Random Rita ~ Friday Feature Fics!

Wet Rob Avi

Evenin’ ladies!

So, what happened last week was I’d latched onto a complete fic I thought would make a great rec but wound up rather let down by the predictability *sigh!*

Of course, by the time I figured that out, time had gotten away from me; it was way past midnight and my eyes just wouldn’t stay open LOL!

This week, I’m not even gonna worry about a complete fic…not when I have three of the most glorious WIPs it’s been my pleasure to read in a good long while!

I’m so excited for you to check these out *Muppet flails!*

Rob Attack

https://www.fanfiction.net/s/11618477/1/Monolith

*Red Eyed Edward Contest Entry: 1st Place Judges’ Vote* Bella has returned to Forks to live with her father every other year since her parents’ divorce. Her emotional isolation threatens to overwhelm her, then she senses a mysterious force drawing her deep into the shadows of an abandoned graveyard. The force emanates from a standing stone. . . the gateway to her destiny. AU

Rated: Fiction T – English – Suspense/Horror – Bella, Edward – Chapters: 4 – Words: 20,026 – Reviews: 190 – Favs: 131 – Follows: 211 – Updated: Dec 8 – Published: Nov 16 – id: 11618477

Not for nothin’ did NewTwilightFan’s entry win 1st Place Judges Vote in the Red Eyed Edward Contest and I was thrilled when she expanded it, givin’ us the back story of how…oh, crap! If you haven’t red the one-shot {chapter one}, I refuse to give you spoilers!

Just know that it all has to do with the treaty forged between Ephriam Black and the Quileutes and the Cullens which came about for a completely different reason than SM gave us!

“Great Chieftain, beloved leader of the Quileute, I come to you in great sadness and shame. Murder was committed this day. I come offering justice. While your child labored diligently, gathering roots and berries on the hillsides above the joining of the great Calawah and Bogachiel rivers, a creature of the night caught her scent. He. . . No. . . I must not deviate from the absolute truth. I caught her scent and, acting on
instinct, not choice, I . . . I stole her lifeblood, only realizing my wrong when her heart was no longer beating. I offer you my life as payment for my crime. Cast me into your great fire, that I may burn and eject this evil from your land.”

Needless to say, Carlisle refused to let Edward sacrifice himself no matter how riddled with guilt he was but the alternative is nothin’ short of horrific! If you want to find out what the solution was, you’ll have to read MONOLITH!

~oOo~

Rob Attack

{Banner by Ipsita}

https://www.fanfiction.net/s/8151839/1/Blood-Master

“Last chance,” he murmured, his soft voice velvety and undeniably vampiric. I locked eyes with him, shivering inwardly at his vivid red irises. I had searched him out and offered myself up to him, after all. Let him drain me. Let me die numb. \\ Tenderness, humour and passion rolled into a rather quirky adventure story. World travel/OOC/AU/M for strong language and mild BDSM.

Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance/Adventure – Bella, Edward – Chapters: 16 – Words: 58,577 – Reviews: 307 – Favs: 247 – Follows: 469 – Updated: Dec 10 – Published: May 26, 2012 – id: 8151839

This might not have been an entry in the Red Eyed Edward Contest but we’re definitely dealin’ with a wonderfully colorful, strange, eccentric, blood drinkin’ Edward LMAO!

When Jacob complains about Bella takin’ off with Edward, this is what Billy has to say:

“He’s harmless,” Billy said dismissively.

I stared at my father in disbelief. “What do you mean he’s harmless?”

Billy looked up from his newspaper. “He’s too crazy to be a real threat. When I last met him, he was with a dancing ballerina monkey asking if I could donate for a demonstration he was having against the vampire government.” He exchanged knowing looks with Sam, and there were snorts of bemused laughter around the room.

“With Carlisle working in a hospital, I’m not too surprised. The Cullens seem to have a history of being oddities among their kind,” Sam said, shaking his head.

Bella, in the meantime, is havin’ the time of her life!

Memories of what we did returned to me, and I felt the blush colouring my face. I’d just let a vampire tie me up and make me come in a fetish club. If someone had told me last year that was going to happen, I would’ve laughed in their face and called them crazy.

