Random Rita ~ Friday Feature Fic!

Wet Rob Avi

Evenin’ ladies!

Oh, wow!

Didn’t think I was gonna make it today…been so lost in today’s rec LOL!

This author has 2 complete fics and 1 WIP on her profile, only the WIP hasn’t updated in a year. Still, when I started lookin’ for a somewhat dark…but not too dark, Vampward, the summary invited me in *gigglesnort!*

Rob Attackhttps://www.fanfiction.net/s/5761975/1/My-Blood-my-Conscience-and-your-Soul

Twenty-four year old Bella is forced into Edward’s life for a mysterious reason. Will she still fall for him when she finds out he is a vampire who drinks human blood? Rated M for dark themes & lemons to follow. COMPLETE

Rated: Fiction M – English – Angst/Romance – Bella, Edward – Chapters: 20 – Words: 111,485 – Reviews: 165 – Favs: 261 – Follows: 133 – Updated: Sep 8, 2012 – Published: Feb 20, 2010 – Status: Complete – id: 5761975

Although Bella never met any of the Cullens, she did see Alice and Jasper while she attended college with Angela, Jessica and Mike.  She never gave them a second thought until she and her friends run into Alice in a restaurant in Port Angeles!

“And who is the gorgeous guy with her?”

I mechanically try to peek but Mike is blocking my sight. He shifts in his chair and turns around just in time for me to see the man standing up to leave. That is not Jasper. And if I’m being honest, he is gorgeous. Tall, slender but visibly strong, with bronze disheveled hair and the face of a Greek statue: hard and expressionless. He’s looking down, hurrying toward the exit, and within two seconds he’s out the door.

Alice is still at her table, typing frantically on her cell phone.

We finished our meal and we are about to leave when I see her standing up and walking gracefully to the restroom.

I need to follow her. I don’t know why; I don’t have anything to say to her. I just need to.

I excuse myself and walk down the same hallway Alice had a few seconds ago. I open the door to the restroom and she’s there standing in front of me, as if she were waiting for me. I take two steps forward and close the door behind me.

“Bella, I need to talk to you about something, and you’re going to have to listen and accept what I’m about to say, even though you won’t understand.”

I just nod. For a second I regret following her.

“I thought I saw something, but everything is still wrong. It is not supposed to be like this. I’ve waited for a long time and now I’m afraid I might lose him forever.” She pauses for a second. Her face is impassive but in her eyes I see the suffering. She’s terrified.

“The man who was with you earlier?”

“Yes. Edward.” Her voice sweetening as she says his name.

I am completely lost. None of this makes any sense.

“Alice, I don’t think your family problems are any of my business, really. I’m sorry, but –”

“Bella, you don’t understand – I knew you wouldn’t – and I can’t explain. I’m not allowed to explain. Just listen to what I can tell you, the rest you’re going to have to figure out by yourself. I’ve tried to stay away until the time was right but I can’t wait any longer. This is killing me. He needs to come home. When the time to make a decision comes, just remember that sometimes the right choice isn’t the safer one.”

“Alice, wh -?

She walks past me and when I turn around she’s already gone.

Despite her better judgement, Bella is intrigued!

Angela and I say goodbye to Jessica and Mike and we get in the car. She turns the ignition and pulls out of her spot.

That’s when I notice a silver Volvo near the exit of the parking lot…and a tall man with bronze hair is leaning against it.

I recognize him.

Edward.

He’s staring right at me and my stomach clenches. As we drive right by him I get a glimpse of his face, and the feral expression on it. His eyes seem so dark, black, and the light of the street lamps makes them appear almost red. At this very second he looks like a wild animal, a predator ready to pounce on his prey.

Angela doesn’t stop and drives away before I can comprehend what I just saw. I don’t know if she saw it too, or what she thinks of it. I can’t ask her, either. If I do I’ll have to explain the whole story and I can’t.

Hell, intrigued isn’t a strong enough word for what Bella’s feelin’ after such a strange encounter, especially when she meets Edward again and becomes completely enamoured with him. The feelin’ is mutual, of course. She knows there’s something different about him but she doesn’t know exactly what…until an even stranger, more frightenin’ encounter occurs while she’s on an errand in Seattle for her employer!

One of them pulls at my arm and drags me back to my car, hidden in the darkness of the narrow, deserted street. My heart is beating so fast in my chest, the pounding resonates in my ears. His friends follow us and gather around us as he pushes me against the door, one of his hands holding my wrists behind my back and the other sliding inside my coat and under my sweater.

