Random Rita ~ Friday Feature Fics!

ROB ATTACK

Evenin’, ladies!

Today’s recs are so excitin’, I could hardly wait to bring ’em to you!

Along with two of our favorite authors, I have two others you may not have heard of but certainly won’t forget if you read their fics!

Now, it’s been a couple years but the dynamic duo of Drotuno and Jen Rar, writin’ as Sarge’s Girls, are back with a vengence *woo hoo!*

ROB ATTACK

Sixth sense: a special ability to know something that cannot be learned by using the five senses. Humans use 10% of their brain, but it’s been proven that those with a sixth sense use more. Some wish to harness that power. With a target on us, sixxers are hunted as we try to stay hidden, blending in with the average world around us…when we are anything but average. AH ExB

Rated: Fiction M – English – Supernatural/Romance – Words: 5,109 – Reviews: 221 – Favs: 368 – Follows: 579 – Published: Jul 10 – id: 12042869

Eleven-year-old Edward and nine-year-old Alice find themselves stuck in a mental institution until Carlisle Cullen comes along…

“What you can do, Edward, is a sixth sense. It’s a part of your mind that works differently than most human beings. Alice’s too. There are more of us out there in the world than you think.”

“You?” Alice whispered, but a small smile curled her mouth as she saw flashes of his decisions to come here. “You can…sense us. Six…”

“Sixxers.” Dr. Cullen chuckled softly, tapping her chin lightly. “I can. Very good, Alice. And I knew I’d find two of you here.”

“No one should know. We’re freaks!” I snapped, starting to stand up.

“We’re different, yes,” he agreed, setting a hand on my shoulder. I wanted to flinch away from him, manipulate him into just finishing up on Alice, but my curiosity overrode everything. “Some will tell you we’re better, more evolved than everyone else. Others will tell you that we’re possessed by devils, but I personally will tell you that you can learn to control it, to hone your skills into something useful. There are some out there who will exploit what you can do. Some will use you for terrible things.”

My brow furrowed at that. “Like my parents.”

Dr. Cullen frowned. “What did your parents do, son?”

“They…they…wanted me to listen,” I told him, tapping my temple. “ATM PIN numbers, bank-account numbers, lock combinations. Then…then they wanted me to break open places. They wanted me to make people do things for them.

When we got caught, they tried to bribe their way out. No one believed them, and they were arrested. I was brought here.”

His eyes warmed to that. “You made that happen, didn’t you? Helped get them caught.”

I looked down at the floor and then out the window, where I could see what I’d done outside in the courtyard. It looked like a small bomb had gone off. Sighing deeply, I nodded a little as my eyes took in ripped-up bushes, bent and broken chairs and tables, not to mention a few kids still wondering what the hell had happened. It was mild in comparison to what I’d done to get my parents caught.

“I just wanted to go to school. I wanted to be normal. I hate what I am. My head hurts all the time. But they moved around so much, used me like some…some…trained dog.”

“It will get better, Edward. You can learn to control it. I promise you.”

I shrugged a shoulder, glancing toward Alice, whose mind was as quiet as her mouth at the moment. Except for one tiny vision she was mulling over. Dr. Cullen was taking us somewhere.

“Alice?” I whispered.

“Shh!” she hushed me. Edward, he’s a good person. He saves us.

Yeah, as Deb says, it’s kinda like Twilight meets X-Men meets her crazy mind LOL!

~oOo~

ROB ATTACK

“Jesus,” Edward muttered. “Is it so hard to believe I’d want to go on a date with Swan?” A spur-of-the-moment bet will put Bella in a compromising position with the boy next door. They’ve been best friends since forever, so having his hand down her pants won’t change anything… Right?

Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance/Humor – Chapters: 3 – Words: 5,338 – Reviews: 272 – Favs: 224 – Follows: 421 – Updated: Jul 13 – Published: Jul 9 – id: 12040715

One of my favorite genres is best friends who suddenly discover untapped feelin’s for each other resultin’ in major sparkage and GeekChic12 is a veritable maestro at writin’ sparkage LOL!

Some say guys and girls can’t just be friends, but I call bullshit on that little theory. Having grown up together and been there to witness all the embarrassing shit that goes on, there’s no way any of us had the slightest inclination to fuck each other.

We talked and joked about sex in a general sense, and I’d heard about some of their hook-ups, but that was it.

Edward, Emmett, and Jasper came in the door after going for a food run, laughing and razzing one another. Cullen’s face was crimson, and this intrigued me. I’d never seen him get truly embarrassed, except for that one time he spilled Sprite down the front of his pants in third grade and everyone pointed and called him Eddie Pee-pants for the rest of the day.

