Random Rita ~ Friday Feature Fics!

Wet Rob Avi

Evenin, ladies!

In case none of you noticed the note I left in last post’s comments section, the summer has not been kind to those of us without airco!

Damn heat done sucked all the joy outta readin’ and, except for some thrillin’ WIP’s I’m waitin’ to see complete, nothin’ from my TBR got me excited enough to rec…well, until now!

Excited is an understatement when it comes to…

Rob Attack

https://www.fanfiction.net/s/7625549/1/The-Western

Edward is a hit-man with one rule; he doesn’t do women. When he learns his next target is Bella, he makes a decision that ends up changing his life – and hers.

Rated: Fiction M – English – Drama/Romance – Edward, Bella – Chapters: 25 – Words: 89,662 – Reviews: 684 – Favs: 669 – Follows: 410 – Updated: Jun 2, 2012 – Published: Dec 11, 2011 – Status: Complete – id: 7625549

“Now, as part of our cartel’s transformation, my colleagues and I are under instructions to clean up loose ends, as it were.”

“Loose ends?”

“Yes – any unfinished business that could look bad in the near future. Problems we don’t want to touch ourselves. I have only one such problem, and that’s why I called you. But there’s a catch: it’s a woman.”

Now I understood why he’d had me come down here before giving me the details; I wouldn’t have come otherwise.

“And if I refuse?”

“Then I’m afraid you become a loose end yourself, Edward.”

“Tell me about the job.”

“Here’s what you need to know. She’s a prostitute, a nobody, like I said.” He reached into his shirt pocket and handed me a photograph. Oh, fuck no. This couldn’t be happening, I thought as I looked into the same brown eyes I’d torn myself away from this morning. “She works at the brothel in Medina, do you know it?”

“Yes.”

“Good. I want the job done tonight, and most importantly, I don’t want a body. Got that?”

“No body.”

“Nothing that can be identified, anyway. And there’s another catch – this time I need proof.”

“Proof? What are you talking about?”

“I need proof that she’s dead.”

Well, it wouldn’t be much of a story if he actually killed Bella, now would it? But what’s she doin’ in a brothel? Why does this creep really want her dead? Most importantly, how does Edward get them the hell out of this mess?

“Should my eyes be open?”

“Were they open when I shot you?”

“No.”

“Then no, they’d stay closed.” I stood up and looked down at her. “That’s perfect. Try to hold that while I make a puddle under your head.” I gently lifted her head a couple inches off the ground and poured out some corn syrup. It wasn’t quite as red as blood, but I was hoping that in the fading light of evening, the camera wouldn’t catch the slightly off color. “You’re going to get some in your hair.”

“That’s okay. It’ll wash out.”

I eased her head back down onto the puddle and added a little more syrup for good measure. Then I looked at her bullet wound again. If I’d shot her in the back of the head and the bullet had left through her forehead, there would be blood trickling down her face. I crouched down again and used the edge of the knife to drip corn syrup onto her forehead, watching it slowly slide down into the dust.

She opened her eyes to watch me, and then cast her gaze toward the horizon. “So the bullet would have gone in to the ravine?”

We seemed to be thinking alike. “Yeah. There’s no reason for me to pretend to find it.”

I stood and took the picture. It wasn’t perfect but she definitely looked dead. Only a forensics expert would catch the mistakes we’d made, and I highly doubted Mala would be sending these photos off to a crime lab.

Just so you know, Bella is no shrinkin’ violet in this fic! She’s clever, intuitive and turns Edward’s world upside down LMAO!

This fic is one you won’t soon forget nor will you be able to resist rereadin’ it every now and then for years to come!

~oOo~

Rob Attack

https://www.fanfiction.net/s/11370259/1/Island-Nights

I would always remember him as a dangerously beautiful twenty-two-year-old, a sensual and affectionate lover who could put a gun to a man’s head and pull the trigger. Why I couldn’t forget him was no mystery. I was still in love with him.

Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance/Angst – Bella, Edward, Emmett, Rosalie – Chapters: 2 – Words: 8,943 – Reviews: 86 – Favs: 145 – Follows: 282 – Updated: 17h ago – Published: Jul 10 – id: 11370259

Bella and Rose are workin’ at a tropical island resort for six months to pay for a long planned trip to Europe.

