Random Rita ~ Friday Feature Fics!

Wet Rob Avi

Evenin’ ladies!

Seems I’ve reached the tippin’ point where I’m followin’ so many WIP’s, I have no time to tackle a complete story *sigh!*

But how can you blame me when I keep runnin’ into new fics that leave my jaw on the floor in utter shock and awe!

Take a peek at these two and see if you can ignore their lure!

Rob Attack

https://www.fanfiction.net/s/11431228/1/Thirty-Three-Minutes

It took thirty three minutes for help to come. Thirty three minutes for that monster and his redheaded partner to completely obliterate her and her family. Now she’s going back home with her brother Emmett, her Dad, and reuniting with her childhood friends as she heals. Recovering takes it’s time, but it’s harder when she knows the people responsible escaped police custody.

Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance/Crime – Chapters: 2 – Words: 11,333 – Reviews: 11 – Favs: 9 – Follows: 11 – Published: 21h ago – id: 11431228

Came across this author on FB the other day. Another of her stories was bein’ rec’d but then this one started postin’ and I was helpless to resist!

Someone’s awake.

Two words. Innocuous enough.

Except when it’s 3 in the morning and the words are from the mouth of a total stranger right outside the door.

A stranger in my house.

“Just wait ’til they come out then we’ll start the fun.”

Where the first stranger had been female. The second was male.

There were two strangers in my house. They know I’m awake. They’re waiting for me to come out. Then they’ll start the fun.

I want to cry.

I’m literally paralyzed with fear.

What fun?

Oh God, what do I do?

Whatever you do, do NOT start readin’ this at night when you are all alone!!!!

This is a nightmare we’ve all dreamed at one time or another and, if you’ve ever lived through a home invasion for realz, you should probably give this one a miss and bless your heart!

~oOo~

Rob Attack

https://www.fanfiction.net/s/11308157/1/Red-Dawn

Edward had always warned Bella that the pack were dangerous. Hostile, volatile and aggressive in nature. She ignored him, testing even Edward’s own vampire instinct by staying friends with his enemy, Jacob. One event will change them all, Bella never truly understood the supernatural world, the reality of a vampire protecting his mate. WARNING: Character Deaths, Violence.

Rated: Fiction M – English – Drama/Romance – Edward, Bella – Chapters: 13 – Words: 119,426 – Reviews: 220 – Favs: 150 – Follows: 231 – Updated: 9h ago – Published: Jun 12 – id: 11308157

First heard of Red Dawn from TrillionSchiffer when she updated HORIZON on July 30th. I checked to see if it was anywhere near complete and I was hit in the face with this message:

****AUTHOR RECOMMENDATION*****

READ Red Dawn by JAM11, READ Red Dawn by JAM11, READ Red Dawn By JAM11, READ Red Dawn by JAM11, READ Red Dawn by JAM11, READ Red Dawn By JAM11, READ Red Dawn by JAM11, READ Red Dawn by JAM11, READ Red Dawn By JAM11, READ Red Dawn by JAM11, READ Red Dawn by JAM11, READ Red Dawn By JAM11.

Get all that? Good!

Well, what was I to do, I ask you? I started readin’ as mentioned in a comment to Kay last week LOL! Here’s the kind of Edward circumstancs have created:

“I will sink as low as my family needs me too Carlisle” Edward roared at his father pointing at him as if accusing him of some wrong doing his anger in his own mind was completely justified.

“I will dirty my hands. I will carry the sins I commit and I will do it with a smile if it means we live. You consider him defenceless and yet you know he’d have offered you no mercy if the roles were reversed” Edward spat as Jasper pressed his palm to Edward’s chest to try and prevent him from closing the distance. Jasper believing that to let him go now would end in Carlisle and Edward coming to actual physical blows.

 Curious? Start readin’!

Got fics to share this week? Maybe some complete ones LOL!?!

Happy Friday, y’all!

Rita

Night Raider

54 Comments

Filed under Fan Fiction Recs, Rita01tx

54 responses to “Random Rita ~ Friday Feature Fics!

