Random Rita ~ Friday Fic Recs!

Wet Rob Avi

Evenin’ ladies!

You’ll be happy to hear I’ve actually got a COMPLETED fic for you today LOL!

Oh, and a brand new, hot off the press WIP…of course!

Red Strings of Fate is a unique fic written entirely using texts, emails and conversations on a particular message board recommended to Edward by Emmett which is always a recipe for disaster LMAO!

Rob Attack

https://www.fanfiction.net/s/5147873/1/Red-Strings-of-Fate

AH AU When Edward finally gets the chance at getting the girl, he has no idea what to do, so he turns to a message board called The Red Strings of Fate. A story told in technology.

Rated: Fiction T – English – Humor/Romance – Bella, Edward – Chapters: 17 – Words: 40,376 – Reviews: 1,043 – Favs: 764 – Follows: 426 – Updated: Mar 10, 2010 – Published: Jun 18, 2009 – Status: Complete – id: 5147873

See, there’s this girl who rides the bus to college with Edward every mornin’ but he’s too damn shy to talk to her until…

POSTED 12:08 PM ON THE RED STRINGS OF FATE MESSAGE BOARD

that_boy posted:

But there was something different about this morning. There was an unfamiliar rider that apparently decided to start the weekend (very) early. He reeked of alcohol and staggered onto the bus. I don’t know how he paid his fare, or why the driver let him on, but there you go.

He began leering at all the women on the bus, and honed in on my pretty girl. He stumbled over to her and began addressing her very loudly, calling her disgusting terms, and using foul language.

I was cowering against the window, with my fists clenched – I didn’t know what to do! This guy was drunk, and twice my size!

But when he began pawing at her, something in me snapped and I couldn’t watch anymore. I stood and walked down the aisle. I could feel everyone watching me. I grabbed the man’s shoulder and turned him around so he wasn’t facing her anymore. I told him to leave her alone. He laughed at me and stepped forward to fight back. I held up my hands, forgetting my phone was in one of them, and he shoved me, making the phone drop with a sickening clatter as I could hear it break. He stepped forward again, at exactly the time the bus took a wide turn, and he lost his balance and fell, hitting his head hard against the metal pole on the way down. It was hard enough to make a loud clang and I’d be surprised if he didn’t have a huge bruise tomorrow.

The girl had been hiding behind her book and finally looked up at me, those big, brown eyes shining with thanks. I could barely speak to her, but she gave me her number on a torn sheet of loose-leaf and said she wanted to thank me for what I did by taking me to dinner. I mumbled that I’d like that, and then we were at her stop. She smiled and told me to call her to set up a time, and then disappeared in the crowd.

I reclaimed my poor phone, and the rest is history.

So my question is: what do I do now? Call her? Text her? What do I say?

OMG! Watchin’ poor Edward wrestle with all the well meant advice will leave you breathless with laughter LMAO!

Read Red Strings of Fate to see if he got the girl!!!

~oOo~

Rob Attack

https://www.fanfiction.net/s/11279553/1/

Bella’s childhood life isn’t a happy affair, and Edward’s is even worse. They’re best friends, though the only interaction they can have is through a small hole in the fence separating their houses. As Edward’s situation deteriorates in his teenage years, Bella wants nothing more than to ease his suffering. But first she has to deal with the struggles in her own life…

Rated: Fiction M – English – Angst/Tragedy – Bella, Edward – Words: 527 – Reviews: 13 – Favs: 14 – Follows: 33 – Published: 1h ago – id: 11279553

If you know me at all, you’ll know baby Edwards and Bellas are my Achilles Heel!

Today I’m drawing a bird. It’s a blue one with a yellow beak and orange legs. Mama’s asleep in the house, so I tell my friend all about the blue bird.

“This is a magical bird. It’s five years old, just like me ‘n you. It’s magical ’cause it’s very big and very strong. It can talk,and kids can climb on its back. We should give it a name. What should we call it?”

“Um, how ’bout ‘George’?”

I stop coloring and look around my small space. Sometimes I talk to my friend, but she’s never talked back to me before.

“No, ‘George’ isn’t magical enough,” I say.

“‘Kay, what about, um…’Abracadabra’?”

I frown because my friend doesn’t sound right. I look around again.

“How come you sound like a boy?”

“Um, ’cause I’m a boy.”

“But you’re supposed to be a girl. And you can’t talk because you’re not real.”

“I’m…real.”

The boy voice sounds very sad all of the sudden. I don’t know what’s happening, but I don’t anyone to be sad.

“Okay, you can be real. What’s your name?”

“Edward.” He still sounds sad.

“I’m Bella. Are you five like me?”

“Yes.”

“Um, are you invisible?”

“No.”

“Then how come I can’t see you?”

“‘Cause I’m on the other side of the fence.”

Damn! I just wanna grab poor, sad little Edward and run like hell!

This one’s gonna break my heart, I just know it *sigh!* Then again, those stories that touch your heart in any way are the best!!!

What fics have your hearts thumpin’?

