Random Rita ~ Friday Feature Fics!

ROB ATTACK

Evenin’, ladies!

Got another bag of goodies for you today, so gather ’round, gather ’round!

Now, it’s not often I rec a particular author twice in a row but Lara’s givin’ us a Prisonward and, even with only one chapter up, I’m absolutely rivited!

ROB ATTACK{banner by MarieCarro}

https://www.fanfiction.net/s/12177956/1/Ex-Delicto

An imprisoned man who’s run out of options to prove his innocence, a young attorney volunteering her time to help the wrongly convicted, and the actual criminal walking around free for ten years. The consequences of a crime are far reaching and often unseen.

Rated: Fiction M – English – Drama/Hurt/Comfort – Bella, Edward – Words: 1,306 – Reviews: 58 – Favs: 103 – Follows: 210 – Published: Oct 5 – id: 12177956

Ex Delicto ~ “from a transgression”; indicating the consequence of a crime.

I found myself drawn to the files of the man about my age, who had been sitting in a cell for ten years for something he might not have done. I normally waited to get a feel at the first visit, and I never accepted sexual assault cases.

This one had hooked me, though, and my mind continuously drifted back to the letter his mother included with his application. I had to go, needed to meet him and make the decision. I pictured a wrongly accused 19-year-old, sentenced to 15 years in prison when he knew he was entirely innocent. Then I pictured him being released in five years, having to register as an offender and not being able to get a job or a place to live.

Sighing heavily, I picked up my phone and looked at my schedule for tomorrow afternoon. I needed to see what I could do about this one and get the ball rolling before he spent another unnecessary day in that hellhole.

She already has 11 chapters written and says she’ll update once a week and not let it interrupt her other two stories!

~oOo~

ROB ATTACK

https://www.fanfiction.net/s/11815724/2/Evergreen-Loop

The downside of high school: cafeteria food sucks, and sometimes, you’re cast as the weirdo. On the bright side, sometimes Edward Cullen is your best friend. Even if it is a secret.

Rated: Fiction M – English – Friendship/Romance – Bella, Edward – Chapters: 14 – Words: 47,780 – Reviews: 915 – Favs: 620 – Follows: 1,223 – Updated:Sep 4 – Published: Feb 29 – id: 11815724

As I weave through the crowded hall, no one looks at me. That’s the only thing about crowds I can stand. I’m like a blind spot. In fact, my superhero name would probably be Blind-Spot Girl. Attention just bounces off me.

All Edward wants to do is hang out with me, in public. Like real friends do.

But I can’t, because I like not being noticed. I like not having people look at me. And if we hang out in public, and someone sees us, they’ll notice. They’ll start talking, and they’ll stare at me at school, and I don’t want that. I don’t know how to deal with that.

“I’m sorry,” I mumble, guilt settling in my gut, squirming and heavy. “It’s not that I don’t want to hang out. I just…” I trail off, ending with a shrug instead.

He shakes his head. “No, I know. It’s fine.”

We both know it isn’t.

Awww, bless their hearts! But don’t worry! Edward is slowly but surely and oh so carefully breakin’ through Bella’s painfully shy shell and it’s beautiful to behold!

You’re gonna love it!

~oOo~

ROB ATTACK

https://www.fanfiction.net/s/12076052/1/Anything-For-You

Edward is a loner … always has been. The only people he’s ever loved are his parents and they were taken from him. The day he rides into town to bury his mother and father, he sees her.

Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance/Hurt/Comfort – Chapters: 6 – Words: 23,102 – Reviews: 544 – Favs: 311 – Follows: 529 – Updated: Sep 30 – Published: Jul 30 – id: 12076052

Taking one last long draw on his beer, he spies a group of women sitting at a round table, laughing, enjoying their evening. One of them in particular looks as if she wishes she were somewhere else, only smiling to appease the others.

