Random Rita’s Read Along – Angel Series Part 1!

ROB ATTACK

To quote Alice: “It’s tiiiime!”

There’s been talk about a read along for Drotuno’s Angel Series for a while and, now that those of us who were readin’ her Gravity Series have all finished it, I thought I’d try to organize a bit better for Angel!

So, this is my idea…

ROB ATTACK

https://www.fanfiction.net/s/5134656/1/Angel-Series-1-Broken-Angel

The FIRST in the Angel series. This is my version of New Moon and beyond if Edward didn’t return for 2 years. Jacob is NOT the sweet boy everyone thinks he is. What kind of Bella did Edward come back to? How does she react? AU/OOC-somewhat…Future LEMONS! Rated M for a reason. R&R!

Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance/Adventure – Bella, Edward – Chapters: 41 – Words: 266,498 – Reviews: 2,444 – Favs: 2,821 – Follows: 821 – Updated: Dec 7, 2009 – Published: Jun 13, 2009 – Status: Complete – id: 5134656

Step 1: Report to the startin’ line by lettin’ me know you’re in!

Step 2: Start readin’ and at least leave a review for Deb where you finish for the day!

Step 3: Come back here and report how many chapters you’ve read and what your thoughts are, so far!

Step 4: Definitely report back here when you finish!

This is not a race to see who can read fastest…we just want to have fun together!

Hell’n we might even do it again if everyone likes the experience!

READY? SET? GO!!!!

ROB ATTACK

 

167 Comments

Filed under Fan Fiction Recs, Rita01tx

167 responses to “Random Rita’s Read Along – Angel Series Part 1!

  1. rita01tx

    Rita reportin’ to the Startin’ Line! *bouncin’ on my toes!”
    I’m so curious to see who all’s gonna take this ride with me *squeee!*

  2. Zveka reporting to the Starting Line 🙂 can’t wait to start .. maybe later today 🙂

  3. I’m in I have never done a read along and cannot wait. The story description is romance/adventure quiet appropriate for trying something new. Thank you ladies for being so welcoming . Let’s get some vamp on!

  4. I’m in….although I’ve already read it twice, love Deb’ s vampwards!! Oh, and thanks for Derivation, following it now, yay!

  5. I’m here for the ride girls. I have a chapter or two to finish up on Blue Edward today and then I’m all in. I’ll go back to read Crimson Edward after we finish our read-along. This is going to be fun.

  6. alyscott

    Alyscott at the starting line! I have never done something like this.

  7. xpreadmywings

    Muse reporting for duty! *winks*

    • rita01tx

      Yay! Good to see you here again, stranger *fist bump!*
      Hell’n it’s startin’ to look like we’re gonna crash Deb’s computer with all our reviews LOL!

  8. eewee333

    EeWee reporting in. I’ll start tonight. 😳😳📖😇😇

  9. rita01tx

    Okay, y’all! Just reported in to Deb by leavin’ my first review at chapter 1…join me at your convenience!

  10. kneon65

    I’m here. Ready to go. Never did a read along, book club, except what you have to do when taking classes & wip then discussing on (twilighted)

    • rita01tx

      Start readin’, Kneon darlin’! We’re good to go *high five!*

      • kneon65

        Well I have to finish “The Second Son of the of a Duke” which i have about 4 ch. I usually read at night before bed unless I don’t have things to do during watching tv.

        So I’ll will start tomorrow for sure.

        • rita01tx

          That’s fine, hon! Just keep us up to date with your progress back here and leave Deb some love every once in a while!

          • kneon65

            Oh I will. I will definitely keep you all up to date. Of course give her my undying love if it is anything like Gravity.

            • rita01tx

              See note below…she was takin’ her first baby steps but the bones are as good as we still expect of her and she promises it gets better as she finds her feet with the sequels!

  11. rita01tx

    Deb asks if we’ll keep in mind that Broken Angel was one of her first fics, written in 2009, so be gentle with her should you come across any errors or plot holes!

    • The lady Drotuno is brilliant no matter when or what she pens. No Apologies and No Prisoners!!!! I remembered when I got to chapter 2 today that this was among one of the stories I read back in spring of 2013 when I first found this fandom quite by accident . PA Lassiter has a blog (Twilight Missing Pieces ) with all 4 books in EPOV all MA-17 hubba hubba. Somehow clicking a link on her blog got me to Ffnet and soon after the Angels . Chapter 3 so sweet my fav so far….gotta go gotta read….laters babies!

  12. I haven’t read this series. I’m in!!!

    • rita01tx

      Welcome aboard, Christa darlin’! Feel free to dive in any time! I’m about to start chapter 5, which I hope to finish before I conk out LOL!

  13. So, I’m on chapter 10…I read really fast, guys! I so love Mr. Uninhibited, don’t you? I know Bella does!! I’ve always been really bad about leaving chapter reviews, I just can’t push the “pause” button…but I leave reviews when I finish!

    I’m also reading Soliloquy by Simaril, sequel to I’m Only Sleeping-whew, that was a tough ride but I couldn’t put it down, walked around all day carrying my kindle! Soliloquy is a slower buildup to angst..it is so good, though!

    • Read simarils Out of Site Out of Mind it has a great reunion scene between Emmett , Edward, Bella and a motorcycle that is awsome. No more spoilers sorry about that Robbie.

