Random Rita ~ Friday Feature Fics!

ROB ATTACK

Evenin’, ladies!

Ain’t gonna bore you with excuses for my long absence…suffice to say, I don’t do well with heat waves or WordPress glitches LOL!

However, the silver linin’ to bein’ in readin’ mode for so long is havin’ a ridiculous number of fics to rec!

These recs are all about the feels!

ROB ATTACK

https://www.fanfiction.net/s/4487327/1/Major-Jasper-and-Blackbird

Bella talks in her sleep. Emmett gets an idea. Jasper/Bella bonding ensues.

Twilight – Rated: T – English – Friendship – Chapters: 1 – Words: 4,389 – Reviews: 405 – Favs: 1,254 – Follows: 191 – Published: Aug 20, 2008 – Jasper, Bella – Complete

Why I’d never heard of this author before, I don’t know but I literally gorged myself on all her one shots…this was my favorite and so good, I had to share!

Major Jasper and Blackbird: or, Why Edward Decided (for the 23rd time) That Emmett Needed to Die Already!

Emmett was on babysitting duty. Jasper was also left at home, but no one expected him to watch Bella and he would never have offered unless it was an absolute necessity. 

Emmett hears something with huge potential for mischief when she sleep talks after dozin’ off durin’ a movie and surprises her next day with a trampoline!

And so it began. It was a matter of trial and error – Jasper didn’t quite know how much pressure to assert when Bella’s small frame made contact with the trampoline, and Bella didn’t know what to make of the added height and momentum he gave her. She soared off the right side a fair few times, always being caught in either Emmett or Jasper’s arms before she could injure herself. She showed no sign of nervousness or discomfort, only joy and abandon – a steady stream of her laughter ringing through the clearing.

Her feelings were having an incredible effect on Jasper; he couldn’t remember a time when he’d felt so wonderful without being near Alice. He couldn’t help but spread it around, causing a very silly grin to form on Emmett’s dimpled face.

Of course, Edward comes home from a huntin’ trip at exactly the wrong time…well, you’ll just have to read the whole thing to see how that turns out LMAO!

~oOo~

ROB ATTACK

https://www.fanfiction.net/s/12120156/1/Double-Stroller

The wind is hot, and I’m sticky and sweaty and need to go home and take a shower. I should be taking advantage of the fact that we’re done early for the day, but I’m not. Instead, I’m sitting in my truck, waiting for the mom with the double stroller to walk by. I do this every day of the week and even though I worry I’m becoming a little creepy, I can’t seem to stop myself.

Twilight – Rated: T – English – Romance/Hurt/Comfort – Chapters: 6 – Words: 13,570 – Reviews: 486 – Favs: 237 – Follows: 444 – Updated: Sep 28 – Published:Aug 26 – Bella, Edward

Some of you might recognize the first chapter from the Meet the Mate contest where it took 3rd place…Meli has since expanded this wonderful story, for which I am eternally grateful!

I first noticed this woman who I’ve dubbed – double stroller mom – on the Monday we started working to replace the sidewalks in the older neighbourhood on the east end of town. She was walking at a quick pace on the opposite side of the street, pushing a double stroller with one child jumping up and down in it, and another that looked like a baby. Behind her trailed a young girl, maybe five or six years old, who was trying to keep up.

Weeks later, I’m on my hands and knees in a dugout that was once a sidewalk and will be again soon, when I hear a soft sniffling sound. Looking up, I see two, small, bare feet with toenails that look as if they’re painted with sparkly pink dirt. As I slowly stand and raise my eyes, I notice knobbly knees just under the hem of a short pink nightgown with multi-color cupcakes printed all over it. I start chuckling at the cuteness of it all, but quickly stop when I see her face. It’s double stroller mom’s little mini-me. Her brown eyes look abnormally large on such a little face and for a moment, she just stares at me. Brushing the dirt off my hands, I look up at the house and then back at the girl. She looks as though she is going to be sick, but in a small, quiet voice she says “my mom,” and “blood” in such a way that it leaves me cold.