The word is that Edward can get you anything you want. He regularly leaves the island, returning with illicit drugs, available for sale to both staff and guests. He also takes orders for life’s necessities, so he provides an essential service. A good bottle of shampoo is like gold around here.

No one asks where he goes, but he always catches an early boat and doesn’t return until late.

He does most of his business here late on Friday nights when management allows us to join the guests in the main bar, as long as we are dressed appropriately and represent the resort professionally.

There are rumors about female employees making extra money keeping male guests company on “Island Night,” as the staff refer to it, and that Edward supplies them with whatever they want to enhance the experience.

Are all these rumors true? If they are, will it make any difference to Bella?

You’ll be as spellbound as me watchin’ her try to resist him LOL!

~oOo~

Rob Attack

https://www.fanfiction.net/s/11377834/10/The-Summer-Before

It’s the summer before college, and what better way to spend it than with friends on the beach. Love, sand, and the ocean is what awaits them. Can two people with difficult pasts move on? A birthday fic for Kyla713

Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance/Angst – Bella, Edward – Chapters: 10 – Words: 16,073 – Reviews: 263 – Favs: 166 – Follows: 272 – Updated: 1h ago – Published: Jul 13 – id: 11377834

Bikinis √

Sarongs to cover said bikinis √

Cut offs √

Shorts √

Romper √

Dress √

Flip flops √

Sunscreen

Bella, staying a beach house with a good friend before starting college, one big fat check. She was packed and ready to go minutes before her best friend since preschool drove up to the curb of the house. The high-pitched beeps made her yelp, causing her mother to laugh down the hall.

“Better get a move on, or Angela is likely to leave without you.”

Not likely…the girls on their way to Cayucos Beach, California!!!

“You need to see this, Angela.” The near breathless quality of her voice had her friend running to join her by the window.

The sight before Angela made her nearly swoon. “I think I’m really going to like it here.”

Three boys, not much older than Bella and Angela, were tossing a football around on the beach. A dog ran around them, barking with its tail wagging. One of them had a guitar along one side of his body as he tossed the ball high into the air, seemingly laughing as the dog tried to intercept. He knelt to rub the dog’s ear and say something to his friend. A few more guys joined them within seconds, and the scene looked more like a photoshoot rather than real life. There were a lot of board shorts, backward caps, and lean muscled abs.

Bella smiled as the guitar-holding boy shielded his eyes as one of his friends pointed toward their house and waved. “I say summer is looking very promising.” She waved back, but before she had a chance to go outside, Alice called out for them from the front of the house. Bella and Angela shared a look. “I’m suddenly not feeling so tired. You?”

“Nope.”

Super fun summer readin’…we should all be so lucky LOL!

~oOo~

Rob Attack

{banner by Christag Banners}

https://www.fanfiction.net/s/11382261/1/Unexpected-Complication

Homeless Bella seeks shelter from a storm in an abandoned warehouse. But while she is there, she witnesses something she should never have seen. It was a case of being in the wrong place at the wrong time. After discovering her, the gunman realizes he has no choice but to protect her from what she’s seen. He has to save her—even if she fights him—even if she hates him.

Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance/Humor – Bella, Edward – Words: 1,947 – Reviews: 275 – Favs: 598 – Follows: 954 – Published: Jul 15 – id: 11382261

Two gunshots rang out, hitting Blond guy in the chest. He jerked once, his body spasming and arching and then he sagged to the right, the weight of him toppling over the chair. Silence filled the room, none of the men moving. I covered my mouth with both hands, trying to stop the screams that were threatening. I was freezing cold—long shivers running through my body at the shock of what I had just witnessed. Silent tears ran down my cheeks as I bit my knuckles; trying not to make any sounds.

I buried my face into my knees, desperately wishing I had never found that hole in the fence. I needed them to leave. Then I could run. Run far away and scream. Footsteps faded away and I could hear the two remaining men speaking in low tones.

Gunman cleared his throat. “Come out.”

My body locked down. Who was he talking to?

“I said, come out of there. Now.”

I didn’t move. I couldn’t move. Blind fear kept me immobile.

Footsteps approached, and before I could blink, a large hand wrapped around my bicep and I was pulled out of my little dark corner, and tossed into the center of the room.

