Random Rita ~ Friday Feature Fics!

Rob Attack

Evenin’, ladies!

You know how easy it is to get caught up in a certain genre without even realizin’ it, right?

Well, I’ve been drownin’ in mafia fics, lately, and the only thing standin’ between me and a major Mobward coma is the magic, mystery and mayhem the followin’ fics provide!

Rob Attack

https://www.fanfiction.net/s/11757552/1/Dark-Thing-Make-a-Myth-of-Yourself

“I feel her before I see her, the hairs on the back of my neck stand up in attention. When I shut my locker, she’s parting the crowd like the red sea. Bella Swan is looking right at me, a smirk poised on her dark lips and something fierce in her dark eyes. There’s something about her, something otherworldly. A storm is coming and I feel like i’m about to be caught in it.” EPOV AU

Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance/Supernatural – Bella, Edward – Chapters: 8 – Words: 15,799 – Reviews: 258 – Favs: 135 – Follows: 301 – Updated:19h ago – Published: Jan 28 – id: 11757552

For reasons we don’t yet understand, Bella, Alice and Rosalie are shunned by the rest of Forks High School’s student body. Along comes new kid, Edward Cullen, who unwittingly finds himself caught in the middle as he makes friends with Alice first and then Bella…Rose, not so much!

I go silent when I see that Rosalie is standing just beyond Bella’s left shoulder. A chill in the air. She senses this and whips around. They lock eyes and I hear several locker doors slam, the lights buzz and flicker above us. Bella’s stance hardens and I can see the way she sets her jaw.

Someone lets out a shout and suddenly, a gangly sophomore throws a punch, his fist connecting with the cheek of a senior on the lacrosse team.

All hell breaks the fuck loose.

People are screaming and notebook paper is fluttering to the ground around me. More contenders join in the fight and I hear teachers trying to break it up but I can’t see any of them anywhere. Two girls next to me start calling each other bitch slut whore and their respective friends jump to their aid. 

Through all of this, Bella and Rosalie remain where they are, unblinking and unwavering. Panic is starting to bubble in my chest and up my throat and if I don’t get out of here, I’m afraid I’ll vomit all over the heels of Bella’s shiny, black boots. I’ve never felt this kind of anxiousness, the kind where it’s almost as if I’m being torn in two and my head is spinning a mile a minute.

“I’m sorry,” I whisper, my voice strangled and not at all how I want it to sound. “I’m sorry.”

I make my escape to calculus.

Don’t blame Edward too harshly for runnin’ away…he’s already walkin’ a knife edge of his own angst and simply can’t handle anymore right now!

I’m listening to Say Anything on full volume. Max Bemis is screaming about pain and hate and my eyes burn from staring at the wall for two hours. Mom had jumped on me right when I got home, having heard about what happened at school.

Goddamn small town.

Were you involved? No.

Did you get hurt? No.

Who started it? Don’t know.

Do you need to go to Dr. Sheppard? Mom.

She finally left me alone but I had to put the music on to tune her out, sick of hearing her fuss around downstairs, of hearing her talk to herself.

I’m angry, way angrier than I usually am and it takes everything in me to not punch a hole in my wall with my good hand. I clench my fists, I make myself stand up, I start to pace.

I don’t feel like I have control of myself anymore, I’m suddenly desperate to get the hell out of Forks. To get the hell out of this country. This fucking planet.

This restless, painful energy is reaching a high. I’ll burst, I can’t breathe. I think of my Xanax, but this isn’t a panic attack.

I’ve had my fair share of those.

I don’t know what this is.

But I have to leave.

Well, I don’t know about you but I’m dyin’ to know what the deal is with those girls!

~oOo~

Rob Attack

https://www.fanfiction.net/s/11513463/1/The-League

Bella, an average college student, meets an extraordinary guy. Her life becomes anything but average as he shows her the truly magic side of life. But as she approaches her 21st birthday, she realizes magic might be in her blood

Rated: Fiction M – English – Fantasy/Romance – Edward, Bella – Chapters: 9 – Words: 37,348 – Reviews: 219 – Favs: 284 – Follows: 635 – Updated: 19h ago – Published:Sep 18, 2015 – id: 11513463

What’s so funny about Bella,  is how good she is at completely dismissin’ anything remotely strange!

Out of nowhere, Bella’s headlights reflected off a large deer directly in the middle of the road only 100 feet away. The highway could barely fit the two lanes; there was no ditch, just a small barrier and edge of a cliff. She didn’t swerve, there was no room. She couldn’t drive to the other side of the road; the deer was smack dab in the middle. She couldn’t avoid it nor had enough time to brake; she was going to hit it.

