Random Rita ~ Friday Feature Fics!

Wet Rob Avi

Evenin, ladies!

Well, if any of you were followin’ the comments last week, you’d know me ‘n Kay were gonna tackle Wisp together!

Don’t know how far she got but I read all the way through to the end in a couple of days, it was that good LOL!

Now, ever since readin’ Wide Awake by AngstGoddess003 in the early, early days after discoverin’ fanfiction, I’ve been drawn to such stories. Today, I found myself wonderin’ WHY and I’d have to say it’s about the triumph of good vs evil, light vs darkness, love vs hate…happiness risin’ from the ashes of tragedy like a phoenix!

Even so, I’d like to think I don’t have my head stuck in the sand! I’d like to think that if I EVER caught a whiff of a child in my vicinity bein’ abused in any way, I’d open my damn mouth about it!

WARNING: These stories contains dark themes such as abuse and violence. They deal with the aftermath of child abuse so consider carefully before you read them. There will be NO graphic descriptions of the abuse, but implications will be made. The focus is mainly on emotions because that’s what it’s all about in the end.

{adapted from Dooba’s intro}

Rob Attack {Banner by Ysar}

https://www.fanfiction.net/s/8051177/1/Wisp

Edward wins more than he bargained for at what was supposed to be a friendly poker game. AH. Ysar made me my banner!

Rated: Fiction M – English – Hurt/Comfort/Drama – Bella, Edward – Chapters: 63 – Words: 325,303 – Reviews: 13,725 – Favs: 5,292 – Follows: 6,727 – Updated: Nov 21, 2014 – Published: Apr 23, 2012 – Status: Complete – id: 8051177

“My Pet.” Wisp glanced at the cat asleep at the foot of the bed.

 “Yes. Pet is yours, and no one is going to take her away from you, okay? We know she means a lot to you.”

Her hands lifted slowly, and he could see the faint tremble of her tired, malnourished body. He held very still, Wisp’s face intent as her hands softly cupped his face. She held him, her palms cool against his cheeks as her dark eyes traveled over his features. She’d never looked at him like this before, with such fierce attention, a delicate little line appearing between her eyebrows as she stared. Her thumbs moved, stroking his skin, slow and gentle. “Edward,” she breathed.

Careful not to dislodge her hands, he nodded. 

“Good Edward. Pretty Edward.” 

One side of his mouth managed to lift. “If you say so.” 

“My Edward?” 

He exhaled slowly. She was hesitant, unsure, her lower lip disappearing into her mouth as she waited for his answer.

As if there were any question. He’d been hers from the minute he first touched her, helping Carlisle remove her from the back of James’ filthy pickup truck. Did she not know? How could she not know? He did his best to show her, every day. 

Edward leaned forward slightly, dropping his forehead against hers. Her breath was warm, but her skin felt cool against his. He needed to get her under some blankets soon. “Your Edward,” he agreed. He’d made the promise to her so many times, but this was the first time he thought she might actually understand. 

If you’re brave enough to read Wisp, you won’t regret is, especially coupled with the outtakes posted separately which round out the story so beautifully!

~oOo~

Rob Attack https://www.fanfiction.net/s/5705727/1/Loner

All Human. Edward Cullen was a loner, an outcast. He clearly hated everybody, including himself. He was not a nice person. So, why was I so drawn to him? And why did I get the crazy feeling he felt the same way?

Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance/Hurt/Comfort – Bella, Edward – Chapters: 115 – Words: 379,793 – Reviews: 10,374 – Favs: 4,659 – Follows: 2,781 – Updated: Jul 6, 2011 – Published: Jan 31, 2010 – Status: Complete – id: 5705727

The boy, if you could call him that, was absolutely stunning; his skin was pale and his eyes the most beautiful shade of green. He had high cheekbones, a strong jawline, a perfectly straight nose, and full lips that just seemed to scream ‘kiss me’. His bronze colored hair was messy, and I found myself wondering what it would feel like to run my fingers through it.

“Watch where you’re going, bitch.”

With that, he pushed his way past me and I was left to stare after him with my mouth wide open. Okay, what had just happened?

Not the most auspicious beginnin’, is it? However, it’s not long before Edward discovers Bella can be trusted with his heart!

He just shook his head, letting out a defeated sigh. That was when I got hit by a sudden impulse, and held out my hand, just like I had done when we were at the meadow. “If you take my hand…” My voice cracked, and I started over, “If you take my hand, I promise not to let go.”