“You know it’s true, Eddie-boy,” Emmett said. “All the girls cream their jeans for you.”

I snorted. Loudly. Couldn’t help it.

I had so many memories of all of them, but Edward was my next-door neighbor, so I’d hung out with him the most. I’d seen him cry when his little colony of sea monkeys died. I’d seen him faceplant on the sidewalk after tripping over his own two feet. I’d been there when he first discovered one single hair at the base of his penis, and we’d both stared at it like the alien thing it was to us. It was nothing sexual. We were only eleven, and being the oldest out of our group of friends, he was the first to get any.

“What, B? You don’t think so?” Emmett asked.

“I wouldn’t say all the girls,” I offered with a raised brow. “And cream their jeans? Gross.” I gave a dramatic shudder as our Halo round ended. Most kills: Killer B.

I grinned as Jacob and Brady stalked off to the kitchen.

“You should let them win every now and then, B,” Jasper chided.

“The fuck I should.”

Edward laughed, plopping down next to me on the couch and slinging a leanly muscled arm around my shoulders. “This one doesn’t give an inch. Trust me. I know.”

I rolled my eyes and pinched his side, making him jump away from me with a girly squeal that made me snort again.

“Anywaaay,” I said as Edward sent me a mock glare but then moved back to my side with a smirk. “What were you guys talking about when you came in?”

“All the pussy Edward’s gonna get when you two go to UDub this fall.”

A pang hit my chest out of nowhere. What the fuck?

 

Lemme just say Edward had his epiphany way before Bella…she has some serious catchin’ up to do and he’s more than willin’ to help *wink!*

~oOo~

ROB ATTACK

When Renee dies leaving Bella all alone, she answers an ad for a housekeeper for the reclusive writer Carlisle Cullen. She takes an instant dislike to his nephew Edward, who’s a fancy city lawyer, but are there other dangers she should be more wary of?

Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance – Bella, Edward – Chapters: 3 – Words: 13,837 – Reviews: 121 – Favs: 118 – Follows: 273 – Updated: Jul 6 – Published: Jun 1 – id: 11976257

At first sight, the small village with its narrow streets and top-heavy fishermen’s cottages perched in tiers on the steep hillside, was claustrophobic and confusing, but Bella soon realised every path led to the main street and from there to the sea, and after a short walk she arrived at her destination.

She desperately wanted to stay and explore the rock pools and spend the rest of the morning enjoying the sunshine and the scenery, but her interview was looming. Reluctantly dragging her eyes away from the sea, she turned and looked up over the houses and shops nestled at the bottom of the cliff, to the narrow road which wound like a white ribbon across the grassy hillside, past the church on the outskirts of the village, all the way over to the headland, where a single building was visible.

Large, imposing and painted white, so that like the sea it was glistening in the strong sunlight, Bella recognised The Lantern House immediately, but had to shield her eyes with her hand to make out the glass dome of the observatory tacked onto the side, which gave the house its name. In the last two weeks she had spent hours on the net familiarizing herself with the area and somewhere up there Carlisle Cullen was waiting for her.

Do yourself a favor with this one and don’t skip read just because it’s a bit wordy…savor each one ’cause they are important!

~oOo~

ROB ATTACK

‘For as long as I can remember, the boy with the yellow eyes had been my only constant companion. Every time I looked to the forest, he was there. Watching, waiting.’ She’s surrounded by a dark forest that holds a mystery she is destined to be apart of.

Rated: Fiction M – English – Mystery/Suspense – Bella, Edward – Chapters: 19 – Words: 10,479 – Reviews: 415 – Favs: 160 – Follows: 131 – Updated: Dec 8, 2011 – Published: Dec 4, 2011 – Status: Complete – id: 7607312

The Watcher is a quick read…so damn quick, I was readin’ the last chapter before I knew it and hadn’t even stopped to leave reviews *facepalm!* I shall be rectifyin’ that pronto!!!

He says nothing. He only looks at me, that half smile reappears, but it does nothing to calm my nerves. I want to run, but my flight instinct is paralyzed by the pure fear that radiates down to my wobbly knees.

“Who are you?” I ask. My voice is as shaky as my legs.

“Think of me as … The Watcher,” he replies after some thought. He smiles wider, as though pleased with his answer.

I look up at him, his eyes hold mine. They are so yellow they are almost gold. With flecks of what look be dark red and amber.

“Your eyes, why are they that color?”