Cold metal pressed hard against my forehead. “And what have we here?”

OMFG! This fic has me bitin’ my nails and it’s only one chapter in *DIED!*

What fics have you so excited, you can’t wait to share????

Happy Friday, y’all!

Rita

Night Raider

40 Comments

Filed under Fan Fiction Recs, Rita01tx

40 responses to “Random Rita ~ Friday Feature Fics!

  1. rita01tx

    HUGE thanks to Donna for introducin’ kts with her rec of A Slow Boil while she was at the TFMU in Philadelphia on June 26th!!!

  2. dpennell007

    OMG! Check, check, check and check! I’m in 100% agreement with you. Just recently read and favorited The Western. Loved it!

    I’m still at work but TGIF.

    • rita01tx

      Hi, Donna darlin’! TGIF indeed *high five!*
      Just started A Slow Boil while I was at it LOL! That kts is amazin’, ain’t she?
      https://www.fanfiction.net/s/7052343/1/A-Slow-Boil
      Bella’s an exchange student hoping to find a job to keep herself employed for the summer so that she can stay on at an exclusive University. Her best job prospect is a part-time housekeeping position with one Mr. Cullen.
      Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance/Humor – Bella, Edward – Chapters: 25 – Words: 83,904 – Reviews: 2,307 – Favs: 3,616 – Follows: 1,291 – Updated: Feb 3, 2012 – Published: Jun 5, 2011 – Status: Complete – id: 7052343

      • rita01tx

        Yay! A Slow Boil was a really fun read…luscious, juicy lemons after a large helpin’ of heavenly UST and I mighta gained a pound or two just droolin’ over all the wonderful food Bella cooked for Mr. Cullen *groan!*

        • dpennell007

          Oh yeah – the menus Bella planned were fantastic! I love reading sweet HEA’s.

          Once you start reading a story – you sure don’t mess around!

          • rita01tx

            Depends on whether or not the story can hold my attention throughout…this one certainly did LOL!

            • dpennell007

              kts is pulling A Slow Boil by the end of August to publish. This is her announcement:
              https://www.fanfiction.net/s/7052343/26/A-Slow-Boil

              Hello readers – remember me? I’m sorry I’ve been absent from writing for so long. I succumbed to a ferocious case of writer’s block half way through my third story (I am still hoping to return to it) and although I haven’t been writing I do occasionally check my emails and traffic stats, etc.

              After a couple of recent readers asked for a PDF form of A Slow Boil, coupled with the persistent urging of a dear friend, and the surprising amount of traffic the story still gets, I’ve decided to take the plunge and publish A Slow Boil on Kindle. Sadly that means I must remove it from . I don’t know how soon this will happen but it may be as early as the end of August

              I wanted to give you as much of a heads up as I could and not simply yank the story without explanation.

              Thank you again to everyone who’s read and followed the story.

              kts

              • rita01tx

                Thanks, Donna darlin’! Good thing we’ve already read and pdf’d it but I don’t blame her for tryin’ to give it a wider audience…it’s a damn good read! Now, if only she would finish her WIP *poutyface!*

  3. kitt

    That Island Nights manip seriously has me all flustered! I’ll be back when I can think straight again.

  4. rita01tx

    Don’t take too long, Kitt darlin’ LOL! Since she hasn’t mentioned who made that super cool banner, and it’s not signed, I’m assumin’ Compass54 did it herself…OMG, the look on his face *THUD!*

    • kitt

      3 weeks later, and I’m back. 🙂

      I think I popped on here rec a story that was just starting and got so derailed by that pic. I don’t mind saying that I liked the movie ‘Cocktail’ and that’s where my head went with waterfall sex and
      Bella saying: ¨Bet I can spook you.¨ LOL!
      The summary suggests something much different though that sounds awesome!

