Random Rita ~ Halloween Feature Fic!

 

Wet Rob Avi

Gooood eveeening, my loveliesssss!

Soooo, you think you’re safe…all tucked up in your quiet, cozy home? I mean, there couldn’t possibly be anything…weird lurkin’ around outside waitin’ for you to stick a toe out the door, right?

Rob Attack

Are you suuuure all the windows and doors are locked?

WELL, GET UP AND DOUBLE CHECK!!!

RobAttack

https://www.fanfiction.net/s/10751629/1/Rain-Must-Fall

It’s always been said that Mother Nature finds a way to assert her power. This time, she unleashed something that walls and fences couldn’t contain. Separated by an entire country, Edward and Bella must fight to stay alive in a world determined to destroy them, a world Edward must cross to get to his family, and a world where the dead don’t always stay dead. Rated M AH/ExB

Rated: Fiction M – English – Adventure/Sci-Fi – Chapters: 6 – Words: 36,501 – Reviews: 815 – Favs: 472 – Follows: 676 – Updated: Oct 30 – Published: Oct 12 – id: 10751629

~*~

Edward’s on one side of the country fightin’ his way home to Bella who’s still in Forks…

Emmett, Dad, and I burst through the front doors of the building, Emmett slamming it behind us to shut out the herd that had seen us pull up. Dad and I immediately took out four more just inside the lobby.

“Fuck me!” Emmett panted, leaning against the door as the bastards pounded on the other side. “You know what they remind me of?” he grumbled as Dad and I pushed and shoved a huge sofa to barricade the doors. “Tweakers. You know, those people they filmed in order to sway you from drugs back in high school. They’d be all twitchy and shit, picking at their face. They’d lost all sense of reason, they looked like hell, and their teeth were rotting out of their damn head. Only instead of craving crack or meth or whatever, these assholes are craving…b rains.” He leaned on the last word like a fucking B-rated movie.

We started down the first hallway, my dad still laughing at us. Supplies were stacked in the lobby as we cleared apartment after apartment. We’d decided we’d leave Patrick AFB in a week, so we’d been stockpiling everything we could think of. My mother continued to work on a cure that didn’t seem possible.

“Zeke,” Emmett suddenly boomed, wearing a shit-eating grin. “Zombie-tweakers. Zeke. Get it? That’s what we should call ’em.”

“Fantastic. They have a name,” I muttered wryly, rolling my eyes as I motioned for them to start checking each apartment.

while Bella’s doin’ whatever she has to do to survive until he reaches her! But it sure ain’t easy…

Another snap of a twig caused the hairs to stand up on the back of my neck, and I spun to see what I’d been hoping to avoid: walkers. It was a small pack, but that didn’t matter because they were blocking our trail back to camp.

“Jasper, Seth…” I called softly, raising the rifle. “Company,” I warned, scanning for a number. “I see six.”

“Easy, Bells,” Jasper soothed, abandoning the deer for his crossbow. He raised, aimed, and took out the closest one, but it sent the others into a frenzy. “Keep your back to a tree. Always, Bella. Got me?”

Nodding, I raised my gun and fired, taking down what looked like it used to be a teenage boy. If I had to guess, probably Seth’s age, but I tried not to think of them as people anymore. We cleared the area of all but one, and he was mine to kill.

However, his military clothes, his dog tags, and his dark hair were a little too close to home for me. The hesitation caused the walker to lunge for me, but I pulled the trigger. I wasn’t sure who dropped to the ground quicker, him or me, but I gagged, losing everything I’d eaten that day. Cold sweat broke out across my brow as reality tried so fucking hard to crash down over me.

“Fuck, darlin’. It’s not him, it’s not him, it’s not him.” The chant was soothing, and I wondered for a moment if he was saying it for both of us, because God, we missed Edward. “I promise. Look at him, Bella.”

Steeling myself, I did as he told me, and I saw the walker for who he truly was. He was older than Edward, certainly not as tall, and he looked nothing like my husband in the face. I tried to overlook the camo, the rotten, decomposed flesh, and the stench of him, but the glint of dog tags caught my eye, showing me a name.

Logan, Andrew

Sagging a little, I breathed a heavy sob, taking the bottle of water Jasper offered. “For a second…”

“I know. I get it.”

~*~

Good golly, Miss Molly, y’all!

Ain’t never read any zombie fics but, because this is written by Drotuno, I put on my big girl panties and gave it a try! All I gotta say is WOWZERS!!

Although there’s lots of zombie action, it’s not so much a horror fic as it is action / adventure / thriller…and of course, romance!  Oh, yeah! In the flashbacks, we get to see Edward and Bella fall in love and the sparks do fly, lemme tell ya!

Updates are frequent and instantly devoured like b..rains LMAO!

Read Rain Must Fall and fall in love with it like I did!

Rob Attack

AND WHILE YOU’RE AT IT, PRAY IT DOESN’T RAIN!!!

Happy Halloween, y’all!

Rita

Rob Attack

 

17 Comments

Filed under Fan Fiction Recs, Rita01tx

17 responses to “Random Rita ~ Halloween Feature Fic!