So much had changed in the span of a few days. Dazzling hotel staff, moving to live with a vampire, watching werewolves break down his door… and then I realized something startling. I hadn’t thought about Jacob at all last night.

Maybe it was the unconventionality of the club, or the fact that I’d been bound, but the entire night, the thought of him hadn’t crossed my mind. Not once.

I looked up at Edward, wondering if he realised how much of an accomplishment that was. I’d never made so much progress.

He was looking out the window, still absent-mindedly stroking my hair.

I caught his hand, catching his attention. “Hey, Edward?”

“Mmm?”

“Thanks,” I said quietly.

His eyes softened. He knew I meant more than the packing.

“Anytime, love.”

If you’re into crazy fun, this fic is for you!

~oOo~

Rob Attack

{Banner by LittleNudgerLove}

https://www.fanfiction.net/s/10451419/1/Strange-Scales

Mere weeks before her wedding, Bella disappears. With vampires, werewolves and humans to blame, no one thinks to look to the more sinister monsters lurking just off shore. As Bella is thrown into a frightening new world, Edward and Jacob must put aside their differences to save the girl they both love. But will they be too late? NOMINATED: Fanatic Awards 2015! FINALIST!

Rated: Fiction T – English – Supernatural/Adventure – [Bella, Edward] Jacob, OC – Chapters: 56 – Words: 219,154 – Reviews: 969 – Favs: 335 – Follows: 435 – Updated: Nov 27 – Published: Jun 15, 2014 – id: 10451419

Did I save the best for last? You be the judge! This scene alone earned Strange Scales FIVE STARS on my TBR!

Seth is buggin’ the crap out of Jake to come back home when…

What the…?

Seth jolted and reeled back. A flash of white had streaked past him with lightning speed – it moved faster than even his werewolf senses could track. And it was gone as quickly as he’d sensed it – Vampire: no question about it.

Seth?

Jake jerked upright, instantly worried about his safety.

It took Seth longer than it should have to collect his thoughts. He shook his head with a snort, making a conscious effort to pinpoint the scent.

Cullen, definitely… the small one with the black spiky hair… the one that looks like a pixie.

Alice, Jake said.

Yeah, Seth quirked up, wonder what’s got her running so fast?

He’d barely finished the thought when another white streak blurred past on his right, followed just as quickly by one to his left. The second vampire breezed past his shoulder with inches to spare, ruffling his fur, and Seth whined.

He was too far from the one on his right, but the one on his left was closer and he sniffed the air, trying identifying the scent.

Too perfumy, too sweet, more sickly than the others

Rosalie, Jake said, remembering her scent from their training sessions with the Cullens before they fought off the new-borns. Why are they…?

Another white flash!

Jake followed the next scent in Seth’s thoughts. It was their leader’s wife, the one who acted like their mother. What was her name? Something like Emma… no, Elsie…

Esme, Seth said.

Yeah, that’s it.

Jake remembered the few times he’d seen her during their preparations for the newborn battle. She’d always been slower than the rest.

Catch her, ask what’s up! Jake ordered.

He had a bad feeling about this, a very bad feeling. He needed to know what had them running so fast, full-speed through the woods south of La Push, ignoring Seth no less – those leeches never ignored Seth. They took every opportunity they had to talk to him, since he was one Quileute who would speak to them with a civil tongue.

Scratch that – he was the only Quileute who would speak to them with a civil tongue.

Seth intercepted her track but made no move to stop her. He simply bounded along at her side making worried, whining noises.

Esme paused in surprise. “Seth!”

But her gaze darted ahead and she took off again. Seth was hot on her trail. With greater insistence, he continued his whines. Her behaviour had Seth worried now too, and Jake found himself, almost subconsciously, sitting up and leaning closer, as if he were there with them. Esme barely acknowledged Seth as she ran.

It’s like she’s running for her life!

Seth whined at the thought and glanced back, looking for signs of pursuit. Whatever made the Cullen’s run was definitely something to be worried about.

Where are the others? Where’s Jasper and the big one, and Edward, and-

Bella!

Seth nearly choked on Jake’s spike of fright and stumbled in his steps. He soon righted himself and barked loudly at Esme. She glanced at him then, with large frightened eyes.

“She called,” she said, “something’s happened, we don’t know what, she was screaming on the other end of the phone…”

WHO?! They barked in unison, their words no more coherent than a dog’s bark.