    • rita01tx

      In case anyone wants to check out Simaril’s work!
      https://www.fanfiction.net/s/7079270/1/I-m-Only-Sleeping
      One second’s loss of control and all is ruined. Trapped in her own body Bella needs to find a way to make herself heard. A tale of love, loss and family. Jasper/Bella Friendship. Eventual Edward/Bella. Winner of an Emerging Swan Award
      Rated: Fiction M – English – Hurt/Comfort/Friendship – [Bella, Edward] Jasper – Chapters: 45 – Words: 124,120 – Reviews: 1,951 – Favs: 892 – Follows: 407 – Updated: Dec 5, 2011 – Published: Jun 14, 2011 – Status: Complete – id: 7079270
      and the sequel…
      https://www.fanfiction.net/s/7382587/1/Soliloquy
      Edward and Bella have been reunited and are building a new life together. But with the changed family dynamic, and a new threat on the horizon, things are not going to be easy. Sequel to I’m Only Sleeping.
      Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance/Drama – Bella, Edward – Chapters: 35 – Words: 108,232 – Reviews: 1,299 – Favs: 506 – Follows: 370 – Updated: Mar 8, 2012 – Published: Sep 15, 2011 – Status: Complete – id: 7382587
      Looks like something I’d like to read!!!

  14. Count me in too, Rita! I’ll start tomorrow. I’m juggling about six other fics at the moment but what else is new? I’ve dipped my toe into this story a couple times and loved it but got distracted, so I’m looking forward to finishing it. And what a great group to read it with!

  15. OMG, I finally get around to finishing Blue Edward and it ends on a cliffie!!! Ugh. I’ll find out Edward’s deal in Crimson Edward once we finish up with Deb. It’s after 1am here, so I’m going to conk out soon, but I think I’ll jump in before heading to bed.

    • rita01tx

      Oh, did I not mention the wicked evil cliffie at the end of Blue Edward, Kay darlin’ *gigglesnort!*
      All will be revealed in Crimson Edward…you’re gonna love it LOL!

    • bevey99

      Love y’all, and hate you at the same time I started Blue Edward on my pad, and have been reading at work. So there’s a cliffie ending. ….SHIT

  16. I started yesterday evening but off line so I leave reviews this morning 🙂 I finished chapter 5 .. and will read more later today 🙂

    PS I’m very mad with Jacob and Charlie!

  17. kneon65

    Okay I stayed up to 6:30 a.m. to grade papers, finish Second Son of a Duke, and to start Broken Angel and read first 4 chapters. I’m really enjoying it so far even though we are just getting the background info still. Heading to bed so I can get up in a few hours to grade more papers and read more Broken Angel & watch the Oscars.

    • rita01tx

      I’ll be here when you wake up, Kneon darlin’! As for the Oscars, I’ll watch ’em again if and when Rob is nominated for something! Then it will be worth stayin’ up in the wee hours of the mornin’ due to the time difference *sigh!*

  18. rita01tx

    Ummm, we get our first lemony taste…just the juice, not the whole fruit, in chapter 6! It can only get exponentially better from there LOL!

  19. Almost to the half way point I will not spoil but awwww this story is damn sweet🍭🍭🍭 I adore this Edward he’s just a tad emo and Bella being older has backbone good to see. Even this early work of hers shows she is a true storyteller. I remember reading her collaboration Coming Home and how I really loved their soldierward. We are so lucky that she still writes and posts constantly for the fandom. A true treasure. Oh Beth here at chapter 19.

    • rita01tx

      Truer words were never spoken, Beth darlin’!
      Oh, how I adored Coming Home by Sarge’s Girls (JenRar and Drotuno)…as did we all LOL!
      For those of you who have not read it yet, it’s a MUST READ!!!!
      https://www.fanfiction.net/s/8182137/1/Coming-Home
      School teacher Bella sends a care package and letter to Army sergeant Edward, who is stationed in Afghanistan. They begin a relationship through letters, phone calls, and video chats. There’s love, there’s language, and there’s adult situations, plus a strong, independent Bella and the Edward we all know and love.
      Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance/Friendship – Bella, Edward – Chapters: 178 – Words: 285,873 – Reviews: 17,994 – Favs: 5,015 – Follows: 3,266 – Updated: Aug 16, 2014 – Published: Jun 4, 2012 – Status: Complete – id: 8182137

  20. rita01tx

    Not sure I’m gonna get further than chapter 11 tonight but DAYUM! Slow dancin’ / grindin’ to Sade’s No Ordinary Love *SWOON!*
    Might not be able to avoid spoilers so just pretend you didn’t see this LOL!

    • Today was way busier than Sundays are supposed to be! Got through chapter 3 (with reviews), and going to read 4 before I go to sleep. I am liking the aspect of a read-along that makes it kind of like an assignment – like I SHOULD make it a higher priority than all the other nonsense that needs doing!

      Don’t even bother trying to avoid spoilers! I think of it more like bread crumbs, encouraging me to get as far as you.

  21. Just finished chapter 13 …. cliffy!!!

  22. I’m finally in the game. I just finished reading chapter nine. Didn’t see the twist with Jake and the lack coming. I have a sneaky suspicion there’s another twist involving Victoria coming. I was really disappointed with Charlie in the earlier chapters because he had to be suspicious of the bruises. No one’s quite that clumsy, plus the fights. He’s partially redeemed for stepping up when she finally stopped hiding what’s been going on, and also for accepting that Bella is an adult. He expressed his concern and reservations about Edward in a respectful way. I admired how he handled that conversation. Caring concern instead of overbearing and attacking. I fear for his well-being though. I fear he is in the crosshairs. I haven’t figured out if Billy is an enabler or is also in Jake’s crosshairs. The date was cute and the unscheduled pit stop wasn’t half bad either!