Draining the last of his brew, he sets it down, slips out from his booth, and grabs his leather jacket. While he slips an arm into the sleeve, he makes eye contact with the brunette.

Her mouth goes dry the closer he gets, but when he walks past her, she slumps in disappointment. She notices the bad boy look about him; the tattoos, the leather, his day-old beard. Although he’s not the type of man she would typically go for, this man certainly has her insides reacting, especially when she hears the motorcycle fire up outside.

She’s never seen him around before, but he must be a local, otherwise the guys at the bar would be pestering him just to get him to leave. She shrugs and returns her focus to her friends.

You think it’s gonna end there? Naaaa!

As he tries to lift the engine off the repair rack and back onto the pallet, he loses his grip and his footing. In an attempt to regain his hold on the motor to avoid dropping it, his chest meets the propeller, and his back hits the ground. Managing to get to his knees, he rights the motor onto the pallet and absentmindedly rubs the sharp pain in his chest. When he pulls his wet hand back, he finds blood dripping through his fingers.

Looking down at his shirt, he sees it’s soaked with blood, and when he looks down through the neckline of his shirt, all he sees is blood and the meat of his pectoral muscle.

“Well, fuck,” he mutters.

Oh, and did I mention she’s a doctor?

~oOo~

ROB ATTACK

https://www.fanfiction.net/s/7297320/1/Dead-Man-Walking

When graduate student Isabella Swan decides to write her final paper on death row inmate Edward Masen, she promises her mother she won’t get too involved. She couldn’t have been more wrong. Rated M for language, content. B/E Mini Fic

Rated: Fiction M – English – Drama/Romance – Chapters: 13 – Words: 18,577 – Reviews: 1,191 – Favs: 1,285 – Follows: 582 – Updated: Feb 29, 2012 – Published: Aug 18, 2011 – Status: Complete – id: 7297320

For my “complete” offerin’, I’m goin’ back a ways to one of my favorite Prisonwards ever!

Dear Mr. Masen,

My name is Isabella Swan and I’m a graduate student at the University working on a research paper for my Criminology class. Our assignment is to research and present a paper on a subject of our choosing. I’ve chosen you Mr. Masen. I understand that your current situation limits visitors, but I would like a chance to speak with you. I look forward to hearing from you and the opportunity to learn more about you.

Sincerely,

Isabella Swan

For the next two weeks, I waited by the door watching for the mail to come. Every day I was disappointed so I stopped looking for it.

“Hey Bella,” one of my neighbors called as they passed.

“Hey Ben.” I smiled and pulled the mail from my mailbox. I shuffled through the usual items and finally came to the last envelope. I recognized my handwriting right away and my heart jumped into my throat. He wrote back.

My fingers shook as I tore at the paper. There was one piece of paper inside. And it was the same one I’d sent him. I scanned my own letter until I noted the different handwriting at the bottom.

Not interested.

Yeah, like that’s gonna stop her! This girl isn’t gonna stop until she gets her way, even if it means bringin’ out the big guns…his family!

“You’re a persistent little one aren’t you?” He asked me, turning back towards the glass.

“You wouldn’t answer my letters.”

“I thought maybe you’d get the hint after I sent them back a few times, but apparently I was mistaken.”

“Mr. Masen, please agree to these interviews. I’m interested in your life, how you grew up, your family, what happened with Tanya. I want to hear all of it.”

“Nobody wants to hear any of it,” he said, turning angry. “Nobody.”

“I do.”

“I call bullshit.” 

“It’s not…bullshit!” I said, a little louder than I expected.

“How’d you get in here anyway?” He asked, seemingly curious.

“I used your sister’s driver’s license. She dropped it after we had lunch at the diner.”

“Alice talked to you?” His brow furrowed.

“Yes.”

He tapped his finger slowly on the countertop as a smug smirk spread across his lips. “I’ll talk to my lawyer about arranging the interviews.” He stood from the chair. “And give my sister her ID back; she’s probably shitting a brick right now.”