Happy Friday, y’all!

Rita

Night Raider

23 Comments

Filed under Fan Fiction Recs, Rita01tx

23 responses to “Random Rita ~ Friday Fic Recs!

  1. Wow, I appreciate your rec SO much! As a thank you, I’m going to put up another chapter tonight! ❤

    • rita01tx

      Hell’n I simply couldn’t wait to get the word out, Rachel darlin’! Wherever you take us on this journey, I will follow!

  2. ClaireBamboozle

    Hi Rita, thank you for bringing two more great looking recs our way.
    Hope you have a great weekend.
    Hugs xxx

    • rita01tx

      ClaireBear! {HUGS} They’re both definitely worth readin’ and you have my permission to indulge LOL! Red Strings is only 17 chapters…a quick read you’ll enjoy, I promise!

      • ClaireBamboozle

        I appreciate the permission, I just don’t have the time, hun, I’m trying to write some more R+P and an outtake for the Fandom4Leukemia and Lymphoma fundraiser. Why can’t I find a way to cram 30 hours into a day??

  3. dpennell007

    Red strings of fate looks adorable. A definite add to my TBR list.

    My companion on the train this week to/from work has been the completed fic Metaphysics https://www.fanfiction.net/s/5728755/1/Metaphysics

    ‘Edward & Bella are graduate students in London ‘coincidentally’ researching the same poets. More than 300 years after the fact, Carlisle & Edward must find out why Carlisle’s past won’t stay there – before Bella digs it up researching her thesis’… I can’t remember who recommended it, but it’s good!

    My very favorite WIP at the moment is The Fall https://www.fanfiction.net/s/10935954/1/The-Fall
    It’s a very slow burn, with possible heart-fail enroute. I almost wish I waited until it was finished – but it’s too late for me now!

    • rita01tx

      Hey, Donna darlin’! Metaphysics was one of those wonderful fics that took AGES to update so I mighta enjoyed it more if I’d waited until it was finished but talk about a rich, convoluted plot!
      One of these days {she says}, I’ll have to sit down and read it all again in one go LOL!
      Haven’t started The Fall yet but got my eye on it *noddin’ sagely!*

    • Oh, I quite enjoyed Metaphysics, with its twists n turns. I was surprised by Carlisle’s back story. I read this some time ago when it was still marked WIP, but I didn’t realize that until I finished. I wonder, did she just marked it complete as it was or did she actually continue the story? It didn’t end awkwardly before. I guess I need to check on this.

      • dpennell007

        Shoot! I hope it’s finished as I’m 24 out of 36 chapters in. Guess I’ll find out next week when I get there.

  4. bevey99

    Read a few this week, and a couple stand out. Both were good enough to add to my favorites list. One is very sad the other smutty w/ a plot.
    Honest Liar By: aWhiteBlankPage
    Bella once told me that there was nothing braver than a flower growing through a crack in the sidewalk. I laughed because she was always giving feelings to things that don’t feel. If she was standing next to me, I’d tuck the dandelion behind her ear. Or she’d blow on it and make a wish. A hundred wishes. Or maybe just one.
    Rated: Fiction M – English – Angst/Romance – Bella, Edward – Chapters: 29 – Words: 86,792 – Reviews: 3,075 – Favs: 1,847 – Follows: 2,017 – Updated: May 18, 2014 – Published: Jun 26, 2012 – Status: Complete
    https://www.fanfiction.net/s/8257657/1/Honest-Liar
    The Man on Stage
    By: DazzledIn2008
    Older Bella meets younger Edward after she sees him onstage. Equal parts plot and fluff (M-fluff). Short chapters with daily updates – hopefully.
    Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance/Angst – Bella, Edward – Chapters: 30 – Words: 28,372 – Reviews: 715 – Favs: 226 – Follows: 307 – Updated: Oct 14, 2013 – Published: Sep 27, 2013 – Status: Complete
    https://www.fanfiction.net/s/9719462/1/The-Man-on-Stage

  5. Both of these recs sound great. I’ve been reading short fics lately so RSoF would be perfect, and it sounds funny. It’s The Fence that really is calling to me though. I want to jump into this one, buuuuut I think I’ll put it on alert because I’m a wimp and it’s sounds like it’s going to be gloriously intense. The only thing that worries me a bit is that it’s categorized as a tragedy. Does that automatically mean that one of the main characters will face a tragic end? Oh, I will be eagerly awaiting this one to complete. This week I read, The Hard Way to Learn a Lesson by Stephaniiie. After I reminded myself that in fanfic world, it’s entirely plausible for a HS and parents to permit a project that requires students to temporarily move in together, I was able to enjoy this fic. Perhaps completely unrealistic in premise, it was a good read, with twists and turns.