Thus begins Edward’s entrance into the world of Double Stroller Mom!  Oh, and she has a nickname for him, too…Rusty!

~oOo~

ROB ATTACK

{banner by MarieCarro}

https://www.fanfiction.net/s/12135729/1/Jack-Crush

Shy, reserved Edward has a little too much Jack Daniels after finding his fiancée cheating on him. Waking up the next morning in a strange woman’s bed, he fights the pull he feels for her. Will he realize they’re fated for each other, or will he only focus on their differences?

Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance/Hurt/Comfort – Chapters: 5 – Words: 7,777 – Reviews: 273 – Favs: 256 – Follows: 565 – Updated: Sep 26 – Published: Sep 5 – id: 12135729

Prepare to meet one of the baddest ass Bellas ever!

“Someone in this bar has been banned,” my voice rang out in the silence. “Someone was told to stay away, or there would be consequences.” I stopped swinging, banging the business end of my stick on the wood floor.

Standing at his full six feet seven inches, I knew I wasn’t physically any match for him. However, I also knew every single person in that bar would have my back if me and my Slugger were to fail. He straightened his spine, but being the coward he is, he didn’t speak.

“You need to leave. You are officially banned from my businesses, in front of witnesses, in case you forget again.” Rocking my hips a little, I swung the bat in small circles over my shoulder.

“I didn’t forget,” he finally spoke. “I just didn’t think you were seriously going to turn away my money.”

The blood in my veins boiled harder at his words. “Are you implying something, Black?”

“Just that I’m a paying customer. Last I checked, you don’t give anything away for free.” He smirked, thinking he had me where it hurt. He knew I struggled to meet all of my responsibilities.

So I played it up. I let my eyes water a little, and my lip quivered as I dropped the bat to my side, relaxing my stance. He leaned closer to me. “But-but-but. . . ” Striking like a snake while his guard was down, I grabbed him by the gonads, twisting my wrist ruthlessly. “I don’t need your fucking money!”

The crowd that had mostly been silent up until then erupted. Some men groaned, most people cheered, and Emmett made his very tall presence known behind a crying Jake. I nodded, and he grabbed him by his neck, shoving his bent over body out the front door.

When I turned back to the bar, there were a handful of cheers, and I did a curtsy as the music came back up. Replacing the bat under the bar top, I caught the eye of my one night stand before he moved to sit back down.

Yup, Edward grew a pair and came back for round two, three, four…well, you get the drift LOL!

~oOo~

ROB ATTACK

https://www.fanfiction.net/s/12128224/1/Final-Destination

Two lost, lonely people travelling to different destinations. One storm that brings them together. Could their meeting alter their final destination?

Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance/Hurt/Comfort – Chapters: 5 – Words: 12,415 – Reviews: 790 – Favs: 621 – Follows: 914 – Updated: Sep 28 – Published: Aug 31 – id: 12128224

Anyone who’s ever suffered a long layover at a socked in airport can relate to Bella’s predicament, although I’m sure none of us was ever granted such a magnificent partner in mind numbin’ boredom LOL!

Across from my spot, a man was stretched out, already sleeping. On the floor beside him sat a bulging backpack resting against the seat and a battered guitar case. He was dressed in a white T-shirt and jeans, his feet clad in dusty work boots. The way he was curled up, his T-shirt had ridden up over his pants, exposing a wide expanse of his naked back. His jeans were pulled down, the waistband of his underwear peeking over the edge. Tilting my head, I read Fruit of the Loom written across the banding. Feeling like a stalker, my eyes drifted lower, settling on his ass. His well-shaped, very firm-looking ass. The angle he was bent in showed it off to perfection. Squinting my eyes, I could even see two dimples that rested just over the swell of his ass cheeks and the sudden desire to reach across and touch them made me actually sit on my hands so I didn’t do exactly that.

He was lying down—stretched out across a few seats. Maybe I should try doing that. I stood up and pulled on the wide, metal arm rail, but it didn’t budge. I pushed and pulled, but I couldn’t get it to move. I moved to the next set of seats and tried again. Obviously, some of them had to pull up so you could lie down. Ass-man had figured it out. Surely I could, too.