‘How silly,’ she thought, ‘to die by deer.’

She took her foot off the accelerator, closed her eyes, and braced for impact. Her body began to feel like it was humming, her blood itching, pulsing.

1…

2…

3…

And…

Nothing.

She opened her eyes again. She slammed on the brakes and her car came to a screeching halt. The humming feeling was gone, but replaced by the panic of almost being in an accident. Both of her hands were clutching the wheel tightly, iPod dropped and forgotten somewhere on the floor of the car. She took a deep breath and slowly opened her car door.

She got out and stood on the side of the empty road. She looked back and in the dark could see the two glowing eyes of the deer still standing directly in the middle of the road, almost as if it didn’t move at all.

But it had to have moved. If it stayed still she would have hit it, no doubt about it. It must have been an extremely fast deer, to move to the side to avoid being hit and then taking up the same exact position as before. It was a deer with a death wish.

Bella waited till her heart beat at a normal pace, before getting back in the car and finishing the drive to her Dad’s, staying extremely vigilant for any other kamikaze animals in the night.

Bella pulled up behind her Dad’s police cruiser on the rocky driveway. The motion sensor light on top of the garage door turned on and illuminated her car. She got out and did a quick circuit around her car, checking for damage or evidence that maybe she side swiped the deer. There was nothing. She was still shaking her head as she climbed up the stairs to her dad’s house.

She let herself inside with a spare key.

“Hi Bells, good timing, I just finished with dinner. What’s up, you look confused?”

Bella walked over to her dad’s kitchen and gave him a quick kiss on the check.

“I just had a strange experience on the road, that’s all. What’s for dinner?”

Once she gets back to college, Bella encounters Edward in the library and eventually asks his help translatin’ some Latin text.

Bella pushed towards him Sanguinem Mundi.

“Blood of the World, a classic.”

“Come on, no joking this time.”

“For once, I’m not. This actually is a classic book. I read this one a very long time ago. I can go through with you and translate passages, but maybe you want an overview about the book in general?”

“Actually, that would be great.” Bella settled in as Edward began.

“There are two different types of people: ones who are more…connected to the world, and ones who aren’t. This book starts at the beginning with the first families that were connected. It was said that each family derived their strengths from the four elements: water, fire, air, and earth. Each family would display physical and emotional trades derived from their element. People from fire can be hot headed and brutal but also fight with a fierce loyalty. People from water get along with others very easily, they are flexible, and kind hearted.

People from air are passive and elusive while people from earth tend to be stubborn but strong and have very deeply imbedded values. Of course, over time, these families intermingled so there isn’t just a pure elemental family. Many people display multiple traits from different families, but you can still, with a little searching, be able to trace back to a single original family.”

Bella listened intently, entranced by Edward’s tale. His voice had a soothing cadence and the material was strange but also, in a weird way, familiar.

“Any other questions? Anything you want to go over? I really don’t mind if you want me to translate a few paragraphs.”

“Just out of curiosity, how did you even end up reading this book? Did your parents use it for story time before bed?”

“I had an unusual upbringing,” he answered with an indifferent shrug.

The concept of this story reminds me, in many ways, of Elemental by Tallulahbelle! Of course, that makes it inevitable I would rec Elemental as our complete fic this week!

~oOo~

Rob Attack

https://www.fanfiction.net/s/5241793/1/Elemental

AU/AH: When the Swans return to their birthplace, Bella learns she is no ordinary teenager, and Forks is no ordinary town. Can she fulfill her destiny with the powerful Edward Cullen, or will the dark forces that threaten their families destroy them all?

Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance/Supernatural – Bella, Edward – Chapters: 30 – Words: 189,571 – Reviews: 9,200 – Favs: 8,860 – Follows: 4,935 – Updated: Feb 8, 2011 – Published: Jul 23, 2009 – Status: Complete – id: 5241793

RA OLDIES BUT GOODIES 8-17-11
THE LEMONADE STAND CULT CLASSIC 2015

Weird things have happened since Bella and her parents moved to Forks and she wants answers, startin’ with her father and mother!

“So, we’re Witches. What does that mean for me?”

“We have affinities to the Elements. We have the ability to act as a type of conduit with energy. You, for example, are an Earth Witch.”

I looked at him confused.

“What you did in the greenhouse to make the plants grow takes Earth energy. I am also an Earth Witch and your mother is a Fire Witch.”

More questions are answered once she meets Emmett, Rosalie, Alice and Jasper,  and it’s Jasper who knows more about their history.