    • rita01tx

      Yeah, I prefer to admire Charlie wherever possible, Kay darlin’…Billy, too, ’cause what’s a single dad to do, right? However, I also believe in karma so if Billy’s an enabler, I’m sure he’ll get his!
      Got a couple more updates to get through and then I’m divin’ back in!!!

  23. Finished chapter 19 …chapters are hot!

  24. rita01tx

    Off to beddies havin’ just finished chapter 16…a very fun chapter that took me back to the late 60’s San Francisco where I learned to shoot pool pretty darn good, if I do say so myself LOL!

    • Well I have READ through chapter 10, but I’ve only reviewed through Ch. 5 (two written today). Note to self: write shorter reviews!

      • rita01tx

        Good for you, Renee darlin’! But don’t feel pressured to leave a review every chapter if it’s going to slow you down to where you’re not enjoyin’ the read! I’m sure Deb will be happy with what we give her!

  25. Ok so this really just happened. Chapter 23 mentions Charlie and beer. I switch on the tv and Bridges of Madison County is on and it’s the first dinner scene between Robert and Francesca where he offers her a beer for her bath and what is sitting on the table ….. (Drum roll) Ranier-Vitamin R ahahahaha Ranier the “official ” beer of the Forks Washington police department. Pick up a case at your local Thriftway. **giggles** Beth chapter 23 and counting.

    • rita01tx

      Oh, snap! Don’t you just love serendipity, Beth darlin’? I also got a giggle from the shotgun scene in Twilight…Bella brings Charlie a beer and, when she sets it down, he positions it next to an empty so that there’s one big R between the 2 cans! Never could decide whether that was deliberate or not LOL!

  26. eewee333

    Ok you guys are reading so much faster than me. I’m only on chapter 7 and I’ve been trying to leave a little note for each one for Deb. Loving it so far.

    • rita01tx

      Leavin’ notes does slow down the process a little bit, Eewee darlin’! But it’s worth it to me imaginin’ Deb’s grin every time she opens her inbox LOL!
      Looks like Kneon’s only 1 chapter ahead of you so you’ve got company…and, don’t forget, it’s not a race!

  27. kneon65

    Hi everyone,

    Well I was up to 2:00 a.m. grading papers Sunday night just to get up at 5;30 a.m to go to school to teach. So I made sure I gave myself some time to read this evening. I read up to ch 8. I really hate Jake. So glad Charlie wasn’t the typical Charlie that sided with Jake.

    I did just realize that we are driving to PA this weekend which means I can read in the car. 8-10 hours of reading if I can convince my son to do most of the driving there. (Practice sad mommy face the rest of the week) On the way back hubby will drive most likely.

    Well off to bed its now 1:00 am and I still have to get up at 5:30a.m.

    Have a great day ladies

  28. I just finished chapter 13 and all I can say is I hope T.D. has some special talent to compel or dazzle because holy shiz someone is in deep dog poo.

    • rita01tx

      You’d think Eddie boy would have seen that comin’, what with his mind readin’ and all…must have been “distracted!” Don’t worry, Kay darlin’! There do be consequences for the guilty party…singular!

  29. …. hell broke in chapter 21:)

    • rita01tx

      Aaargh! I’d better get to readin’ pronto!!!

      • euh 22 is much much better 🙂

        • rita01tx

          Dang! I’ll be lucky if I get that far tonight LOL!

        • rita01tx

          Nope! Had to give up after finishin’ chapter 20! *Phew!* All I can say is the lemons get hotter and hotter *moan!*

          • Good evening all. Well, today I got two chapters reviewed (ch. 8 is next). I know Rita told me I didn’t have to review every single chapter, and I told myself to keep ’em short and sweet… but it’s Deb’s fault! If she would quit writing such long, involving chapters, and occasionally write something bland or boring or unimaginative or at least short, then I could skip right past them. But I couldn’t help myself with the sheer quality of writing and imagination. Plus I’m a sucker for a writer who really gets Edward (Bella is optional but a bonus in this case).

            I agree with Rita that the trend is for hotter lemons each chapter. Yikes.

            Also it is really fun to see all these other reviews popping up, especially on chapters that haven’t seen much action in a year or so. Somebody did warn Deb about us, right??

