Random Rita ~ Friday Feature Fics!

 Wet Rob Avi

Evenin’ ladies!

Today, I find myself in the mood for somethin’ a little more…genteel!

Nothin’ too terribly angst driven, although there might be a few unfortunate misunderstandin’s to keep everyone on their toes LOL!

Specifically, a period piece or two where life proceeds at a more leisurely pace than the hectic rat race of today’s world!

Rob Attack

https://www.fanfiction.net/s/10871128/1/A-Swallow-to-a-Dove

Timid Isabella is sent to keep the home and children of widower Edward Cullen.

Rated: Fiction M – English – Hurt/Comfort/Romance – Bella, Edward – Chapters: 45 – Words: 38,419 – Reviews: 1,461 – Favs: 477 – Follows: 913 – Updated: 48m ago – Published: Dec 5, 2014 – id: 10871128

I’d like to thank Clairebamboozle for tellin’ me about this fic back in December! It’s still a WIP, although very close to complete, and I’m enjoyin’ the hell out of every update! Also, Shouldbecleaning’s FFN handle cracks me the fuck up with its accuracy LMAO!

Just shy of her sixteenth birthday, orphaned Bella is introduced to Dr. Cullen.

“My name is Dr. Carlisle Cullen. I reside with my wife in a town a few hours from here. I am looking for a young lady to become housekeeper and nanny to my grandchildren. My widower son is unable to care for them or the house at this time and I won’t have the children suffering for it. Mother Superior says that you are the ideal girl for the job. Would you be interested?” While he left out a great deal about the situation this was the crux of it, not wanted to scare the girl further with more information. The girl looked at the serene smile on Mother Superior’s face and nodded to the gentleman.

Hmm, why should she be scared? Her first sight of Edward might provide some indication LOL!

Around half an hour after the city faded from view the carriage pulled into a very long drive. It wound around its-self many times before ending in a very large farm house. It didn’t look to be in too bad repair so Isabella felt reasonably confident that the cleaning would not take too long.

The group separated as Dr. and Mrs. Cullen went into the house. Em accompanied Isabella around to the back of the house where the larder was located in a grove of tall trees. He left her at the door of the small building and went on his was to find Edward.

She looked behind the door for a crate to hold any goods she could save. The first set of shelves held root vegetables and fruit, all rotten and mouldering. The next set held jars of preserved vegetables, jams, jellies and crocks of pickles. Above her head hung a few hams and rashers of bacon. As she went closer her foot knocked against something unexpected.

She found herself looking down at the prone form of a man. A very handsome but dirty man. He was semi-clothed, wearing trousers and only one shoe. She knelt down beside him, quickly, praying that he wasn’t dead.

“Mr. Cullen.” She said while she prodded his shoulder.

The man gave out a loud grunt. Half the foul smell in the building seemed to be coming from him.

Not exactly the best first impression but, in all fairness, he wasn’t expectin’ visitors LOL!

If you decide to give it  try, I’m sure you’ll enjoy Shouldbecleaning’s first fic and I look forward to seein’ what else she comes up with down the road!

~oOo~

Rob Attack

{banner by Cared}

https://www.fanfiction.net/s/7353115/1/Plight-Thee-My-Troth

England, 1795. Lord Edward Masen and Miss Isabella Swan promise to love one another for all time; but will the harsh realities of life allow two souls from very different backgrounds to fulfil their vows? EPOV, AH

Rated: Fiction M – English – Drama/Romance – Edward, Bella – Chapters: 29 – Words: 160,023 – Reviews: 3,697 – Favs: 1,950 – Follows: 1,696 – Updated: Sep 16, 2012 – Published: Sep 4, 2011 – Status: Complete – id: 7353115

There is a decidedly Pride and Prejudice flavor to Gingerandgreen’s first fic, which I adore! Best of all, it’s written in EPOV *squeee!*

“Ladies, may I introduce my friend and second cousin? This is Lord Masen of Forbrigg, in Norfolk. You may have heard me mention him.” He winks at the smaller of the pair. “Edward, these here are the beauties I was telling you about. May I present Miss Swan,” he offers me the opportunity to approach the fair-headed girl, with a somewhat proprietary air.

As I doff my hat, bow, and kiss her hand, I watch Em’s antics from the corner of my eye. He waggles his eyebrows suggestively and rather crudely, given the company he we’re in. I take this to mean he has boasted of my accomplishments and wealth to the ladies already, which annoys me. He knows I want to make my own conquests. In time – all in good time.

“And this is her lovely sister, Miss Isabella Swan.”

When I take the hand of the younger Miss Swan, his clowning and my annoyance cease to exist.

She truly is beautiful. Her eyes are large and round and deep, their rich brown intensity evaluating my very soul, at least this is how it seems. Strands of her hair fall all around her face as though unwilling to be trapped by her simple bonnet. Her skin is both pale and very flushed, and her expression is serious as I press my lips to her gloved hand.