  1. ClaireBamboozle

    Hi Rita, I’m getting a comment in early this week for a change 😀
    I don’t know where you keep finding these great new stories, but I hit follow on the both of them.
    Have a great weekend.
    Hugs xx

  2. Well Rita, you’ve finally corrupted me. I’ve burst my WIP cherry. I started reading RD and just cannot put it down. I’m reading slowly to try to draw it out until the next update, which came today (yay!!!) This is definitely a jaw-dropper if there ever was one. Great rec!

  3. bevey99

    Already had Red Dawn on alert, I’m gonna let it move along a little more before I jump in.
    Rita you were so figgin’ right about High Fidlelity, her writing……
    So, too get the last to “heavies” out of my head I read Trunk Boy by Dazzledin2008. Good smut by very different.
    https://www.fanfiction.net/s/5724657/1/Trunk-Boy
    Older Bella/younger Edward. Bella has a secret-she has a taste for the male interns in her office and keeps them…in a locked basement. WARNING: Rated M for disturbing and violent and adult content. And for consensual-only lemons. BxE.
    Rated: Fiction M – English – Suspense/Romance – Chapters: 25 – Words: 73,131 – Reviews: 409 – Favs: 208 – Follows: 163 – Updated: Nov 4, 2011 – Published: Feb 6, 2010 – Status: Complete – id: 5724657
    And, Heroin Chic by QuinnLark Ending is a bit of a surprise, and there is a sequel WIP.
    https://www.fanfiction.net/s/11135842/1/Heroin-Chic
    The Badass Chic Series – I’m a decision-making machine: some stupid and some magical. Leaving the 1990s and Eddie Cullen behind falls in the stupid category. I did what I thought I had to do, but somehow I’m never quite ahead of the curve. Nothing is ever as it seems. Grunge life in Louboutins. Read with caution.
    Rated: Fiction M – English – Angst/Romance – Bella, Edward – Chapters: 28 – Words: 18,657 – Reviews: 786 – Favs: 169 – Follows: 271 – Updated: May 23 – Published: Mar 24 – Status: Complete – id: 11135842
    Both were really easy reads.

    • rita01tx

      Woo hoo! Thanks, Bevey darlin’! Don’t think I’ve heard of either one of these and they look like just my kinda fic LOL!
      Great to hear how much you loved High Fidelity…who wouldn’t get swept away by such a great story line and the way IReen tells it is sublime!

    • Hey Bev, Trunk Boy sounds so twisted. But which of us wouldn’t want a virile young Edward stashed away in our basement?? I’ll add this to my TBR list. I have had HC on my carousel for quite some time now. It’s one I keep meaning to get to. Perhaps I should wait until the sequel completes?

      • rita01tx

        It’s what I love and hate about series fics, Kay darlin’! I really really want to dive in but I know I won’t be able to devote the time required to read through them all and then they tack on another one just to frustrate me even more *facepalm!* Consequently, they ALL languish on the shelf where they don’t deserve to be *sigh!*

  4. bevey99

    OH, one more thing. I’m about to start reading contest entries for
    “Meet the Mate”Contest. Seems like I’m always the last one to know about these contests. At-least the word limit is on 5K.
    https://www.fanfiction.net/u/6798308/MeetTheMateContest

    • rita01tx

      Thanks for the link, Bevey darlin’! I’d love to check out a few of them at least…one of these days *sigh!*

  5. dpennell007

    I’ve read all the entries in the Meet the Mate Contest, and I have 2 early favorites. I think we get three, but there’s another 10 days before the end. Red Dawn I think I will wait to read until complete.