I circled around and warily leaned over the back of the seats he was sleeping on to see how the arm lifted. I was shocked when I realized the arm wasn’t missing. Mr. Ass-man was curled right around the metal—so tightly it was digging into his stomach. I frowned at the dark circles under his eyes, but understood better how he was able to sleep in such an awkward position. He was exhausted.

My gaze strayed over to my backpack. I wondered if I should cover him with my blanket and if there was any way of sliding the airplane pillow under his head, to make him a little more comfortable. I wanted to do something, help in some small way. Why, I had no idea, but the urge was overwhelming.

His eyes were now open—staring right at me. Wide, startled eyes, so green it was like losing oneself in a deep forest. I felt my cheeks burst into flames at being caught leaning over him and staring.

I waited for the anger. The yelling that would start any second.

Instead, his full mouth curved into a slow, deep smile.

“Hello.”

The next few hours entail monumental bondin’ that makes it imperative to choose a combined final destination!

~oOo~

ROB ATTACK

https://www.fanfiction.net/s/12133072/1/The-Curb

Bella’s night doesn’t go as planned when she forgets an address and stumbles upon an injured stranger instead. AH

Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance/Hurt/Comfort – Bella, Edward – Chapters: 7 – Words: 9,111 – Reviews: 463 – Favs: 291 – Follows: 536 – Updated:Sep 24 – Published: Sep 3 – id: 12133072

Why is it that a beat up to hell and back Edward tugs at our heartstrings? Oh, and Bella’s as well…

My phone died right around the time I hit the corner of Chestnut and High. I wish I were high when another gust of cold wind flies up my skirt. Shivering, I cross the street, stopping right in the middle of the road when a moan comes from behind one of the parked cars.

“Hello? Is someone there?” Another moan. “Look, if you’re planning on attacking me, I’d advise against it.” Looking side to side, I noisily dig around in my purse. “I’ve got a new can of pepper spray and I’m not afraid to use it.” Key point being that it’s new.

Another moan comes out of the darkness before cheers erupt from inside the surrounding warm houses. I creep closer to look around the back of the car where I find a man sitting on the curb, his head in his hands.

“Hey, are you okay?”

With my finger firmly in place on the pepper spray, I move closer until I’m standing right beside the guy.

“Excuse me. Hey . . . ” I reach down and touch his shoulder, and he jerks away, looking up at me in fear.

“Oh, wow.” I automatically cringe, unable to help it when I see the condition of the guy’s face. He’s obviously been in a fight by the looks of that busted lip. His eyes are swollen shut. But what really worries me is the bloody gash on his forehead.

She insists on callin’ an ambulance to take him to the hospital and winds up goin’ with him. Then, she can’t get rid of him LOL!

“I’m sorry, Mr. Masen, but I can’t in good conscience let you go without someone to stay with. I just can’t.” The doctor repeats my words from earlier in the evening and Edward looks at me out of the side of his eye.

“Oh, no. Huh uh.” I simultaneously shake my head and wave the idea away with a sassy finger.

“What? You heard the doc. Only twenty-four hours and I’ll be out of your pretty brown hair.” He reaches up to flick a curled end and my mouth drops.

He cannot be serious.

Still haven’t found out who beat him up but I have my theories…make your own!

~oOo~

So, this was the teaser Bornonhalloween threw at us for her latest endeavor!

ROB ATTACK

She’s sooo evil but, boy, did she finally deliver LMAO!

bornonhalloween_still-waters_banner-by-betti-gefecht

{banner by Betti Gefecht}

https://www.fanfiction.net/s/12157301/1/Still-Waters

A stressed-out grad student hiding from the world finds a mountain man of few words and quiet strength. Still waters do run deep. E/B, Rated M

Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance – Bella, Edward – Chapters: 3 – Words: 9,648 – Reviews: 370 – Favs: 290 – Follows: 538 – Updated: Sep 28 – Published: Sep 20 – id: 12157301

The fresh mountain air filled my lungs, and I could almost feel the cobwebs blowing away. Ahhh. Grown-up camp might even be tolerable if the other inmates could just learn to suffer in silence like me.