            • rita01tx

              Deb certainly deserves every single review you {and the rest of us} leave her, Renee darlin’! And I mighta given her a heads up that left her shakin’ in her boots *gigglesnort!*

  30. So I am thinking there will be a lemon each chapter does anyone want to keep count I mean it doesn’t have to be pervy with pictures and what not. Ms Drotuno was writing Ed and Bell going at it like the energizer bunny 8 years ago. Good thing he turned her the poor girl was gonna get worn out. Finished another horney vampire story its a completed reworked rewrite titled My Mate Saga by Alynelovesyou. The vampires are very different and PROTECTIVE. Beth checking in at chapter 25 oh and 🍋🍋🍋 a triple lemon chapter. 😆😆

    • rita01tx

      As my fabulous Aunt Loma used to say, “you thought of it,” Beth darlin’! Now that you mention it, I think it would be highly educational to know how many lemons Deb gives us as we go along and IN TOTAL!
      My Mate Saga…oh, wow! I remember that story from many years ago! It was so very badly written {I don’t think the original author was native English speakin’}, I actually never finished it, even though I loved the plot!
      Needless to say, I was ecstatic to see it resurrected and polished up to a thoroughly readable level and even continued with a sequel! Now, if she would only continue the sequel *sigh!*
      https://www.fanfiction.net/s/8714595/1/My-Mate-Saga
      Vampire are Different. Edward is a 149 year old vampire, captured by humans to be tested on. He’s lonely and craves to have a mate of his own. What if the scientist capture a very beautiful female vampire? What if she’s the girl haunting Edward’s Dreams? Follow them on the adventure of getting back home and being a new mated couple. RE-WRITE OF THE ORIGINAL.
      Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance/Adventure – Bella, Edward – Chapters: 29 – Words: 101,021 – Reviews: 1,303 – Favs: 1,414 – Follows: 712 – Updated: Feb 24 – Published: Nov 18, 2012 – Status: Complete – id: 8714595

  31. rita01tx

    So much for makin’ it to chapter 25, although 21 thru 24 were awesome! So much action…so much lemony goodness LOL!

    • Got 3 chapters reviewed today, through 10. I have read a few chapters farther. I’m so annoyed, though, because FFn is clogged up like a slow kitchen sink and hasn’t posted any reviews in 5 hours – including all 3 of mine! So I guess I’ve had enough for today. Happy to see that some of you are charging ahead – I see your dust waaay out in front of me…

      Thanks, Beth and Rita, for the encouraging words on “My Mate Saga”. Of course I have no business whatsoever starting anything new until I catch up on the Read-Along. Oh, yeah, and get to the blasted cliffie on Blue Edward!

      • rita01tx

        There was definitely somethin’ up with FFN yesterday, Renee darlin’! And I was already worried you’d get discouraged for laggin’ behind! Not that your marathon reviews aren’t worth every word…they’re priceless, but every 10th chapter would do, I’m sure!
        Think of it this way! Your style of review is perfect for a WIP, especially for a relatively new author! They’re so insightful and encouragin’! However, for a very old, already complete fic, that’s no longer necessary! A “damn, that was hot” or a “holy crap, I didn’t see that comin'” would be perfectly fine!
        We just want Deb to know we’re along for the ride!

      • My mate sage is great story, I read it when it was posted first 🙂

      • Renee, I thought I was loosing my mind this morning. I WAS super sleepy at the end there last night, but I was sure I reviewed chapters 21 and 22. I have no idea if my comments made any sense because I was struggling to stay awake, but I know I wrote something. LOL

  32. Hi Rita,
    How are you? Thought to drop by and say hi on resurfacing after so long. I see you have recommended Drotuno’s fiction. I am currently trying to read her Masen Manor, the operating word being ‘trying’. I wish I had more time to get through her stories. She is an amazing writer and it’s so difficult to put down her stories. Alas real life throws wrench in plans.
    I’ve also been trying to read ‘In pursuit’ of Sarge’s girls and that too is awesome. (Is it any wonder where Drotuno is involved?) Hoping to get back to ‘The Emperor’ soon. He is getting rather impatient with not seeing any action lately. *sigh*. Yeah, thanks a ton for taking time to recommend really good stories. Out of curiosity, are you involved with book editing or something?

    Hopefully I will see you (read you) soon.

    • rita01tx

      Hey there, darlin’! Good to see you *HUGS!*
      Drotuno’s work, either solo or in cahoots with JenRar, is so damned addictive, I know what you mean about wantin’ to read every word she writes! Tiiiiime AIN’T on my side, no it ain’t LMAO!
      I’m a happy camper when The Emporer updates so I have my readin’ glasses on just a waitin’ on you!
      Had I know how to become a book editor back when I was first startin’ out, I think it would have been a fabulous career for me! As it is, I beta for 3 wonderful fanfiction authors…well, when RL isn’t kickin’ their asses LOL!

      • *Bear hug* to you too, dearie. Yep, that’s definitely a career for you. You missed your calling, though it’s still not late. Your comments are always insightful and you have a great taste in good fics separating wheat from chaff and all that.

    • Connoisseur ‘Connie’ for short? I absolutely adore Mason Manor. It’s such a terrific and engaging story. I rec it hard to anyone who hasn’t yet read it. It’s definitely on my still growing list of favorites. I went to your profile and put your two fics on alert. They both look good.

      • Hiya Kay,
        Yeah, Connie works just fine. It actually sounds cute.
        I know what you are talking about. Masen Manor is in a class of its own. That fic is too good.
        And as for my fics, thanks for putting me on author alert. I am glad you liked them.

  33. well Ffn have problems with reviews .. again …

    I just finished chapter 27 … 🙂

    • rita01tx

      They’ll all pop up when it gets sorted, Zveka darlin’! Just noticed mine aren’t showin’ up on the updates I’m workin’ my way through right now!
      You know, even at chapter 24, life seems wonderful for E/B right now so I’m really lookin’ forward to what Deb has in store for them towards the end AND how she’s gonna torture them in the sequels, ’cause you know she will LOL!

