Random Rita ~ Friday Feature Fics!

ROB ATTACK

Evenin’, ladies!

Everyone recovered from the recent FFN update drought?

Sure did suck all the fun out of keepin’ up with my WIPs and you know how much I love my WIPs LOL!

In fact, I have three new ones for you, includin’ two newbie authors!ROB ATTACKhttps://www.fanfiction.net/s/12401004/1/Masen-Has-Fallen

College Junior, Edward Masen’s life has taken hit after hit, and he’s just trying to get by as best he can. When the girl he’s convinced is ‘the one’ stumbles into his life; he’s not prepared for her or the utter disarray she brings into his life. EPOV. AU/AH

Rated: Fiction M – English – Angst/Romance – Bella, Edward – Chapters: 9 – Words: 59,856 – Reviews: 190 – Favs: 226 – Follows: 499 – Updated: May 6 – Published: Mar 12 – id: 12401004

This Edward tugs at my heartstrings!

I always thought that I would one day find the girl for me, and that would be it. One day, I would just see her, and the great big world would instantly fall into place. It would be simple; it would be easy, and we would overcome whatever obstacle we had to, because we would be together. We would fall in love, and everything would magically be perfect, because that was how fairy tales worked. It was a belief I held onto for a long time.

Until I just didn’t anymore.

I grew up, and my outlook on life and love changed drastically. Life did that to me. By the time I got to university, I’d almost given up on all of it. School was hard, life was harder, and I was busy trying to just get through it all without completely falling to pieces.

So when she stumbled into my life – quite literally, might I add – I wasn’t prepared.

Because, you see, the thing is that I did meet the girl. . . I looked at her, and I just knew – and then, from that moment on, nothing about my life was ever remotely simple or easy.

Fucking fairy tales.

Oooh, I can hardly wait for y’all to find out exactly WHY Bella makes his life even more complicated than it already was *wicked evil witchy cackle!*

~oOo~ROB ATTACKhttps://www.fanfiction.net/s/12452567/1/Lucky-Girl

Dire circumstances have forced Bella into a world of illegal alcohol smuggling and dangerous men. Luckily for her, that’s the least of her problems.

Rated: Fiction M – English – Crime/Romance – Bella, Edward – Chapters: 3 – Words: 12,689 – Reviews: 122 – Favs: 187 – Follows: 411 – Updated: May 11 – Published: Apr 18 – id: 12452567

This was originally an entry in the We Love Mobward Contest! In case you haven’t already read the one shot, it’s set in the Great Depression:

Being nearly homeless on the streets with nothing to show for your name tends to make a person less picky about the jobs they take.

I was never really told flat-out what type of business we ran here, but based on ledgers and forms from the Cullens’ previous assistant (who I’d never had the courage to ask about, but kept very sloppy, incriminating notes), I knew that the Cullens specialized in transporting a certain Mr. John Barleycorn from the barrel house to his favorite gin mills and juice joints all over Chicago and the surrounding area.

I was lucky that Mr. Cullen had found me that day; looking unkempt, bedraggled, desperately in need of a bath and food, and hopping from shop to shop begging for work.

He’d told me I had an honest face.

I was lucky.

I reminded myself of that fact all day long, every day: when I woke up in my nice apartment that had inexplicably come as one of the perks of the job, when I had food to eat, when I had clean clothes to put on, when I walked out of my house and could pay for a train ticket.

I reminded myself of it most often, though, when I was at work.

When I had to write ledgers in code to protect my boss in the event that the police ever came in wanting to see the books.

When Mr. Cullen asked me to take a note that was clearly going to result in another person ending up dead before the end of the day.

When I let the fear take control, knowing that if I make a mistake it would likely result in my disappearance, and another young girl would take my place and my apartment and my job with my wilted flowers.

Despite the heat of the room, a cold chill ran down my spine.

But it’s not long before certain flashes of memory cause Bella to question her circumstances!

“It’s not a coincidence that you found me that day, is it?” The question was not more than a whisper, but I knew he heard me.

“No. It wasn’t.”

My mind went into a panic and all the anger fell away and gave way to fear. I wanted to run, but I couldn’t make my body move. If I did run, where would I go? I had no money, no prospect of a future. All I had was here and now with a man who had just admitted to me that he had purposely pulled me into a mafia family, but refused to tell me why.

It was all planned.

See why I’m so excited about this one?