Suddenly I hear a loud growl echo in the shadows and he stops, looking around frantically. I remain completely motionless, my eyes wide open in shock as I see his accomplices being lifted off the ground one by one by something I can’t distinguish, and thrown against the concrete wall on the opposite sidewalk before falling on the ground, knocked out. It all happens so fast, mere seconds, I don’t understand what is occurring before my eyes. Another growl erupts in the darkness as the man still holding me is violently pulled away from me. He’s not thrown against the wall like the others, but forced to kneel in the middle of the street, held by what attacked them.

I can see it now. My heart gallops even faster and I sink down on my knees, my legs too weak to carry me. I’m beyond shocked by the sight in front of me.

It’s Edward.

His face is contorted in an aggressive expression, more threatening than I’ve ever seen him. He looks like a feral, vicious animal, a predator. He’s crouching behind my aggressor, one arm across his chest, holding him in place; the other hand fisted in his hair and pulling to the side, exposing his neck. Edward has his mouth on this man’s jugular, and I don’t comprehend what he’s doing until I see blood escaping from under his lips and rolling slowly down the neck of his…prey.

I lift my gaze to meet Edward’s stare and my heart stops. He’s looking at me as he’s… drinking… , his eyes locked on mine, and even in the semi-darkness I can see clearly the rich, burning red in them, dancing and flowing… just like blood.

I inhale sharply and it all goes black.

Sorry, I’m gettin’ carried away…don’t wanna give away the whole story but it’s an emotional rollercoaster that leaves you breathless as you watch Bella battle to stand her ground against Edward’s choice to feed off humans, even if they are criminals, and Edward’s desperate attempts to reason with her!

Also, I found myself in good company readin’ this fic…Camilla10 is also a huge fan LOL!  Now, ladies…this fic should have far more reviews so let’s see what we can do about that, shall we?

What fic(s) are you readin’ this week?

Happy Friday, y’all!

Rita

Night Raider

62 Comments

Filed under Fan Fiction Recs, Rita01tx

62 responses to “Random Rita ~ Friday Feature Fic!

  1. dpennell007

    OK I’ll bite (Haha). I can always go for a good vampire fic.

    My very enthusiastic pick of the week is Sway. Short, sexy dreamy. Loved it! https://www.fanfiction.net/s/10911063/1/
    A story of two people. Paths cross, lives blend and they discover they like each other more everyday. A simple, possible love story where the palms line the shore. EPOV
    Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance/Friendship – Chapters: 18 – Words: 31,289 – Reviews: 652 – Favs: 281 – Follows: 530 – Updated: Jul 13 – Published: Dec 23, 2014 – Status: Complete – id: 10911063

    I also read an oldie that was on my TBR list Inside Man by ooza. Very good.
    https://www.fanfiction.net/s/7043140/1/
    With his parole fast approaching, inmate Edward Masen is looking for a friend. College student Bella Swan stumbles across his profile on a prison pen-pal website. Their friendship is formed over written words, but will it last once he rejoins her world?
    Rated: Fiction M – English – Friendship/Romance – Edward, Bella – Chapters: 53 – Words: 89,972 – Reviews: 12,575 – Favs: 6,224 – Follows: 5,987 – Updated: Feb 23, 2013 – Published: Jun 2, 2011 – Status: Complete – id: 7043140

    • rita01tx

      Hey, Donna darlin’! I noticed Sway completed last week but I haven’t gotten to it yet *sigh!*
      Inside man…now that’s a good one! Read it quite a while ago so I might have to find time to skim over it again!

    • Hey Donna! Anything that comes with your enthusiastic endorsement is a must read, so I’m adding Sway onto my list. I have a fic by the same name on my list. It’s by an author named Hibbleton78 . Not sure what that one is about as it has no summary. I have Ooza’s fic already. Haven’t read it yet though.

      • rita01tx

        Mornin’ Kay darlin’!
        Hibbleton78 is new to me. Doesn’t seem to be any activity since 2012 but she has some interestin’ stories on her profile page. Ah ha! her Sway does have a summary!
        https://www.fanfiction.net/s/5362427/1/Sway
        Single mom Bella finally has life under control again when a new PD starts working at the same radio station and teaches her that she doesn’t have to be alone to take care of her responsibilities.
        Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance/Friendship – Bella, Edward – Chapters: 35 – Words: 199,675 – Reviews: 2,087 – Favs: 1,987 – Follows: 1,031 – Updated: Jan 3, 2011 – Published: Sep 8, 2009 – Status: Complete – id: 5362427

  2. Oh, Rita, that’s exactly my kind of story!! If I wasn’t leaving for my Zen retreat in a couple hours I’d be pulling it up right now. As it is, I’ve gotten all caught up in “Changing My Course” and have to leave that for a few days in the middle of the story. Arggghh! Oh well, both of them give me something to look forward to when I get back. I will definitely be helping you bump that review count up!
    Renée