Though Jacob was sure he already knew… No, don’t say it.

“Bella,” Esme choked.

FOLLOW THEM! Jake screamed, but Seth was already on his way and Jake watched intently through his eyes.

It didn’t take long for them to break through the bracken, crashing onto a deserted coastal road. Seth threw his head from side to side checking for people, but the area was deserted.

There’s no one here.

Unsure what to do he looked to Esme. She had already taken off down the road to the South. Seth followed. Further ahead, he could see the blonde peeking out of an open car door. It was parked – if you call it parked, it was half way across the far side of the road with its bonnet dipped forward into a ditch – with its door left ajar, and a dinging noise rang in the air. The doctor and the little one, Alice, were kneeling over a patch of something on the beach, muttering rapidly. Alice stood up in a flash and darted along the shoreline, disappearing. Carlisle didn’t move, he only stared, frozen, out to sea.

Esme reached his side and gasped. Flinging hands up to cover her mouth, she stumbled back – a vampire actually stumbled? – shaking her head so fast that her face blurred and caramel hair flew up in a flurry.

What happened? Jake barked. Where is she? Where’s Bella?

I don’t know! Seth whined. How should I?

Alice flashed back and flew in the other direction.

Rosalie, the blonde, flitted to the doctor’s side.

“Carlisle…” she ventured tentatively.

He said nothing.

With a piercing scream that toppled Seth to his side, Alice was back.

“There’s no trail!” she cried. “Why is there no trail?!”

Carlisle was staring out to sea. “The water…”

Without pause, Alice splashed into the surf and vanished.

Rosalie stood stoically at his shoulder.

“You think whoever attacked her came from the water…” she said. “Carlisle, we’ll never be able to track-“

Esme sobbed suddenly, cutting her off.

I’m calling Sam, Seth gasped, and without further delay the young pup threw his head back and released an ear-splitting howl.

The Cullen’s barely acknowledged his call.

With a sigh, the blonde followed her sister with much less enthusiasm into the water. Carlisle, finally seeming to come to his senses, darted ahead of her. And as if on some invisible cue, Esme jerked into action and followed. All three were gone.

Follow them! Jake urged Seth. See what you can find!

I can’t swim! he protested, pawing the water’s edge with trepidation.

Do the freaking doggy paddle, just go!

Seth backed up a step, tucking his tail between his legs with a low whine. Jake didn’t have to be a part of his thoughts to see how much Seth didn’t want to do this. But he was also worried for Bella, almost as much as Jake himself. With that knowledge in mind, Seth braced himself, gulped in a breath of air, and plunged into the tide like a dog chasing a stick. Using the weak traces of the Cullen’s vampire scent, he found his way.

Seth! What’s the problem?

Sam had finally turned up. He ignored Jake’s thoughts – as had become the standard whenever the other wolves were phased. It was his own sympathetic attempt to provide Jake with what privacy he could while he had ‘his little meltdown’ as Jared liked to call it. But now was not the time or place for his misery. Bella’s life was at stake.

Bella’s been taken, Jake interrupted, by… something.

They weren’t even sure what yet. Alice said she could get no scent, Seth couldn’t seem to find one either, but surely there wasn’t any possibility but another vampire.

Was there?

If you’re wonderin’ where Edward is, he’d put off huntin’ so long Bella finally put her foot down and made him go! Believe me, he’ll be devastated when he finds out Bella’s missin’!

Now, you might think this isn’t your cup of tea…hell’n I didn’t think it was mine either but trust me on this…you won’t be able to put it down until you’ve read every word Nemma’s written so far!

Ans, as with all WIPs, I’m a wishin, hopin’ and prayin’ for updates but I’m more than willin’ to wait for as long as it takes!

Happy Friday, y’all!

Rita

Night Raider

21 Comments

Filed under Fan Fiction Recs, Rita01tx

21 responses to “Random Rita ~ Friday Feature Fics!

  1. bevey99

    Okay, just added them all.
    I’ve read 3 completely different vamp fics that are a bit older. Wet Sands by
    By: staceleo
    A mother’s need to protect her children from sacrifice. Love awakening the cold, dead heart of a monster. A band of misfits attempting to stop an evil curse. What happens when dreams become twisted and nightmares become salvation https://www.fanfiction.net/s/9423029/1/Wet-Sands BEST GARRETT EVER you will want to stop reading but don’t.