~oOo~ROB ATTACKhttps://www.fanfiction.net/s/12485117/1/

Love is one of those things that is too great and too meaningful to be expressed in words, but we still try.

Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance – Words: 2,706 – Reviews: 25 – Favs: 22 – Follows: 51 – Published: 9h ago – id: 12485117

Bella, Rosalie and Kate are BFF’s startin’ their senior year of high school. They bemoan the poor quality of senior photos from previous years when Kate brags about her mother hirin’ a professional to take hers!

Of course, Bella and Rose roll up to the beach at La Push to watch and provide moral support…but mostly to watch!

“It’s just you being photographed, right?” Edward Cullen came towards us, a camera around his neck and a cigarette dangling out of his mouth.

“Uh, yeah,” Kate said.

“We’re just observing,” I said quickly, gesturing between Rosalie and I.

His eyes flicked over to me immediately, and I was taken aback at how green and intense they were. It was like he could see straight down into my soul, and I realized that was one of the things that made his photography so good. He really did have intensity, and that translated into his photos, like he saw a piece of his subjects that no one else could.

“I see. Nice to meet all of you. Want to get started?”

Rosalie and I fell back, sitting on the hood of Rosalie’s car as they started to set the scene. Carmen stood over with Alice, offering input here and there, but really, Edward and Kate took center stage. He spoke to her softly, and he moved his hands animatedly as he talked.

She posed, adjusting accordingly when Edward instructed her to, and Alice took her place by his side, holding a second camera.

It was incredible to watch, because he was passionate and obviously very talented. He talked almost the whole time in a rough, quiet voice, telling Kate what to do and offering encouragement. Alice spoke to him every once in a while, and he just nodded at her, never even looking in his direction. It was interesting to watch them, too, because they were so in tune with each other. Edward would hold his hand out for a different lens, and Alice would already have it ready.

Rosalie had lost interest fairly early on, and was alternating between texting her boyfriend, scrolling through her phone, and halfheartedly watching Kate. I didn’t blame her, because honestly this just wasn’t her thing. She would always support Kate but senior pictures weren’t all that riveting. It made me wonder why I was so fascinated, but I realized with a blush that it was the photographer that kept catching my eye.

Only one chapter up, so far, but I’m all in!

~oOo~ROB ATTACKhttps://www.fanfiction.net/s/5460166/1/Your-True-Colors

Annie is a single woman, fetching, lucky and mildly obsessed with Twilight. She doesn’t miss a thing in her life. Until one day she sees her own personal Edward. A beautiful boy, way too young to even think about it. – – – AH, ExB kind of, December. Rated M.

Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance – Chapters: 25 – Words: 98,102 – Reviews: 742 – Favs: 229 – Follows: 230 – Updated: Apr 16 – Published: Oct 23, 2009 – Status: Complete – id: 5460166

Started way back in 2009, Betti calls this a  Twilight fan fiction…or sorts, so be prepared for something a little different *wink!*

I usually hated the train station after nightfall, but I didn’t care tonight.

Kicking that new trainee’s ass was definitely worth getting home late for, even on a Friday…

I still felt peppy when I saw the 9:15 Regional approached the track.

While the train slowed down, its breaks performing their usual deafening Heavy Metal tune, I carefully scanned the passing wagons. If I was going to take a nap during the boring one-hour ride, and I was pretty sure I was, picking the right compartment was crucial.

First wagon: no passengers at all – not good.

Second wagon: empty except for a single filthy creep – no way!

No3 looked quite promising: an elderly couple, three giggling teenage girls with loads of shopping bags and one good-looking, if unshaved, young. . .

. . . Oh! Hi, Kiddo. . .!

ROB ATTACK{Kiddo}

My feet had already started walking before I fully realized what I was going to do.

No nap for me tonight.

Not after I’d had that blonde amoeba for supper, with the sweet taste of satisfaction still lingering. Not with the incarnate hero of my wet dreams handed to me on a plate in wagon No3…

When the doors slid open, I felt wide awake and ready for anything.

Now, I haven’t gotten very far yet but it’s Betti Fuckin’ Gefecht! I WILL read every damn word and review each chapter…cross my heart and hope to miss Rob’s birthday if I’m lyin’ LOL!

Enjoy!!!

Happy Friday, y’all!

Rita

ROB ATTACK

18 Comments

Filed under Fan Fiction Recs, Rita01tx

18 responses to “Random Rita ~ Friday Feature Fics!