    • rita01tx

      Have a great time on your retreat, Renee darlin’! In the meantime, I’ll keep the fics warm for you LOL!
      Changing My Course by twilover76
      https://www.fanfiction.net/s/8670473/1/Changing-My-Course
      Sparks fly when two strangers collide in the dark. Will Edward star in Bella’s future, or will the politics of her life be too much for him to handle? AH/M
      Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance/Drama – Edward, Bella – Chapters: 27 – Words: 127,642 – Reviews: 6,188 – Favs: 2,891 – Follows: 4,248 – Updated: Dec 1, 2013 – Published: Nov 4, 2012 – id: 8670473
      Well, dang…it’s not complete and she hasn’t updated sincce December 2013 *poutyface!*

      • ah this one is great, sure she didn’t update this one for long time… her others stories are great too

        if you want to read something light fluffy and sexy as hell …. her summary suck for this story …

        https://www.fanfiction.net/s/7189026/1/Fated-Love
        After a tragic death, Bella maintained a safe, yet lonely existence until an unexpected encounter on a stalled elevator ignited a fairy-tale romance. Bella and Edward throw caution to the wind and find what truly makes life worth living. AH/M
        Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance/Hurt/Comfort – Bella, Edward – Chapters: 32 – Words: 186,956 – Reviews: 1,675 – Favs: 1,777 – Follows: 1,270 – Updated: Nov 11, 2012 – Published: Jul 17, 2011 – Status: Complete – id: 7189026

        and this one is with olderward

        https://www.fanfiction.net/s/8092082/1/No-Ordinary-Proposal
        Bella wants to escape her small-town life and live her dreams in New York. What happens when a man almost twice her age makes her an offer she can’t refuse? AH/M
        Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance/Drama – Bella, Edward – Chapters: 37 – Words: 163,556 – Reviews: 10,841 – Favs: 8,043 – Follows: 6,544 – Updated: Dec 1, 2013 – Published: May 6, 2012 – Status: Complete – id: 8092082

  3. Oooh, this looks like my kind of story Rita. Once again you’ve piggy-jumped to the front of my next to read carousel. I’m excited for this one. I’ve finished A Slow Boil (favorited!) And I’m about 50% thru The Western and loving it. Great recs- I’ve had these gems collecting dust on my THE list for ages, so thank you for the terrific recs last week.

  4. A vampward, yay!!! And, it’s complete! Sounds perfectly perfect for this vamp lovin’, wip-phobic human, queuing it up now, love you!!!! Thanks!

    • rita01tx

      Mornin’ Robbie darlin’! I’m about 2 chapters away from the end and still lovin’ it! This author is from France so the writin’ is not without its flaws; however, it’s certainly not enough to detract from this story in any way!

  5. sandythestorm

    You always bring it or them and I trust you. Here we go…

  6. bevey99

    Yep Rita darling adding this one.
    I’m reading a vamp fic right now. Has all kinds of elements to it. Told the author it reminded me of a Hope & Crosby movie. At least in the beginning because the Jacob in this one cracks me up – like laughing out loud for real.
    And. there is an original on TWCS that was an E/B/J story but I haven’t read that version.
    https://www.fanfiction.net/s/7967399/1/Dark-Goddess-E-B-Version

    Dark Goddess: E&B Version By: Lissa Bryan
    A free-spirited archaeologist & a shy, absent-minded genius find a 500 year old vampire who thinks she’s a goddess. They’re try to sneak back to the US, teach her about the modern world, and trying very, very hard not to fall in love with the Dark Goddess. OOC/AU/Rated M
    Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance/Adventure – Bella, Edward – Chapters: 33 – Words: 154,588 – Reviews: 2,808 – Favs: 1,665 – Follows: 1,324 – Updated: Nov 24, 2012 – Published: Mar 28, 2012 – Status: Complete – id: 7967399

    • jmollytwilight

      Probably my favorite fic by Lissa Bryan. I recommend it, too.

      • rita01tx

        Oh, I agree with Molly *waves to Molly darlin’!* Dark Goddess was an excitin’, sexy and very funny fic!!!

        • jmollytwilight

          *waves back at Rita* Just wait ’til you see what Lissa’s writing for the Lymphoma charity. I love being her beta. 😉

          • rita01tx

            I’m expectin’ some great stories to come out of the Lymphoma charity, Molly darlin’! Can’t wait to read Lissa’s entry!
            Bein’ a beta does give us the priviledge of readin’ brilliant work before anyone else *high five!*

    • rita01tx

      Wait…Bevey darlin’, there’s another version on TWCS??? Oh, this I gotta see!
      http://www.twcslibrary.net/viewstory.php?sid=5702

    • Hmm, I added this story to my list after reading and favoriting her other story,Written in the Stars- but for some reason the summary never really called to me. I should’ve known better because her summary for WitS didn’t do it for me either, and I freakin love that fic hard. I’m definitely going to read this one, so thank you for rec’ing it.