    The story I finished this week was Cutlass. A fun adventure story!
    https://www.fanfiction.net/s/7792629/1/

    Cutlass
    By: TKegl
    Isabella Swan is certain notorious pirate, Edward Cullen, murdered her father and stole his prized cutlass. Out for revenge, she sneaks onto his ship, but Captain Cullen claims she has the wrong man. A tale of the search for truth…and treasure of course.
    Rated: Fiction M – English – Adventure/Romance – Edward, Bella – Chapters: 27 – Words: 134,307 – Reviews: 4,781 – Favs: 3,209 – Follows: 2,178 – Updated: Jun 3, 2013 – Published: Jan 31, 2012 – Status: Complete – id: 7792629

    And the pervy story I’m reading is slash. The boys think about little else. https://www.fanfiction.net/s/6779603/1/Hard

    Hard
    By: MyLifeandHis
    Lonely in a new town, Edward is searching for something. He finds what he least expected in a coffee shop– Jasper and Riley. But will Garrett change it all? E/J/R 3some E/G slash
    Rated: Fiction M – English – Friendship/Romance – Edward, Garrett – Chapters: 16 – Words: 74,449 – Reviews: 1,069 – Favs: 488 – Follows: 508 – Updated: Mar 24, 2012 – Published: Feb 26, 2011 – Status: Complete – id: 6779603

    • rita01tx

      Hi, Donna darlin’! Cutlass was one of my favorite TKegl fics…well, besides Just One of the Boys, which has been pulled for reasons unknown *sigh!* Good thing I pdf my favorites for just such emergencies LMAO!
      I haven’t read Hard yet but plan to one of these days LOL! I mean, seriously…you’d think, as a retired person, I’d have all the time in the world to read fics but that doesn’t seem to be the case and I have only vague recollctions of where the time goes!

  6. Thanks for the great Rec’s this week and every week. I always add any to my favorites that i haven’t already got and after a quick glance i can’t wait to read Red Dawn.
    Have a good week everyone. Thanks

    • rita01tx

      You’re welcome, Helen darlin’! It tickles me plumb pink that you enjoy my recs so much.

      This goes for all of you sweet people…don’t be too rough on JAM11 when you start readin’ Red Dawn ’cause HE hasn’t had the best of luck gettin’ the right help to pretty it up for us! But, believe me, your eyes will make the corrections as you read and you WON’T be able to stop once you start LOL!

      • He? Really? Wow, I’d actually enjoy having more male twific authors.

        • rita01tx

          IKR? There are a few around and I have no idea why I haven’t gotten to their fics yet! Hell’n I must be the only person in the fandom who hasn’t read…
          There Will Be Blood by Johnnyboy7
          https://www.fanfiction.net/s/6116028/1/There-Will-Be-Blood
          Edward Cullen,25,the son of a Chicago mob boss. He is second-in-command, cold and dangerous. Bella Swan,18,small town girl who has just enrolled as a freshman at Northwestern. A story about how love can survive in the cruelest of worlds.Very OCC.Rated M.
          Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance/Crime – Bella, Edward – Chapters: 48 – Words: 368,286 – Reviews: 12,364 – Favs: 9,403 – Follows: 4,172 – Updated: Feb 22, 2011 – Published: Jul 6, 2010 – Status: Complete – id: 6116028
          and the sequel, There Will be Freedom
          https://www.fanfiction.net/s/6787771/1/There-Will-Be-Freedom
          Sequel to the story There Will Be Blood. Two years have passed. Bella and Edward are safe on their island but will the dark underworld of crime pull them back in? Rated M for language, lemons, dark scenes, and violence.
          Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance/Crime – Edward, Bella – Chapters: 42 – Words: 319,532 – Reviews: 11,896 – Favs: 6,058 – Follows: 4,223 – Updated: Jul 21, 2012 – Published: Mar 1, 2011 – Status: Complete – id: 6787771
          Some unlucky male authors have been so badly harrassed, they took their marbles and vanished before I could get to them *sigh!* So they have to be pretty thick skinned to survive this fandom!

          • Nope, not the only one. I’ve had these on my list, but somehow just haven’t gotten to them. There are so many mobWards out there, and it seems like the most popular ones are serial fics, which goes back to the post above as to why I haven’t partaken in many. I mean to read them, I just , haven’t. I hate to hear of authors being harassed out of writing. My philosophy is- don’t like it, don’t read it. Simple.

