Random Rita ~ Friday Feature Fic!

 

Wet Rob Avi

Afternoon, ladies!

Ever have one of those fics you keep tellin’ yourself “I’ll read this one next,” but you never do?

Happens to me All.The.Time!

This story got lost in the primal forest that is my “overgroan” TBR but I’m happy to report I found it again the other day and burned the midnight oil to read it all in one great gulp!

Well, if you’ve ever seen any of the movies listed below, you’ll recognize the premise of physically or spiritually connectin’ with the one you love {or come to love} through time and space by various methods:

1) The Two Worlds of Jennie Logan  1979 – Lindsay Wagner & Marc Singer {vintage dress}

2) Somewhere in Time 1980 – Jane Seymour & Christopher Reeve {self hypnosis}

3) The Love Letter 1998 – Jennifer Jason Leigh & Campbell Scott {secret desk drawer}

4) The Lake House 2006 – Sandra Bullock & Keanu Reeves {magic mailbox}

Rob Attack

https://www.fanfiction.net/s/5716685/1/Spirit-to-Flesh

Edward finds a letter written by a mysterious woman 92 years ago. Their correspondence ignites a love affair that tests the bounds of their relationships, their hearts and time itself. Based on the book/movies Twilight and The Love Letter. AU Human ExB

Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance/Mystery – Edward, Bella – Chapters: 17 – Words: 35,183 – Reviews: 707 – Favs: 592 – Follows: 220 – Updated: Mar 15, 2010 – Published: Feb 4, 2010 – Status: Complete – id: 5716685

Cerece {aka LittleWing2} clearly states her story is based on The Love Letter but I’ll let you in on a little secret!  DON’T BOTHER WATCHING THE MOVIE…her fic is waaaaay better LMAO!

“Tell me more about this letter you found.”

Edward had wanted to share it with someone, but who? Who would understand the effect it had on him? Who wouldn’t think he was crazy? Edward and his mother had always been close. Maybe, he thought, she could at least help him sort through his thoughts.

“Her name is Bella,” he began, and instantly regretted starting there. He didn’t want her to think that he was simply fixating on a dead girl. When Edward noticed that Esme didn’t react to this, he continued. “I mean, the letter was written by a woman named Bella. She appeared to be writing to a fantasy, someone who did not really exist to her. It seems she was worried about being forced to marry someone she didn’t really like.”

“Why?” Esme asked, still looking at the keys in front of her, playing her part softly.

“I don’t really know. The letter was dated March 3, 1918. I think she probably didn’t have a lot of options.”

“The letter was dated yesterday?” Esme stopped playing for only a brief moment before resuming her playing and pondering the coincidence.

“Yes, 92 years ago yesterday.” Edward answered with a tight smile. His mother didn’t miss anything.

“And will you answer it?” Esme asked casually.

Edward chuckled, sensing in some unconscious place that he knew she would say something like that. “And how would you suggest I do something like that?”

Esme continued to play as she answered him without missing a note.

“The letter found its way to you, Edward. Maybe you were meant to find a way to  respond.”

 Needless to say, Edward does answer the letter and he and Bella soon fall in love through their letters to each other. But what’s the point if they can never be together? How can either of them live the rest of their lives alone?

If you’ve ever ignored outtakes from your favorite stories, DON’T ignore them for Spirit to Flesh…especially the last one!

https://www.fanfiction.net/s/5804718/2/In-the-Flesh-Spirit-to-Flesh-Outtakes

“I can show you, Bells. I can teach you how to live on your own, by your own terms. I could never teach you to live how the world says a woman should. But if you want to learn to live as a man, to do what you will, I can teach you that.”

“Will you?” Bella asked in awe. She had never thought of it, the way her father described it. Would never have used those words, but the sentiment was exactly right. She realized that this was her chance to make what she could of what was left of her life. The bridge she needed from now to then. Her life starting over again.

“Well, the first thing you’ve got to do is learn how to handle your liquor.” Charles declared as he popped up from his chair and poured her a glass of brandy. “This may get you into trouble, but it will get you out of more. Doesn’t make sense now, but trust me, it will.”

As he held the glass out to her, she couldn’t help but return his smile. She had never heard him use such a casual tone with her. She realized how deeply it suited him, suited her.

“So, I imagine you’ll want to travel. You’ll need to learn to ride a horse properly, none of that saddle side stuff, but we can do that while we’re arranging your passage.”

“What?” Bella choked out as she took her first sip of hard liquor.

“Travel,” Charlie stated with a roguish grin made adorable by the salt and pepper of his thick beard. “You’ve got to get out, Bells. There’s a whole wide world out there.”

Bella nodded slowly as she let the alcohol and her new possibilities warm her from the inside out.

“Where to first?” he said as the excitement of a much younger man filled his lungs.

“India,” she replied without hesitation. “I’ve always wanted to ride an elephant.”

Kinda reminds me of Rose after Jack dies in Titanic LMAO!

Oh, and just so you know, the endin’ won’t disappoint!

Happy Friday, y’all!

Rita

Night Raider

19 Comments

Filed under Fan Fiction Recs, Rita01tx

19 responses to “Random Rita ~ Friday Feature Fic!