I didn’t want to completely lose the group, but as a kid, I had played enough hide-and-seek with my brothers to know a count to fifty was in order. I’d just reached “thirty-eight Mississippi” when I heard someone calling my name. Crap.

“Isabella? Isabella Swan?”

Not Mike.

“Yeah, I’m over here.”

“Oh, thank God.” Heavy boots jogged toward me, and I got my first close-up view of our shy hike leader as he dropped to one knee next to my pack. “Are you okay?”

Damn, he was gorgeous. Like, drop dead, but first tear off all your clothes gorgeous. Or maybe tear off his clothes gorgeous. Fit and tan and mountain-man scruffy, wild hair poking out all around the edges of his camo-patterned Red Sox cap. Outfitted in neutral tans and greens that melted into the earth, he looked like someone far more comfortable blending in than sticking out—someone like me.

A semicircle of sweat darkened his tan T-shirt, and the rise and fall of slightly labored breathing distracted me to the point where I couldn’t look away from that sexy chest. I couldn’t tell if he was out of breath from his jog or the anxiety of misplacing one of his hikers in his first half hour in charge. Either way, it was my fault.

His eyes were hidden behind brown-tinted shades, but I could feel him checking me out for visible signs of injury or worse—something he couldn’t see that might be even more dangerous out here in the wild.

Dayum, where the hell are my hikin’ boots?

~oOo~

And because I can never resist a good vamp fics…

ROB ATTACK

https://www.fanfiction.net/s/12141284/1/In-Your-Shoes

With Edward gone, Bella believes his every lie and assumes he has it easy. It isn’t long before she finds herself in his shoes. (No, not literally.) NM AU

Rated: Fiction M – English – Drama/Humor – Bella – Chapters: 12 – Words: 17,045 – Reviews: 352 – Favs: 61 – Follows: 152 – Updated: 9h ago – Published:Sep 9 – id: 12141284

The story is told mainly from Bella’s point of view, but for some reason Edward seems to think it’s okay if he interjects in the middle of each chapter, therefore each has alternating points of view—Bella/Edward/Bella.

At first it seems like such a rush, plummeting feet first into the freezing cold water. It makes me feel alive for the first time in months, but then my body turns numb and I feel nothing.

My heart is frozen, just like yours, but it’s not the same.

I don’t want to be here anymore.

. . . . .

Leaving you has solved nothing. Leaving you has only proven what I already knew: I am the very worst kind of monster, and I have all but killed us both.

You were far too young to die; you had barely begun to live. And I? I have lived long enough.

I don’t want to be here anymore.

Trust me…neither of them actually dies! Someone, and we don’t know who yet…she was abandoned by her maker, turned Bella and it’s drivin’ me crazy waitin’ for her to remember who she is and for Edward to learn she’s still alive!

Of course, whether he’ll be able to find her or not when he does is the question LOL!

Okay! Did that make up any for the wait?

Happy Friday, ya’ll!

Rita

nightraider240x32012

42 Comments

Filed under Fan Fiction Recs, Rita01tx

42 responses to “Random Rita ~ Friday Feature Fics!

  1. Thanks. There are a lot I haven’t heard about. I’m always up for something new.

    • rita01tx

      You’re welcome, Lisa darlin’! One of my passions is findin’ new authors and sharin’ them! And sorry your comment didn’t pop up right away…first timers go into moderation. Won’t happen again! Welcome to RA *fist bump!*

  2. dpennell007

    Double Stroller and Final Destination – both excellent, and I’m following. I read Still Waters as part of a charity compilation and give it 2 thumbs up. I’ll check out your other recs because they look interesting as well.