He just kept looking at me, doubt still evident on his face, and I sighed. “I mean, of course I’ll have to go home eventually, or Charlie will most likely send out a search party, but the point I’m trying to make is…” My voice trailed off as Edward reached out his hand – not slowly and hesitantly, like earlier at the meadow, but in a quick, jerky motion, like he was forcing himself to act fast, before he would lose his courage.

I nearly wept when his hand finally grasped mine, tightly, like he was drowning and I was his life line. And I realized that – in that moment, to Edward – it was exactly what I was.

“I won’t let go,” I assured him again, and then I fell silent, because words suddenly seemed unnecessary. Instead I pulled his hand down in my lap, holding it gently between mine, like I had wanted to do for so long but never actually dared.

“Promise?” he whispered hoarsely, and my eyes immediately snapped open.

At first, I didn’t understand what he was asking, because all I could think about was the sensation of his fingers in my hair. Then it all came back to me, and I nodded, eagerly. “I promise,” I breathed, giving his hand a soft squeeze. “You’re stuck with me now.”

I glanced at him, my fingers absently tracing circles at the back of his hand. He still looked really tired, but somehow, my touch suddenly seemed to have a calming effect on him. The irony wasn’t lost on me, seeing how it was only days ago that he had shied away in terror.

Needless to say, Loner has been high on my favorites list for as long as I’ve had my TBR LOL!

Rob Attack

~oOo~

Rob Attack  {banner by DivineInspiration}

https://www.fanfiction.net/s/6356034/1/Torn

Bella Swan has survived a living hell, twice. She no longer speaks. Nobody ever listened. The Cullen family take her into their care. Bella fights to leave her past behind, but will she be able to let love in? AH M-rated for violence, content, language Rated: Fiction M – English – Hurt/Comfort – Bella, Edward – Chapters: 83 – Words: 606,410 – Reviews: 15,082 – Favs: 6,053 – Follows: 6,579 – Updated: Aug 17 – Published: Sep 27, 2010 – id: 6356034

This is a long passage but it’s one of my favorites because it shows how fiercely protective each member of the Cullen family is towards Bella!

In my head, I’m screaming, but even the mental scream is cut short because I shut down completely, going limp and falling down to the ground with Mike still holding me in this impossible position. 

“That’s right, just relax now,” he says. 

We’re on the floor, and his legs come around mine, but I don’t feel it anymore. I’m far away, feeling as if I am looking down at the scene from above. Mike keeps on holding me, using way too much force, putting strain on my neck. It reminds me of the last night with Stefan and I pull back further, retreat deeper into my mind. 

In that moment, the door of the classroom bursts open with a loud bang. 

“Michael! What the fuck!” Edward roars. Quick footsteps come near and I’m pushed forward and back, and then Mike’s grip is gone from me and I am alone. 

“I was helping her, you idiot!” Mike shouts. 

Are they fighting? Edward is shouting at him. “Are you out of your goddamn mind?” 

Not really hearing anything, I curl up in a tight ball, my eyes unable to close. I can see the dust on the floor and the wall of the room, and then Alice’s face as she lies down in front of me, looking into my eyes. 

She’s crying. 

I don’t really register it. 

“Shit, what happened?” It’s Emmett’s voice. 

Mike,” Edward says by way of explanation. 

More sounds of struggle. “You made her panic like that? Shall I make you panic like that?” Emmett’s voice is dark, protective. Angry. I can’t move. I want to see, to protect myself, but I can’t move. 

“No, man. Let go of me,” Mike says. 

“No,” Emmett growls. “You’re not getting away with this. We’ve warned you away, Bella warned you away. This is assault, and you’re going to pay.” 

“I called mom.” Rosalie. “She’s on her way. Fuck off, there’s nothing to see here. Yes, you heard me. Leave. 

Are there students? Oh, no. 

“Jasper, can you go out and wait for mom?” 

“Somebody kindly explain what happened here.” Principal Greene. 

Too many voices. I shut down further. I can’t do it anymore. 

“Hang in there, Bella,” Alice says softly. “It’ll be all right.” 

Voices blur together until it’s one chaos of sounds I can no longer make any sense of. The floor is cool, the cold creeping through my clothes and into my bones. Yet I can’t move. 

“Bella?” Edward. “Bella, can you hear me? Can you give me any sign you can hear me?” 