“Miss Isabella,” I murmur, and she breathes back,

“Lord Masen.”

And let me tell you…Mister Darcy has NOTHIN’ on Lord Masen *swoon!*

What fics are you enjoyin’ this week???

Happy Friday, y’all!

Rita

Night Raider

35 Comments

Filed under Fan Fiction Recs, Rita01tx

35 responses to “Random Rita ~ Friday Feature Fics!

  1. bevey99

    I just finished reading Dragonfly by RvrSong, it was on my list while it was a WIP but just now started and finished it pdq.. Really good read about older Bella and younger Edward. https://www.fanfiction.net/s/9475179/1/Dragonfly

    So having finished that one I went back a lot further on my list and started reading Hit by Destiny. Ocdmess at her best, kept putting it because it’s so looong. I think everyone has read it w/ over 20K + reviews, and It’s all I can do not to jump on it right now, but my house needs me to clean it up before a dinner party tomorrow. I read till 3 am this morning. Every chapter almost made me cry. ANGST

    • rita01tx

      Hey, Bev darlin’! Ain’t read either one of those fics and I keep meanin’ to *sigh!* With 20k+ reviews, Hit By Destiny certainly doesn’t need mine but we’ll see if I can resist puttin’ in my two cents worth LOL!
      {See what I mean about Shouldbecleanin’s FFN handle? Enjoy the dinner party…after you clean your house LMAO!}

      • bevey99

        HBD has the meanest, most unfeeling uncaring Edward I have ever read. Complete asshole to everyone. Want to slap him so hard then kick him in the nuts. High-school setting.

        • rita01tx

          Noooo! Don’t tell me that…asshole Edward’s are my Achilles Heel and Claire’s gonna kill me ‘n you both if I don’t work on her next chapter this weekend *DOH!*

  2. I am reading A Swallow to Dove right now. love it

  3. https://www.fanfiction.net/s/7759710/1/Courtesan-for-a-Knight

    Loved Plight and will check out Dove. Bella is a courtesan in this WIP and set in the 1500s

    • rita01tx

      Well, howdy stranger! {JUMPYHUGS!} Had to moderate your comment as Nunzia ’cause we only know you here as Wonderfully Bedazzled…damn Facebook anyway LOL!
      I know you won’t steer me wrong so I’ll give Courtesan a try! Thanks for the rec, hon!

  4. Oh Rita, these sound soo good. I’m so behind on my reading. I was super-excited to hear about Swirl and Daisy finally being marked complete. I also saw on Twitter today that Metaphysics by Anais Mark has recently been completed. I read this a while back not having realized at the time that it was incomplete. It was quite a fic, twists, turns and mystery. If my recollection serves, the first couple of chapters are tricky, but I really enjoyed it.
    https://www.fanfiction.net/s/5728755/1/Metaphysics
    Edward & Bella are graduate students in London ‘coincidentally’ researching the same poets. More than 300 years after the fact, Carlisle & Edward must find out why Carlisle’s past won’t stay there – before Bella digs it up researching her thesis.

    • rita01tx

      Metaphysics was one of the most complicated fics I’ve ever read but Anais navigated us through it brilliantly! Unfortunately, the long periods between updates were killer so, one of these days {she keeps sayin’}, I’m gonna have to read it again from the beginnin’!

  5. sandythestorm

    Oh my where shall I begin Madam do suggesththee???? Lol

    • rita01tx

      Well, Sandy darlin’! Woudst pleaseth thou, pray read Plight Thee My Troth first as tis complete and a most entertainin’ tome LOL!

  6. dpennell007

    I Loved Plight Thee My Troth! It’s on my favorite list. This week I’ve been reading your suggestion from last week – An Introduction to Swirl and Daisy. I’m on chapter 36 out of 43. It’s adorable! I’m glad I can go from chapter to chapter without waiting. I can’t imagine waiting 5 years for a story to finish.

    Tonight I’m going to read the next 3 entries for the MaytoDecemberRomanceContest https://www.fanfiction.net/u/6289323/MaytoDecemberRomanceContest I think I remember you saying you don’t like one shots, but there are some good ones so far.

    • rita01tx

      *Squeee!* Oh, I just knew you’d adore Swirl and Daisy as much as I did LOL! You’re gonna hate to see it end just as much, too!
      Don’t know why I waited so long to read Plight Thee My Troth ’cause it’s one of, if not THE, best period E&B romance in our fandom! Lord Masen might be arrogant but he damn well earned the right to be…sexy beast!
      And it’s not that I don’t like one shots, it’s that they come in bunches so thick and fast I can’t keep up with them! I haven’t even finished readin’ all the Christmas one shots…very frustratin’ ’cause I just know I’ll miss a real gem LOL!

  7. edwardsvamptramp69

    The VERY beginning intro to “A Swallow to a Dove” here sounded ALMOST like “The Sound of Music”; had me giggling until I read that our Edward was lying on the ground. You’d NEVER catch Captain von Trapp in that state.;) Though I’m sure Edward would be just as damn sexy as Georg!