            • rita01tx

              Well, in my book, a fic with a sequel doesn’t exactly constitute a serial but they do put me off just as much, especially if I wasn’t in on the original fic from the beginnin’ LOL!

              • I’m usually fine with tackling fics with sequels, but lately I’ve been bypassing fics requiring longer time commitments in an looking effort to keep up with all the fabulous recs here, lol.

                • rita01tx

                  Flattery will get you everywhere, Kay darlin’ LOL!

                  • “Loosing” effort, not “looking.” Holy Moly, that last update of Red Dawn…mind totally blown! I’m accustomed to the instant gratification that is completed fics, so I am waiting for the next update, as patiently as I can, with breath appropriately bated.

                    • rita01tx

                      No fair…just woke up and haven’t gotten to it yet *poutyface!*

                    • rita01tx

                      Awww, he had nice things to say about us…well, as far as I could read before my ‘puter went poof and WTF is up with FFN…again? Can’t read a damn thing right now!

                    • yeah the last chapter is mind blowing!! and I had chance to read it just before FFn broke and for sure he said nice things about us 🙂 …. hope FFn will re work soon!

                    • Haha, I was a chapter back (chapter 13), when I had my mind blown. I was lamenting having to wait for for chapter 14. No sooner had I typed my words o’ woe, then Mr. JAM posted chapter 14! Such a mercy. And whoa what an update. And JAM for sure had some lovely words about us. Who else was fist-pumping Esme and Tanya this chapter??

                    • Me Kay! they are both great, I am just sorry that Ffn have problems and I can’t review …. his story is beautiful!!!

                    • Zveka I was so frustrated last night because I thought my review was lost when FFN went down. (Actually I assumed the technical difficulties was on my end and was cursing my WiFi.) This morning ffn was still iffy, but I managed to finally pull up the new chapter again and thankfully my review was still there. It wasn’t posted, so I posted it this morning.

                  • well I read this morning the chapter 14 and then Ffn crashed, and now the only things I can see is chapter 1 and if I want to move to others chapters it’s says this “503 Service Unavailable” grrrr!!

  7. OMG!! Thirty Three Minutes has me hooked! I’ve put both of your recs on alerts. Great finds!!!!

    • rita01tx

      If you’re anything like me, Christa darlin’, every hair on your body stood on end readin’ those two chapters!!!

  8. Hi Rita,
    Red Down is just WOW, I saw it when TrillionSchiffer rec’d in last chapter of Horizon and then Friday you too rec’d and yeah WOW!!! I’m in love with this story 🙂

    anyway I finished to read finally some stories on my tbr list 🙂
    https://www.fanfiction.net/s/10966466/1/A-Life-Unplanned
    Bella was doing fine raising her son on her own. That was until her mother convinced her that her son should have a sibling. Not wanting her kids to have different fathers and look like a slut, she tracks down Edward Cullen, manwhore extraordinaire and father of her son, unbeknownst to him. It’s been years and Edward has changed a lot…or has he, and will his past catch up to him?
    Rated: Fiction M – English – Chapters: 35 – Words: 92,949 – Reviews: 3,058 – Favs: 934 – Follows: 1,364 – Updated: Aug 3 – Published: Jan 12 – Status: Complete – id: 10966466

    https://www.fanfiction.net/s/11045515/1/Play-Pause-Repeat
    Bella Swan knows that YouTube’s most subscribed gamer Edward Cullen goes to the same university as she does. She knows collaborating with him in one video will boost her fledgling cooking channel’s traffic as well. What she doesn’t know is that views and subscribers aren’t the only things Edward can give her. Looks like their shippers might actually be on to something.
    Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance/Humor – Bella, Edward – Chapters: 27 – Words: 58,010 – Reviews: 1,220 – Favs: 1,247 – Follows: 1,555 – Updated: Aug 8 – Published: Feb 14 – Status: Complete – id: 11045515