      Here’s my rec for a new & short, complete expanded o/s:

      One And the Same
      https://www.fanfiction.net/s/11385262/1/One-And-the-Same

      btw…I wrote it! LOL! #selfpimpage

  5. bevey99

    I read Island Nights as a o/s. So here are a couple more expanded o/s that are really good. https://www.fictionpress.com/s/3233003/1/More-Ferarum
    More Ferarum By: IReen Weiss
    I’m still technically married. I still technically wear my wedding ring. It’s on a chain around my neck. With his. He still won’t sign the divorce papers. I still don’t want him to. This was entry in TLS Angst Contest-it was by far my favorite. She has moved it to FctionPress which oddly looks exactly like FanFiction site. But she has renamed the characters.
    2nd one –Cold By: shouldbecleaning
    The winter of 1869 recorded a low temperature that would last for more than one hundred and fifty years. The only thing colder ever recorded was Isabella Cullen’s marriage bed. Entry for the Caveat Emptor: Maybe An HEA? contest https://www.fanfiction.net/s/11287145/1/Cold
    I’m not a fan of period pieces but her writing is so good it keeps me wanting to read more.
    Added The Western, and already have Unexpected Complication on alert.
    Great recs this weeks. xoxo Rita babe

    • dpennell007

      I’m reading both of those too! More Ferarum is a tougher read because it’s hard to see any light at the end of THAT tunnel. I’ve not heard of Fiction Press, but it DOES look the same as FF. (sadly it does not recognize my FF sign in – boo) I’m reading it on Wattpad on my phone and it’s on only on chapter 13 there instead of chapter 15.

      Cold is really good. I want to know how Bella is going to react to the confession of the ‘Tall Man’. I suppose it’s possible, but I can’t imagine him to be anyone else but Edward. Speaking of cold – I bet Rita is out cold right about now because I think it’s about 3 o’clock in the morning her time.

      • rita01tx

        Ha! You’d be wrong, Donna darlin’! Went to bed a while ago but what with my Bear flipfloppin’ all over my side of the bed, blockin’ the fan when he does get still and one of the kitties diggin’ me out with her sharp claws ’cause she’s hungry…again, I gave up tryin’ to sleep for now LOL! ‘Sides, I seem to be missin’ all the fun!!!

        • dpennell007

          Ha! I leave my phone on my bedside table and if I wake up in the middle of the night I look for the blue light indicating a message before I even look at the clock to see what time it is.

    • Hmm, second time this week Cold has come across my radar and piqued my interest. So Bev, on your rec, I’m a go grab it. Thank you.

      • rita01tx

        Loved Cold as a one shot but it’s confusin’ as hell that she left the one shot as chapter 1 and began repeatin’ the whole thing all over again startin’ with chapter 2. Looks like we’ll finally get something new to chew on when she updates with chapter 6!

    • rita01tx

      Thanks, Bev darlin’! Anything IReen Weiss writes is gold so More Ferarum gets bumped to the top of my TBR!

  6. Sorry to hear that you’re suffering the heat sans air conditioning. That sounds downright miserable. I have a love/hate relationship with a/c. I’ve missed you and the gals though. In the meantime , I finished The Loner (Nilla79), which I freakin loved. Agonizing, but excellent! Then I finally got around to Red Strings of Fate (cute), which you rec’d a while back. Next, I somehow (not consciously) read two NM AUs back-to-back, and surprisingly, enjoyed them both. Fork in the Road by Jane-with-a-y and What if I Told You. I wanted to man Edward up a bit in FitR, but it was a good read. Loved the Cullens in this fic. They play a significant role in the story, and the author crafted an amazing and touching interaction between them and Edward. WiITY was soo good. I loved it all the way until the sort of abrupt ending. It is completed, you are not left hanging, but I was left wishing for one more chapter. I think that’s unfortunate because it IS a very good read, I’d still rec it. But it would’ve been excellent, with a more satisfying last chapter.

    FitR https://www.fanfiction.net/s/6493971/1/
    Bella wakes up the day after her fateful birthday party to find Alice perched on her bed. Ever wonder if things might have turned out differently if Alice and Rosalie had interfered? Guided by Bella’s inner strength and determination, Edward must face both his human past and his vampiric future. Where will his decisions take their relationship? New Moon with a twist.
    Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance/Humor – Bella, Edward – Chapters: 32 – Words: 175,369 – Reviews: 1,084 – Favs: 1,038 – Follows: 643 – Updated: May 31, 2012 – Published: Nov 21, 2010 – Status: Complete – id: 6493971