    My recent completed favorite fic is by Anton M – Emma Matthews
    https://www.fanfiction.net/s/11510042/1/ So, so good!
    Emma Matthews
    By: Anton M
    Complete. Isabella has been cooperating with the DEA under her father’s nose. A video footage reveals her involvement, her brother murders their father, and she agrees to be a key witness in federal criminal cases against an ex-judge, a congressman, and an array of criminals, including her brother. Olderward, AH
    Rated: Fiction M – English – Suspense/Romance – Bella, Edward – Chapters: 22 – Words: 130,728 Status: Complete

    And my current favorite WIP is only 4 chapters in, but she’s a finisher – The Saints by love notes from morgan o’mally
    https://www.fanfiction.net/s/12140342/1/
    I just love her style of writing!
    The Saints
    By: love notes from morgan o’mally
    Love and life in rebound. A soul wise survivor wins his second half court side.
    Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance/Friendship – Bella, Edward – Chapters: 4 – Words: 6,645

    Missed you!

    • Donna, I thought I had Alaska because I had it on alert, but your rec prompted me to check. I’m glad I did because I never downloaded it. Thank you. I’ve put your WIP rec on alert. Have you read Serenity’s Prayer, by ladylibre? If not, it’s very good, beautifully written.

      https://www.fanfiction.net/s/7630525/1/
      COMPLETE! When Edward takes Bella into the forest to dump her, her reaction completely surprises him. Will this be the end of B&E or will they find a new path to forever? A canon-based yet very different AU approach to New Moon. Some OOC and OC.
      Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance/Drama – Bella, Edward – Chapters: 55 – Words: 242,648 – Reviews: 2,735 – Favs: 1,567 – Follows: 1,204 – Updated: May 14, 2014 – Published: Dec 12, 2011 – Status: Complete – id: 7630525

      • rita01tx

        LadyLibre is lethal LOL! Hell’n I’m still snotsobbin’ at the last update of The Last Word!
        https://www.fanfiction.net/s/11620499/1/The-Last-Word
        Edward enjoys his source of sustenance, and why not? He’s providing a service to humanity. Right? Non-canon/OOC
        Rated: Fiction M – English – Tragedy/Hurt/Comfort – Bella, Edward – Chapters: 23 – Words: 46,671 – Reviews: 452 – Favs: 174 – Follows: 321 – Updated: Sep 24 – Published: Nov 17, 2015 – id: 11620499
        There’s not one single lemon in this fic but the dialogue alone is worth the read…stunned to my DNA!

      • dpennell007

        No I haven’t. It looks good, and I’ll add it to my list. Thanks.

    • rita01tx

      Well, dang, Donna darlin’! Got The Saints earmarked for rec ’cause I’m lovin’ it, too *high five!*
      I keep swearin’ I’m gonna get to Anton M one of these days but epic fail…so far *sigh!*

    • Thanks Donna for rec’d, they are on my list … but time … need to find time 🙂

      Kay she is writing sequel to Serenity Prayers
      https://www.fanfiction.net/s/12156739/1/Eternity-s-Wish-the-Sequel-to-Serenity-s-Prayer
      After surviving the events of “Serenity’s Prayer,” Edward and Bella are ready to begin the next chapter of their lives. But immortality has its own set of challenges, and Bella becoming a vampire is only the beginning. ***NOT A STAND-ALONE STORY: READ “SERENITY’S PRAYER” FIRST.***
      Rated: Fiction M – English – Drama/Family – Bella, Edward – Words: 2,296 – Reviews: 18 – Favs: 31 – Follows: 58 – Published: Sep 20 – id: 12156739

    • Donna I started Emma Matthews and so for is really good, make me think about In Pursuit by Sarge’s Girls…

  3. YAYYYY!!! So wonderful to get an alert for a new post from you Rita. Glad the glitches have seemed to resolve themselves. Major Jasper and Blackbird was a cute, quick read. I loved Jasper in this one. All your recs this week are new to me.

    • rita01tx

      Well, I only have one little glitch still buggin’ me but Kim swears she can fix it so I’m not gonna worry about it *woo hoo!*
      Don’t just stop with Major Jasper and Blackbird ’cause Calendulam has other offerin’s just as good! Hell’n I still need to read her multi-chapter fics and I don’t even care that some of them aren’t finished!