    and Belward by footprints358

    🙂

    • rita01tx

      Mornin’, Zveka darlin’! All three are great reads although I coulda done without some of the drama in A Life Unplanned…went just a little over the top, if you ask me but a HEA makes up for a lot LOL!
      No angst or drama that I recall in Play, Pause, Repeat…just a sweet, fun, sexy little story that was a pleasure to read!
      Belward by footprints358…sure wish she’d update soon *sigh!*
      https://www.fanfiction.net/s/11259139/1/Belward
      Access Hollywood thinks he’s gay. Extra thinks he’s secretly married. In reality, Hollywood Hot Shot Edward Cullen is just busy. The literary world recognizes M. Dwyer as one of the most prolific writers of this generation. The business world knows Isabella Swan as a philanthropic real estate mogul. What happens when all of this comes crashing together? Canon Couples. Adult lang
      Twilight – Rated: M – English – Romance/Humor – Chapters: 28 – Words: 89,550 – Reviews: 1529 – Favs: 600 – Follows: 1,118 – Updated: Jul 18 – Published: May 19

      • yeah I find too that it was too much drama in A Life Unplanned, I find the same when I was reading Hope Springs by justginger

        • rita01tx

          Hmmm, haven’t read Hope Springs but the summary hints at some drama so I might have a read anyway…I ain’t afraid a no angst LOL!
          https://www.fanfiction.net/s/7643750/1/Hope-Springs
          Bella Swan has been alone for most of her life, she is young and she is scared, but now she has another life to protect. She is heading for a new country – a new life and then she ends up in HOPE SPRINGS. Will she run, or will she allow the people in
          Rated: Fiction M – English – Drama/Family – Bella, Edward – Chapters: 40 – Words: 437,054 – Reviews: 2,333 – Favs: 1,167 – Follows: 965 – Updated: Dec 24, 2012 – Published: Dec 17, 2011 – Status: Complete – id: 7643750

  9. and I forgot

    https://www.fanfiction.net/s/11151215/26/Little-Dreamer
    Our story opens with a frightened seventeen-year-old girl on the run- battered, starved, exhausted and nine months pregnant. How this is going to turn out is anyone’s guess. Life never does know how to play fair.
    Rated: Fiction M – English – Angst/Drama – Bella, Edward – Chapters: 26 – Words: 84,612 – Reviews: 3,637 – Favs: 1,282 – Follows: 1,814 – Updated: Aug 8 – Published: Mar 31 – id: 11151215

  10. dpennell007

    walkingwithgiants is pulling The Golden Giants Tour in a few days, so I read it over the weekend. It was sweet and funny.
    https://www.fanfiction.net/s/7951801/1/The-Golden-Giants-Tour

    The Golden Giants Tour
    By: walkingwithgiants
    “Three months,” he kept going in his deep voice. “You’ll probably never be able to do this again.” Three months, three continents, sweaty nights, an uncomfortable bed, ten men, a girl, and a bus. Bella Swan should have known better than to say yes.
    Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance/Humor – Bella, Edward – Chapters: 50 – Words: 66,105 – Reviews: 2,279 – Favs: 2,252 – Follows: 1,297 – Updated: Aug 7 – Published: Mar 23, 2012 – Status: Complete – id: 7951801

    And… I read a little spicy one shot that was more anticipation than action, but I really loved it.
    https://www.fanfiction.net/s/9311175/1/Fishnets

    Fishnets
    By: MissYesPleaseSir
    “She stopped, in only her heels and the Fishnet Wonder, as she had come to think of it, right at the foot of his bed, where she raised her hand up next to her face and curled one finger at him: Come. Over. Here. ” ExB, AH, one-shot.
    Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance – Edward, Bella – Words: 4,238 – Reviews: 11 – Favs: 50 – Follows: 16 – Published: May 20, 2013 – Status: Complete – id: 9311175

Leave Us Some Love & Tell us what You Think, Comment.