    Creature of Habit By: EZRocksAngel
    Bella begins working for the elusive and distant Edward Cullen who she discovers is hiding behind an elaborate charade to maintain his secret lifestyle. Bella is determined to find out the mysteries of Edward Cullen but with what results? AU, OOC https://www.fanfiction.net/s/4769414/1/Creature-of-Habit

    and very non-canon …What Speaks in Darkness By: cosmogirl7481
    “It should have scared me, but it didn’t. I shouldn’t have wanted it, but I did.” Dark and empty. Lonely and unfulfilled. Can two broken souls find connection in spite of their differences? E/B OOC Rated M because there will be sex and it will be hot https://www.fanfiction.net/s/6252131/1/What-Speaks-in-Darkness

    All of these are older but I finally it around to reading them. Soo happy I did. Creature of Habit has been re-written and published, so I think she said the original will be up a little while but not for long.

    • rita01tx

      Mornin’ Bev darlin’! I’ve actually read all three of these but I’ll probably have to have another look at What Speaks in Darkness ’cause I don’t remember any details. Wet Sands was chock full of angsty goodness with a truly evil pack of Quileutes! Creature of Habit was a sexy as hell romp with a dominant vampire but I was unable to get through the sequel, Creatures of Habit, and it was only 10 chapters!

    • Bev, I’ve had these three of my list, but haven’t gotten around to them yet. Which of the three was your favorite, or are they too different to rank?

  2. Good evening! Rita all three of these sound interesting. Well actually Blood Master sounds kinda weird. But I can ‘do’ weird. I would’ve never given a story about mermaids a second glance, but you’ve yet to start me wrong. I thought the same thing about blue aliens with tails and I swear I love that Written in the Stars fic hard. Never would’ve read it if you ladies didn’t rave over it. The excerpt for Strange Scales definitely has me intrigued. I am going to put all three of these on alert. I am still following along with the Red Dawn and Horizon WIPs. I finished The Red Line and now I’m reading the sequel.

    • rita01tx

      Exactly, Kay darlin’! If you loved Written in the Stars, you’ll definitely be able to get into this one! I saw one reader who was ready to flounce 19 chapters in ’cause she could’t see how it could possibly end well but Nemma’s got it all figured out and boy do I love the way her bwainz work LMAO!

    • rita01tx

      Wait…I see you finished The Red Line!!! Are you brave enough for the sequel?

      • Ugh oh, wait, why?!!!! I’m reading it right now. Am I going to regret it? I’m skerd now. I’ve just finished the chapter with the crazy Chinese restaurant owner Marcus. Next chapter I meet Dr. Facinelli. I guess tough times lay ahead.

        That last chapter of Red Dawn gave my heart palpitations.

        • rita01tx

          I loved the sequel because so many unexpected good things came Edward’s way but, yeah, there’s pitch blackness before the dawn! Oh, yeah, and Doctor Peter is one of the really good things LOL!

  3. rita01tx

    Oh, lordamercy ROTFLMAO!!! You guys gotta see this {click to full screen}:

    • dpennell007

      You’re gone! That was cute though. Monolith is the only story I’ve heard of from this weeks’ group. I am within 3 chapters of the end of a fic I wanted to recommend before the characters went a bit south for me. Of course I’ve gotten this far, so I’ve got to finish it!

      I’ve been following the Age of Edward Contest. I haven’t read the two that were added last night, but I’ve read and reviewed the rest.

      https://www.fanfiction.net/u/6939774/Age-of-Edward-Contest

      And Melanie (Edward’s Eternal) finished her Christmas fic A Sprinkling of Sugar this morning. I loved it!

      • rita01tx

        Then you recognize my dilemma last week, Donna darlin’ *fist bump!* I had made a banner for it and everything but it let me down *poutyface!*
        You know, I almost wish all these contests would cease and desist or at least take a year’s hiatus ’cause when they end, my email inbox literally explodes and I STILL haven’t finished readin’ all the Meet the Mate entries *facepalm!*
        Loved Sprinkling of Sugar…hell’n anything that woman writes is gold! Which reminds me, I never got around to Penalty Shot!!!