“She’s not reacting, Edward.” Alice is still lying in front of me, trying to look into my eyes. My vision is blurry now. I haven’t blinked in such a long time I can’t see much anymore. “Bella, can you get up?” 

No. 

“Can you lift her?” That’s Esme. Oh Esme, I’m so sorry… 

“I don’t know. She’s really not responding.” 

“I think she can hear us,” Alice says softly. “Bella? Everybody is gone now. We’re going to take you home, okay?” 

Silence. 

Movement, behind me. I can’t see. I’m scared. 

Please don’t hurt me. 

Edward’s voice, closer by now. “I’m sorry, Bella. I’m going to lift you now. I’m sorry,” he says again. His voice sounds so tight. 

A hand under my shoulders, an arm under my knees. 

“Don’t be afraid, it’s just me,” Edward says softly. “Here we go, one, two…” On three I leave the ground. 

I’m so scared, but there’s nothing I can do. I am locked up in my own mind. 

Edward holds me against his chest, leaning back a bit for balance. My head rolls with the shift in gravity and comes to rest against his shoulder. 

I know this scent. 

My arm dangles in nothingness. 

“I have you,” Edward says quietly. “I won’t let you fall, Bella. We’ll take you home now, okay? I’ll bring you to the car.”

Edward steps out into the deserted hallway. I can only see ceiling, partly obscured by Edward’s chest and arm. But the atmosphere in the hall is different, open. Fear overwhelms me and my hand clenches into a fist involuntarily, grasping Edward’s sweater tightly in my hand.

 “Hold on to me,” he whispers so softly I’m sure only I can hear. “I won’t let you down, Bella. I won’t leave.”

~oOo~

Even though these are fictional stories, they could very well be based on RL cases and I’m so glad there are good people puttin’ themselves out there to rescue and care for kids like these!

What stories kept you glued to you screens this week?

Happy Friday, y’all!

Rita

Night Raider

37 Comments

Filed under Fan Fiction Recs, Rita01tx

37 responses to “Random Rita ~ Friday Feature Fics!

  1. Looking forward to reading these! I just finished “Dance Me to the End of Love” by fitterhappier, and loved it! I obsessed over it, actually. It’s pretty angsty, and includes an abused Bella, but well worth the read!

    Happy Easter, and Happy Passover to those who celebrate!
    hugs, Sus

    • rita01tx

      Ooooh! *Happy claps!* A new author…and she has 2 other completes and a WIP on her profile! Thanks, Sus darlin’! You just made my day LOL!
      I’ll post the link so we can all check it out, okay?

      Dance Me to the End of Love by fitterhappier
      https://www.fanfiction.net/s/5470663/1/Dance-Me-to-the-End-of-Love
      In turn of the century Moscow, a lowly pianist is hired to play for a privileged dancer taught to believe that talent and success are the only things in life that matter. Will she let her guard down and risk it all for a chance at true love? AH.
      Rated: Fiction M – English – Angst/Drama – Edward, Bella – Chapters: 52 – Words: 161,507 – Reviews: 440 – Favs: 216 – Follows: 129 – Updated: Jan 4, 2013 – Published: Oct 27, 2009 – Status: Complete – id: 5470663

      Enjoy the long weekend, everyone MWAH!!!

    • Sus, I’m downloading DMttEoL right now. With a rec like that I have to add it to my list. Thank you!

  2. Oh Rita Wisp is incredible. I’m about 3 quarters through it. It’s heartbreaking and uplifting at the same time. Little Wispy has an indomitable spirit to still have such a gentle, loving soul after all she’s endured. I haven’t gotten to the big reveal yet, but . . . I’m riveted despite the many RL interruptions to my reading this week. The Christmas outtake had me choking back tears. So touching. Just perfect. Your recs this week sound like they are going to tug on my heart strings again, but these stories hold me. They do. It was fun co-reading with you even though I was slow 😀

    • rita01tx

      Hell’n I was just happy knowin’ I could holler for a hug if it got too much for me, Kay darlin’! Didn’t need one then but I’d take one now to celebrate Wisp’s triumph!!!
      Oh, and you’ve GOT to read the futuretake when you finish…it was so much fun, like bein’ there with them the whole time *wheeee!*

  3. My DH all but threatened to pry my kindle from my fingers last night because I kept falling asleep, but refused to put it down. It’s hard to take breaks its so good. I have the furtherance, so I’ll make to read it. It was enlightening to get a little peak into Wispy’ s mind with her POV outtake.