  34. eewee333

    Man you guys are leaving me in the dust. I’m in the middle of chapter 13 right now. Glad Jake got his walking papers, but I don’t think we’ve heard the last of him. And OMG the lemons are hot hot hot!! Edward’s got 100 years of catching up to do though. I’ll keep moving along, I love this story.

  35. Just checking in. I’m getting ready to start chapter 24. Things have settled down for the moment. We’ll see what the near future holds for these two.

    • rita01tx

      Got a few more updates to get through, Kay darlin’! By then, we’ll probably be on the same chapter *fist bump!*

  36. rita01tx

    Wow! Actually made it through the end of chapter 30! And, from Bella’s reaction to her first taste of carnivore’s blood, I’d say she’s gonna have a hard time goin’ back to suckin’ down deer LMAO!

    • Rita I am with you chapter wise HOLY S**T what a Honeymoon it’s a whole lemon tree 🍋🍋🍋🍋🍋🍋🍋🍋🍋🍋🍋🍋🍋🍈🍋🍋
      (Where did that lime come from). I needed a bit of a break from all this vampire lust so I read the furthest thing from that. German Footballers (Soccer) oh girls this Edward has his heart so far out on his sleeve you can see it bleed. I really liked this quick read 80000 words, One Last Chance-Revisited by Rmacaroni it’s a bit of a triangle with Bella/EM and Edward but read thru it is well done you will feel Edwards pain just a small spoiler there. I LOVE YOUR WORK Connisour97 I am a total fan and faithful follower *💥💥💋💋💥💥(damn new emoji cool) Blew my mind with beginning of new chapter 11 Duke😱😱 Beth checked in at the honeymoon chapter .

      • Hiya ajfflady! Thanks you so much for your kind words *blush*. I am glad you liked the beginning as it is the start of dramatic turn of events in the story.

        • What???? New turn ???? I know something is up but cannot figure out who prisoner and caretaker are and does caretaker have bad intentions for the Duke and his beautiful new dutchess?? Oh my god I am so waiting in anticipation.

      • rita01tx

        Itchin’ to get back to Isle Esme ASAP, Beth darlin’! In the meantime, I’ve read One Last Chance, too! Loved her Edward…Bella not so much, for some reason, but it was an interestin’ read in case anyone else likes a Soccerward!
        https://www.fanfiction.net/s/12218155/1/One-Last-Chance-Revisited
        Your chance to give One Last Chance another chance! What happens when you risk everything for one last chance? A chance at greatness. A chance at love.
        Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance/Angst – Bella, Edward – Chapters: 32 – Words: 80,892 – Reviews: 638 – Favs: 142 – Follows: 230 – Updated: Feb 23 – Published: Nov 3, 2016 – Status: Complete – id: 12218155

    • Sorry I didn’t check in last night. I didn’t feel that great last night, but fortunately I did get ONE review done yesterday. Best of all I’ve caught up to where I had read ahead a bit – it’s too confusing having just read ch. 15 and writing a review for 12!
      So my new resolution is to use this as an opportunity to learn to write short (or should I say reasonable length) reviews. I’ve tried on and off for years and never got the hang of it. And Rita you are so right, it makes much more sense to expend the effort on an active fic, not so much one that’s been finished for 7+ years. But (whiny voice), it’s just SO GOOD that I have to tell her… (Taking a deep breath) Onward…
      Wow, I see Rita and Zveka have passed chapter 30 – good for you! It gives me hope. Eewee and I will just have to be the tortoises in this race, but we will not give up, I promise! I’m taking this morning off to do nothing but read – hooray…

      • rita01tx

        Hahahahah! Well, I won’t give you a hard time about it anymore, Renee darlin’! I’m sure Deb’s devourin’ every well deserved word!!!

      • eewee333

        Hi Renee! Glad to see I’m not the only one having to go slow. I’m loving this story, but can only get a couple of chapters in a day. I am up to chapter 18 as of this afternoon. I, too, am leaving words for Deb for most of the chapters, but I have to say they are more comments rather than reviews. I’ll probably leave a long review/comment when I get to the last chapter. Just wanted to let you know you are not alone! I have to say though that this is my first “read along” and I am thoroughly enjoying it!! I love that even after more than 10 years we are all still enjoying these characters and the great writers we have in this fandom.

        • Good evening ladies. Just finished R&R’ing chapter 16, which is pretty good progress. I have managed to leave (mostly) shorter reviews. It also occurred to me that something else slowing me down is rereading the lemons three times! Busted.

          • rita01tx

            That’ll sure do it, Renee darlin’ ROTFLMAO! Our Deb certainly knows her way around a lemon by now…hell’n even back in 2009, she was lethal with ’em!

  37. Ok I am chatty tonight but I have next two days off so….. I was going for next chapter of The Angel and somehow got sidetracked to lellabeths Sky Full of Stars……~exhales ~I ‘m not into a lot of slash though I do respect the rainbow. I do think Cara No’s Four Letters (O-R-G-Y) is the ultimysmut fest I’ve ever read … God I miss that woman….ah Everyone from Forks to volterra was in that bedroom. (Like I said sidetracked) This Edward/Garrett pairing is so well done there is a veteran, amputation, daddy kink, I was not expecting this beautiful story it’s really short 18000 words. I have read some of her other works this stood out. Back to our regular scheduled Angel.

