honest, I’m a huge storm buff and have been highly disappointed with the lack of hurricanes since moving to the South. The most significant was Charley in 2005; that was a category 4 and caused a lot of damage. Buildings collapsed, flooding, evacuations, etc. The fun part was that my ENTIRE family was down that week visiting so we all got to enjoy it.:) I sort of miss the blizzards of New York.:(

                    • rita01tx

                      Yeah, I really love it here! Although I miss Texas thunderstorms, hurricanes and tornados…very entertainin’ if you’re not caught right smack in the middle of it LOL!
                      Havin’ seen New York blizzards and ice storms on the news, I can’t imagine ever actually missin’ em LMAO!
                      That bein’ said, my brother and his NY wife moved to Austin some years back and he misses his snow blower *gigglesnort!*

  3. I’m reading Birthday Wishes and is great!
    Ive added a Soft Place to Land to my TBR list.
    Thanks for your recs.

    Hugs
    Gee

    • rita01tx

      Gee, darlin’! **HUGS!** Isn’t Teddy the cutest little boy ever? Maybe it’s just the name…cuddly like a teddy bear LMAO! Or, it’s the kid in the banner *pinchthoselittlecheeks!*

  4. dpennell007

    Just dropping in to say I Love Birthday Wishes, and I’m about to start chapter 8 of The Waltz (your suggestion from last week). It’s the part where Bella needs to leave her own apartment to be ‘protected’ under Edward’s roof… Oh yeah.

    • rita01tx

      Oooh, Donna darlin’! Youz just gettin’ to the good stuff LOL! There’s so much more to come…or cum, as the case may be *gigglesnort!*

  5. Hi Rita! I took your suggestion from last week and read “The Waltz”. Love it! Now I’m off to read ” A Soft Place to Land” I’m a also reading ” Birthday Wishes”. I can’t wait for the next update! Anything written by Edward’s Eternal is always a good read. If you have any other suggestions that involve “Daddyward”, which are my fav reads, let me know. It’s a Sign by Cara is one of my favs. Have an awesome weekend, Rita 🙂

  6. kitt

    Thanks for the daddy recs!
    I know I’m old school here, but my fav all-human Daddyward story was “Bella Swan, Kidnapper.” It helps that the author wrote the most well-behaved kids ever into that story!

    You’ve read this?
    https://www.fanfiction.net/s/5062719/1/Bella-Swan-Kidnapper

    • rita01tx

      Oh, hell yeah, Kitt darlin’! BSK earned itself 4 stars on my TBR! And don’t you just love the summary? That in itself would lure you in LOL!
      “Um. Hi. I don’t really know how to say this, but I have your kids with me, and I was thinking maybe you would like them back. So yeah… call me.”

      • kitt

        Truly one of the best summaries!
        The author, KambriaRain, also does Jacob a solid in this story. He’s likable. And you know I don’t say that kind of thing often. 🙂

        • rita01tx

          Hehehe! I’ll take a likeable Jacob myself, if he’s gonna be in the story at all. He can be her best friend {preferably gay} as long as he’s not competin’ with Edward for her {or with her for him} LOL!

  7. christa64c

    Birthday Wishes is adorable. So much talent in this fandom. Thank you Rita, for showcasing the authors that take time out of their lives to give us so much enjoyment.

    • kitt

      well said! and yes, thank you rita!

    • rita01tx

      Well, I do love sharin’ my passion, Christa darlin’! A passion fueled by wonderful authors such as yourself, I might add…just finished the latest update of Reflections *high five!*
      https://www.fanfiction.net/s/7326121/1/Reflections
      Mirrors don’t always tell the truth. That’s what Edward would have Bella believe. But when an overheard comment leads her to believe he’s been lying, she runs, leaving behind the only friend she’s ever had. Will perceptions change when she’s forced back to Forks and her supposed best friend or will she allow the past to overshadow any chance she might have for a bright future?
      Rated: Fiction M – English – Angst/Romance – Edward, Bella – Chapters: 22 – Words: 142,707 – Reviews: 468 – Favs: 228 – Follows: 371 – Updated: 15h ago – Published: Aug 27, 2011 – id: 7326121
      There will be no hidin’ your light under a bushel on my watch LOL!

Leave Us Some Love & Tell us what You Think, Comment.