    • rita01tx

      My DH and I agreed years ago I’d never bring a book to bed with me. However, goin’ to bed alone when I’m havin’ a marathon read like Wisp puts a pout on his sweet lips, too…kinda irresistable LOL!
      Can’t wait to hear what you think of the futuretake *impatient lip bite!*

      • I’m finally all done with Wisp, including the futuretake. I’ve added Wisp to my favorites list, it was both heartbreaking and beautiful. I love that Bella took over Garrett’ s position. And I love that Edward was so adept at anchoring Bella through her panic episodes. It was pretty terrific that she got to go on the Peter Pan and Wonderland rides and experience those magical worlds that were so important to her as Wisp. I got a kick out of Edward’s reaction towards Chase. I was sad that Bella was opposed to marriage, sad that that isn’t in the cards for them, but very understandable that she’d shun religion given her experiences. The decision about children was a sad, but responsible one. This is definitely a high maintenance relationship, and there were definite sacrifices that Edward had to accept in order to make it work, but he was happy with his choice and didn’t sound regretful about it, with perhaps the exception of the marriage part. Glad the monsters had been caught and that she faced down her dad. Personally, I would have thought that if they were going to take a first vacation, stressful Disney Land would not have been on the list. Why subject Bella to that on a first attempt. A nice , uncrowded , picturesque island vacay would’ve been my suggestion.

        • rita01tx

          Mornin’, Kay darlin’! I certainly wouldn’t turn my nose up at an island vacay…say the Maldives, for instance? However, Wisp was totally besotted with Peter Pan and when did she ever shrink from a challenge to grow? So strong despite everything she’d go through! Of course, it didn’t hurt to have Edward and the whole Cullen family on her side, did it? Yup! Wisp will be one of those fics we’ll never forget *fist bump!*

  4. bevey99

    I read WISP as a WiP, and it took a long time but was so worth it. Now I been diligently working on my TBR list for the last month, and have read about 40 fics since 3/1. Yep sounds like that all I’ve been doing. I know Rita loves this fic but I just started it. A Dove’s Cry – which also centers on child abuse. SO some highlights of my marathon reading -Dear Veronica; Dead Man Walking; Catwoman; If We Ever Meet Again; and The Champagne Club. All are on FF, and completely different from each other. There re also some WIP to rec, if you already haven’t started, Shaky Ground, Gothic, and Grad Night. I am a reading machine these days. xo to you Rita

    • rita01tx

      Oh, my! You HAVE been a busy little bee, Bev darlin’ LOL! Okay…lemme see! Out of the completed fics you mention, I’ve only read A Dove’s Cry, Dead Man Walking and Catwoman and I’m followin’ those three WIP’s!
      Anyone wants links, just holler, otherwise I’m gonna leave you to your own devices! I will, however, give you the authors to make your search easier:
      A Dove’s Cry by Karenec
      Dear Veronica by Cosmogirl7481
      Dead Man Walking by MandyLeigh87
      Catwoman by Counselor
      If We Ever Meet Again by Pattyrose
      The Champagne Club by Shahula
      Shaky Ground by LatteLemon
      Gothic by Author-Self-Insert
      Grad Night by Robzbeanie

  5. xpreadmywings

    Oh Rita *sighs* I read Wisp as a WiP and my heart stuttered at every chapter and it seems Torn is going to make it too! I have to read it!

    Do you remember https://www.fanfiction.net/s/6856375/1/A-Voice-in-the-Darkness, an O/S by katinki? “My name is Isabella. Just Isabella. Everything has been taken from me. I am one of the unseen. I am one of the unheard.” Nooo, it didn’t end well and yet … I read it because it was katinki’s.