    WiITY by ajsilentvoice https://www.fanfiction.net/s/6719390/1/
    After nearly a year, Bella finally finds a number for the Cullens in Ithaca, New York. A last minute invitation to a reunion bash at Mike Newton’s, though, leaves Bella drunk, alone, and holding a cell phone. Will a stupid mistake bring them together?
    Rated: Fiction M – English – Hurt/Comfort/Romance – Edward, Bella – Chapters: 14 – Words: 69,457 – Reviews: 1,103 – Favs: 1,087 – Follows: 1,004 – Updated: Dec 30, 2012 – Published: Feb 5, 2011 – Status: Complete – id: 6719390

    Now I’m reading a fic very different from anything I’ve ever read before…and so far, I like it. This fic features an Edward that’s quite overweight, and a Bella who’s skin and bones. Two of a Kind, by Nilla 79. https://www.fanfiction.net/s/7461162/1/ Bella, 23, and Edward, 25, meet at a social event. As far as appearances go, they couldn’t be more different, but they are instantly drawn to each other. Could they really be soul mates? And will the people around them accept their relationship?
    Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance/Hurt/Comfort – Bella, Edward – Chapters: 35 – Words: 153,679 – Reviews: 2,592 – Favs: 1,840 – Follows: 1,439 – Updated: May 20, 2012 – Published: Oct 13, 2011 – Status: Complete – id: 7461162
    I almost started A Slow Boil the other day, but opted for Bills’s story. I’ll make that next up. Your recs this week look great.

    • rita01tx

      Oooh! Thanks, Kay darlin’! Haven’t read A Fork in the Road or What if I Told You yet so I’m definitely lookin’ forward to divin’ into them soon!
      Two of A Kind was a very good read, as is anything Nilla79 writes! Addin’ my kudos to this rec!

  7. Sound like a enjoyable summer with these great reads!! 😀

    • rita01tx

      You can’t go wrong with any of them, Debbie darlin’! Anything been ringin’ your bell you’d like to share with the gang?

  8. Here in France we have also hot weather and non A/C in my house, but today Hourah!!! the rain finally!

    I read Slow boil maybe 2 years ago and love it now I need to read her other story 🙂
    I have some of the stories on my TBR list and I will add the others

    I have just one rec today…

    https://www.fanfiction.net/s/11347807/1/Love-Hurts
    By: Maplestyle
    I met Edward Cullen on my first day at my new high school. From that moment on we were practically joined at the hip. We dated for the rest of Junior year and all of Senior. Though we didn’t take that ultimate step in our relationship, we were very much in love… or so I thought.
    Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance/Hurt/Comfort – Chapters: 17 – Words: 5,987 – Reviews: 1,298 – Favs: 274 – Follows: 346 – Updated: Jul 6 – Published: Jun 30 – Status: Complete – id: 11347807

    until the end I was on the edge ….. it’s short but what a ride 🙂

    • rita01tx

      Hi, Zveka darlin’! Glad you’re survivin’ the heat…we’re gettin’ clouds and cool breezes today {helps livin’ so near the coast} so I’m hopin’ the worst is over *phew!*
      Sorry to say I haven’t read anything by Maplestyle…well, except when she collaborated with CullensTwiMistress on Seven Forty-Three, which was a damn good story!
      https://www.fanfiction.net/s/10223128/1/Seven-Forty-Three
      Maps dictate where we go, but they don’t always take us home. City subway tunnels and dim street lights converge, bringing two people infinitely closer. Will a chance meeting lead them to forever? Maybe it was only a matter of time. Collab with CullensTwiMistress. Romance; BxE; Rated M.
      Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance – Bella, Edward – Chapters: 21 – Words: 64,968 – Reviews: 919 – Favs: 443 – Follows: 453 – Updated: Jun 4, 2014 – Published: Mar 28, 2014 – Status: Complete – id: 10223128

      • Oh Rita what a great read was Seven-Forty-Three thank for the rec’d 🙂
        Hey I was dancing too soon with rain, it’s stopped just one hour later 🙂 still really hot here..

        • rita01tx

          Glad you liked it, Zveka darlin’! And it’s weird weather here at the moment…one minute I’m turnin’ all the fans on, in my direction, of course, and the next I’m turnin’ them all off!
          Good way to get sick if we’re not careful!

    • Added to my carousel, thanks zveka!