  4. Mornin’ Rita,

    thanks for recs, Monolith with Mate by Shewiking were my favorites entries for RedEyedEdward … thank for two others I didn’t read them.
    I read all three stories rec’d by bevey99, Creature of Habits is my favorite 🙂
    I think I will pass The Red Line ( for the moment), I just emerged from Come back tomorrow….

    Thanks Rita for Don’t take the Girl… excellent story, make me thinks about Scout’s Honor….cute cute Edward :), one of the best Renee and Charlie I ever read, thanks for this one I rally need it 🙂

    As you and Kay I follow Red Dawn and WOW!

    I read some O/S

    https://www.fanfiction.net/s/11644599/1/All-That-Glitters
    As a nurse, Bella’s seen it all, or has she? When the clinic where she works needs an expansion, the guy hired isn’t what she expects. Sometimes all that glitters, is all it takes. Romance/Humor
    Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance/Humor – Bella, Edward – Words: 5,637 – Reviews: 122 – Favs: 200 – Follows: 294 – Published: Dec 1 – Status: Complete – id: 11644599

    and this one
    https://www.fanfiction.net/s/11674986/1/
    Tired of Tinder creeps, Bella tries a different dating app. A cute adventure into the new kind of dating.
    Rated: Fiction M – English – Humor/Romance – Bella, Edward – Words: 4,434 – Reviews: 4 – Favs: 14 – Follows: 5 – Published: Dec 18 – Status: Complete – id: 11674986

    have a great day 🙂

    • rita01tx

      OMG! I’m so sorry to leave you hangin’, Zveka darlin’! As usual, fanfiction is the culprit…I’ve been completely zombified tryin’ to finish readin’ a 78 chapter EXTREMELY NAUGHTY but action packed and incredibly evil James…maybe Carlisle but it’s debatable…fic on TWCS *phew!*
      Damn near burned out my eyeballs LMAO!

    • rita01tx

      Just started readin’ Don’t Take the Girl and Oh.My.Word! These two kids are so precious! And you’re so right about Charlie and Renee LOL!
      I can’t help myself…divin’ back in for more!!!

      • Hi Rita and don’t worry, I’m like you when I have my nose buried in good story 🙂

        Don’t take a Girl is excellent and yeah these two kids are cute 🙂

        I was reading Blood Master and thank you for this one, it’s excellent!

        have a great evening 🙂

  5. These all look great! Three more fics to follow. Thanks, Rita!

    • rita01tx

      You’re welcome, Christa darlin’! Much as I adore these 3 WIPs, waitin’ on updates is destroyin’ my computer chair, I’m bouncin’ so much in anticipation LMAO!

  6. Thanks, Rita for these new recs. As others have said in comments, I would have blown right by the mermaid one and the space one (although I did briefly have a twitch over how much I loved Written in the Stars) … but now all of them are on my TBR list! Like (apparently) many of us, I’m buried in Red Dawn, but one day soon I’ll be ready for a new story.

    Bevey, thanks for the rec of Wet Sands – that’s a new one to me. I didn’t realize StacyLeo wrote vamp fics.
    For my money, “What Speaks in Darkness” is one of my all-time top 20. A wonderful combination of mystery and vampires and hotness. I read it like 3 years ago and still intend to go back and write reviews someday. Somehow “Creature of Habit” never grabbed me, despite all the hoopla at the time. Not that it wasn’t enjoyable, it just didn’t have the emotional fireworks that my favorites have.

    Oh, and if you’re going through some of the vampire classics, did you know about “Daedalus in Exile”, also by EZRocksAngel? Another of my favorites.
    https://www.fanfiction.net/s/5379739/1/bDaedalus_b_in_bExile_b

    Happy New Year, everyone!

    • rita01tx

      Happy New Year, Renee darlin’! As many times as I’ve thought I’d read it all, new {and old} authors crop up and prove me wrong so I’m stoked that 2016 is gonna bring us GOLD!!!

  7. Dear Rita, ladies

    Happy New Year, all the best for this new year, joy, happiness and a lot of great stories to read

    xo

Leave Us Some Love & Tell us what You Think, Comment.