    Oh sweet baby J and Loner? Holly molly, do you remember https://www.fanfiction.net/s/4887478/1/The-Vampire-in-the-Basement by michellephants ? “While hunting one afternoon, the boys stumble upon what appears to be a corpse. When they learn it’s a severely broken vampire, they take him home to do what they can to help. But of course, fate has plans for this man.” Complete with 32 chapters, rated M. HEA

    And although there’s no abuse but there’s loneliness:
    https://www.fanfiction.net/s/6867084/1/Beautiful-Savage by readingmama – “After getting lost in the woods on a camping trip, Bella finds a man who is living a different life. Can two such different worlds mesh when communication is nearly impossible?” Complete with 29 chapters, rated M. HEA
    A heartbreaking excerpt: “[…] Bella wrapped her arm around Edward as they watched Jake sitting at the entrance of the woods. He held their gaze for a few moments before turning and heading back into the woods. It was likely the last time they would see any of the wolves, and Bella’s eyes welled up when Edward raised his hand and whispered, ‘Goodbye.'” *sniffs*

    https://www.fanfiction.net/s/6971432/1/The-Cottage by kitkat681 – “At 16, Edward stumbles across a fairy-tale cottage deep in the woods. The frightened young girl he finds hiding in the trees haunts his dreams for years to come. Why is she alone in the woods? How can she survive?” Complete with 31 chapters, rated M. HEA
    Another heartbreaking excerpt: “Isabella was only ten years old when she dragged her mother’s body out of the only home she had ever known and laid her to rest in the shallow grave she had dug.
    With tears running down her cheeks, she covered her mother with dark damp soil and patted it flat. […] After rinsing her hands in the freezing cold creek, Isabella wandered back to the cottage and, after reading her mother’s last words, collapsed onto the floor. She was truly alone now.”

    Happy Easter / Pessach to you all girls! Hope to see you next week!

    • rita01tx

      {Sorry for the delay, Musette darlin’! Had to break you out of jail for usin’ so many links LOL!}
      The Cottage has been callin’ my name for a while, now, so I’ll be shiftin’ it to the top of my TBR now. I’ve read and enjoyed the hell out of the others!
      Yeah, I remember thinkin’ The Vampire in the Basement was never gonna be finished when the author popped up after more than a year…close to two, if I remember correctly, and brought it all home for us! What a rush!!!
      Beautiful Savage was really good, too! There was a similar fic around the same time called:
      Feral by Opal Aline
      https://www.fanfiction.net/s/6615810/1/Feral
      When Bella signed up for a summer archeology program, she thought she’d be exploring fossils and sedimentary rock. Little did she know, she would find herself the primary caretaker for a man with no verbal capacity or human interaction skills-a feral man
      Rated: Fiction M – English – Drama/Hurt/Comfort – Chapters: 35 – Words: 123,153 – Reviews: 4,409 – Favs: 3,134 – Follows: 2,735 – Updated: Dec 29, 2012 – Published: Jan 2, 2011 – Status: Complete – id: 6615810
      In Beautiful Savage, Edward at least had the company of wolves. In Feral, he was all alone!
      Both brilliant fics in their own right!!!

    • Ohhhh I loved The Vampire in the Basement! Luckily for me I read it as a completed fic. I have BS on my list already, Feral too, but I just downloaded The Cottage, so thank you for the rec. And for you I have, A Friend in Heaven by winndsinger. I can’t paste the link (sometimes I can, but other times it won’t work for me, sorry.) You may have already read this one. I read it a while ago, but I remember that it touched me so. It evolves from a fairly dark, angsty story to a lovely tear-jerker.

      • rita01tx

        Kay darlin’…after The Red Line, anything Winndsinger writes is gold and A Friend in Heaven was four stars on my TBR!!
        https://www.fanfiction.net/s/4634667/1/A-Friend-in-Heaven
        It is the 1980’s and Edward left home 10 years before to feed off the living. He is becoming very dark and isolated from humankind. Then he attempts to save a young God-loving girl and must watch over her for a few days. Some bondage scenes.
        Rated: Fiction M – English – Edward – Chapters: 25 – Words: 59,574 – Reviews: 317 – Favs: 319 – Follows: 76 – Updated: Nov 13, 2008 – Published: Nov 4, 2008 – Status: Complete – id: 4634667

        • I’ve not read The Red Line, but it’s been on my list for quite some time.

          • rita01tx

            OMG! I almost wish I hadn’t already read it so we could hold hands and read it together ’cause you thought Wisp was tough? The Red Line will tear you apart at the seams! These are just the first few lines:

            No kid ever stands up on the stage at school and says, “I want to be a whore.”

            Back then, I used to say I wanted to be a doctor. My friends would say cop, fireman, soldier…those are nice dreams too.
            But this is the real world…and dreams just don’t come true. I know that now.

            I am a whore. My name is Edward. There are no last names when you’re a whore so I am not a Cullen right now. It’s time to punch in for work.