  1. Hey lady I have been following Lucky Girl and Cynosure is always a good read she’s a baseball babe like me. Your Tru Colors intrigued me. What’s up? the story description is vague I will definitely take a look. I read a few good ones this week mostly Haunted Angel . Last house on Blackberry Lane had quiet a plot twist
    https://m.fanfiction.net/s/12301913/1/
    Burn by vixen1863 was very well written I also read her one shot Isle Esme EPOV of the honeymoon really good look into Edwards head both are one shots.
    http://www.stars library.net/viewstory.php?sid=272

    I’m loving SIS that Rita recommended -BIGS hahahaha.😮Oh my goodness just check out chapter 3 .
    Anyone reading Chicago by highlanderprincess ? Seems I’m feeling nostalgic reading period fics.
    Happy Weekend All☮️Beth

    • rita01tx

      Happy Saturday, Beth darlin’! Haven’t read any of your recs yet…I’ll have to check them out, but chapter 3 of SIS was definitely…um, “revealin’!” *snickers!*

  2. sandythestorm

    Oh my goodness YTC and the music of MOG….you in for a treat. Her Edward is so heartbreaking so beautifully sexy. Those stories that just make you prop your hands smiling like loon up as if youre sitting there watchin the movie..yep this story.

    All great stories. Im in one now completely owned wish i didnt need sleep. Very intricately woven POV split personalities of Jasper..definitely try it ladies and gents. It is 43 chapters in and so interesting. Each chapter is a build to something ..what im scared and excited at the same time.

    https://m.fanfiction.net/s/7843651/1/One-day-at-a-time by Hisuiko

    How do you cope when all you feel are emotions – everyones emotions? What do you do when it gets too much? Who do you turn to when it is you who hurts? Welcome to my life

    Please let me know like or not

    • rita01tx

      Oh, Sandy honey! I’m completely in love with Betti’s Kiddo *swoon!* Finished chapter 16 a few minutes ago so I thought I’d take a break and come play with you guys for a while LOL!
      Lookin’ forward to One Day at a Time! Jasper is such a complex character…it’s fun to see what makes him tick…or tock, whichever the case may be LMAO!

  3. dpennell007

    Good Morning,

    That update drought went on forever! I follow 45 stories, but only about 10 update on any kind of regular basis, so I was able to keep up by clicking on them on the day they normally update. I read My Devil last week. It was funny, sexy and marked complete, but when I got to the end the author said she still needed to add 2 epilogues:

    https://www.fanfiction.net/s/7210123/1/

    My Devil

    By: ExquisiteEdward
    Bella has a less than stellar love life. That is, until a new neighbor moves in next door. But how long will it take her to overcome her hatred of the cocky, fast-talking, self-absorbed jerk? Humor, no angst. AH E/B.
    Rated: Fiction M – English – Romance/Humor – Bella, Edward – Chapters: 19 – Words: 102,486 – Reviews: 2,043 – Favs: 2,375 – Follows: 2,080 – Updated: Apr 20 – Published: Jul 23, 2011 – Status: Complete – id: 7210123

    ****************************************************************************************
    This week I read and enjoyed Faking It. Of course she mentioned 2 outtakes that weren’t part of her profile. I had no luck finding the Friday Free for All outtake on Twilighted (if anyone has it please let me know), but I did find the Fandom Gives Back outtake about the VMA’s on Perusing the Shelves. It was Excellent!

    https://www.fanfiction.net/s/5153711/1/

    Faking It By: spanglemaker9
    Half of Hollywood’s most famous couples are faking it. That’s how Bella Swan’s publicist convinces her to pretend to date troubled Hollywood bad boy Edward Cullen. And she’ll do anything for her band and her music.
    Rated: Fiction M – English – Bella, Edward – Chapters: 32 – Words: 144,679 – Reviews: 5,926 – Favs: 9,976 – Follows: 3,300 – Updated: Oct 30, 2009 – Published: Jun 20, 2009 – Status: Complete – id: 5153711

    Out of your picks this week, I’m only following Lucky Girl, but I’ll have to check the others out!

