Random Rita ~ Friday Feature Fics!

Wet Rob Avi

Good afternoon, ladies!

Takin’ y’all back to the 50’s today!

Not all the best stories are found on FanFictionNet, especially nowadays when so many authors have migrated elsewhere after the somanyeth purge!

Honeybee Meadows is just such an author and her fic, Don’t Look/No Promises, has its own special place on her blog!

Rob Attack

http://honeybeemeadows.blogspot.nl/2014/06/dont-lookno-promises.html

Rated: Fiction M – English – Angst/Romance – Bella, Edward – Chapters: 15 – Updated: Jul 11, 2014 – Published: Jun 24, 2014 – Status: Complete

Each chapter gives the reader both POVs:

BELLA

The girls stole the car at midnight.

It was always midnight. Always a different car. Always half a pint in. Always done with their teeth in their lips trying to muffle their drunken giggles and always for the thrill of it, nothing more than that.

This time it was a Thunderbird. A new one. Shiny baby blue paint and silver hubcaps. White leather seats. Sitting low and squat and perfect for picking.

Bella always drove.

Always.

– – – –

EDWARD

Edward watched them steal his car.

Sat in the dark on his porch with a fading cigarette between his lips and allowed them to pick the lock. Three girls in matching jackets, matching curled hair, matching skirts. Rolled up short and held down tight, eyes lined with wings and lips lined with blood. Hairdos and kitten heels and enough bared skin to make his mouth water.

Which was why he basically let them steal the Bird right out from underneath his nose.

He’d been looking at those girls for a while now.

The one he had his eye on, little-big-eyes, that long brown hair and those hips and the fuckme mouth painted pink instead of red, she was the one who got in behind the wheel.

He could have stopped them. But he didn’t.

Ha! I’ll tell you this right now, Edward should have stopped them because those girls totally trashed his beloved Bird and, oh, did he make Bella pay for that LMAO!

The twists and turns these two took before givin’ in to the inevitable was so much fun to read, I’m compelled to share it with you!

Enjoy!!!

~oOo~

Rob Attack

https://www.fanfiction.net/s/7016988/1/Eddie-and-The-Cruisers

Eddie Masen had it all; power, intuition, and the hottest rock-n-roll band in the country. One night his car went off a dark Washington State bridge. His body never found and his dream never lost. Twelve years later the mystery of Eddie begins to unravel.

Rated: Fiction M – English – Mystery/Romance – Bella, Edward – Chapters: 13 – Words: 54,611 – Reviews: 516 – Favs: 295 – Follows: 223 – Updated: Aug 12, 2011 – Published: May 24, 2011 – Status: Complete – id: 7016988

Alice Brandon, TV reporter, is diggin’ up the past and will do anything to get at the truth about what happened to Eddie and the Cruisers…

“On August fifth, Eddie’s car drove off the Eighth Street Bridge in Port Angeles.Now, it’s believed that he committed suicide,” Alice started delivering her pitch, slowly, not wanting to divulge too much before they weren’t interested in hearing what else she had to say.

“Believed?” one of the men questioned.

Alice nodded. “Yes. See, Eddie’s car was found, but his body never was.”

“Fifteen years ago, Eddie and the Cruisers were the biggest no name group to come out of Washington since Nirvana.”

A TV played in the background showing the band from their earlier days while Alice Brandon filled in the people around her on what was to be her first primetime special. She had been gathering all the information, contacting the key players before she  divulged what would either make or break her career.

At the same time, Rosalie Hale is tryin’ to convince Bella Swan to write a book about her life with Edward and the band…

Convincing Bella that she should share with the world the other side of Eddie and the Cruisers proved to be a little harder than she expected. At first Bella was reluctant to the idea. She didn’t want to exploit Eddie or any of the other members of the band. Eventually, after some much needed convincing, Bella gave into Rosalie’s request. Rosalie was surprised, after all the pleading she had done, that Bella had already in fact begun to document their love affair. She had note books with words written in them that were poetic enough to write a chart topping song.

“I wasn’t the lyrical genius that Eddie or the Jazz Man were,” Bella had told her when she allowed Rosalie to see her notes.

Rosalie thought otherwise. From that moment on, the two women began crafting Bella’s first novel. The one, now after eight years, that would finally be hitting the shelves if only Bella could decide which ending to go with.

“Rosalie, stop,” Bella stated sternly. “I know what I have to do. I’m sorry I’m not making this easy for anyone. This was my life though. How can I put an ending on something I never wanted to end?”