            • Hi girls,

              I think I will not follow you to read Wisp, I remember after reading Torn I was wrecked during some times… hard to read
              I tried to read The Red Line but yeah it’s tough.. there is sequel to The Red Line
              https://www.fanfiction.net/s/6498122/1/Coloring-Outside-the-Lines
              Yes, it’s the sequel to Red Line, finally! Edward and his family are starting their new life in Wyoming and it will not be easy. Can Edward really leave his past behind him and start all over again, being a father, lover, and cowboy?
              Rated: Fiction M – English – Drama/Romance – Edward, Bella – Chapters: 44 – Words: 438,020 – Reviews: 7,103 – Favs: 3,160 – Follows: 2,024 – Updated: Jun 29, 2011 – Published: Nov 23, 2010 – Status: Complete – id: 6498122

            • Wow, thanks for the heads up. I’ve got my bbp (big girl panties) firmly in place, lol. And my tissue box and glass of wine on my bedside table. But before I get to another heavy read, I’m going to indulge myself in a few quickie, just to break it up. I’m kinda in the mood for Darkward, though.

              • rita01tx

                Oooh, I do love a good Darkward but my sweet tooth is kickin’ up on me and I just might have to go Geek for a while LOL!

  6. Hi,

    I’ve read mostly all of the stories everybody rec’d…
    I’ve read Torn by dooba … but not Wisp and Loner yet …
    Vampire in the Basement was wow….
    this one is dark too

    https://www.fanfiction.net/s/5393919/1/Darkest-Before-the-Dawn

    What if Edward finally found his mate, but she had a troubled past and wanted to kill herself? Could he help her find a reason to live? Could she show him what he had always been missing? DARK themes, rape discussion and sexual content. AU, EPOV
    Rated: Fiction M – English – Hurt/Comfort/Romance – Edward, Bella – Chapters: 51 – Words: 271,773 – Reviews: 2,552 – Favs: 1,632 – Follows: 1,112 – Updated: Jan 24, 2012 – Published: Sep 22, 2009 – Status: Complete – id: 5393919

    I’m following the most of the WIP too.. plus some others like

    The Bull Rider by Edward’s Eternal
    A Mate for Edward by alternatetwilight
    Redemption of A Lost Soul by TwiAddictAnne
    She’s Not the Same Girl Any More by 2brown-eyes
    Clallam by Jonesn

    and this one O/S
    https://www.fanfiction.net/s/11056837/1/
    When Bella needs to get a sports physical done for a college class, what happens when Edward is her doctor? **My non-winning entry for The May to December Romance Contest** Enjoy!
    Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance – Bella, Edward – Words: 3,070 – Reviews: 26 – Favs: 115 – Follows: 65 – Published: Feb 18 – Status: Complete – id: 11056837

    Happy Eastern for those who celebrate 🙂

    • rita01tx

      Happy Easter, Zveka darlin’!
      I remember findin’ Darkest Before the Dawn years ago but I don’t know why I haven’t read it yet. Guess I needed a shove LOL!
      We’re followin’ the same WIPs again, except for Redemption of A Lost Soul! New author to me so I’ll have to check out all the other fics on her profile…thanks *fist bump!*
      And HUGE thanks for remindin’ me about DaCherry! Coulda sworn I had her on Alert for The Restaurant but my TBR only had chapter 7 as the last update when it’s actually already reached 40!
      Anyway, it’s fixed now so I won’t be missin’ any more LMAO!

  7. well if you want to stay to the dark side of the moon Rita Darkest Before the Dawn is for you … it’s not child abuse but this Bella lived a hell..

    I was cleaning my e-mail box when I crossed DaCherry O/S and I have The Restaurant on alert.
    I’ve read TwiAddictAnne Flashes-of-Bronze and find it cute 🙂

    https://www.fanfiction.net/s/10671547/1/Flashes-of-Bronze
    It’s a combination of flash fics for the Twilight25 Challenge, Round-9. There is going to be 25 flash fics all having the same main character – Edward Cullen. All chapters will be independent flash fics.
    Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance/Hurt/Comfort – Edward – Chapters: 26 – Words: 15,541 – Reviews: 289 – Favs: 27 – Follows: 43 – Updated: Dec 6, 2014 – Published: Sep 5, 2014 – Status: Complete – id: 10671547