    • rita01tx

      While slash was nowhere near the farthest edge of my readin’ radar before I discovered fanfiction, I have since come to have the greatest respect and admiration for the wonderful authors who can bring this kind of love to life!
      Lellabeth’s Sky Full of Stars was a beautiful love story above all else!
      https://www.fanfiction.net/s/10662418/1/Sky-Full-Of-Stars
      Wounded by life and war, Garrett’s looking for solace in the arms of someone who’ll help him make sense of the world he’s returned to. Edward’s been living on the fringes for years, but the scarred man he meets makes him want to step back into the open. Daddy-kink.
      Rated: Fiction M – English – Hurt/Comfort/Romance – Edward, Garrett – Chapters: 17 – Words: 18,512 – Reviews: 813 – Favs: 258 – Follows: 241 – Updated: Sep 26, 2014 – Published: Sep 1, 2014 – Status: Complete – id: 10662418

    • rita01tx

      As for CaraNo, I’ve enjoyed every fic of hers I’ve ever read…35, to be exact, leavin’ 16 still to be read *sigh!* Four Letters falls into the “already read” category *raawwwwrrr!*

  38. So I just finished our first angel. There is no lemon in the epilogue??? Say what!!! Some drama in last few chapters (no spoilers ).
    Rita would you like us to continue updating our status on this thread or the newest post to your blog?? I may not start second book until a few more of us are ready to. I did not read Patty Rosas Age of Innocence which won fic of the year on Twifictionrecs so I will probably start it too.
    Enjoy your weekend everyone.

    • rita01tx

      Mornin’, Beth darlin’! Congratulations on crossin’ the finish line first LOL! Feel free to take a break to read other things until most of us catch up!
      When the time comes, I will prepare another post for the 2nd Angel book: Angel’s Embrace, where we can update our status just as we’ve done here!

  39. rita01tx

    Well, it’s a quarter past two in the mornin’ and I just finished readin’ chapter 35! Emmett and Bella’s relationship is like watchin’ the Keystone Cops LMAO! After an epic farewell bash, the vampires embark on a road trip to their new home! Can’t wait to see what they get up to in college!

    • Aargh, only one stinking’ chapter today, just too much going on. And I refuse to stay up as late as Rita!! I’m afraid Eewee has left me in the dust by now, I just finished 17. The good thing is that I’m very happy to be finally getting reviews done for this stellar story.

      Rita, you used the word “lethal” for Drotuno’s lemons. That’s the perfect word for it. And as someone said, they just keep getting hotter. Coming up soon is the Valentine’s Day getaway, and that’s another one of those unforgettable scenes, no matter how long ago I read this story! Well if it does kill me, there are worse ways to go.

    • One more thing, Rita. How on earth did you find the time and energy to do a regular Friday post in addition to keeping up with this read along?? I’m not even going to look at it till I finish Broken Angel, because I’m too easily distracted. But I surely will enjoy it then, so thanks!

      • rita01tx

        Oh, and to answer, your question….it’s a good question *snickers!* Seriously, I’m tryin’ to be consistent this year ’cause I missed a few Fridays last year and I can’t guarantee it won’t happen again but, since not everyone is along for the read along ride, I felt obliged and very lucky I noticed Breakdown sorely needed recin’ and that Sweetwater had just crossed my path!

  40. I just finished first book… 🙂

    • rita01tx

      Good for you, Zveka darlin’! *high five!*
      Hopin’ to come in 3rd later tonight! And thanks for pushin’ for us all to read both the Gravity and the Angel series!!!

      • 🙂 great stories sometimes need a good push! I guess a lot of readers hesitate because those two are series… ( I was one of them lol) … can’t wait to start second book … there will be a lot of twists and turns… Deb know how to write them 🙂

  41. rita01tx

    Not quite 2 am this time but I only got through chapter 37! Reeeeally lookin’ forward to Tanya gettin’ some serious payback for continuin’ to interfere with Edward and Bella…connivin’ bitch!

    • You’re almost there, Rita! Congrats also to Beth and Zveka for finishing.

      I got through 20 today (by ignoring all sorts of other stuff I was supposed to do), then decided if I did one more I would unequivocally be more than half way, so I just finished 21. There has been so much excellent story already that I can’t imagine what else she has in store for us.

    • hmm Tanya Rita … well … huh…sorry but there will be Tanya in second book ….

      • rita01tx

        Of course, she is *sigh!* Well, if nothin’ else, she’ll bring a little comic relief when she gets the payback she deserves LOL!

  42. eewee333

    Just checking in after the weekend. I did get some more chapters read and am up to the beginning of chapter 27. Man, Tanya is a first class bitch. Poor Edward, but glad he finally told her off. And the lemons just keep getting hotter and hotter. Don’t know how Deb does it. I swear I can just feel their love in the middle of my chest. It hurts so good. I did take a little sidetrack and read “Conquer” and what a different Edward. Would love to hear Bella’s side of that story. Anyway, onward and upward. It’s Monday…ugh!!

    • rita01tx

      Hi, Eewee darlin’ *hugs!* This has been such a fun experience readin’ along with y’all, especially for such a fantastic story and, boy, am I glad there’s MORE to come…literally *gigglesnort!*
      Been tryin’ to sneak in to finish Broken Angel today but everytime I go to open it, my inbox pings with more and more updates of other stories I can’t resist *groan!*
      As per usual, this means I’ll be burnin’ the midnight oil LMAO!