  4. rita01tx

    Evenin’, Donna darlin’! I was in the same boat with my WIPs but I was fortunate that I keep a runnin’ list of the ones I’m currently readin’ so I went through them and checked them off one-by-one, addin’ the latest number of chapters so I’d know if it had updated when I checked again. Didn’t do a damn bit of good checkin’ my favorites list ’cause, even though the number of chapters changed, the DATE didn’t! In the end, I don’t think I missed any updates but for the ones I’m not actually readin’. I just update my TBR when they pop up again in my inbox.
    Haven’t read My Devil yet but I noticed it mentioned on FB today, as well, so it must be worth takin’ a peek LOL!
    Now Faking It…it’s been so long since I read it, I don’t remember details, just that I really enjoyed it! I’ll have to make time to reread it one of these days *sigh!*

  5. I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE True Colors. Sweet, sassy and sexy. Annie finds her Edward and I’m so jealous.

    • rita01tx

      Still haven’t finished it…I’m on chapter 19, but I’m lovin’ the hell out of it, Christa darlin’! Have you checked out all her illustrations and listened to some of the music on her blog? Betti is amazeballs…such a talented author, artist AND singer / songwriter!!!
      http://your-true-colors.blogspot.nl/

  6. bevey99

    I have been MIA around here for awhile. I check in every week, but haven’t contributed. Been bookmarking like crazy though. I thought Lucky Girl was one of the better 1-shots in the Mobward contest. Really glad it’s being continued. Wish a couple more would get inspired to so as well.
    [Working the bottom of my TBR list]T he cream of the crop of the 25-30 fics I read recently are–
    A Rough Start By: ItzMegan73
    Overnight irresponsible Edward goes from bachelor to father of a 5 yr old. Meanwhile responsible, prepared Bella begins her first job as Kindergarten teacher at Forks Elementary. When irresponsible meets the epitome of responsible, sparks will fly! complete
    https://www.fanfiction.net/s/5319052/1/A-Rough-
    Chop and Change By: Krazyk85
    Caught trying to steal his car, a runaway, Bella, meets Edward. A man with his own vices and long rap sheet. Taking her under his wing and teaching her the way to truly boost cars, they embark on a journey of crime fitting of Bonnie and Clyde. ExB, Lemons, Violence, Guns, and Fun. HEA. BPOV.
    https://www.fanfiction.net/s/8291981/1/Chop-and-Change
    Part of Me By: luckyirishtart [good 90’s rock n roll]
    Rockstarward. Written with WitFit daily prompts Jan/Feb 2013: 90’s sex, drugs and rock and roll. E/B, AH and M
    https://www.fanfiction.net/s/8939774/1/Part-of-Me
    and last but not least
    A Little Too Much Too Late? By: MrsK81
    Having spent years waiting for her Mr. Right, Bella is finally getting the wedding of her dreams & a job opportunity of a lifetime. But life is never that simple & soon she is in way over her head.
    https://www.fanfiction.net/s/8118923/1/A-Little-Too-Much-Too-Late
    All of these are complete and have been for years, but me and my list……
    All that reading is why I haven’t been around.
    xoxo yall
    Bev

    • rita01tx

      Been missin’ you, Bevey darlin’! But I’ll take what I can get so drop in when you can *HUGS!*
      Of course, with 4 links, you landed in RA jail but I bailed you out LOL!
      But, OMG, A Rough Start is one of my all time favorite Daddywards…and isn’t little Anthony the sweetest thing!?! *sigh!*
      Wow! Part of Me…another great fic that easily earned 4 stars on my TBR!
      A Little Too Much Too Late? just shifted closer to the top on your say so LOL!

  7. Thanks Rita and all ladies here to make my TBR list longer 🙂

    I read only My Devil and Faking it 🙂

    After Angel series I was rereading Grand by CaraNo .. one of my favorite mafia stories 🙂

    • rita01tx

      Grand is a big read, Zveka darlin’…it was a trilogy way back when I read it LOL! Still haven’t gotten to the rest of CaraNo’s fics but someday, or so I keep tellin’ myself *eye roll!*

  8. rita01tx

    Cover image of new photoshoot for Crash magazine!

    That’s all I’ve seen right now but DAYUM!!!

  9. just finished Your-True-Colors … thanks Rita for rec’d this one … what a ride 🙂 love it!

  10. bettigefecht

    Oh wow!!! Thank you so much for reccing my debut fic (who thought I would EVER finish it???) *blows kisses* =D

    • rita01tx

      Zveka ratted me out, did she? *facepalm!*
      Well, you already know how much I loved Kiddo and Annie, Betti darlin’! Thank you a million times for creatin’ and sharin’ ’em with us *HUGS!*

Leave Us Some Love & Tell us what You Think, Comment.