    Have a great after noon 🙂

  8. ClaireBamboozle

    Happy Easter Rita, sorry I’m late but it’s been a busy couple of days with the kids off 😀
    More fics to snag for reading later, not complaining, but I have no idea when I’ll ever catch up.
    Don’t scoff too many eggs honey…l’m sat here with a chocolate hangover, trying to muster the energy to take the kids to the park to run off some of that excess energy.
    Hugs xx

  9. xpreadmywings

    Winndsinger? The Red Line’s Winndsinger? ——> *scurrying of to read* LOL
    Thank you Rita for bailing me out of jail, I’ll be on my best behaviour from now on *winks* and ooohhh I’ve read Feral!
    Wait, wait is there another rec? Darkest Before the Dawn? *shivers* I’ll step in very carefully…
    Claire, my beautiful wicked Claire B *winks* watch out that chocolat!
    Bai!!!!

    • rita01tx

      Yup! The one and only Winndsinger, Musette darlin’! Our girls have come up with some outstandin’ recs today…enjoy LOL!

    • ClaireBamboozle

      Hi Musette *big hugs* chocolate is my weakness, I never seem to get fed up with it like I do with other foods from time to time, which is why I’ll never see a size eight again, lol.

  10. xpreadmywings

    Oh and as for my WiPs: Come Back Tomorrow by Shadow Masen, Greed by the fantabulous Robsmyyummy Cabanaboy, Dream Weaver by TwiAddictAnne, The Infinity Axiom by miss.eli and another 150+ (only counting the ones updated from Dec’14 onwards) *I’ve no will, remember?*

    • rita01tx

      Ha! You’n me both, hon! I have all the WIPs you mentioned on alert until they’re complete. Then it’s a crap shoot which one I’ll grab first LOL!

  11. I’ve used a tiresome cold as an excuse to read-read-read instead of doing the other stuff I should be doing. Just this weekend I polished off
    Rescission by GeekChic12, a charming and sexy AH story with Bella as an ER resident that probably everyone but me has already read
    https://www.fanfiction.net/s/9533161/1/Rescission
    Enough by Sydney Alice, a quick and amazing little AU, with intriguing variations on the canon setup
    https://www.fanfiction.net/s/8585658/1/Enough
    Edward’s Sister by Powered by 23 Kicks (a new author to me, found this one via TwiFanfictionRecs top 10 poll for March). OK, I have to warn you this one is about incest – which when I think about my actual brother is an unconditional Oh Hell No, but if my brother looked like Rob and had a heart like Edward?? Character and relationship development is terrific, and she does a great job of conveying the roller coaster ride their choices put them on. Family and friends are excellent too.
    https://www.fanfiction.net/s/10929540/1/Edward-s-Sister

    I was so tempted to join you reading Wisp … maybe soon. Cris’s AU As Children After Play has a Bella with an abusive father (evil Charlie was hard to read), who is rescued by Edward and the whole family. If someone made me write a top 10 fics list, this one would be on it (along with VitB). Fabulous in sooo many ways.
    https://www.fanfiction.net/s/6142143/1/As-Children-After-Play

    And how have I never heard of The Loner?? Or Darkest Before the Dawn?? Torn has been on my list for a while but has just moved up. And oooh, Winndsinger…
    Thanks so much ladies for keeping me from missing the good stuff!

    Renée

    • rita01tx

      Hi, Renee darlin’! Had to bail you out for usin’ too many links, as well LMAO! More than three sends it into moderation for my approval, which I do asap!
      So, Enough by SydneyAlice is the only one I’ve read from your list of recs but it’s so long ago, I forget what it was about…the summary doesn’t jog my memory LOL! But it’s SydneyAlice so you KNOW it’s good!
      You may have bypassed Torn because it updates very slowly…the author is Dutch, which you wouldn’t know from readin’, and she has a super busy RL to contend with!
      What’s weird, is I never have to go back and reread the previous chapter(s) to get caught back up! I always remember exactly what happened, which is unheard of LOL! Of course, I read a few anyway simply to prolong the experience, knowin’ it will be a looong time until the next update *sigh!*

    • I’m so late with this reply, doubt you’ll see it, but I wanted to thank you for the recs. I had ACAP on my list, but I’ve added the rest. Rescission sounds good.

      • rita01tx

        Ain’t never too late, Kay darlin’! RA is open for business 24/7, although I do have to sleep sometimes LOL!

Leave Us Some Love & Tell us what You Think, Comment.