      • rita01tx

        Written in the Stars was fuckin’ epic, Kay darlin’! I’couldn’t agree more!
        https://www.fanfiction.net/s/7502401/1/Written-in-the-Stars
        Edward is king of a dying race, his planet torn by civil war. Bella is abducted to become his bride. From college student to Queen… Can she learn to love this strange man and help save his people? AU/OOC, Rated M
        Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance/Sci-Fi – Edward, Bella – Chapters: 33 – Words: 167,029 – Reviews: 7,821 – Favs: 8,687 – Follows: 3,586 – Updated: Jul 22, 2012 – Published: Oct 29, 2011 – Status: Complete – id: 7502401

  7. did you read minds now Rita? lol I wanted to rec’d her other story few weeks ago and I forgot …
    https://www.fanfiction.net/s/7556268/1/His-Apartment

    After years spent living abroad, Edward comes back to the apartment he’s subletting to his sister Alice, thinking he’ll have to share it with her for at least a few weeks. But is she really the one living there? AH. E/B. M for lots of lemons! COMPLETE
    Rated: Fiction M – English – Humor/Romance – Bella, Edward – Chapters: 23 – Words: 90,718 – Reviews: 628 – Favs: 1,241 – Follows: 1,029 – Updated: Mar 17, 2013 – Published: Nov 16, 2011 – Status: Complete – id: 7556268

    I read the one you rec’d and love it, and I love it The Western 🙂 from last week 🙂

  8. I’m always up for a vampfic and there are lots of goodies to choose from. Thanks for sharing, ladies!!!!

  9. ClaireBamboozle

    Hi Rita…this turning up late to the party is really becoming a bad habit of mine, lol.
    I must admit, I don’t tend to read the vamp fics often, but this one does sound good, so I’ll be putting it on my ever expanding TBR list.
    Not reading a fic this week (too busy scribbling to get to the end of my own, lol)
    Hugs xx

    • rita01tx

      Ain’t never too late, ClaireBear! This vamp fic was just different and excitin’ enough to pull me into a couple marathon readin’ sessions to get through it LOL!
      Just like you, I have mixed feelin’s about reachin’ the end of Ride and Prejudice *sigh!* I have a feelin’ chapter 66 is gonna smooth down a lot of ruffled feathers LMAO!

      • ClaireBamboozle

        Yeah, it’s been a labor of love for the last 18months, but it’s all good, I have several other projects in the mix, so I don’t think it’ll be too long before we start posting something new 😀

        • rita01tx

          Ah, but which project? Decisions, decisions *finger tappin’ bottom lip*

          • ClaireBamboozle

            I hear Archaeologistward calling to me the loudest, although Taxanward could start to tug at my ear too…

            • rita01tx

              Taxanward? You wouldn’t mean Texanward aka Pestward, would you? He’s gorgeous *sigh!*

              • ClaireBamboozle

                Hehehehe, sounds like someone has a favorite lol, yes that’s my Texanward and I’ll forgive you, he is yummy.

              • bevey99

                Being really cruel you 2. You’re pushing the mean girl envelope w/ all your innuendos and hints. Didn’t y’all do this ‘couple weeks ago. You KNOW I’m on board w/ all ‘wards, but Texan – fanning myself.

                • rita01tx

                  Yay! I KNEW you’d be on my side, Bev darlin’!

                • ClaireBamboozle

                  Hahaha, I knew you’d bite Bevey. Here’s a teaser…

                  Flustered, red faced from the heat of the oven and clutching her injured arm, she flung the door open and was greeted by the owner of the python boots.

                  “Ma’am, I believe you called me about an unwanted visitor.”

                  Bella’s eyes widened as she drank in the vision on her doorstep. Tall, broad and handsome. His jeans clinging deliciously tight to his thighs and held in place by a huge silver buckle, shaped like a hooded cobra. Bella spent a beat too long focusing on his mid section before managing to drag her gaze further up his body. A simple, but well fitting white t-shirt accentuated his muscular chest and sinuous, tanned arms, then up a little more, past his shoulders and neck to his face. She half expected a chorus of angels to strike up at any moment. Dear Lord he was good looking. Angular, masculine and looking straight at her, with a crooked smirk.

  10. ClaireBamboozle

    Hahahaha Rita, Claire is avoiding writing a lemon…and Donna, I’m glad you like the look of my Pestward.

  11. dpennell007

    I read both completed stories from DayDreamingFairy, and she has one very sexy, confident Edward in ‘His Apartment’! French phrases lowly whispered at opportune times. Ohh yeah.

    And now I’m on chapter 9 of Dark Goddess – the Lissa Bryan story mentioned above. All good suggestions this week. Thanks ladies!

Leave Us Some Love & Tell us what You Think, Comment.