“The thirteen families that settled here were The Cullens, Whitlocks, Hales, McCartys, Swans, Platts, Webers, Stanleys, Newtons, Crowleys, Mallorys, Yorkies, and the Brandons. From the information I was able to gather, all of these families were friendly with each other before they decided to move to this area. The details are unclear how that came about, but from what I could glean from some of the old journals, it was like a calling to them.”

“So the families came to help the Quileute Tribe that lived here?” I questioned.

“Yes, the level of power here is more than that they could handle. This is where the journal gave a little more info. The chief had a dream about the family’s arrival.”

“A dream?”

Jasper just nodded and held up is hand in a gesture to show he wasn’t finished.

“The dream also revealed that the Tribe would diminish in numbers and that this new clan would come to relieve them of some of their duties as protectors. You might have seen in town, signs pointing to the Reservation. The Quileute Tribe is much smaller than it used to be, but they are still there doing their duties. We just have the bulk of it.”

“What duties are you talking about?”

“It’s a promise to guard this land. There is great power here that others with not so nice intentions have coveted. If it falls into the wrong hands, the power can be drained, killing everything living within it. We make sure that this area is healthy and a sort of sanctuary for all life. The Power entrusted the Tribe and then our families to make sure this place is protected. The duties can be anything simple enough for one Witch, with the right Element, to handle to something the whole Coven needs to get involved with.”

The wheels in my head turned a bit faster with this bit of knowledge.

Was the reason we needed to come back to Forks because of a duty for the whole Coven?

And, speakin’ of duty, Bella’s in for another shock…witches imprint!

As I was turning the last corner, I saw from underneath my lashes that Alice and Jasper were still standing outside the door waiting for me, but another person was with them. From the looks of the shoes and pants, it was most likely Edward.

I so didn’t feel like dealing with him right now.

I looked up to see if I was correct in my assumption, but instead I froze in my steps.

The strangest feeling came over me as I looked at his profile. It started in my stomach and spread out into every area of my body.

Edward turned his head to look at me and a surge of energy passed between us, like one long ribbon that wrapped around him then flowed back to me to wrap itself around my body linking and drawing us to each other.

I felt strangely empty, as the area around my stomach gave a wordless pang of demand, wanting to be filled.

I heard a loud gasp and looked over to see Alice and Jasper watching us in wonderment. It was enough to break the trance that I had been under. I shook my head violently, trying to clear it of the odd sensation that was fogging up very other thought or feeling that I had.

I knew without a doubt in my mind what just happened, and a wave of fear came over me.

“Bella.” I heard Edward call to me softly. I couldn’t look up at him. I was afraid that I would lose myself again to that power that was trying to bind us. I was scared that it would swallow me whole.

No, no, NO! This can’t be happening!

Those of you who have NOT gotten around to readin’ Elemental yet have been missin’ out on one great read!

Rob Attack

Have you come across any other magical, mystery fics in your travels through the fandom?

Happy Friday, y’all!

Rita

Rob Attack

42 Comments

Filed under Fan Fiction Recs, Rita01tx, Rob Pattinson

42 responses to “Random Rita ~ Friday Feature Fics!

  1. Personally, I don’t think that bicyclesarecool is capable of writing anything bad … She just has this magic way with words and making us love her characters. In Dark Thing, Make a Myth of Yourself , Edward is one damaged soul who is just looking for something. When Bella catches his eye he’s done for and done in. Their nightly meetings where very few words are spoken are what keeps him going.
    She’s his therapy, his pill. Though exactly what she is, is anyone’s guess.

    • Franny, you are making me want to drop everything and read DTMaMoY immediately. But I am two knees deep into a mobward that is riveting.

      • rita01tx

        Gee, I wonder which Mobward you might be talkin’about, Kay darlin’ *wicked evil witchy cackle!*
        {Hopin’ to finish it today, myself, so I can finally let go of it!}

    • rita01tx

      Dark Thing is actually the first of bicyclesarecool’s fics I’ve gotten around to readin’, Miss Frannie! But, like you, I am much impressed with the beautiful pictures she paints with her words!
      And, at this point, I suspect Bella needs Edward just as much as he needs her! Can’t wait for the next update!

  2. Hmm, the only one of these fics I’ve got on my TBR list is Elemental, and alas, I’m one of the few that has not yet read it. The elements theme kind of reminds me of the Japanese anime that my son used to watch. With the exception of Elemental, which I’ve seen on several people’s favorites lists, I might have bypassed these other fics. Thanks again for sending something new and different my way. You always deliver.