He only smiles wider in reply. My hand is still clasped in his and I realize then that he has moved closer again. I step back. My hand slips from his but he looks unaffected by my distance. He simply stands there and watches me. Perfectly still, perfectly silent.

“So what is it The Watcher does exactly? Well, besides stare at people and be creepy?” I half joke. I am still on edge but I don’t want him seeing the fear that he has created in me. I have to keep it light, work my way out of the conversation. Out of the forest. Back home.

“I protect the things I watch over,” he explains simply.

“Why?” I ask, intrigued.

“Because they are mine.” His voice is deeper, his tone authoritative.

See? See? THAT’s why I didn’t stop to review!

What fics have you read that made it hard to pause long enough to review?

Happy Friday, y’all!

Rita

Rob Attack

34 Comments

Filed under Fan Fiction Recs, Rita01tx

34 responses to “Random Rita ~ Friday Feature Fics!

  1. Thank you, Rita!! I appreciate this so much! ❤
    I love that banner. Do you mind if I save/use it? It's the first one for this story. :))

  2. Welp, I’ve done it. I’ve finally, finally gotten to The Cullen Legacy. I’m at the half-way point and it is good-definitely one that’s hard to put down long enough to review. Especially when I’ve been reading when I should be sleeping. Before that I read Monolith, your recs from last week (Cherry and Flushed) , and the latest update for Eight Days . Oh and if anyone here hasn’t yet read And With Thee Fade Away, which Rita chatted up in a thread a couple of weeks ago, get on that. It was excellent.

  3. Forgot to say that I love your recs this week. I’m excited that there’s a new fic by Sarge’s Girls. Fist pumps!!! The WILd all sound good and I’ve put them on alert and grabbed The Watcher. It may be my next read.

  4. dpennell007

    I’m following Six, and your other recs look excellent!

  5. Thanks Rita for all those rec’d

    As you I can’t wait for next chapter of Six, already have Aim-Straight-For-The-Heart and The-Lantern-House on alert and will add the Watcher 🙂

    I read Twisted, bev rec’d from last week … great story, the title is well found because is twisted until the end

    I forgot to rec’d this one its good 🙂
    https://www.fanfiction.net/s/10558233/1/The-Tonic-of-Wildness
    Much in need of a break after his final year of medical school, Edward agrees to accompany Carlisle on a backpacking trip through the Olympic National Forest. A chance encounter with an accident victim will affect Edward in ways he never imagined. AU/AH story.
    Rated: Fiction T – English – Adventure/Romance – Chapters: 13 – Words: 37,390 – Reviews: 397 – Favs: 178 – Follows: 119 – Updated: Aug 8, 2014 – Published: Jul 23, 2014 – Status: Complete – id: 10558233

    and now I go back to finish The Cullen Campaign 🙂

    • rita01tx

      Oh! I have all her fics stashed but haven’t read any yet! This looks like one I’d certainly love to sink my teeth into! Thanks, hon *fist bump!*

    • dpennell007

      I just finished The Tonic of Wildness. Excellent story! So fast paced it was over before I realized it. I have to jump in the shower and get ready for GNO, but I would almost rather stay inside my house with the A/C on high and just read!

      • rita01tx

        What’s GNO? And I’d perish without the ceilin’ fan over my bed and in the livin’ room where I spend most of my time! DH insists on tons of blankets and I don’t so we’re really startin’ to fight over survivin’ the summer…as it is, I’m losin’ so half of me hangs off the bed out from under the covers LMAO!
        Wait, I’m startin’ to see why married people used to sleep in separate beds and even in separate rooms!!!

        • dpennell007

          Girls Night Out. I’m waiting for my girlfriend to call me to pick her up at the train station as has no car and I’m the designated driver. Oh, and I read, and liked The Watcher earlier too. Zero housework was accomplished today.

      • yeah this was short but good Donna 🙂

  6. eewee333

    Hi Rita! I’m a little late to the party this week, but thanks for all the great recs, as usual, and especially the “completed” one for me. I have to say I’m on an ericastwilight binge these past two weeks. I just finished Training the Swan (excellent story, intricate plot, well developed characters, and a badass Charlie {yes!!}) Right now I’m reading Buried and I don’t want to put it down, but I have to work dang it. She is such a good writer. I’m also working on the Angel Series as well because I love New Moon stories. Hugs to you and all the ladies and a special wave to RobsFantasy.

    https://www.fanfiction.net/u/1660545/ericastwilight

Leave Us Some Love & Tell us what You Think, Comment.