I read this fic a long time ago and had another quick look through it last night to refresh my memory. Bella’s grief at havin’ to go on without Edward at her side is heartbreakin’, as is the impact his absence has had on the other band members.

There’s also the mystery of the stolen studio tapes from the night before Edward’s car went off the bridge that fateful night!

Who took them and why???

All in all, this is a great read not to be missed!

So, what are my lovelies readin’ this week?

Happy Friday, y’all!

Rita

Night Raider

27 Comments

Filed under Fan Fiction Recs, Rita01tx

27 responses to “Random Rita ~ Friday Feature Fics!

  1. dpennell007

    I liked the HoneyBee Meadows story. The second one I’m not sure if I want to read because it looks sad.
    This week I’m almost done reading The Decision by windchymes: https://www.fanfiction.net/s/6797418/1/The-Decision
    It’s really good.

    • rita01tx

      Donna darlin’! Would I steer you wrong? Sure, it’s chock full of angsty goodness but take hope in Alice’s narration: “Yes. See, Eddie’s car was found, but his body never was.” Trust me…READ!!!
      And I STILL haven’t read The Decision! Gonna have to do that right now!

      • Thanks for two new stories for my TBR list, and thanks for The Soft Place to Land and Scout’s Honor I loved a lot 🙂
        The Decision is great story, all of her stories are excellent, my preference goes for The Keepsake and Distraction 🙂 she is an excellent writer.

        My reading this week is funny and fluffy vamp story

        https://www.fanfiction.net/s/6913926/1/The-Mating-Connection
        Here is my fluffly little twist on the whole electrical charge that Edward and Bella feel. What if it really meant something else, something deeper? Would Edward be able to do what he needs to make sure Bella stays his forever? AU
        Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance/Humor – Bella, Edward – Chapters: 43 – Words: 198,989 – Reviews: 2,494 – Favs: 1,494 – Follows: 803 – Updated: Dec 24, 2011 – Published: Apr 18, 2011 – Status: Complete – id: 6913926

        it’s funny, sexy, hot and full of fluff, Edward inner teen is out 🙂

        and one WIP

        https://www.fanfiction.net/s/10676370/1/Getting-Blitzed
        The continuing adventures of Cockyback and Reed Girl. College is over and real life awaits. How will they handle the ups and downs thrown their way as Edward enters the NFL and Bella approaches graduation? Rated R for Rainbow.
        Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance/Humor – Words: 3,126 – Reviews: 368 – Favs: 605 – Follows: 911 – Published: Sep 7 – id: 10676370

        you need to read first Sideline Collision

        have a great week end 🙂

        • rita01tx

          Hi Zveka darlin’! I haven read either of your rec’s! I have all WitchyVampireGirls fics listed on my TBR…just haven’t gotten to her yet and that’s why we all share our favorite fics! To remind each other to read what we were gonna read in the first place LOL!
          Gonna have to *facepalm* on never makin’ it to the end of Sideline Collision by Nolebucgrl…sacrilege, I know, and I can’t for the life of me get back into it! *FACEPALM!*

  2. Darling Rita,

    Thank you for this! My morning started off so terribly and then I got this notification and my smile has not faded. I’m glad you enjoyed this little fic, the writing of it was especially enjoyable (as it involved a lot of champagne) and I’ve gone back to re-read it myself (which I never do with my own writing.)

    You are so sweet for waving my flag, thank you again darling doll.

    XO
    HBM

    • rita01tx

      Awww, hon! Glad I was able to make you smile…I live for smiles LOL! DL/NP is a gorgeous little fic and please thank your Hadley Hemingway for inspirin’ you to write it *fist bump!*

  3. Happy Friday ladies! Both of your picks this week are new to me. I will be adding them to my reading list. I will also nab windchymes’ The Decision. I have her other stories on the Kindle. I already have Nolebucgrl’s SC on the Kindle, haven’t read it yet though. I have read her fic First and Ten. I’m a huge football nut, so I did enjoy her story. This week I am reading 30 Days of Darkness by Mkystich. I was in the mood for something a bit darker after finishing edwardsbloodtype’s IBYLT.

    • rita01tx

      Kay, darlin’, she pulled 30 Days of Darkness for publishin’, didn’t she? I’ve been jonesin’ for somethin’ a little darker, as well, after all the cute Daddywards LOL! This will do nicely *fist bump!*

      • Rita I had to go back thru my files to see, and yes you are correct, Mkystich is publishing her story. She must have been providing PDFs, because I got it from her this summer. She said her published version, titled Black Rose, is due out in November. She says it is quite different from the fic. Those who want to can follow her on Facebook under the name Kris Thompson or as an author through The Writer’s Coffee Shop Publishing House.