    Happy Friday and thanks for more lovely reviews, Rita:)

    ~Paula

    • rita01tx

      Ha! The Sound of Music comparison never crossed my mind but how right you are, Paula darlin’! At least for the very beginnin’. You’ll be thoroughly shocked at the reason Edward is in such a state..a lot!

  8. thanks for Rec’d Rita they are now on my TBR list..
    to stay on period stories this one is excellent

    https://www.fanfiction.net/s/9935251/1/Restoration
    By: Elise de Sallier
    Resigned to her lonely fate, Bella risks her life to rescue a man left for dead by enemy soldiers. Edward turns out to be a little more than she bargained for, his presence awakening dangerous desires and inspiring dreams that could change her life—and the course of a Kingdom—forever. A Cinderbella tale.
    Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance/Drama – Bella, Edward – Chapters: 24 – Words: 93,647 – Reviews: 2,412 – Favs: 1,736 – Follows: 1,897 – Updated: Aug 7, 2014 – Published: Dec 18, 2013 – Status: Complete – id: 9935251

    Her vamp stories Once bitten and Hunted in Seattle are excellent too.

    🙂

    • rita01tx

      Ah, to have the leisure to settle on one author at a time and devour every word they write *sigh!* Yeah, Elise {Twiloversue} has been on my radar longer than she deserves, Zveka darlin’! Thanks for the reminder to check her out!

      • yeah Elise writing is great Rita 🙂

        just find that one other story was pulled

        Restoration by texbelle…. it’s modern story

        I really need to check my TBR list

        • rita01tx

          Another one I hadn’t heard of before, Zveka darlin’! Such a shame *sigh!* Did you manage to snag a pdf?

            • rita01tx

              Got it, sweetie! Thanks!!!

            • edwardsvamptramp69

              That’s what HE said…….:) Sorry, I crack myself up!

              • edwardsvamptramp69

                That was in response to……….

                zveka68

                In your box Rita 🙂

                • rita01tx

                  *Facepalm!* Leave it to you to notice she said box instead of in-box LMAO!

                  • edwardsvamptramp69

                    I’m a professional……don’t try this at home. *wink*

                    Actually, I’m a bit slap happy…….it’s 7:17 AM and I’m getting ready for work and I have NOT gone to bed. I’ve been up reading straight through the night reading CaraNo’s “Grand”! Damn her and her mad skillz!!!!

                    • rita01tx

                      Oh, God! You’ll be lucky to make it through the day! Only pulled a party all night, go to work without sleepin’, ONCE in my life in my early 20’s! No way could I do it now, more than 40 years later LMAO!!!

                    • edwardsvamptramp69

                      I hear ya, Babe! I’m pretty long in the tooth myself. Thankfully I haven’t been drinking so that should help, but it’s going o be a llloooonnngggg day! That’s why I thrive on your posts and witty responses from all the ladies on here! Love you all. Humor is my drug of choice and you guys are my supplier!

                  • hmm I guess my sentence was wrong ?

                    By the way I just finished Plight Thee My Troth…. excellent!!!

                    • rita01tx

                      Pay no attention to us ol’ pervs, Zveka darlin’! Glad you liked Plight Thee My Troth…wasn’t his lordship a handsome, sexy beast???

                    • edwardsvamptramp69

                      Nah, as Rita said, we’re just pervs! My mind ALWAYS goes there………..I’m like a teenage boy:)

  9. Wow, 30 responses in two days! Apparently many others besides me have a weakness for period tics.
    I have never heard of “A Swallow to a Dove” before. This is why we love you, Rita – you keep us from missing out on the good stuff! I usually avoid WIPs but this sounds too good. Which reminds me, I have fallen hook, line and sinker for “Shadow Mission” that you told us about recently. Fascinating.
    And of course anyone who hasn’t read Plight Thee My Troth should get on Lordward right away. Well, we should ALL get on Lordward right away, but sadly he doesn’t exist in the actual world. Sigh.
    Bevey, thanks for the nudges to read Dragonfly and Hit by Destiny. Both have been on my TBR for a while and have just been moved up!

    I haven’t read Metaphysics, although I have been intrigued by it for years – it was startling to get a new chapter notification on it after all this time. Isn’t it wonderful when that happens?

    And Zveka thanks for the reminder about Restoration. I had heard of this fic (did read her pulled fix just in time), but somehow it wasn’t on my TBR list. Horrors!

    And yes I’m sure most of us qualify for a pen name that begins with “I should be” doing something other than reading. But life is too short to pass up good stories!

    • rita01tx

      Evenin’ Renee darlin’! Yeah, we been havin’ fun tossin’ fic recs around the last few days LOL!
      Oh, hey! Did you see TypoKween updated The Slowest Burn after damn near TWO YEARS? Will wonders never cease LOL!

Leave Us Some Love & Tell us what You Think, Comment.