    • rita01tx

      Frankly, I don’t know what possessed me to start readin’ either one of these WIP’s! I swore to myself I’d concentrate on completed fics for a while but, once I read the first chapters, I was toast LMAO!

  3. hi Rita,, ladies,

    I follow DTMaMoY, it’s good more than good, I put it The League on alert. As Kay and you Rita I’m deep in Mobward for now ( thank Rita for this one/two)

    Elemental is excellent, love it.

    make me think about two stories with magic
    https://www.fanfiction.net/s/6757073/1/Witch-Way
    I was a normal girl, living a normal life. Never did I expect to thrust into a world where the supernatural ruled. Vampires, Demons, Werewolves and Witches? ExB, AU – REPOSTED!
    Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance/Supernatural – Bella, Edward – Chapters: 24 – Words: 136,650 – Reviews: 415 – Favs: 471 – Follows: 334 – Updated: Aug 5, 2014 – Published: Feb 19, 2011 – Status: Complete – id: 6757073

    https://www.fanfiction.net/s/7885059/1/Reflection
    When a mysterious bronze-haired boy appears to be trapped in the mirror in Bella’s room, how is she supposed to free him? What is she supposed to do when she falls in love with someone who doesn’t even seem real?
    Rated: Fiction T – English – Romance/Mystery – Bella, Edward – Chapters: 30 – Words: 63,463 – Reviews: 485 – Favs: 262 – Follows: 148 – Updated: Aug 13, 2012 – Published: Mar 1, 2012 – Status: Complete – id: 7885059

    • rita01tx

      Oooh, both of those look good, Zveka darlin’! Witch Way was already on my TBR, along with the rest of Tufano79’s fics, but I hadn’t heard of Team Edward Rules All before! And you know how I love bein’ introduced to new {to me} authors! Thanks, sweetie!

  4. dpennell007

    Elemental was good! For some reason, it’s not on my favorite list – but the EPOV of the same story is:

    https://www.fanfiction.net/s/5569081/1/Elemental-Of-Air-and-Water

    Elemental: Of Air and Water
    By: TallulahBelle
    Scenes of Elemental from Edward’s POV for the winners of THE FANDOM GIVES BACK authors auction, Team EPOV
    Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance/Supernatural – Edward, Bella – Chapters: 5 – Words: 20,962 – Reviews: 758 – Favs: 1,257 – Follows: 988 – Updated: Jul 17, 2011 – Published: Dec 9, 2009 – Status: Complete – id: 5569081

    The two WIP’s you mentioned above look interesting. I’ll have to take a look once I finish wading through the entries from the 2 contests I’m following. The deadline for them (yesterday & tomorrow) brought a ton of new stories to read. I prefer smaller doses, but I think some people just write better under pressure.

  5. Ooh, I don’t have either of these zveka. Thanks. I tried to think of fics I’ve read with magic. I know there have been several. The only fics that came to mind were Evermore Experience by deJean Smith and the sequel, Beyond Evermore. They were very good. I think they were rec’d here a while back. I also think of one of my all-time favorite fics, ever!!!- Masen Manor by drotuno. I have to find time to reread that, there was magic right? No? Sorta? No matter, still excellent. There was also Across the Universes (and sequel Collapse the Universe) by FantasyMother; Only Human by Amethyst Jackson and hmm, I’d include The Lost Boys but that’s a ghost story.

    • rita01tx

      All great reads, Kay darlin’! Gonna have to reread The Lost Boys one of these days *sigh!* But Zveka’s rec, Reflection, reminded me of The Mirrors by AdorableCullens! https://www.fanfiction.net/s/4971734/1/The-Mirrors
      Summary: Teddy’s secret and magical childhood is lost when a family heirloom is destroyed, changing his life forever. Now an adult, can Edward open himself back up to magic and love when he meets a beautiful – and hauntingly familiar – woman in real life?
      Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance/Fantasy – Edward, Bella – Chapters: 23 – Words: 93,498 – Reviews: 4,079 – Favs: 3,945 – Follows: 1,261 – Updated: Jul 24, 2009 – Published: Apr 5, 2009 – Status: Complete – id: 4971734
      I might have rec’d it last April! Even so, it’s a brilliant read!

      • Knew the mirror thing sounded familiar, couldn’t think of the name of the fic. Duh. Haven’t gotten around to it yet though. Sigh.