  9. Hitmanward! Yessssssssssssss!

  10. Wow that’s some heat wave if it took away your motivation to read! We had a couple nasty-hot weeks in western Oregon, too, and I’m so grateful to be back to normal weather. Let’s hope that stays away from all of us for the rest of the summer!

    You got my attention with “The Western” – good job selecting a teaser that gives us the tone of their interaction. How fun that they’re working together to fake her execution. I usually skip stories with Edward + gun, but I think I’ll make an exception. Thanks also for everyone’s comments about “A Slow Boil” by the same author.
    And I’m with you, Kitt – that photo of Rob in the banner for “Island Nights” grabbed me more than anything else in this post! No offense, Rita, but nobody can compete with The Pretty – whew!!
    ‘Unexpected Complication” sounds intriguing too (what is it with guns this week??), but with only one chapter so far, I’ll wait to hear what y’all think as you continue reading it.

    I have somehow gotten on an “old school” roll lately and have read a number of canonesque stories from 2008-2010. Two of them in particular are good enough to make my Top 20. My only question is how the heck did I miss them till now?

    One is the incredible “How Do I Live” by Bethesda Gray, who also wrote the current “Something Beautiful Remains”, which has been rec’d here recently. I think I found HDIL by checking her profile based on SBR – my apologies if someone rec’d it here and it just slipped my slippery mind.
    https://www.fanfiction.net/s/5735164/1/How-Do-I-Live
    When Edward abandons Bella to discover a human life for herself, the resulting damage is something that neither of them could have imagined, and neither can heal alone.
    Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance/Fantasy – Bella, Edward – Chapters: 27 – Words: 98,233 – Reviews: 814 – Favs: 541 – Follows: 264 – Updated: Jul 4, 2010 – Published: Feb 10, 2010 – Status: Complete
    I was just a few chapters in when I had to stop and squee all over the author by PM. This one is SOOO my fic catnip, great understanding of the characters + excellent writing + characters actually growing UP + masterful twists.

    The second one is “Remember Me” by Kelsismom. Again, if someone mentioned this one already, my apologies.
    https://www.fanfiction.net/s/5168601/1/Remember-Me
    Following James’s attack on Bella, she is left with amnesia, a broken leg, and no memory of the Cullens’ secret. When others have their reasons for keeping them apart, can Edward help her to remember? E/B
    Rated: Fiction T – English – Hurt/Comfort/Romance – Bella, Edward – Chapters: 21 – Words: 59,809 – Reviews: 298 – Favs: 205 – Follows: 71 – Updated: Sep 7, 2009 – Published: Jun 26, 2009 – Status: Complete

    I don’t understand how authors pull this off – very canon, and yet with a slight twist in canon events, she totally kept me guessing about where she was taking me! And even though it’s rated T, their connection was juicy enough that I didn’t miss the explicit lemons. Criminally under reviewed, IMO.

    Thanks as always, Rita. Believe it or not, I’m about to take a 5-day Zen retreat so with no electronic devices I’ll go longer without reading Twific than I’ve done in … years? Pray for me, please!

    Renée

    • rita01tx

      Hey, Renee darlin’! {{HUGS!}} Nope! You’re the first to mention your two recs and they sound right up my alley, too!
      I see Kelsismom has 3 more complete Twi fics on her profile that have intriguin’ summaries I may not be able to resist for long {just finished pdf’n them since they’re all complete}!

      Oh! Unexpected Complication updated today and the 2nd chapter already has a very cool twist! I’m so on board with this one *fist pump!*

      Wait…this Zen retreat isn’t an intervention, is it? ‘Cause you know there’s no rehab for the Robsessed, let alone breakin’ the fanfic habit LMAO! Just kiddin’, maybe! Anyway, hope you enjoy the break…just don’t get us washed out of your sweet, pervy bwainz!!!

    • Ooh Renée, your recs look so good. I’m grabbing them right away. I have my mind made up to read A Slow Boil and The Western next. At least that’s the plan, but then I think I’ll check out your recs. Thank you!

  11. rita01tx

    Hmmm, I feel the need for some classic RobPorn!

  12. rita01tx

    Like I said…

  13. rita01tx

    Best grab some Shamwows for this one!

Leave Us Some Love & Tell us what You Think, Comment.