  1. sandythestorm

    Its exCELent oh my. I am a true -can watch repeat marathon or not Walking Dead and companion hour Talking Dead fan, but Deb has a true story of her own and even her title means something different in her zombie world. She gives me my zombie fix 2xs a week aside from TWD. Run people experince her Zekes!!

    • rita01tx

      Hi Sandy darlin’! Deb certainly delivers on any fic she writes but this one is a wild ride like I haven’t taken in a long time!
      Like I said, I’m not normally attracted to zombie stories even though I’m a somewhat reluctant fan of a good zombie movie {Dawn of the Dead was just on TV, which was fun to revisit} and by reluctant, I mean I watch from between my fingers LMAO!
      Last one I saw in the theatre was World War Z, which was surprisingly good…didn’t know what to expect, and I keep forgettin’ to get Warm Bodies to watch at home {the book was funny}!

  2. HAPPY HALLOWEEN ALL!! We put our E&B’s through it all don’t we? AU’s Vamps, alive inside a book, Gargoyles and now zombies!! Watch your back Edward, God knows what will happen to you next hehehe

    • rita01tx

      Happy Halloween, RF darlin’! Yeah, fuckin’ with Edward is what keeps us comin’ back for more LOL! With all the amazin’ authors in our fandom, there’s no tellin’ what they’ll dream up next! Every time we think we’ve already seen it all, someone surprises us…again!!!

  3. ClaireBamboozle

    Hi Rita, thanks for the rec, this one looks sooo good.
    Hope you didn’t have too many zombies knocking at your door last night. 🙂
    Hugs xx

    • rita01tx

      Not a one! The Dutch don’t do Halloween; they have St. Maarten’s when all the little kids show up at your door holdin’ a paper lantern on a stick and they have to sing for their candy LOL! It’s cute…on November 11th.

  4. christa64c

    Yes!!! In my book it’s still Halloween. Bring on the scare!!!

    • rita01tx

      Sorry to take so long to get back to you, Christa darlin’! Havin’ decided to take on your challenge, I was off lookin’ for the scariest video I ever say…coulda sworn I posted it on my FB page but it’s not there. Scrolled through my YouTube history for HOURS but couldn’t find it there, either. Damn thing’s probably Vimeo or something. Well, as soon as I stop lookin’ for it, I’ll probably find it and then…I’LL BE BACK!

  5. Hi Rita

    I am late again, Happy Halloween! here in France we don’t celebrate it! I was in Phoenix last year for Halloween and it was great to see people outside with theirs costumes… great memory 🙂

    I have Drotuno story on my wip list just need to start to read it 🙂

    have a great day

    • rita01tx

      Hi Zveka, darlin’! Yes, the Americans really get carried away with Halloween, as do the Brits LOL! It’s so much fun so see all the decorations…we used to drive all over town to find the best ones!
      Rain Must Fall updated today and once again I was glued to the page and so bummed to reach the end of the chapter!
      Such a great read!

      • Yeah the Halloween In Tempe near Phoenix with all students from ASU was really something to see… love it…

        I love Drotuno work so now I need to find the time to read this story but today we still have sunny weather and next week the weather will change to rain and cold so today I will enjoy my garden 🙂

  6. Hello Rita, I missed your Halloween post while I was in the hospital dealing with the nurse from hell. I almost thought I was being punked she was so bizarre. I had to take a break from reading for a minute, but I’m baaaaack! So, In recognition of Halloween, I went dark again, I mean really, reeeally dark. In fact so gory, I had to skim some parts. I’m not a fan of gore at all so I don’t know what possessed (see what I did there, lol) me to read Master of Puppets by The Unholy Trinity (a collab effort). https://www.fanfiction.net/s/9774726/1/Master-of-Puppets I almost abandoned it because it’s extremely graffic, but if you can stomach the gore the story has quite the unexpected twist. I am usually very good at puzzling out endings, but this one shocked me and I love a good surprise. I also read a very good O/S by Babette12 called, Into the Night https://www.fanfiction.net/s/5378916/1/
    Bella gets a flat tire on the side of a dark, deserted highway. There she is kidnapped by her worst nightmare. Or, is it her fondest dream? I really enjoyed this quickie. Those were my Halloween reads. After all that dark, I went complete 360! Looking forward to your next post.

    • rita01tx

      Hey, Kay darlin’! Never too late to celebrate Halloween LOL! I’ve read Into the Night and loved it but Master of Puppets is a new one to me! Oh!!!! I just now saw who the Unholy Trinity are: Livie79, darkNnerdy, Raggdolly…no wonder it’s a gore fest LMAO!
      Can’t wait to dig into it, so to speak *gigglesnort!*

      • It’s definitely not for the faint hearted. I had disturbed dreams after I read that one, lol. My husband was like “Why are you reading it if it bothers you?” Because despite the gore, I was compelled to read it through. The ending was wow, and of course twisted. I read lighter fare after that.

Leave Us Some Love & Tell us what You Think, Comment.