    • Hi Kay, after IBYLT I read two stories Rita’s rec’d last week great stories by the way 🙂

      SC is football in College and the sequel is in NFL :), because of First and Ten I went to see Cardinals play last fall when I was in Phoenix, and I have no clue about American Football 🙂 but I keep great memory of this event

      • Zveka, American football can be daunting to figure out, but once you understand the basics, it’s the best. I’ve grown up loving football. My mother loved football too. In college I used to try to bribe girl friends to go with me to games, most times going by myself or With my bf’s mom. When I was in grade school, I wanted to play football in physics Ed, but of course it was strictly forbidden. Now girls can play and even compete on per wee teams. There are a few female kickers out there too. The key is to watch the games with a patient friend, who can explain the game to you. You’ll get it. I plan to read SC, just never know what I’m going to dive into next.

        • hmmm Kay I am French, so find someone who understand the game is tricky lol but I understand the basic of the game 🙂 and seeing the game in live was spectacular!

  4. ClaireBamboozle

    Hi Rita, I don’t know how you keep finding these little gems, but both of these fics look really good.
    Love your fanfic Fridays.
    Hugs xxx

  5. naughtyhisbella

    Hi ya, Girls! It’s my once a month pop in…lol
    I love all these recs you are giving us, Rita! I re-read nolebucgrl’s SC just so I was up to speed for the continuation. I read a few by dazzlinsparkle05 which were really good. I always have a few tabs open with ff on my tablet. It all depends on my mood. I read Honeybeemeadow’s story as she posted. So good! I also am keeping up with our girl Claire’s R & P of course. I think I started Eddie & The Cruisers when it was posting. I always read the first chapter to get a feel for it and continue if I like. Hope all is well! It’s turned cool here in Chi-Town…loving it. Perfect for ff reading under a blanket with a nice cup of coffee! Have a great weekend, Girls!!!

  6. rita01tx

    Yay! Naughty’s here {{JUMPY HUGS!!}} Hi, honey! Doin’ fine on this side of the world…lovely, clear, sunny September days {so far}! I’m so lucky to have gorgeous trees, ponds, pastures and sports fields and stately homes to walk around. It’s such a treat to get out of the house a couple times a day! Much as I love readin’ and talkin’ to you guys, I got to get my butt off this chair sometimes LMAO!

    Haven’t read any of dazzlinsparkle05’s fics, although I have them all listed on my TBR. Looks like I’ll be remedyin’ that asap!

    • naughtyhisbella

      God I love you, Rita! LOL
      I have read these by Dazzlin’: Which Brings Me to You which is the continuation of her o/s Santa’s Kiss, Unconventional, Bella Cullen’s Reminiscent Ten Year Reunion and Family of Perfection. I just started Conversations Between Adults. I tend to read one story and then read all the rest of their stories. I really liked Bella’s Reunion…it was funny. Let me know how you like them. My ninny boys here are complaining about it being cold and made me turn on the heat and it’s not even fall here yet.
      Enjoy your lovely scenery!

      • rita01tx

        Oh, crap! She’s added more fics since I raided her cache of stories…I didn’t have her on alert but I do not!

        August was so rainy and damp I very nearly turned on the heat but I’m damned if I’ll do it before October! That’s why God made sweats, fuzzy slipper socks and big, thick quilts!!!

        • naughtyhisbella

          I agree but my hubby and son won’t put actual pants on. They need to wear shorts everywhere. I’m in a sweatshirt, yoga pants and socks. I’m fine, loving the cool weather as a matter of fact. That could just be my hot flashes though. I’m going to have to turn it off and put the damn air on next week when it warms back up. Ugh!

          • rita01tx

            OMG! Blue knees are not sexy *gigglesnort!* As least you have AC! We make do with ceilin’ fans…one over the bed and one in the livin’ room and, boy, did we have some hot days this year UGH! Been away from Texas too long to just shine ’em on LOL!

            • naughtyhisbella

              a tattooed man shivering isn’t sexy…at all. LMAO No Air??? I wouldn’t be able to do that. Good on ya. Better woman than me.

              • rita01tx

                Makes me miss my air conditioned office building…the down side of retirement. Hell’n that’s the only down side I’ve come up with *gigglesnort!*

                • naughtyhisbella

                  I’d rather be retired with no air. I could sit in a vat of ice anytime I wanted. If that’s the only downside to being retired, I’ll take it.

Leave Us Some Love & Tell us what You Think, Comment.