  1. VICTORIA TURNBULL

    that first story sounds very like a fict i read a while ago
    i remain yours by Momatu it was fantastic only its Bella that finds a letter written to Edwards cousin from him in a desk she buys dated 1918 she decides to write back and it goes from there

    • rita01tx

      Thanks, Victoria darlin’, and welcome to RA! I thought there were similar fics floatin’ around and Momatu’s was another I’d planned to read “next” LOL! Now that you have reminded me of it, I’ll have to check it out! I’m postin’ the link in case anyone else wants to join me:
      https://www.fanfiction.net/s/7928270/1/I-remain-Yours
      Bella is unexpectedly given an antique desk that once belonged to Edward, and in it she finds a letter he wrote to his cousin in 1918. She responds and sets them off on a journey neither could ever have expected. Perhaps there are some things we aren’t meant to understand, just accept… Will eventually contain character death – NOT Edward or Bella.
      Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance/Drama – Edward, Bella – Chapters: 50 – Words: 456,107 – Reviews: 4,303 – Favs: 1,713 – Follows: 1,414 – Updated: Mar 9, 2013 – Published: Mar 16, 2012 – Status: Complete – id: 7928270

  2. Aloha 🙂

    hmmm one more for TBR list 🙂

    I remain Yours is wonderful story Rita… very canon Edward…

    I have one for you ….

    https://www.fanfiction.net/s/10209029/1/Echoes-in-Time

    Love is the most powerful force in the universe, and heartbreak is one of the most dangerous. Two hundred years ago a curse was conceived from unrequited love; now, in present time, Edward has grown cynical and despondent. Can a certain chocolate eyed stranger finally bring him some solace, or is he doomed to suffer for eternity? AU, No Vamps, B/E
    Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance/Drama – Bella, Edward – Chapters: 25 – Words: 82,317 – Reviews: 625 – Favs: 278 – Follows: 292 – Updated: Jun 7 – Published: Mar 22 – Status: Complete – id: 10209029

    • rita01tx

      Sounds like a good one, Zveka darlin’! I do love a fic with a smidgen of the supernatural thrown in LOL!

      • I forgot, Tanya in I remain Yours is one of the best Tanya…. I mean for once she is not after Edward 🙂 ….

        this one is also very good… still WIP and sure I have no idea how she will wrap HEA in her story… but mystery in this one is great

        https://www.fanfiction.net/s/10128242/1/The-Lost

        Bella Swan was not normal. She had been born with the gift of seeing the dead, but to her it was a curse. She had sworn off her abilities as she returned to her hometown to live out her final year of high school in an attempt at being normal, but nothing is normal when you are the one hope at redemption for the spirit of a lost boy. *paranormal romance & drama* beta’d
        Rated: Fiction M – English – Supernatural/Romance – Bella, Edward – Chapters: 65 – Words: 144,314 – Reviews: 3,403 – Favs: 632 – Follows: 981 – Updated: 4h ago – Published: Feb 20 – id: 10128242

  3. Rita, you are so wonderful! Thank you for recing this story that is so dear to my heart. ❤ I'm humbled that you loved it enough to share it!

    • rita01tx

      Aw, Cerece darlin’! I was gonna ask who ratted me out but I just checked the latest comments on Spirit to Flesh and found the culprit LMAO!
      But, seriously, it was such a good read and, as you can see, I FLOVE sharin’ the goodies with my girls!

  4. Good evening Rita. This summary made me think of the Momatu story that I have on soon to read list. I’ll be adding this one to this list as well, and perhaps I’ll read them one after the other. WELP, I just devoured my way through Darnay Road (finally- feels like I’m the last to read it.) I can’t rave enough about this fic. It took me to such emotional peaks and galleries. I felt asking with innocent first love, then heavy with the burdens that a young one like Easy had to carry. The loss of innocence that youth suddenly had thrust upon them with the ugly reality of the political climate. And then the dogged determination, strength to remain hopeful and fight for their HEA. This was a powerful story. It’s one that sticks with you. And I loved this Edward and Bella. Thank you for recommending it. I’m feeling a bit emotionally wrung, so maybe next up is something fluffy. We’ll see.

    • rita01tx

      Oh, Kay darlin’! I remember well the rollercoaster ride that was Darnay Road! Such a great story, as are all of Counselor’s fics! I’ve read every word she’s written so far and I hope she doesn’t stop any time soon LOL!
      And, if fluff is what you need, fluff is what you shall have…next week! Can you hang on that long?

  5. ClaireBamboozle

    Hi Rita, thanks for giving me more fodder for my e reader 😉
    Confession time, I have been sneak reading a fic this week, it’s completely off topic, and I’m only half way through (sneak reading is also slow reading ) but so far so good 🙂
    https://www.fanfiction.net/s/5273646/1/The-Colony
    It began with a simple flu. And 3 months later, all hell broke loose. Now they are just trying to survive. Can Bella help Edward find the cure when every last thing he cares about is on the line? BxE
    Have a great weekend.
    Hugs xx

  6. christa64c

    What a unique idea. It takes so much commitment and talent to write an historical fic. I really appreciate the talent and commitment to authors who take on that chore. Thanks for another stellar rec. Rita!!

    • rita01tx

      Hey, Christa darlin’! I’m sure it helped havin’ the movie as a framework but LW certainly worked her own magic on the meat of it! Actually, if they’d used her fic for the script, it would’ve been a far better movie…well, they could’ve used a better case, too LMAO!

Leave Us Some Love & Tell us what You Think, Comment.