    • rita01tx

      Wow! And it has over 15,000 comments! Not a bad haul for such a young author…well, at the time LOL!
      https://www.fanfiction.net/s/5161061/1/The-Hard-Way-To-Learn-A-Lesson
      AU/AH Bad boy Edward needs to be taught a lesson. So his teachers come up with a plan- ‘marry’ him to the best behaved girl in school! How will his ego survive spending ‘eternity’ with Bella Swan! Little OOC. NOW COMPLETE!
      Rated: Fiction T – English – Romance/Humor – Edward, Bella – Chapters: 70 – Words: 279,341 – Reviews: 15,824 – Favs: 6,998 – Follows: 3,219 – Updated: Jul 13, 2010 – Published: Jun 23, 2009 – Status: Complete – id: 5161061
      Thanks, Kay darlin’! Sounds like a fun romp and looks like I’m not the only one bein’ seduced to the T side LMAO!!!

  6. Thanks for rec’d Rita, I will wait for the wip to be complete, seams to be hard read this one…

    I read some shorts stories

    https://www.fanfiction.net/s/4296937/1/
    When Bella Swan meets Edward Cullen, she can’t stand him. He’s arrogant, rude, and annoyingly handsome. As she vents her frustration on her blog, Bella’s feelings change. Can Bella channel her online confidence into a real-life confession? R&R
    Rated: Fiction T – English – Romance/Humor – Chapters: 15 – Words: 14,504 – Reviews: 1,095 – Favs: 1,160 – Follows: 344 – Updated: Sep 25, 2008 – Published: Jun 3, 2008 – Status: Complete – id: 4296937

    https://www.fanfiction.net/s/9970982/1/Hunter
    Bella has always wanted to see Edward hunt, so she makes a deal with Alice. Takes place just after Eclipse. A tad ridiculous, but friendly to canon otherwise.
    Rated: Fiction K+ – English – Adventure/Family – [Bella, Edward] Alice – Chapters: 6 – Words: 6,726 – Reviews: 42 – Favs: 21 – Follows: 6 – Published: Dec 30, 2013 – Status: Complete – id: 9970982

    If you like to read pre Twilight stories Jessica314 wrote Tale of Years Series… all in EPOV….

    and Melt With You by Jenny0719… can’t put the link

    It’s her last Olympics and nothing matters to Isabella Swan except one thing: A final gold medal. Until she meets long time admirer and snowboarder, Edward Cullen. Suddenly, she finds that her win isn’t important without someone to celebrate it with. GOING FOR THE GOLD CONTEST WINNER. 1st place judge’s vote. 2nd place public vote.
    Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance – Bella, Edward – Chapters: 3 – Words: 26,729 – Reviews: 423 – Favs: 1,179 – Follows: 507 – Updated: Jan 27, 2014 – Published: Oct 25, 2012 – Status: Complete – id: 8640632

    • rita01tx

      Here’s the link for Melt With You, Zveka darlin’! I’ve read this one and enjoyed it very much…no excuse not to read it, ladies! Only 3 chapters!!!
      https://www.fanfiction.net/s/8640632/1/Melt-With-You

    • rita01tx

      Thanks for the rec’s, sweetie! Another new author in UnoriginalScreename LOL! Just read her one shot:
      The Consequences of Sneezing
      https://www.fanfiction.net/s/5007144/1/The-Consequences-of-Sneezing
      One-shot. A single sneeze can change everything.
      Rated: Fiction K – English – Humor/Romance – Bella, Edward – Words: 1,757 – Reviews: 48 – Favs: 86 – Follows: 12 – Published: Apr 20, 2009 – Status: Complete – id: 5007144
      I really like the way she writes and look forward to divin’ into The Locker Next Door!
      Haven’t read any of Jessica314’s fics yet and she has a LOT on her profile!!!

      • Thanks Rita for putting the link for Melt With You, all Jenny’s stories are great!
        I just read it the The-Consequences-of-Sneezing …excellent…

        Jessica314 have a lot of the stories, Hunter is the only 6 chapters so it’s fast read, her series pre Twilight are greats even if it’s hard to be in Edward head before Bella… it’s not really happy place to be beginning with his change and actually her wip is year 1950 when Alice and Jasper joined the family ….her writing is excellent, all her stories are rated T 🙂

  7. Just finished to read Red-Strings-of-Fate … thanks for rec’d this one … cute story and cute and sweet Edward and Bella 🙂

    coldplaywhore have a new story

    https://www.fanfiction.net/s/11283742/1/
    Bella has had a rough couple of months. She lost her job and has zero hope of a finding a new one, her savings has run out and she’s days away from eviction. To top it all off, she’s also lost her wallet and can’t afford her coffee. What’s a girl to do? She would be crazy not to at least look into the job offer from the handsome stranger who covered her coffee bill, wouldn’t she? H
    Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance/Poetry – Words: 1,919 – Reviews: 85 – Favs: 137 – Follows: 270 – Published: 10h ago – id: 11283742

    • rita01tx

      Ah! You got the jump on me with Coldplaywhore’s new fic, Zveka darlin’ LOL! Hell’n I’m already hooked at chapter 1 *sigh!* Just couldn’t wait for it to complete!

Leave Us Some Love & Tell us what You Think, Comment.