  43. rita01tx

    So, I couldn’t stand it another minute…I let all the updates stack up in my inbox and FINISHED Broken Angel YAY! *doin’ the Rocky victory on the stairs shuffle!*
    And, with that, I’ll say good night, y’all *smoochies!*

    • Yeah Rita:) Kay is not far behind … EeWee not far to the end and Renee is somewhere in the middle….. I don’t know for others ladies 🙂 …

      • rita01tx

        They can do it, Zveka darlin’! *woo hoo!*
        I’m thinkin’ we might be able to start book 2, Angel’s Embrace, this Saturday.
        But first, I’ll call for status…say, Thursday, to see if the majority are in a good enough place!

        • I finished, yay! I was out with no internet so I haven’t been able to check in or review the last few chapters. I’m heading over to finish up my reviews now.
          I’m a bit nervous about what book two has in store for us. Between Tanya with Dimitri, and Aro. It’s a little nerve wracking to think of the combined potential power of Catherine and Brandon. They can be either a daunting foe or a tremendous ally. I’m bracing for some doom and gloom for some reason. I haven’t even looked at the summary yet so it could be a big ol’ sexy fluff fest. Waiting for your go-ahead before moving on. I’m currently reading The Cube. It was on my kindle carousel. I clicked on it randomly without knowing what to expect. I was just looking for a quick read, but I had no internet. Well so far this fic is funny as heck. I’ve been giggling to myself the whole time.

          • rita01tx

            Welcome to the finish line, Kay darlin’ *high five!*
            Definitely curious what Deb has in store for us in book 2 and WTF was she thinkin’ rewardin’ Tanya’s bad behavior with a sexy Italian vampire!?! She’s already had one chance too many…off with her head LOL!

            • Congrats to everyone who has finished! I just polished off 25 – so 16 to go.

              The funny thing is, at the exact center of the story Edward has to change Bella. Now I have always vastly preferred the human-vampire couple dynamic, and generally lose interest once Bella becomes a vampire. So I thought, well, bummer, time for boring vampire Bella, however now I can zoom through the rest and leave (normal sized) 10-word reviews. Hah! Leave it to Deb to write a non-boring vampire Bella, damn it. And how can I resist all those beautifully done references back to the canon story?

              Please go ahead and start book 2 whenever y’all are ready. I will definitely finish Broken Angel but I doubt that I’ll try to keep up with the next one. I have to admit, though, I’m perplexed by everyone’s comments about evil Tanya – what could she possibly do after E&B are together as mated vampires? I guess I’ll have to finish Broken Angel to find out…

              • rita01tx

                I doubt you’ll be all that far behind by this weekend, Renee darlin’! And, since it’s not a race to see who can finish first, I hope you’ll continue to check in with your observations on Broken Angel…see if you agree with us about Tanya LOL! Mostly, this is so much fun, I hope you are tempted to poke your nose into Angel’s Embrace somewhere down the line!

              • Renee I was like you … what could possibly happen once she is vamp … well Deb really know how to write a suspense and the second book is excellent, and to be honest for me the 3rd book is the best… so yeah she find a way to keep me wanting more in the end of each book 🙂 that’s true for the last too even if I know that she sais she will not write more in Angel’s series 🙂

              • Renee I agree that I tend to prefer the human/vamp dynamic more than vampire Bella. I also kind of don’t love when Bella is super duper powerful, like THE most amazing vampire to ever exist. I think Deb has made her special and powerful, but then she has introduced other quite special vampires. It balances nicely for me.

                • That’s right, Kay. The “most amazing vampire ever to exist” thing is nothing but annoying. And juvenile. I’m glad I’m not the only one… And yes, Deb does a better job than SM did of balancing talents and weaknesses among all the characters.

                  • As I’m re reading those series I can say that Deb never make me think that Bella is Wonderwoman … yes she is powerful but She is not invincible … she is powerful because she work well with her family … when they fight all together, they are mostly invincible 🙂

                    Anyway they have a lot of stress and adventure in front of them in others books

  44. Oh and as for Tanya ladies …. yeah can’t say anything …. lol!

  45. eewee333

    Just getting ready to start chapter34 the next time I have a chance to read (I’m at work right now so maybe on my lunchbreak). Great story. Gonna miss Charlie. He’s one of my favorite characters. I should be done in the next few days. I know you all are chomping at the bit to start Book 2. Maybe by the weekend?

    • rita01tx

      Pretty much what I’m thinkin’, Eewee darlin’! Even though Book 1 started on a Saturday, not all of us got off the line until Sunday or Monday! There’s absolutely no rush…I’d just be tickled to death to have all my girls with me on this wonderful ride!

  46. rita01tx

    Evenin’, ladies! It’s just past midnight on my side of the world so, before I sign off for the night, here’s the status of our read along!
    We had 11 people sign on for this ride:
    Rita / Zveka / ajfflady {Beth} / Robbie Elise / Kay S / alyscott {Alicia} / xpreadmywings {Musette} / Eewee / Kneon65 / Christa Lynn Holden / Renee Aubin (11)
    Status:
    1) Beth – finished
    2) Zveka – finished
    3) Rita – finished
    4) Kay – finished
    5) Eewee – finished {updated}
    6) Renee – chapter 37 {updated}
    7) Kneon – trailin’ behind but lookin’ to catch up soon {updated}

    So, how’s everyone else doin’?