  4. yes!!! you are beck 🙂
    Major-Jasper-and-Blackbird is excellent and cute 🙂

    I’m following all of the stories, except Jack Crush, I will add this one on my list 🙂

    I finished excellent western story

    https://www.fanfiction.net/s/9531063/7/The-Mail-Order-Bride
    It’s the late 1800s in the wild west. A lonely man seeks companionship; a woman restricted by convention seeks a future. Add those together and what do you get?
    Rated: Fiction M – English – Western/Romance – Bella, Edward – Chapters: 7 – Words: 102,998 – Reviews: 185 – Favs: 708 – Follows: 253 – Updated: Jul 31, 2013 – Published: Jul 26, 2013 – Status: Complete – id: 9531063

    and the sequel
    https://www.fanfiction.net/s/9554158/8/Bear-Valley-Ranch
    The sequel to The Mail Order Bride.
    Rated: Fiction M – English – Western/Romance – Bella, Edward, Lauren, Tyler – Chapters: 8 – Words: 119,528 – Reviews: 160 – Favs: 452 – Follows: 177 – Updated: Aug 10, 2013 – Published: Aug 2, 2013 – Status: Complete – id: 9554158

    • rita01tx

      Mornin’, Zveka darlin’! As further incentive, the Edward in Jack & Crush is a military man…my kryptonite LOL!
      Thoroughly enjoyed Bear Valley Ranch but still haven’t gotten to the sequel *poutyface!* I’ll just add it to my “Why the Hell Are You Even Waitin’?” list LOL!

    • Zveka this is an author I’ve been meaning to read for the longest. For the life of me I can’t figure out why I haven’t read these two fics yet. They’ve been high on my list and I just keep bypassing them. I must get to these.

    • dpennell007

      I love that author! Those two stories are next up for me! Her story Nightingale is on my favorite list.
      https://www.fanfiction.net/s/9599319/1/Nightingale

      Nightingale
      By: Mrs. Brownloe
      A hardworking seamtress leaves her home of Portsmouth, England to try her fortune as an indentured servant in the colonies.
      Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance/Adventure – Bella, Edward – Chapters: 6 – Words: 143,521 – Status: Complete – id: 9599319

  5. For info
    Firefly In Summer by primarycolors to be published … details to follow

    for the moment this story is still on ffn, I guess if published the story will be pulled, anyway it’s excellent story so save it in your TBR list 🙂

    https://www.fanfiction.net/s/6672297/1/
    Edward finds himself back in the little beach town of his childhood when he inherits the local bar from his uncle. The elusive, pretty girl next door has killer legs, a sketchbook and secrets that are slowly eating her alive.
    Rated: Fiction M – English – Angst/Romance – Edward, Bella – Chapters: 47 – Words: 188,377 – Reviews: 9,852 – Favs: 6,757 – Follows: 4,369 – Updated: Feb 20, 2012 – Published: Jan 21, 2011 – Status: Complete – id: 6672297

    • rita01tx

      Thanks for the heads up, Zveka darlin’! Snagged Firefly and her one shots for posterity LOL!

    • dpennell007

      Oh NO! Another one of my favorites bites the dust. I know I have it, as well as the outtake version already saved, but I just re-saved it with the new (maybe not yet released to the public) Ficlab version. (It’s like the old FLAG in that it’s super easy to read.)

      Thank you for the heads up!! That was one TERRIFIC fic!

      • rita01tx

        Just got word Alisa Pearce and Sophia Amador are pullin’ Bitter Sun Rising on October 8th to be published as Play At Soul’s Edge on Amazon later in October.
        Good news is it’s only a temporary pull and they’ll repost it about a month later!

    • One of my all time favorites!

  6. rita01tx

    And, apparently, Drotuno will be pullin’ Rain Must Fall…don’t have an exact date but it’s soon *sigh!*

  7. Rita Double-Stroller is great, love it, tried In Your Shoes, but I’m out with this one, maybe one day I will read it when is complet, for the moment this one is not for me 🙂

  8. edwardsvamptramp69

    My! You’ve been busy, Rita! 🙂

Leave Us Some Love & Tell us what You Think, Comment.