        • rita01tx

          Well, I’m not gonna get to a damn thing until I finish You Own Me! Oh, crap, I almost forgot…there’s a sequel *facepalm!*

          • Chop, chop my dear. LOL. I got sidetracked yesterday with TBR list maintenance stuff. Took me nearly all day to update my list and do some Kindle cleanup. Not nearly done, but I finished what I planned to. Of course that leads to roaming eyes. It was tempting to linger on some great looking fics.

            • rita01tx

              My problem exactly, Kay darlin’! Too damn many distractions, especially with a TBR like mine and I suspect yours is just as bad LMAO!
              “I’ll just have a little taste of this one,” she said to herself. “No, this one! Uh, no, that one! Fuuuck!”

      • The Mirrors was good 🙂
        who wrote The Lost Boys? I don’t know this one

        • rita01tx

          The Lost Boys was written by hwimsey…I’ll send it to you, okay?

              • Thanks Rita 🙂 you are the best 🙂 you know that you are messing with my TBR list? one again LOL!

                • rita01tx

                  What can I say…it’s a gift LMAO!

                • Oh Lost Boys is totally worth some TBR list chaos. It was amongst a terrific group of fics that was my introduction to twific. One day I need to reread it.

                  • well Lost Boys will wait Kay I finished You Own Me and We Own Night and this time I started LolaShoes series, because I messed already too much with my TBR list, like you I was cleaning a little my kindle and was sidetracked by Vampire in the Bassement, then I wanted to read something light, and I reread Mate and saw My Beauty on she-viking profile and… yeah I read this one and My Viking (Thanks to Rita *wink*) and now I really want to finish those series.
                    of couse with a lot of wip between like Red Dawn

                    • You’ve been one busy little beaver my dear zveka. Wow. I just finished You Own Me and We Own the Night this morning. I love LolaShoes. Ooooh, Vampire in the Basement is excellent! I didn’t realize there was a companion to My Viking, thank you. Just downloaded My Beauty. I haven’t read MV yet, but I will, but probably not right now. I have a ton waiting on my kindle carousel that I need to get to and now Mirrors is starting to call to me. I’m trying to ignore it. We’ll see. I’m so easily distracted, lol. I may read the Red Dawn update before picking up a new story. I pre-read it quite a while ago, but it looks like there’s more. I love that WIP, but I know that when it finally completes, I am going to have to read it over, straight through.

    • Masen Manor is beautiful, Kay

      I need to look into Across the Universes, Only Human was great too, and the last one I don’t know.

  6. edwardsvamptramp69

    Thanks for the recc’s, Rita! I’ve got lots of reading to catch up on 😉

  7. Supernatural is one of my absolute favorite genres. Elemental is in my top five fics of all time! The Mirrors, The League and Witch Way are now on my TBR list. Thank you for sharing!!!

    • rita01tx

      Hi, Christa darlin’! It’s one of my favorites, too! *fist bump!* Don’t we have the most imaginative authors in the world right at our fingertips? We are so lucky to have this fandom!

  8. I know it that I forgot this one about magic

    https://www.fanfiction.net/s/10209029/1/Echoes-in-Time
    ove is the most powerful force in the universe, and heartbreak is one of the most dangerous. Two hundred years ago a curse was conceived from unrequited love; now, in present time, Edward has grown cynical and despondent. Can a certain chocolate eyed stranger finally bring him some solace, or is he doomed to suffer for eternity? AU, No Vamps, B/E
    Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance/Drama – Bella, Edward – Chapters: 25 – Words: 82,317 – Reviews: 661 – Favs: 341 – Follows: 301 – Updated: Jun 7, 2014 – Published: Mar 23, 2014 – Status: Complete – id: 10209029

    this one is ghost story
    https://www.fanfiction.net/s/10128242/1/The-Lost
    Bella Swan was not normal. She had been born with the gift of seeing the dead, but to her it was a curse. She had sworn off her abilities as she returned to her hometown to live out her final year of high school in an attempt at being normal, but nothing is normal when you are the one hope at redemption for the spirit of a lost boy. *paranormal romance & drama* beta’d
    Rated: Fiction M – English – Supernatural/Romance – Bella, Edward – Chapters: 92 – Words: 182,903 – Reviews: 4,986 – Favs: 965 – Follows: 1,083 – Updated: Dec 6, 2014 – Published: Feb 20, 2014 – Status: Complete – id: 10128242

  9. rita01tx

    OMG! Double shot of our baby’s love popped up on tumblr today!


    {notice the fine chain hangin’ from his left ear *squee!*}

    Stunned to my DNA *SWOON!*

Leave Us Some Love & Tell us what You Think, Comment.