“So…you’re saying yes?” I squeaked.

“I’m saying yes.”

An excerpt from one of their early interviews…it’s just tragic the low opinion Edward has always had of himself!

We’d covered a lot about his childhood. He got yanked from his parents’ house when he was four because of their drug habit and was placed in foster care. After that, it was a string of screw ups and shuffling. Different homes, different families, different schools. As he spoke about his experiences, I couldn’t help but think that the system failed him.

“Let’s see. My last foster dad had just kicked the ever living shit out of me.” He scratched his head. “Put me in the hospital, which is where I met Carlisle. He uh…took a liking to me I guess.”

“And why was that?”

“He thought he could…save me, or some bullshit.” He shook his head.

“Why is that bullshit? Being saved?”

“Because people like me don’t get saved, Bella.” He looked up at me and shrugged.

“People like you?”

He laughed under his breath. “I’m no good, you know that right?”

“How do I know that?”

“Because.” He looked down at his fingers. “That’s what they all tell you.”

Damn, this calls for a reread *sigh!*

What fics have you so intrigued you can’t put them down?

Happy Friday, y’all!

Rita

Rob Attack

 

30 Comments

Filed under Fan Fiction Recs, Rita01tx

30 responses to “Random Rita ~ Friday Feature Fics!

  1. edwardsvamptramp69

    Thanks, Rita! Hurricane Matthew is heading for SC so I’ve got time for some reading this weekend! 🙂

    I always appreciate your posts!

    Have a great weekend!

    Paula
    XOXO

  2. Hello gals, hope you all are well. Oh the recs this week look fantastic. Oooooh Prisonward, I’m all in! Evergreen Loop seems right up my alley too. And I just finished a good one from Dishie. I think it may have been rec’d here?? Silence is Golden, Sex is Divine. Since I enjoyed Serenity’s Prayer so much I went and read ladylibre’s other NM AU, A Love Worth Defending. One of the gals rec’d it last week. It was a wholly unique take on the Edward leaves storyline and Bella through him for quite the loop. The ending is so lovely. By the way when I checked my TBR, I didn’t have MandyLeigh87′ s version of Dead Man Walking, but I had one by author TrueEnglishRose, by the same name. I haven’t read it yet. https://www.fanfiction.net/s/10366414/1/Dead-Man-Walking She’s alive, he’s . . . well he’s not so much. Edward and Bella have one hell of a twisted relationship, right from the very beginning. A story of strange relationships that’s written purely for laughs.
    Rated: Fiction M – English – Humor/Romance – Bella, Edward – Chapters: 99 – Words: 18,157 – Reviews: 1,524 – Favs: 191 – Follows: 284 – Updated: Aug 5, 2014 – Published: May 21, 2014 – Status: Complete – id: 10366414

    • rita01tx

      Mornin’, Kay darlin’! I’ve read every story Dishie’s ever written, with the exception of Black Diamond which I can’t seem to get to LOL!
      TrueEnglishRose’s Dead Man Walking seems awfully familiar even though it’s not marked as one I’ve read on my TBR so I might have to give it another go!
      Reminds me of another one where Edward woke up in a morgue…don’t think he was a vamp yet. Carlisle finds him and assigns Bella, who is already a vamp, to look out for him! It was freakin’ hilarious! *Divin’ into research mode to find it!*

      • rita01tx

        Ah ha! Found it!
        The Bad Vampires Handbook by Maxigrumpling
        https://www.fanfiction.net/s/9133049/1/The-Bad-Vampires-Handbook
        Turned by accident, nerdy loner Eddie faints at the sight of blood and wakes, often, at the morgue. There’s no handbook for what he’s become. When the Cullen’s discover him he needs a total vampire makeover and the OCD, hypochondria and his image of what he is all have to go. Bella is given the task of educating him. She thinks he’s a joke, but likes the glasses. E/B HEA assured.
        Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance/Humor – Bella, Edward – Chapters: 28 – Words: 163,056 – Reviews: 1,272 – Favs: 550 – Follows: 491 – Updated: May 8, 2013 – Published: Mar 25, 2013 – Status: Complete – id: 9133049
        I’ve rec’d it here a while back!