    • kneon65

      Sorry everyone,

      Work has over taken my life. Instead of reading on the way to Pennsylvania I graded papers there & back. I’m not even at the halfway mark. So go ahead and start the 2nd book. I’ll catch up. This job assignment ends tomorrow, but I may still need to finish grading dome work (I hate to leave anything undone). I should be able to do a massive read after that.

      • rita01tx

        Pretty much what I was assumin, Kneon darlin’! You had warned us you were up to your ears substitute teachin’! Hope it was as fun for you as I’ll bet it was for those kids LOL! I’m sure, by the comments we all dropped along the way, you’ll thoroughly enjoy catchin’ up once you get the chance!

    • I have to say every time I log in to post, I do love seeing Rob’s smirky face…

      I just put a fork in chapter 30. I kind of snoozed through the pre-wedding and wedding chapters (vampire Bella + weddings, two boring (to me) things make a bad combination). But the Isle Esme chapter, woo hoo! I love how she ties in canon history, that always gets me.

      Thank you ladies for refraining from the Tanya spoilers for the benefit of us poky readers … she has definitely been off the radar the last couple chapters.

      • rita01tx

        OMG! I’m so happy to know someone else who snoozes / skip reads through weddin’ preparations, as well as the actual weddin’ LMAO!
        High five left…high five right…elbow knocks and butt slaps, Renee darlin’!!!

        • Yes, we are definitely in a minority in this fandom! High five indeed, sister.

          And btw, I just finished 35 (no review), and still no Tanya. What the hell? Deb certainly made her a surprise, there’s no foreshadowing at all. Ah, and probably a cliffie, I’m betting.

          • rita01tx

            Yes, yes yes! Deb is a sneaky, evil cliffie queen! Tanya pops up just when you least expect it so if you’ve made it this far, it will be…soooon!

  47. eewee333

    OMG!!! Stick a fork in me….I’m done, I’m done, I’m done!! **muppet flails** What a great story. Let me know when we start Book Two!!

    • rita01tx

      LMAO!!! I’ll go back up and update your status in a minute, Eewee darlin’! Looks like we’ll start book 2 this weekend…I’ll put up another post like this one where we can all gather!

      • Good job, Eewee! Is anyone besides me still limping along? Just finished ch. 33. Still no Tanya on the horizon … just Desperados.

        • rita01tx

          Aside from Kneon, who now has the chance to catch up, no one else has been leavin’ reviews {that I recognize} or reportin’ back on their status, Renee darlin’!
          We’ll start book 2 later today, anyway, though!

  48. I’ve been having my ass kicked by a cold … I hate when it comes with a headache that keeps you from reading – no fair!

    But I did get through Ch 37 today, and Tanya showed up. That was a, well-imagined “prank” that she could play by remote control. You have to figure she has worn out her welcome if she has gotten on Esme’s nerves!

    • rita01tx

      Hope you feel better soon, Renee darlin’! Bein’ sick sucks! Yeah, Esme’s ready for a permanent solution to Tanya LOL! No spoilers but she’s back in book 2!

      • I got through another chapter each of the last 2 days. I feel like that last person who’s still out on the marathon course while everyone else is back at the stadium – running another race, even! Tomorrow is the last real chapter, 40 – there will definitely be a celebration here when I finish that one!

        Is it just me, or is anyone else feeling drawn to short fics now? I’m about to scan my TBR list for stories under 50K, maybe even under 25K. I admire those of you taking on Angel 2, at 300K words, but I just don’t have it in me. Although thanks to Beth’s studious research, I do know exactly which chapters to, uh, cherry pick.

        Oh and I do admire how Deb created interesting possibilities for the Tanya/Demitri pair. I see some entertaining battles coming up. In the chapter I just finished, Bella finally told Tanya to just “shut the fuck up”. Perfect!

        • rita01tx

          Good mornin’, Renee darlin’! One thing’s for sure, I’m unable to settle on a complete fic to read/rec while I’m on Angel 2 *sigh!* Good thing I’ve got some great WIPs up my sleeve LOL!
          I’m really sorry you’re feelin’ left behind *poutyface!* Hey, how about readin’ WITHOUT leavin’ reviews? That would go faster, right? You can always leave one big one at the end…or not! Deb would understand!
          Angel 2 is provin’ to be at total head spin plot wise and a lemony delight that’s not gettin’ old in the least!
          You can even cherry pick if you want…why the hell not!?!?!

          • OK y’all – I finished Broken Angel!!! It took me 21 days, for crying out loud. Although I realized at some point that normally I write 3-4 chapter reviews per WEEK, but for this read-along I averaged almost 2 per DAY. Yikes. But like a 3 year old stubbornly toddling after her older siblings, I was determined to make it to the end. So, thanks for the company along the way.

            Being at the end, it’s kind of amazing to remember where our favorite characters were at the beginning of the story. Truly epic! It also proves that stories from talented authors with excellent imaginations have an endless shelf-life. I think I’ll quit here, though – 300K words about vampire Bella is about 299K too many for me. Although I may be tempted to check out the chapters with the eye-popping lemon counts!

            I’m off to find something between 25- 50,000 words. Just think how easy it will be to polish off a handful of those now!

            • rita01tx

              YAY! I knew you could do it, Renee darlin’ *JUMPYHUGS!* Gonna miss you on Book 2 so PUHLEEZE check in every once in awhile!
              XOXOX
              Rita

Leave Us Some Love & Tell us what You Think, Comment.