  3. Thanks Rita don’t have any of rec’d 🙂

    Paula take care, they are showing awful stuff on French tv about this ouragan

    Kay Dead-Man-Walking is excellent and short read and her other story is hilarious too
    https://www.fanfiction.net/s/9237642/1/Kidnap-101
    Bella Swan has just one mission; to save her childhood best friend from the clutches of Hollywood. She’s got her work cut out for her, but she’ll do it, even if she has to do things that she really doesn’t want to. Written purely for laughs.
    Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance/Humor – Bella, Edward – Chapters: 64 – Words: 11,736 – Reviews: 1,194 – Favs: 417 – Follows: 346 – Updated: May 4, 2013 – Published: Apr 26, 2013 – Status: Complete – id: 9237642

    oh The-Bad-Vampires-Handbook is excellent too!

    I finished Emma Matthews, rec’d by Donna and this was great read, even if my heart goes to Marshal Edward in In Pursuit 🙂

    and this one is so so funny

    https://www.fanfiction.net/s/12169560/1/Rightfully-Qualified
    She’s intelligent, classy, powerful, and easy on the eyes to boot. He’s … well, he’s qualified for something, all right. And apparently he was on Ellen last week! What happens when the two face off for most prestigious position in the world? Anything can happen in a heated campaign, and knowing us, IT WILL! **3HP Crackfic Drabbles are BACK!**
    Rated: Fiction M – English – Humor/Romance – Bella, Edward – Chapters: 10 – Words: 1,863 – Reviews: 214 – Favs: 45 – Follows: 95 – Updated: 12h ago – Published: Sep 29 – id: 12169560

  4. dpennell007

    Hi Ladies,
    I’ve been distracted because I can’t find my piece of paper with all my passwords – so I’ve been busily resetting the important ones. With my luck – It will turn up once I’ve finished. Of course, I should can the piece of paper idea anyway.

    Zveka I’m glad you liked Emma Matthews! It was good.

    I just finished reading another great story from Mrs. Brownloe. This one is a sweet modern romance. No angst.
    https://www.fanfiction.net/s/9777079/1/Parma-High

    Parma High
    By: Mrs. Brownloe
    A fresh start for new teacher, Bella, who arrives in sunny Parma to teach English in the local high school. So used to going with the flow, she was curiously dissatisfied with her life. Will she continue to settle for Comfortable or will she find Amazing.
    Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance/Humor – Bella, Edward – Chapters: 26 – Words: 120,832 – Status: Complete

  5. So many goodies this week! As soon as I get over this damn cold/flu bug I plan to dive into all them as soon as possible.

  6. rita01tx

    Okay, peeps! This WIP is so full of flaws I can’t in good conscience make it a feature fic BUT the plot has me readin’ into the wee hours until my eyeballs dry out so see what you think!
    https://www.fanfiction.net/s/11982025/1/The-Chicago-Dahlia
    Another night. Another murder victim- a young woman found in a hotel room, body mutilated. Some referred to her as The Black Dahlia of Chicago. Bella referred to her as the reason why she and half of Chicago Criminal Justice System found themselves dragged right into the middle of a centuries-old mob war.
    Rated: Fiction M – English – Drama/Crime – Bella, Edward, Jacob, Leah – Chapters: 12 – Words: 92,099 – Reviews: 58 – Favs: 68 – Follows: 136 – Updated: Oct 6 – Published: Jun 5 – id: 11982025
    The fun part is that all the mob gangs are vampires LOL!

Leave Us Some Love & Tell us what You Think, Comment.

